Easter's Lilly

Easter's Lilly

by Judy Serrano

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Easter's Lilly 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Shayna_Gier on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easter's Lilly was anything except a boring read. Serrano does an amazing job at entertaining the reader as Lilly's story unfolds. The characters are also intriguing- and will keep you reading to see what's up with each of them. Also, the relationships in this book are, for the most part, very real- especially in regards to the 4 brothers that Lilly lives with and interacts with. From nearly killing one another, to desperately doing anything to save one another, these men embody the very essence of what is- in my female and outsider's-view mind- brotherhood.Easter's Lilly is definitely packed full from beginning to end, and never is it predictable. The characters- all of them- grow and change throughout the story, so even if you start out not-liking one, by the end that character could be your favorite. And one thing that I really liked is that all of the characters have some type of noticeable flaw that is their weakness- and that flaw isn't always overcome either. Granted, this is the first in a three-book series, so I'm sure that these flaws will prove to be worked on throughout the rest of the story, but I like how, at least in the first book, each character has a pretty even score of good and bad traits.Also, while this is not by any means a "comedic" book, Serrano does an amazing job weaving in the kind of humor one would expect to be found in a book that revolves around a girl and a group of adult brothers. Ongoing jokes between the brothers- while never hilarious enough to cause the reader to drop the book and loose their place, are definitely entertaining and evolve throughout the book as well.So in summary, while Easter's Lilly isn't totally "my type" of book, I am at the very least intrigued and I am looking forward to reading Brother Number 3 and Relatively Close in the coming days.
Cuanam More than 1 year ago
*I received this book from the Author via As You Wish Tours in exchange for an Honest Review* This was definitely an interesting book. A real good look at a cartel's structure, starting with the dirty cops and local drug deals and ending with the enforcers and the big guy who runs the show. Our story follows Lilly O'Hara a twenty-three year old, who in my opinion, had the mentality of a teenager. Lilly was seriously the most naive person in the world. She lives at home with her parents, who treat her like she's a child until she ends up pregnant by a local dealer and in the hospital. From that moment on, Lilly's life spirals out of control and before she finds herself married to the head of the cartel. Bad things start to happen, and always on or around Easter Sunday after that. The book spans a course of years, and while I absolutely find myself loving it, there is at least one thing that bothered me, aside from the grammatical errors I found, Deiguito, her son with the local dealer, is barely mentioned throughout the book until almost the end. With all the time Lilly spent in that house, she seemed to care about which brother to have sex with than with her own child, who was always left with a nanny, even though his mother never went anywhere. Lilly's sexual appetite I found to be a slightly annoying. She never seemed to know who wanted to be with and threw fits and got "confused" whenever she was caught by her husband. All in all, the book was still able to hold my attention and I am really eager to read Brother Number Three, which is the second book in the series. I give this book 4 of 5 paws
TrinaAfterDarkRendezvous More than 1 year ago
I found Easter’s Lilly to be a compelling story between a young woman and three very bad boys.  Lilly, the daughter of a local police chief, was a very naive 23 year old who fell for Johnny, a local druggie and dealer.  Through a series of events she’s thrust into the dark violent world of a drug cartel.  She experiences so many losses and hardships even though she’s materialistically got the world at her fingertips. I loved the twists and turns in the plot.  It’s intricate and fast pace, never a dull moment. The most interesting parts of the story for me was the relationships she develops with Max, Diego, and Hector.  Three very hot latino men.   Once you start reading Easter’s Lilly you won’t be able to put it down.  I blinked and I was on chapter 12. You just can’t stop!
