Decision at Doona (Doona Series #1)

Decision at Doona (Doona Series #1)

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - REISSUE)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Decision at Doona 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous 6 days ago
Two races learn to coexist on a planet similar to old earth. They must deal with their political agencies that manage to muddle up regulations but finally things work out to both groups satisfaction.
Rhyla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book when I read it as a kid, but I had forgotten the name of it. I recently rediscovered it and reread it expecting to be let down. That couldn't be further from the case! It is still an excellent book and I enjoyed it every bit as much the second time through. It's a fun, lighthearted and inspiring story.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite Anne McCaffrey novels. Coincidentally, its also one of her earlier books. This isn't complicated or epic, just good straightforward science fiction. The 'first contact' theme isn't tremendously original, but it is done well.
dragonasbreath on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two worlds, one problem - they were over-civilized, the people living in steel warrens with no contact with nature. on Hrubba there was no nature left. Too many people, not enough food, young adults suiciding, nobody interested in the administrative and maintenance positions needed to maintain their society.One sentience-uninhabited pastoral world where a small colony could return to nature, to live as men are supposed to. Both groups checked it out - it WAS empty when they surveyed it.The human men settled a winter colony, a few days before their families were to appear they discovered there was a village of SIX FOOT CATS ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE RIVER!A village that had not been there even two weeks before...Earth law said they were not to make any kind of contact, they have to pack up and go home...But the law didn't count on 6-yr old Todd Reeve who wants a tail of his own.
LynndaEll on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Decision at Doona," written by Anne McCaffrey in 1969, tells the story of two distopian worlds whose citizens accidently colonize the same world. Even after 39 years, this story captivates the reader with the the confusion that can come from two law-abiding groups when neither set of laws allows for the existence of the other. The story of how they get beyond confusion and politics to forge a dynamic new community is satisfying without being sacchrine. This book is still fun to read.
capriccio More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorit sci-fi books. McCaffrey's vision of an overcrowded earth and the attempts by earth to resettle new worlds and contact with new people's feels "real". I've read all of McCaffrey's other series and loved most of them, but this one stands out to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I grabbed this book at my local library while looking for a relatively short sci-fi book to bring with me on a work trip to the West Coast. Unlike some paperbacks that weigh in at 800+ pages, this one actually fit in my coat pocket, and I have read good things by Anne McCaffrey (she of Pern fame) in the past, so I grabbed it. It turns out to be a very smart work of science fiction, focusing on a 'first contact' situation between humans and an alien race of cat-like creatures. Considering that this is shown on the cover, I don't think I'm giving anything away by telling you that. What I found interesting here was the way that the contact between the races was handled, as both races had become somewhat 'stagnant,' and were trying to start new colonies as a way of forcing their people to struggle and grow again after years of complacency and apathy. Funnily enough, they both choose the same world to colonize, and it is not entirely clear to either side what the real situation is when they first meet. Smartly written and well paced, this book was a great read and one that I can easily recommend to other readers who enjoy smart sci-fi without blazing death rays. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but another approach is nice now and again, too.