Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals after Dark Series #11)

Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals after Dark Series #11)

by Kresley Cole

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dreams of a Dark Warrior 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 911 reviews.
OpheliaTX More than 1 year ago
Could fate be any crueler? Regin the Radiant, 1000 year old immortal Valkyrie famous in the lore for her beauty and pranks, falls for her captor, Declan Chase, a mortal who lives to hunt and exterminate her kind. Romeo and Juliet had it easier. But fall for him she does. After all, he is the reincarnation of her first lover Aidan the Fierce. Aidan was cursed to die after making Regin his. Will the fifth time be the charm? And every time Regin makes love to Aidan in his other incarnations, he dies. Talk about being torn. She could be signing Declan's death warrant with one kiss. Timing is definitely not on their side. Just when Declan starts to realize he may be wrong about immortals, Regin hates him, with reason. Declan's dreams have always haunted him, making him a very damaged man filled with hate for the creatures who killed his family and left him scarred. Regin is a temptation to him, making him want to abandon his duty to rid the world of her kind. Will they be able to break the curse? Once again, Kresley Cole has created a great Alpha male character in Declan Chase. And of course there is her signature humor. Lots of LOL moments. In Dreams of a Dark Warrior we meet some amazing new characters and visit some of our favorites. I find myself especially fascinated with Lothaire, the vampire Enemy of Old. What a bad boy! Definitely can't wait for his book next year. My only complaint - is that the book ended! Just didn't want it to end. With all her teasing hints, Kresley Cole has perfected the art of "leaving them wanting more."
NewEngland More than 1 year ago
Usually at this point in series the writing ideas start to dry up, it becomes a little repetitive and dull, but Kresley Cole found a way to keep her series fresh. I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought I would. Regin, an immature comic relief character of books past was given more depth in this book. Her character was nicely developed. I enjoyed the book so much that I read it in one day. I was a really great read.
Yvette4 More than 1 year ago
The 11th installment in the IAD series remains interesting, romantic and steamy and full of action. In this series, we've been introduced to so many great characters (Yay! Maybe she'll write this series forever). It is still thrilling for me when a book focuses on one of my favorite characters (Regin, the daring, speaks her mind Valkyrie) as this one does. This was even more fun because Regin's mate works for the blasted Order! He doesn't even know he is Lorekind! Ms. Cole remains consistent in her writing here and that is a good thing, a very good thing. I'll be reading any future books in this EXCELLENT series. Keep 'em coming!
Silvercrystal9 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book, it tugged at my heart and had me tearing up a few spots. Poor Declan, poor Regin all the trials they have gone through makes you appreciate their love even more.
cwoodsnavywife More than 1 year ago
I love Kresley Cole's "Immortals After Dark Series". I am an active duty navy wife. And my husband goes on deployments a lot. So, I started to read a couple of romance novels. That was 6 years ago. But Once I found the "Immortals After Dark series" I became extremely immersed in anything "Kresley Cole". She has been the only romance author who entwined the paranormal, adventure, comedy, romance and steamy love scenes. Cole was able to capture fantasy without being vulgar. (Which, seems to be tricky for some authors?)This is why I can't wait to read her latest book!
april eckert More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couln't stop reading!! This book grabbed me from the very beginning!!
Crysith More than 1 year ago
I love Kresley Cole's series! I have read them all and I recommend them all! Love the characters, the stories, and of course the steamy scenes. She has just the right combination for me to enjoy the entire book! I do not enjoy anal play or threesomes, and these have neither.
Robert Hibler More than 1 year ago
Love all the books in her series. Really love this book. I'm really looking forward to her next installment. Love the Valkryies!
ReadingVixen67 More than 1 year ago
I was wondering when Kresley Cole was going to write Regin's story. That Valkyrie is a nut! The 1,000-year-old curse that she has lived with finally comes to fruition in this book. Lots of suspense, action, tension...LOVED IT!!! I hope Kresley continues with this series; it's great!
pattiep127 More than 1 year ago
I love this series! Great characters that you fall in love with!
