Dream Chaser (Dream-Hunter Series #3)

Dream Chaser (Dream-Hunter Series #3)

by Sherrilyn Kenyon

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dream Chaser (Dream-Hunter Series #3) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 405 reviews.
SamanthaP More than 1 year ago
This was the first Dream Hunter I've enjoyed. The others were rather boring and didn't feel as if they had been written by the same author of the Dark Hunter and Were Hunter series'. THe love story between Simone and Xypher took a long time to develop but it felt very sincere. Xypher is a Dream Hunter that has been wrongly accused and convicted of a crime he didn't commit. A crime committed by Satara, Stryker's evil sister. My major complaint with this book was that everyone was willing to make sacrifices with the mystery Jaden in order for him to grant their deepest desires but no one thought to bring true justice to Satara for all of her sins. Jaden is a very interesting character that I hope to see more of in the books to come. Bonus: There was more than enough Ash to make my day in the book to make my day!
thecollector0 More than 1 year ago
this book was hard to put down. I recommended it to all my friends.
vampwannabe More than 1 year ago
this is hands down the best one out of the series so far (haven't read the 4th one yet). LOVED the characters, the story...nothing was rushed like the last one. GOOD one. Hope she keeps up with this series (and not forgetting our Dark Hunters). Really good stuff.
Becky Long More than 1 year ago
Is there any books sherrilyn has written that havent been fantastic. This one is just as awesome .
GtzLstNRding More than 1 year ago
Love how Kenyon evolves each story and brings you deeper into the world of all the Hunters. Also love how she's bringing Hades and Persphone into the story more and all the different demons. I think with some of the mentions of "Lucifer" and one of the books to come "Angels & Demons" this world is going to really rock!! Absoluletely love this series and all the ones connected to it.
Athenna More than 1 year ago
Xypher made a deal to help Katra to save the world if Hades gave him a reprieve from his prison In Tartarus. Hades granted him a one month reprieve, if in that month he found his humanity he would not have to return to Tartarus. He did not need a month, all he wanted was enough time to have his revenge on the one who betrayed him and condemned him to be torture for crimes he did not commit. He vowed nothing will sand in the way of his revenge. Simone had lost everything in a blink of an eye. Her brother and mother were killed right before her eyes and he father soon followed suite and killed himself over his grief. Then later after being adopted she eventually lost both her adopted parents to a car crash. The only constant she has ever had in her life has been Jesse, a teenage ghost who died in the 80's and found Simone after her parents death then stuck with her ever since. Besides Jesse and her friend Tate another medical examiner, she did not form lasting attachments to people. They never stayed long. Wail out checking out a crime scene where a young woman was murdered, she stumbled upon some daimons trying to attack her. She held her own but then this large sexy yet deadly man stepped in only to be attacked buy the daimons who slapped a gold cuff to Xypher then one on Simone. Xypher did not know what they were but he knew instinctually that they bonded them together and if she died so would he, so he rushed her out of danger. So with the two of them bonded together they had no choice to stick together. Xypher had a rough angry demeanor. Any time any one shown him kindness he would scuff it away. Simone continued to reach out. There was just something about him that just begged her to reach out and sooth him. Xypher only wanted his revenge he did not want this complication with this difficult woman who insisted one teasing him .... No one teased him, they only feared him as they should. But there was just something about this woman whose tenderness and caring touched something I side him no one had ever touched. Can they survive this bonding together? Will Xypher get his revenge before his month is out. Will his heart remain in tacked after this? Or will she betray him like everyone else? Xypher is a very hurt man as with most men in this series he was brutally betrayed buy the one he thought to love, but if that wasn't bad enough he spent centuries in tartarus being tortured daily for this betrayal. He was soo reserved and sweet . Even though he was ruff and rude and at times impossible he had a heart of gold and he tried to hind it but you'd see it peek out around Simone. I thought he was sweet. Simone was great too she never back down to Xypher . She would get in his face and stood up to him when no one ever in his life would have dared. I loved when she took him shopping for clothes he was soo funny. Especially when Simone was talking to the sales lady about his body and he was confused and had to ask Jesse what they were talking about. I loved Jesse he was hella funny with all his 80's music and stuff. I loved how he and Simone would banter back and forth. They were hilarious. This book had a few surprises I didn't see coming but they were cool surprises that made the story that much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed yet again another Kenyon book...a must read.All the characters are down to earth...everyday ordinary people with secrets.The interaction of characters from pervious books allows the flow of all the story lines to connect.Can't wait for the next Dream-Hunter book!