Shayna_Gier More than 1 year ago
Easter’s Lilly was anything except a boring read. Serrano does an amazing job at entertaining the reader as Lilly’s story unfolds. The characters are also intriguing- and will keep you reading to see what’s up with each of them. Also, the relationships in this book are, for the most part, very real- especially in regards to the 4 brothers that Lilly lives with and interacts with. From nearly killing one another, to desperately doing anything to save one another, these men embody the very essence of what is- in my female and outsider’s-view mind- brotherhood. Easter’s Lilly is definitely packed full from beginning to end, and never is it predictable. The characters- all of them- grow and change throughout the story, so even if you start out not-liking one, by the end that character could be your favorite. And one thing that I really liked is that all of the characters have some type of noticeable flaw that is their weakness- and that flaw isn’t always overcome either. Granted, this is the first in a three-book series, so I’m sure that these flaws will prove to be worked on throughout the rest of the story, but I like how, at least in the first book, each character has a pretty even score of good and bad traits. Also, while this is not by any means a “comedic” book, Serrano does an amazing job weaving in the kind of humor one would expect to be found in a book that revolves around a girl and a group of adult brothers. Ongoing jokes between the brothers- while never hilarious enough to cause the reader to drop the book and loose their place, are definitely entertaining and evolve throughout the book as well. I was given this book for my honest opinion, no other compensation was received. This review only reflects my personal opinion.
AuthorAshleyDawn More than 1 year ago
I was completely captivated by this book. Lilly is a young, naive girl who gets mixed up with some people she shouldn't. Johnny is a drug dealer and womanizer, but when he disappears, her life gets infinitely more complicated. She is quickly married by Diago, one of the top men in the Montiago drug ring and has complicated relationships with all four brothers in the family. Three of them love her, in their own way, one brother is her anchor, while another her husband and another her protector....while the last wants her dead ! Honestly, reading the first couple chapters I didn't know how I was going to feel about this book, I wasn't overly thrilled with one of what I thought was going to be a main character. Of course, he was a guy you weren't supposed to like so I was feeling what the author wanted me to feel toward him! Lilly is a completely naive and lovable character. The author paints a vivid portrait of what could easily happen to someone who is in that 'world'. It world full of violence and drama that could easily confuse and hurt you . The four brothers are wonderfully developed characters. I absolutely adore the little boy! I rate this a 5/5. I completely enjoyed it and plan to start reading the second in this series ASAP. I will caution everyone that this isn't a 'clean' read, there is rape, drugs, violence and sex in it, but the author does a wonderful job of making it all just flow.
BeautyBriteReviews More than 1 year ago
I am so honored to be asked to read Easter's Lilly and participate in the blog book tour -- my first one! I also want to give a huge THANK YOU to Judy Serrano for sending me a signed copy of her book! My first signed book ever! Easter's Lilly caught my attention from the first page! After reading the first page, I just wanted to keep reading and reading. There is so much mystery and intrigue within the pages that I didn't want to put the book down. Easter's Lilly is filled with surprises that I did not see coming. As I kept reading the book, I realized there were themes within the storyline: things are not as they seem. People aren't what they may appear to be. And lastly, learn to trust your instincts. The book is centered around Lilly, a young woman with little direction in life. She meets a "bad boy" and is told from the start from her father and the people she works with to stay away from him. Most women are attracted to the bad boys, at least once. Do we ever listen when people tell us to stay away? It makes us more curious and want to spend more time with them. Lilly is taken on a journey through the men she meets and they all seem to fawn over her and fall for her. She seems lost and hides behind the man she is with or the man he wants to be with. She never had a chance to really grow up and matures on her own so she relies on the men in her life. Lilly's relationship with the bad boy is quickly thrown into a life of crime. Easter's Lilly is full of romance, suspense, and mystery! As you read the book, you will come to understand the meaning of the title of the book! This book caught my attention from the start. Easter's Lilly is a page turner that will keep you on your toes. When I wasn't reading, I thought about reading the book. You will not want to put this book down.