tulane1 More than 1 year ago
I love the series, but the past 2 novels have been difficult to read. This one was darker than previous books, and the highlight of the novel was Nix, not Regin, which fails to do her justice. Would recommend borrowing rather than buying this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So, it's another hit by Kresley Cole. If you are not familiar with this author, then go back to the beginning of the series and enjoy the experience. Cole achieves the perfect balance of likeable characters, sexual chemistry, tight plotting and snappy dialogue. Heros are capital-Alpha and heroines are believably bada#%. I looked forward to Regin and Aidan's story and was not disappointed. The plot advanced in an exciting way and the love story was not easily predictable. This was not my favorite installment, but for me that's like complaining about % cacao in chocolate. It's still chocolate and better than almost anything else out there for consumption. I would be remiss if I did not mention the heat Cole brings to the page. She builds tension and manages sex scenes in a way that make me flushed without feeling vaguely sceevy afterward. I read this series again before the latest installment, only the second time I've ever done that with an entire series. Cole has some of the best one-liners in fiction. If you like your heroes strong, possessive, scorching hot and absolutely enthralled with their females, then I guarantee you a great read.
saturnnalia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"Loving the enemy" is a familiar plot device in the Imortals After Dark series, but it is exceptionally done here. Declane is reborn with no memory of Regine, and he has captured and tortured her. Redeeming him from his actions was quite the feat of good writting and plotting. Regine attempting to seduce him then doubting herself, was well written as well. Good sexual tension. As always a good mix of action and romance. Well paced. And what is Lothaire up to? I can't wait to read his story.
ABookwormsHaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is book 11 in the Immortals After Dark series and I have been looking forward to Regin¿s story since the first time we met her. She is sharp-tongued, quick witted, loyal to her core and kicks some major butt. In short, I love her to death! On the outside Regin plays the part of a care free, happy, Valkyrie. On the inside Regin misses her warlord with a fierce passion. He has been reincarnated and found his way back to her four times now and in each lifetime she has had to stand by helplessly and watch him die right before her eyes.Declan has lived a life of torment and heartbreak. He was tortured as a child and forced to watch his parents brutally murdered in front of him by creatures from the Lore. As a result, he has grown up hating anything having to do with the Lore and was trained to track them down, capture and torture them. However, he takes just a little too much pleasure in his work at times and Regin is his next target.Out of all the books in the Immortal After Dark series, these two faced the most adversity throughout their courtship. Declan is literally torturing Regin and her friends and family, how do you forgive something like that? Despite all that, I was still rooting for them, more than anyone we have seen previously. I cannot even begin to imagine the pain Regin must have gone through to watch the man she loves die in front of her multiple times and not be able to spare him. Now that he is back in her life, it is hard for her to just dismiss him, no matter how evil he may appear to be.Kresley Cole continues to amaze me with her ability to weave previous story lines into present ones flawlessly. The books come together seamlessly and each story plays an important part in the overall plot. Which is why I would not recommend reading these books out of order, you can do it if you want to, but things make more sense if you go in order. You will also have complete awareness of other events happening simultaneously from previous books that play a critical roles in Dreams of a Dark Warrior. For example, in Dreams of a Dark Warrior we pick back up at the island where many immortals are being held captive. We have seen many stories revolve around this island and run into previous characters. Past books have left holes in the timeline because the characters cannot be everywhere at once, this story fills in gaps that we only got glimpses of in the past and continues to add depth to this entire series.I was also excited to see Regin and ¿Aiden¿ in past lifetimes. We get a glimpse of Regin before she became immortal and she was just as fiery as ever. Good to know that even after centuries of living the girl still has spirit and came by it honestly. It was fascinating to go back to the beginning of this curse that both Aiden and Regin live with and see how it all started. Regin fills us in on the many lives of Aiden with her memories and with each detail revealed, you understand how much pain she has had to bear throughout her life.Overall, Dreams of a Dark Warrior is another fantastic addition to this series! Kresley Cole does an amazing job of spinning a tale so addicting you will not be able to put the book down for a second. I cannot wait to see what she has in store for us next because rumor has it that Lothaire¿s book is up next and you know that is going to be good.