Phoenix1967 More than 1 year ago
I have read the entire Dark-Hunter series. If your a fan of vampires, romance, adventure, action, thriller, suspense, comedy and mythology then these books are for you. You will find yourself engrossed in these books once you start reading them, but IMO you should read them in order BUT you dont have too, each book can stand by themselves. The characters are of all ages and sizes. I highly recommend Sherrilyn kenyon to learn more about her books you can go to www.sherrilynkenyon.com and you can check her books out also on YOU TUBE she actually has short movie trailers for some of her books and boy are the heros HOT lol.
stef30 More than 1 year ago
You have to follow the seriese along with this book. S. Kenyon is a fabulous writer. She will pull you intio another world as you read the latest adventure.
Iamtiggeress More than 1 year ago
Another home rum in the Dark Hunter series--Sherrilyn Kenyon has a great imagination and fluid style of intrigue. Can't wait until the next one
Bellafiend1 More than 1 year ago
Xypher's charcter at first seems hard and unapproachable but as the story continues we begin to see his heart. Only the betrayal of a god and an eternity in tartarus made him into the cold man Leta becomes cuffed to. Overall the book was a good read,the story was sound for the most part. A little convient as far as Leta's orgin. Kept its pace although a little anti climactic at the end. It was still agood ride I would recommmend this book.
Berber-Dawn More than 1 year ago
Reading the Dark Hunter and Dream Hunter novels together are amazing and they wont let you down or let you put them down!
HoffK More than 1 year ago
O.K. I admit it, I love these books! I started with her Dark Hunter Series and fell into her Dream-Hunter Novels. These blend well with each other and the characters tend to cross over so reading both is a good idea. Complex characters, complicated plots and steamy romance keep things lively. I love the Greek Mythology tie in (which makes me, a history nut, even more interested). Beware, once you read one of her books, you will want them all!! (I went out and bought the whole series!!)
Dareth More than 1 year ago
Interesting
MisheyZ More than 1 year ago
Like many others, I tend to think the Dream Hunter books are weaker than the Dark Hunter and Were Hunter stories. NOT SO WITH THIS ONE! Dream Chaser was fast-paced and interesting, and introduced one of my new favorite characters--Xypher. Is also serves as our introduction to Jaden, the demon-broker who's going to be he main focus of the next arc. Read this one!
Atlanta More than 1 year ago
Dream Chaser is great read for any person who has read the Dark-Hunter series. I'm sure that once you start the series, you cannot stop! For those who have not ever read the series, it might be hard for you to understand the plot and events in the book. There are also spoilers for the previous novels if you start with Dream Chaser. Dream Chaser is part 21 of the Dark-Hunter books, with all the short stories included, so lots of missing info and spoilers if you start with this one. See this web site: http://www.dailyinquisitor.com/hunter/readingorder.htm if you want to view the reading order.
MissJ More than 1 year ago
Ok, this is by far one of my more favorite books. I must say that this is the best book in the dream hunter series, the other two books the dream hunter and upon the midnight clear was less then what i thought they were going to be. In the very least i was disappointed in those two books, however i must say the dream chaser made me like the dream hunters again. the plot was very entertaining and so where the characters. I loved the ghost that was always hanging around. This book is a must read for the dream hunter series the other two can be skipped...well you might want to read the dream hunter because it ties into Ash's story with Tory a little bit but other wise you can skip it. But most def read this book.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Dream Chaser Sherrilyn Kenyon St. Martin's, Feb 2008, $7.99 ISBN: 9780312938826 A ¿deceased¿ half-demon demi-god, Xypher lives for one thing vengeance against the female whose betrayal has left him locked away in Hade¿s most secure prison Tartarus. His target Satara knows he will try to come for her if he escapes especially in her dream state so to mute his threat she has ¿bonded¿ him to Tulane University medical examiner Simone Dubois. If either dies the other also dies, but this time permanently. Although he does not like being tied to anyone, Xypher realizes that Satara made an error by selecting Simone as she is used to the paranormal rooming with a teen ghost and solving murder mysteries by consulting with the victims. Instead of panic, Simone begins to work with Xypher especially when the mortal world becomes threatened. --- DREAM CHASER is a delightful often amusing romantic fantasy starring two interesting protagonists and a fascinating antagonist. Readers will emphasize with Xypher who understandably out grouches Oscar and admire Simone who does not blink when the paranormal enters her life. Their debates make for a fun time especially their discussion as what to do to Satara. With additional spins leading to save the world or else, Sherrilyn Kenyon provides a superb romantic thriller that answers the question of whether bonding includes love at least for this couple. --- Harriet Klausner
jshillingford on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was underwhelmed by the last two Dream Hunter books. I felt the characterization was weak and the romances had little basis. Moreover, they lacked the familiarity of the D-H world. Thankfully, this novel hit the mark perfectly. I was engrossed from the very beginning and did not put the book down until I finished it.Xypher was interesting and three-dimensional - he was more than simply "I have no emotion, but I like yours, so let's be a couple." I liked him and his bad attitude. And I felt the same for his heroine, Simone. This is very likely because not only is she more than she seems, she has a tenuous knowledge of the D-H world. Her best friend and colleague is a squire so Xypher didn't have to hide his nature the entire book. They felt like real people, albeit in Kenyon's world. This was readily apparent in the dialog. They bickered, bantered and teased their way to a familiarity on which a romance could be based. There was a lot of humor and sarcasm that the last two books just didn't have. Yes, there was sexual attraction (and some hot sex in the second half), but also understanding and intimacy. I was also happy to return to the D-H world, including Sanctuary, with cameos from Julian, Acheron and our favorite baddies. This book felt like it was part of, and added to, the mythology of the D-H world.I do agree with other reviewers that the heroes are getting somewhat cookie-cutter: extremely sexy, ripped and cocky (pun intended) men who really only differ by their eye and hair color. However, I read Kenyon for escapism and that is a trademark of the D-H series. Overall, I felt this was closer in quality to the first few books of the series and one I would read again. Highly recommended!