TheStephanieLoves More than 1 year ago
Easter's Lilly by Judy Serrano Release Date: December 16th, 2010 Publisher: Black Rose Writing Page Count: 293 Source: From author, via Virtual Book Tours by Tristi Pinkston, for review It was Easter Sunday; the day Lilly's life went from safe and comfortable to dangerously unfamiliar. Her transformation takes her from a small town girl having an affair with a low ranked gangster in the Montiago crime syndicate, to a woman of grace and fortitude married to the head of the organization. Easter's Lilly is an inspired journey from the idyllic to the darker side of self-discovery. Read as the over-privileged brothers embark on their journey that twists and turns down the road of unbridled passion in this first book of the series. What Stephanie Thinks: The world is unimaginably terrifying to innocent and absurdly naïve Lilly. Danger, paired with her insatiable rebellion, allures her to the obscure and illicit drug market. She soon finds herself in the hands of the handsome, but abusive Diego Montiago: powerful drug lord and shameful scoundrel. The largest of problems arises from his three brothers, however: Hector can't seem to keep his hands off her, Max just might be falling in love with her, and Jorge wants her dead. Serrano creates an ambitious drama-filled suspense and love story in Easter's Lilly. A lot of the plot seems very farfetched to me; all the actions taken and words spoken would likely only be found in a soap opera. The realistic factor is therefore not very high, but that doesn't mean the book is any less intriguing. Why do people watch soaps anyway? The high tension and cutthroat theatrical, of course. Easter's Lilly is similar to the high-strung daytime soap operas because of its near fantasy scenario. It's an escape from the lows of actuality, which keeps each of us holding on. I, at first, based off Lilly's character, thought the author was painfully foolish. Lilly is a bit of an idiot; she just can't seem to make up her mind and doesn't seem very confident about her beliefs and decisions. However, Serrano makes up for it by making the other characters wise and knowledgable. Even though Lilly acts immaturely for her age, she's a lively, lovable character, and though while reading, I just wanted to smack her upside into reality, I also often felt the pain of her dilemmas. There's continuous action throughout this novel, which makes it hard to put down. That being said, one thing that surprised me is how nonchalantly all the characters react to all the racket. Each of the Montiago brothers end up in the ER (more than once each, I should add), but they mostly shrug it off like "Oh, it happens all the time." Also, when Lilly realizes she's in love with her husband's brother, her husband just lets it slide. I won't say any more for now, as I don't want to spoil it for you, but that's just something that irks me. The ending is gripping -- an unexpected and abrupt conclusion to a drawn-out tale. It obviously isn't an ending of course, as there is a sequel in the making, and I can assuredly say I will be picking it up upon its release. Stephanie Loves: "'You are my reason for drawing breath every morning.'" Radical Rating: 8 hearts- Would recommend to lots of really good friends.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
A drama of sorts that made me feel like I had turned on a soap opera. A tale of four brothers and the woman who got all tangled up in the family. With twists and turns, I had no idea where this book was going to end up. Dirty cops and drug dealers made the book interesting and full of violence. To be completely honest, I still don't know where I stand on this book. It was a page turner and it ended with a great cliffhanger that had me wondering what would come next. But with all the sex, lies and guns - this book was full of pure drama. I stepped onto the set of a soap opera where the woman sleeps with two brothers and has children with two different men. I don't tend to go for the extreme drama in books, so I am not sure if I will pick up the next one in the series, but I am sure going to wonder about what happens beyond the major cliffhanger.
Heidi0071 More than 1 year ago
In just the first chapter the author caught and held my attention. I was not reading the book anymore I felt I was the character. This story had twists and mystery you were living the character and wondering what the future had in store for you. The story ended on a cliffhanger and I must admit, I need to know what happened. This book would make a fantastic TV series, the plot is not your run of the mill series that is on TV. It has so many twists and surprises to keep you thinking and wondering. The character could be you and you will become that character. After just one book, I am now a devoted fan to this up and coming author. I look forward to future books, hopefully the next one will be soon.
Spykesis More than 1 year ago
Fantastic story! Grabs you from the first page and doesn't let you go. The characters come alive and draw you into their world. Simply can't wait for the next installment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story starts off with a BANG! and doesn't let go even on the last page when you want to know what happens next! A good read to lose yourself in, but definitely an adult story (in my view!)I thoroughly enjoyed losing myself in Lilly's story and can't wait to see what happens in the next installment...Judith, please hurry and tell us!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't waste your money! With all due respect to the author, this has to be one of the most dis-jointed books I have ever read-and I read at least three novels a week!