arthistorychick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As a long-time reader of Krelsey Cole¿s Immortals After Dark Series I was ridiculously excited to see Regin¿s story in print - finally. Regin has been such a wonderful, playful, and seriously bad-a** character throughout the series that it was time to have her story told. Maybe I just got too excited and expected way too much but by novel¿s end, I felt a bit disappointed. Regin didn¿t really get the story she deserved although she did have some spectacular moments and comments. As with all of the books in this series, Dreams of a Dark Warrior traces the moments and events that lead to the major character finding his/her mate. In this instance, it is Regin finding (after several centuries & deaths) her one true mate, Declan Chase. Where Cole shines is in her ability to make the reader first hate and then adore a character. In this respect, I was not let down. Declan Chase began as a nasty bit of work with a life-long grudge against all beings of the Lore. It takes Chase¿s encounter with Regin and a few other Loreans for him to realize that nothing is as it seems and maybe his hatred has been misplaced. Of all the characters in Dreams of Dark Warrior, Chase¿s character has the greatest evolution. Cole transforms him right before your eyes turning him into one of the most endearing mates of the entire series!In every series there is what I tend to call set-up novels; that is, the author begins to focus more on previously unimportant or less important characters and introduces new characters and/or plot lines. Essentially, the reader is being set-up for the next several installments in a series. Dreams of Dark Warrior is one of those novels and this is why I feel Regin didn¿t get the story she deserved. Cole not only had to tell Regin and Declan¿s story but she also had a lot of work to do and ground to cover in this novel in order to set up the future of her series. It is in this set-up portion of the book that I got over my disappointment, at least marginally. Cole gave more information about Lothaire, the Enemy of Old (who knew he had a sense of humor?); introduced the seriously naïve but learning quickly Thad, the half-vampire half-phantom (WHAT???); and of course, Nucking Futs Nix who now has a pet bat and is still legally barred from seeing Mike Rowe. Nix might be one of my all-time favorite characters and in this series, her actions and predictions seemed to hint at future plot lines ¿ but who can really tell where Nix is concerned. Based on the hints it seems that in the near future we are going to be learning a great deal more about Lothaire, Nix, and the Valkyries never-ending sear for Myst. Did anyone else pay attention to the fact that Lothaire vowed he had no knowledge of Myst¿s location? Hhmm.....As with all of the books in this series, Dreams of a Dark Warrior is a solid well-written read but not something I am going to pick up again anytime in the near future. Don¿t skip this book by any means but don¿t expect to be all tingly and excited at the end either. By the way, I so wish that last statement weren¿t true ¿ I adore this series and have rarely been let down or disappointed by Cole. At the end of the day however I was much more excited by the tidbits of information concerning the future of this series; Cole really seems to be setting us up for the next (several??) installments. Since I can¿t find any information regarding the next book in this series, here¿s my request: Dear Kresley Cole,I would like the twelfth book in this series to be Nix¿s story.Sincerely,A Nucking Futs Reader
A_S_Johnson_author on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable plot, smooth transitions, interesting story line, keep me reading, and held my interest throughout.
MrsMich02 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Berserker vs. Valkyrie on the Island of Misfit Toys. Add equal parts vampire, witch, faerie, sorceress and demon. Stir well.
bookwormygirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Kresley Cole! There is a reason why her books are part of my auto-buy list. Not only is her Immortals After Dark series plain awesome but you fall in love with all the characters in these books. She does not disappoint in Dreams of a Dark Warrior. In it we finally get Regin the Radiant and her Berserker's love story.When Declan first sees Regin his first action is to grab his knife, stab her with it, and then twist it for extra measure. My first impression: Woah, how the heck is he gonna get out of this one... because right off the bat I hated him. Not only does he stab my girl Regin but he's a strung out druggie to boot. I've always loved Regin throughout this series. She's funny, saucy and the tough and mean Valkyrie when she has to be. Yet, I really liked seeing this softer side of her. She was vulnerable when it came to her feelings for Aiden and his reincarnations. I was at the edge of my seat flying through the pages to see how it would all work out for them.If you've read the previous books (Lucia's and Carrow's) in the series, then you'll recognize that it takes place throughout the same time frame and using the same backdrop for this story - we're getting a different point-of-view from the same island where Declan and his team have captured, tortured and imprisoned so many members of the Lore. Alternating between the present and Declan's dreams of his past lives and their courtship throughout the centuries you truly get a grasp for their feelings for one another and really appreciate how their relationship grows and matures throughout the story. In the end, I would say this is another winner from Ms. Cole. This is a fabulous addition to the series and at its conclusion you can already see the build-up for the next story to come (Lothaire). Too bad we have to wait a while for its release - I guess I'll just have to read this one over and over until I can get my hands on the next one. Not that I'm complaining :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
numbered book is this....my reader shows 1........
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago