Devil's Bridge (Alexandra Cooper Series #17)

Devil's Bridge (Alexandra Cooper Series #17)

by Linda Fairstein

Hardcover

$28.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Devil's Bridge (Alexandra Cooper Series #17) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not miss this one, it's the best! Kept me on the edge of my seat and kept me reading all night. Could not put it down. And written from Mike's point of view was pure genius. No spoilers, just do not miss this one. And the added background and history made it doubly worth while, totally great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best one yet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not sure if I liked this book. I wanted an Alexandria Cooper story, and got a Mike Chapman one. Really didn't like what she did with him. I always pictured him as a bit rogue, but he was beyond that point in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lily48 More than 1 year ago
susanneleist More than 1 year ago
Just when I was getting tired of Coop and her relationship with Mike, Linda Fairstein brings us a clean breath of fresh air. Her past books have always shown Alexandra's perspective and pretty much no one else's. This book gives us a glimpse inside of Mike Chapman. He is an usual and interesting character. He wears his emotions on his sleeve for this one. I'm happy DA Battaglia gets to show his true stripes in this story. His selfishness and greediness come to a head. Thank you Linda Fairstein.
Billyt1 More than 1 year ago
Good read. Gives good insight into the budding relationship between Mike & Coop from Mike's perspective. There are some holes in what happened with and during the abduction. Also would have liked to hear more from Coop. Maybe in the next book
christalvp More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful addition to the Alexandra Cooper Series, maybe my favorite installment to date. It was harrowing, and I worried terribly about Alex, as well as her new relationship with Mike. I felt so badly for him and what he was going through at times during this book, not to mention poor Alex! The book kept me captivated and I absolutely couldn't quit reading. I'm already so ready for more! Mike Chapman is stunned by the disappearance of Alex Cooper. Even though her friends tell him they believe she may have left purposefully, he is afraid something horrible has happened to her and he works diligently to find her and bring her back. Alex disappearing and having no one realize until the next day was rough! After that, when her friends tried to convince Mike that she probably went off on her own, I was so sad that they weren't more concerned for her. I was very glad that Mike took her absence more seriously and worked so hard to find her. It was odd to have Alex so silent in this one, but I really enjoyed having so much from Mike's perspective. I enjoyed the suspense and really like the direction the relationship between Mike and Alex is going. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing an ARC in return for an honest review.
RomeoRomeo More than 1 year ago
Amateurish. Clumsily leading the reader astray at every turn while attempting to impress with easily forgettable factoids about NYC. Very disappointing especially after an interesting start.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
Author Linda Fairstein masterfully weaves the history of New York landmarks with suspense in her latest release, DEVIL’S BRIDGE, the 17th installment in her Alexandra Cooper series. Bringing the various characters to life, narrator Barbara Rosenblat holds listeners’ attention with her varied pace, dialect and mannerisms. Rosenblat draws on the emotions throughout the story to boost it to another level of intensity. A security breach in the office of Assistant District Attorney Alexandra ‘Coop’ Cooper during a high profile case could have dangerous repercussions. When Coop suddenly disappears after work, Detective Mike Chapman and the NYPD begin sorting through Coop’s cases trying to find the culprit. But could Coop’s new intimate relationship with Chapman have more to do with her disappearance than any of the criminals she’s put away? Chapman and the gang scramble to find Coop as they are drawn to Manhattan’s waterfront where past and present go hand and hand. The author has shifted a bit in this latest release allowing the focus to be on Chapman instead of Coop. The story is told from Chapman’s perspective giving listeners/readers new insight into the detective. Chapman weaves his way through the clues and the history of certain landmarks to find Coop. This thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat as the suspense builds. The compelling novel is a fast pace adventure through the streets and waterways of New York. Even though this is the 17th installment in the series, new listeners/readers won’t be left in the dark. DEVIL’S BRIDGE is chalked full of suspense, mystery and history making it not only a captivating read, but also informative. FTC Full Disclosure – A copy of this audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whether you are a New