shelleyraec on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another good story - I enjoy them I really do, they are a great escape, but for me its marred by sloppy writing (and editing by extension) and the characters lack consistency in parts.
Khristine_Stain on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved Xyper's story! He so needed a happy ending and he got it! That's another thing I love about this author, she makes you love her characters rooting and cheering through the whole book.
mzserena on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am still not a fan of the Dream Hunters. I did like the story, but it wasn't as good as I was hoping for when I started. I'm tired of the all of the sudden, the hunter gets their happy ending. A lot of them seem forced. This one wasn't as bad, but it seems like it was twisted at the end to make the happy ending.I still am enjoying Kenyon's writing, so I will keep plodding on. Especially since Acheron is the next book... finally... back to the Dark Hunters.
ladycato on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Background on my reading: Before my writer's conference last weekend, I knew Sherrilyn Kenyon was one of the major romance writers in attendance. I had no idea how fanatic her following is, or that the wait in line for her autograph was over an hour long. She was the keynote speaker at our Friday dinner and spoke of the obstacles to not only getting published, but to staying published. She had spilled a drink on her speech, too, which made her and everyone else laugh when she couldn't read a section. When I spoke to her during the book signing, she was very sweet and encouraging and wanted to know how conference was for me and if I'd had any agent requests (yes!) and she even squeezed my hand for good luck. That means a lot coming from someone who is such a huge success and a #1 New York Times bestseller.The book Dream Catcher was one of many free books I was given during the conference. I've never read any of Sherrilyn Kenyon's novels, nor any other paranormal romance. I read very little romance, period. I found this book quite fascinating and compelling. She has created a vast and detailed world that involves all the major pantheons of gods; this book focused most on the Greek, Sumerian, and Atlantean deities. The characters felt very real, complete with a plethora of pop culture references (even one to Hannah Montana), and it was believable. The sex scenes were inevitable, but at that point both of the characters had matured and it felt... well... right. Yes, it had some of the same flow that one would expect with a romance novel, but it was still a refreshing approach. I wouldn't mind reading more of her books.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Xypher is a half god/half demon and a Phobotory Skotos who used to bring nightmares to others before he was betrayed and spent centuries in his own nightmare of torment by the god, Hades. When Hades grants Xypher one month of freedom to seek revenge on his betrayer, he is determined that nothing will stop him.Simone Dubois is a teacher and medical examiner whose insights into the strange and unusual give her the ability to help solves crimes of the most horrendous nature. While at a crime scene she is suddenly accosted by a herd of daimons and saved by the wildest man she could have imagined. Now their lives are bound together and both Xypher and Simone have to learn to help each other to keep themselves alive.This Dream Hunter story was definitely a step up from the last I read, although it still doesn't match the quality of some of her former Dark Hunter novels. I enjoyed the characters, particularly Jesse, the ghost and I really liked the relationship between Jesse and Simone. It didn't hurt that I was also a teen of the '80s and loved many of the music and groups that Kenyon named during the course of the book. I liked Xypher too, but I did feel his complete personality about face was rather sudden. I think it would have been more believable if it had been a more gradual shift. The part with the Charonte demons sparked a memory and its driving me a little crazy trying to remember where they came in to this series before. Oh well, that's the curse of a bad memory!Overall I did enjoy the story although it did seem quite reminiscent of a few of her past books and I continue to look forward to continuing on with the series.
kw50197 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The best part about this book is the introduction of the demon broker. Apart from that, rather ho-hum.