Event Horizon

Event Horizon

Director: Paul W.S. Anderson Cast: Laurence Fishburne, Sam Neill, Kathleen Quinlan

DVD (Special Edition / Wide Screen / Subtitled / Dubbed)

$8.38 $8.99 Save 7% Current price is $8.38, Original price is $8.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Event Horizon 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Event Horizon is an excellent film about the consequences of individuals and man pushing the boundries of science. In the story, Dr. Weir pours his life's efforts into a ship called the Event Horizon, that uses extra-dimensional travel via wormholes to travel faster than light per say. What dimension the ship actually travels through is unknown, but the ship is still built, and it has unforseen consequences. Proving the point that man will do things just because he can, regardless of what the known aftermath will be. The ship also indirectly costs Weir the life of his wife through his neglect of their relationship. Some people complain about the gore, but, it's not used as a simple plot device or in a mediocre way. It represents the gruesome reality of hell and sends that point home. As a space movie, it is best enjoyed on a big screen TV to truly give you the feeling of vastness, and widescreen if possible. Seeing this film in the theatre was truly a treat. Overall the cinematography is excellent, and gives you a feel similar to Aliens. This film IS a CULT classic, and if you look beyond the the surface, which most people who dislike the film fail to do, and actually think about the underlying themes you will understand why so many people enjoy this film. It is by no means a mainstream movie, and does not appeal to a broad audience, but those that like intellectual and real movies that pull no punches will truly enjoy this one.
Earshot78 More than 1 year ago
Eree,cold, bleak and somewhat disturbing. The idea of a ship lost in space for who knows how long, is just plain creepy alone. I don't know what I would do if I found a space craft floating in outer space, drifting through worlds and galaxies unknown and uncharted. I know one thing, I'm not climbing aboard to take a nice long look around that's for sure. That's the kind of feeling you get when viewing Event Horizon. What ever happened to the crew aboard that ship is unknown, but I can tell you this, hell does exist if you're stuck on an advanced space craft that takes you to the ends of the universe and back.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the creepiest Sci-Fi movies I've watched since the Alien quadrilogy. It give me chills sometimes, althought the story drags in certain places.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this film. It scared the me to death when I first saw it(and no it wasn't only the gore). I thought this movie had a great plot and an excellent cast. I think some stuff is better unexplained. sort of like Aliens, you might ask yourself where they came from. but in my opinion I think it's better left alone. Thats how I feel with this movie. Paul Anderson did a great job with this flick.
booklover1980 More than 1 year ago
this is my top 10 movies of all time i love...i would advise you if you are just looking for a sci-fi movie with no horror in it i advise you not to watch this...this movie is sci-fi horror and it is awsome
Guest More than 1 year ago
A rather unique science fiction film that tries to apply the occult elements of films such as 'The Excorcist' in the science fiction genre. Although it has dazzling special effects and graphic scenes, the film conveys the plot and theme poorly. The audience is mostly shocked by gruesome filler scenes that don't add any meaning or direction to the plot and theme. The acting is good but limited by a thin screenplay and shallow script. Proressor Weir's (Sam Neil) passion for his doomed ship carries the suspense and tension in the film but the audience is left wondering about the rest of the story. Why did the ship return after so long? What's the ramification of hell being an alternate universe? Why did the ship go there or how did it really get there? What formerly hidden truths are to be revealed? These thematic questions are left unexplored by the poor script and direction of this film. Instead, the audience is bombarded with meaningless gore scenes added for shock value until the anti-climactic and terribly predictable ending. Rent if you must: avoid purchasing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie is great, one of the best films I've ever seen.though I didn't like the choice of the cast,I think the rest of the film is great.Paul Anderson(who has also directed Resident Evil)did a great job on this film.
TripOK More than 1 year ago
Whenever I watch any DVD I purchase with the lights off,as it would create a ,"Beening In The Movie Theatre<" atmoshere.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This movie would have been better off with using a psychological horror,instead of blood and gore. Here's the story,a brilliant scientist,Dr Weir builds a spacehsip that has experimental technology on board that can utilize black hole travel. Problems arise when the ship disappears with the elite crew on board and no one knows what happened. More problems arise when it returns,without its crew! If that wasn't weird enough already,the salvage crew of the Lewis and Clark headed by Laurence''Dirty Harry''Fishbourne and his crew board the ship to find,to their horror that supernatural events have taken over and have killed the first crew. Too much gore for me,supposely a cult hit with some,but for me yuk. The movie is all about how fear and prejudice can destroy you. Very weird and freaky. REad Solaris for a real metaphysical mind trip.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this movie was great and Paul Anderson is one of my favorite directors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My bf likes this weird blend of sci fi horror and space horror. An elite crew of people with Fishbourne at the head fibd a creepy spaceship and find that its haunted. I always felt sorry for Sam Neill's character,the man that build the ship in the first place.