Desperate Bride

Desperate Bride

by A.S. Fenichel

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Desperate Bride 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was very good love all her books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was another great story . Loved it.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adored Thomas and Dory's story! A marriage of convenience is not going to work when one party is in love with the other, but Thomas will do anything for Dory even if it means breaking his own heart. These two were so good together! My heart kept breaking as I read the story and all the stumbling blocks that they came across during the beginning of their marriage. This was a great conclusion to this series. Fenichel's next series, Everton Domestic Society, starts with the story of Dory's brother. I'm excited to read it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love a good Historical Romance!! Dory proposes to Thomas in order to save herself from having to marry an unsavory man. So, they run off together and get married and of course this is where things starts to get interesting. Thomas has loved her from afar but was beneath her class so he never even tried courting her since it was pointless but Dory's feelings are getting stronger for Thomas. Then that unsavory man decides that no one gets away with leaving him, so he's going to duel with Thomas. Such a good romance. If you like historical then you'll love this one!!! Received a free copy of this book from the author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thomas Wheel is a single man working in his study late one evening when Lady Dorothea (Dory) Flammel arrives at his home. Her brother, Markus, is Thomas’s good friend and Dory is the daughter of an earl. Dory explains that her reason for being there is that she needs a husband and asks him to marry her. It appears she needs to find a way to get out of her parents’ plan to marry her to the elderly Henry Casper, the Earl of Hartley. Her father is a known drunk and marrying her to Hartley will enable her father to get his debts paid off. Thomas greatly admires Dory but as much as he would like to marry her, he reminds her that is he is merely a mister. When she convinces him that does not matter, they elope to Scotland. A wealthy man in his own right, Thomas has a wonderful home and can give Dory anything she would like. As she is an accomplished musician, and Thomas loves music as well, she spends much of her time in the well-equipped music room that he has provided for her. Thomas has fallen in love with Dory but is not certain that she loves him in return. To protect her, he puts his life at risk for her which leaves him severely wounded. Will Dory realize how much Thomas loves her and will he recover from his wounds? Can they have a happy life together? I really loved the beginning of this story but it soon fell off for me. Dory seems warm early on in the story but she seems to cool down. Thomas is a dear man but too sweet for his own good. Why anyone would put up with Dory’s father for more than one minute is beyond me. Boot him and her mother both out! I have enjoyed this author’s other stories, but this one disappointed me. Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
jojosmodernlife More than 1 year ago
Dorothea (Dory) Flammel is in a tough spot. Having rejected too many eligible men over the course of several seasons, her options are limited. Then, she is not given any option at all as her father makes an agreement for her hand in marriage in exchange for the forgiveness of his enormous debt. To a very old man. The man who is known for his wandering eye and misogyny. Thomas Wheel has loved hearing Dory play the pianoforte, especially when she does not know other people are in the room. They have been friends for many years and has snuck in to hear her play many times. But he is below her in rank and would not embarrass her by making his feelings known. So what is he to do when she runs to his house in the middle of the night begging him to marry her? Dory and Thomas are big supporting characters in the last two books and their romance was hinted at several times, so it was very exciting to see their own love story come together in this book. As read in the previous 2 novels in this series, Dory has a hard time trusting others, but is a fiercely loyal friend. Thomas always does the right thing and is a selfless friend to the gentlemen in the previous books. Since I started reading this series, I have been anxiously waiting for Thomas' own love story. I just KNEW he would be perfectly romantic and I was swooning through these pages (especially the part where he brushed her hair for her!). I did not expect, but was also pleased with, him to be a progressive feminist for the time period that they are in which added to his perfection. It also was perfect for his romance with Dory as she had been told her whole life that her musical talent is useless because she is a woman as well as been treated as property rather than as a woman. Therefore, Thomas treating her as an equal seems too good to be true and she has a hard time trusting the situation that they were thrown in. A.S. Fenichel does a wonderful job of creating characters that develop through love, on both sides of the romance, and are incredibly endearing. Although these books could be read as standalone, in my opinion, it is fun if they have been read in order as I did find myself squealing in excitement when the main characters in previous books were referenced or made an appearance. I would recommend this book for all fans of historical romance, especially those who also enjoy unexpected twists and/or steamy love making scenes. I would also recommend this book for those who enjoy elements of music intertwined with romance. On the other hand, I would not recommend this book for those who may be triggered or offended by explicitly sexual scenarios, mild foul language, misogyny, or violence. Please note: an electronic copy of this book was generously provided for free by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Special thanks to A.S. Fenichel not only for writing this fantastic story, but also for posting on Facebook when the book was available on NetGalley :)
BookReview4you More than 1 year ago
'Desperate Bride' by A.S. Fenichel is book Three in the "Forever Brides' series. This is the story of Dorothea Flammel and Thomas Wheel. This can be a standalone book. Dory loves her music and would be happy with just that in her life. But as a Lady and her father having a title she is doomed to marry. Her father though takes it further and tries to marry her off to an old mean man. Thomas has worshiped Dory but knows that he is to below her level for him to be more to her. But when she comes to him for help with the Ideal of marriage he is hesitant to do so. But it doesn't take long for Thomas to know that he has to help Dory. Dory has to learn there is more to her world than music and Thomas has to accept that Dory could be happy without a Title. "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."
NNLight More than 1 year ago
Dory has only ever loved one thing: music. An accomplished musician and composer, she has longed to grow old with her music but as a daughter of a Lord and Lady, she must marry and marry well. When her unfeeling parents order her to marry Lord Hartly (a man old enough to be her grandfather), she must act and quickly. Thomas has been half in love with Dory for years but she’s above his station in life and the ton, let alone her parents, would never approve of him offering marriage. But in a strange twist of fate, Dory proposes to him. At first, he rejects her but after seeing the odious man she’s intent to marry, he reluctantly agrees. They elope to Scotland and get married with Elinor and Michael as witnesses. Now married and perfect strangers, both Thomas and Dory come to grips with what they’ve done. Dory is wracked with guilt, especially when her father calls out Thomas at White’s. Thomas tries everything he can to bring out love and affection in Dory but she’s closed herself off from him. Conflicts and misunderstandings abound but can Dory and Thomas overcome them in order to live a happy life or has this been one giant mistake? I love this whole series and am a big fan of Fenichel’s work. That being said, I found this installment to be less appealing than the other two. Dory and Thomas go round and round again with misunderstandings and conflicts. Instead of communicating their feelings, they let things fester and it only leads to more misunderstandings. I disliked Dory as a heroine because it appeared that no matter what Thomas said, she didn’t believe him or his love for her. There were certain times when I wanted to wring Dory’s neck. Other than that issue, I loved Desperate Bride. Extremely well-written with spot-on historical accuracies, colorful characters and a satisfying ending. Fingers crossed for a book four in the series. Thank you to Kensington Books, A. S. Fenichel and Netgalley for giving me an ARC in the hopes I’d review it. Favorite Character/Quote: She let out a long sigh. “I do not give a damn about titles. I am to be married to a lecherous old man who will keep me as a trophy and perhaps allow me to play pianoforte from time to time to entertain his friends. Everything I have ever wanted tossed aside. My mother will do as she has always threatened and burn all of my music.” She leaned forward and touched his face. “Everything I am is about to be ripped from me. Can you understand, Thomas?” My Rating: 4 stars
Robindpdx More than 1 year ago
This was a well-written, entertaining historical romance. Dorothea (Dory), a nobleman's beautiful daughter, has turned down many proposals because her greatest passion is playing music. Thomas adores her from afar, knowing that without a title he has no right to ask for her hand in marriage. Dory's father arranges to marry Dory to a lecherous Earl to pay off his gambling debts, and Dory begs Thomas to marry her instead. She thought it would be a marriage of convenience, but slowly they begin to open up and trust each other. Throw in some rumors, scandal, and unspoken feelings and I found myself not wanting to put the book down so I could find out what would happen next! This book can be read as a standalone story, though it is part of a series with related characters. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more books by this author.
HeyerF4n More than 1 year ago
I Loved It. This is the first book I have read by this author and I was attracted by the story of a young woman with an outstanding musical talent, constricted by her parents and the mores of the day. Lady Dory pours all her passion into music, it is her reason for living and she is terrified that, with marriage, it will be taken away from her and so refuses all offers of marriage. However this backfires on her when her parents declare they will choose her husband. The Earl of Hartley is lecherous and old enough to be her grandfather but he is also rich and her father is in debt to him. With nowhere to turn, Dory runs to her brother's best friend and asks him to marry her. Thomas has always been strongly attracted to Dory but although wealthy he is without a title and he knows that the Ton will consider their marriage a mésalliance and probably ostracise her. Also does he want to walk open eyed into a marriage with a woman who considers him the lesser of two evils and whose feelings towards him are lukewarm, whilst reserving all her passion for music? I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley. I was not compensated for my review, and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed here is my own. Note: My understanding is that after her marriage to Thomas, Dory should have been styled as Lady Dorothea Wheel, rather than Mrs Thomas Wheel but this does not detract from the story. As the daughter of a peer above the rank of Viscount, a woman enjoys the courtesy title of 'Lady' while remaining a commoner. If she marries an untitled commoner, she takes his family name but retains the title 'Lady' in combination with her own first name. If her spouse receives a knighthood, she retains her former married name as her rank is still higher than his, i.e., the daughter of a peer has precedence over her knighted husband. If her husband becomes a (life) peer, she takes his rank and becomes formally known as Baroness X, informally as Lady X, but it is still a courtesy title.