Dragonwings: Golden Mountain Chronicles: 1903

Dragonwings: Golden Mountain Chronicles: 1903

by Laurence Yep

Paperback(Annual)

$7.78 $7.99 Save 3% Current price is $7.78, Original price is $7.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dragonwings: Golden Mountain Chronicles: 1903 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for my 8th grade book report. I am also Chinese. I think that this book was very good and I am reading this book for the 6th time. Every one I know loved this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Laurence Yep paints such a vibrant picture of turn-of-the-century San Fransisco that for the few days I was reading this book, I felt as if I was there myself. Dragonwings is told from the eyes of a young Chinese boy, Moon Shadow, who leaves his mother in China to join his father in the United States. The book follows the boy through this strange new land and a journey within himself. Moon Shadow¿s road through the United States is far from paved with gold. He learns to deal with demons and dragons as well as his father and his fellow companymen. Yep¿s fluent use of figurative language makes Moon Shadow¿s story come to life on the page. I could hear the sounds and smell the smells. This book would make an excellent addition to any library, not just young adult. There are some adult themes such as racism and drug dependence so caution should be taken when introducing this to younger adults. With themes such as immigration, aviation and Yep¿s imaginative writing, Dragonwings could be related to many disciplines including the Social Studies, Science and Literature. Yep produces a complete package with this installment of his Golden Mountain Chronicles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the suspense. I was quite glad for them when their 'flying machine' was finished.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though Dragonwings may only be considered for a 9-12 year old audience but this story can be read, and enjoyed, by people from an assortment of ages. This story is about Chinese laborers who come to San Fransico to make a better life. They come over and have to live in their own section of the town, and weren't able to take part in American jobs. The main characters have to make it through all of their struggles. Through all of this, Windrider, the main character wants to pursue his dream, flying...
librisissimo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Substance: Story of a young Chinese boy sent to live with his father in America. The two develop a friendship with a widow and her daughter, ignoring the cultural taboos. The father develops an obsession about building an airplane after reading about the Wright brothers, and risks his job and life to complete it.Style: For an older junior reader, because of the explicit references to bigotry and racial prejudice.
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At last, Moon Shadow was allowed to go to the Land of the Demons (America) from the Middle Kingdom (China). He had to always be on guard in America as the demons created danger everywhere. His father¿s dream was to fly an airplane, a dream that started when his father read about the Wright Brothers attempts to fly in the newspaper. Moon Shadow and his father decided to set out to achieve this dream. The world of San Francisco in the early 20th century as seen from the eyes of Chinese Americans. And, you guessed it, there is a big sequence that takes place in 1906. In San Francisco.
Melodie1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is awsome i almost felt like i was in the story with the boy he worked with his uncle who saved everyone but died in the end but still he tries very hard.You almost felt his pain through the pages it tells you about a whole new life how people see it differently.
MK423 More than 1 year ago
Bruh This book is ok and weII it might not work out weII for everybody but in my opinion this book is pretty good weII I might hate it at the end anyways because I haven't read the whoIe book but I am stiII on Chapter 4 and from what I have read so far it is pretty decent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dragonwings by Laurence Yep Dragonwings is about a young Chinese boy named Moon Shadow who has lived in a small village all of his life. He comes to America and with his father in a Chinatown. The book is shows the hardships that emigrants faced in the early 1900s. Moon Shadow and his father, Windrider, get to know each other. They also learn more about other characters like Uncle, Lefty and White Deer. They are the leaders of the company where they all work. Moon shadow learns a lot about hard work. The Chinese stay in their own village and stay away from the "demons", the white people. When Windrider goes to see the dragon king he finds out that in his former life he was a dragon that healed other dragons. He was reborn as a softskin after he decided to show off by trying to blow out the sun. The dragon king says that after Windrider was reborn he still had the power to heal in his hands. Windrider was very talented at fixing machines. The dragon king said he would make Windrider a dragon again if he passed a series of tests in his human life. Laurence yep did a good job portraying the hardships that emigrants faced in the early 1900s. Still, it was not the most exciting book I have read. In terms of vocabulary it was easy for me to understand. It does include some violence though, so it wouldn't be good for younger children to read. The book didn't really make me think because it doesn't really relate to my life in any way. Overall the book is okay but I really recommend it to younger children or girls. I think it is more the type of book a guy would read. The book did show me more about the San Francisco earthquake and gave a look into how the Chinese emigrants lived.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dragonwings by Laurence Yep is an outstanding book. A Cinese boy and his father live and work in America so that the rest of their family in China have enough moneyto live. The boys father has a dream. A dream to fly! The two go to live with a white demoness. whil they are living there a terrible earthquake hits that town. Are the two going to live? Are they going to fly? You will have to read the book to find out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love all of the Yep Books, Especially the Land of the GOlden Mountain ones. Dragonwings was a touching story which i can relate to.One of the greatest books alive.
Guest More than 1 year ago
all the 7th graders going to 8th grade have to read this book.so far i bearly finished chapter 1 it is okay.but the problem is that the chapters are to long.an their is alittle bit of raicisim on the the tang people wich are he chinesse people.but its an alright book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I felt this book was intresting, and had a very good storyline. Not only, this book had a lot of conflict of famlies,and life itself. I also felt this book was a diary. This book was great and I recommend this to all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dragonwings is an excellent, well-written story. It portrays the struggles that a boy and his father faced, and it elegantly reflected the message that it is important to dream. The plot captured my heart, and I thoroghly enjoyed this touching, heart-moving story. It must be read my everyone!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Laurence Yep provides a twist of history and suspense in this novel. Eight year old Moon Shadow sails from China to join his father in America. Moon Shadow leaves his mother and grandmother behind to meet his father, Windrider, for the first time. Moon Shadow immediately grew close to his father and supports his father's courageous dream. Windrider sacrifices many of the amenities of life to pursue his dream of creating a "flying machine". During the trials of their newly created relationship, they were also consistently facing obstacles created by their fellow Chinamen. Windriders dedication is extremely inspirational. This historical novel leads the reader through a great experience. The dialogue represents realistic and precise conversations that a father and son would have. The language of the book has a smooth and clear flow . Yep also creates suspension of disbelief throughout the book. This book would provide a great tool for teachers to use in the classroom. It provides great opportunities to introduce an array of different topics. Some of these topics include immigration, aviation, and the effects of earthquakes. This novel is a pleasure to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While it was a good book for Historical factorization...I did not like itas much as I expected to. The story was hard to understand and somewhat unbelieveably unreal. But the story was heartfelt with courage and love.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so easy to read. I completely forgot about what was going on and was completely immursed in the story. it took me several days to read it, I even took it to work and read during my free time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A very good book to read when bored. It cheers you up. The suspense is great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A novel just for history and entertainment, this reading list novel has some very good parts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I also read this book over the summer because it was on my eighth grade reading list. I thought it was a pretty good book. I would recomend it to kids from ages 10-14.