Yorker or just a fan of that great city, you won't find a crime novelist who brings it to life better than Linda Fairstein does. Her former career as the top sex crimes prosecutor in Manhattan has given her heroine Alexandra Cooper a lot of potential predators to watch out for, and Coop's friend and new love interest, Detective Mike Chapman, fills in the rest with historical fun facts about New York. This novel combines the grave danger of Coop's kidnapping with the history of the Hudson River shoreline. This time it's Mike story to tell as he has 48 hours to bring his favorite blonde sleuth back to his arms alive. You'll love this new storytelling twist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The combination of NYC waterfront landmarks, the new romance between ADA Alexandra Cooper and Detective Mike Chapman, and kidnapping will pique your interest in this newest Fairstein crime novel. If only our office lives and romances were this thrilling! Chapman takes the lead in this seventeenth and best in the Alexandra Cooper series as he has 48 hours to figure out who has stolen his love, why, and where they have hidden her. You will be riveted to your beach chair until Coop is safe and sound from the denizens of Manhattan's criminal underworld.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Linda Fairstein has given Alexandra Cooper fans a scary twist. Alex has been kidnapped by a sinister faux Uber car and disappears, with a roster of suspects from her past. There are many potential assailants for the NYPD to consider, but nobody is hungrier to find her than her devoted friend, and now lover, Detective Mike Chapman. He searches for her by following clues that take him from the Statue of Liberty to the George Washington bridge and beyond, and this time the novel is narrated by Mike, not Alex. It's fun and thrilling to watch him despatch foes within and without the NYPD to rescue his damsel in distress. Don't forget to throw in a copy of Devil's Bridge with the sunscreen on your trip to the beach this summer!
PierresFamily More than 1 year ago
"Devil's Bridge" is superlative!!! No spoilers here, but suffice it to say that it was very suspenseful, and you'll be glad you read it. But as always with Ms. Fairstein, this book is more than "just a mystery." It makes you laugh; it makes you cry. And in a natural and fun way, you even learn snippets of history. It's easy to see that Ms. Fairstein puts a lot of work into her books, which obviously are "labors of love." You find yourself investing in the well-developed characters. Her books never disappoint, and this one's no exception. Based on my Criminal Justice system experience, the characters are so authentic, that I feel that I know them personally. I read about two books a week, and "Devil's Bridge" is the best book I’ve read this year! I wish I could give it even more than five stars, because it's a standout!
booklover- More than 1 year ago
LINDA FAIRSTEIN'S ALEX COOPER SERIES NEVER GETS OLD If you are a long time follower of Linda Fairstein and her Alex Cooper series, you are in for a treat! It is a bit different from what we come to expect from this author ... but it manages to show us an Alexandra Cooper seen through Mike Chapman's eyes. This is essentially Mike Chapman's book. Alexandra is kidnapped early on in the book. Naturally, it turns law enforcement inside out trying to find her. As a prosecutor, she has a lot of enemies, old ones and new ones. And Mike is beside himself with worry. There is plenty of history, which I always enjoy, and lots of action, as people are turning the city upside down. There are several twists and it's very engaging to see how much Mike really knows about the woman he loves. I gave it 5 stars. I have loved the series; I love this book; I love the author Color me happy to have had the opportunity from FIRST TO READ to read this one!
kerrita More than 1 year ago
Alex Cooper goes missing after a bad day in court. Of course her love, Detective Mike Chapman, goes to the rescue. Alex is spirited away along the Hudson River's most famous NYC landmarks, and the pacing will keep you riveted to your back chair. Fairstein excels in this, her seventeenth and smartest book yet, told through the voice of Chapman in a new twist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fairstein scores again! She again takes us deep into NYC locales. Her research is impeccable and always adds an extra layer to the underlying mystery. In Devil's Bridge, she takes a big jump - leaving prosecutor Alex Cooper in the dark, so to speak, and writing much of the book through the eyes (and voice) of Det. Mike Chapman. One of her best!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss ur hand three times and post this on three other books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay so if you want to be some thig other than an actor trying out than please step to the next res for the parts list. Res three i the bulletin and you can only post on it if you have a part. I am the head. If there is a play then people will post where the auditions are on the bulletin. Chat room is at res six. Have fun!