Echoes of Scotland Street (On Dublin Street Series #5)

Echoes of Scotland Street (On Dublin Street Series #5)

by Samantha Young

Paperback

$13.50 $15.00 Save 10% Current price is $13.5, Original price is $15. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Echoes of Scotland Street (On Dublin Street Series #5) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
3.5 STars ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog ECHOES OF SCOTLAND STREET is a book that I was very looking forward to because of Cole Walker. He was such a great presence in the other books in the series so I was eager for him to get his happily ever after. While I adored Cole more in this book, I don’t think I can say the same for his heroine, Shannon MacLeod. I didn’t hate her but I thought that there were too many flaws in her character that made the book a little more difficult to read. With her judgemental ways and tendency to jump to conclusions about someone else’s character, it really made me see her in a different light right off the bat, especially since her conclusions about Cole weren’t based on anything solid. As she tries to distance herself from him, it just made the conflict of the story seem very weak. One simple clarification could have easily fixed the conflict and as a result, I just didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. When a Contemporary Romance roots itself in those kinds of conflicts, I tend to lose interest quickly unfortunately. I waited patiently for Shannon to win me over, but I found that she didn’t completely do that by the end of the book. She never quite made me feel like she was good enough for Cole and as a result, I don’t think she ever really grew on me as a heroine. Samantha Young excels at dialogue and it’s one of the things that really makes the books fun. Cole and his co-workers all have a wonderful dynamic and when you add the previous characters into the mix, you have a great number of characters who you easily come to love. Because of that, readers often have formed attachments to characters like I have with Cole and expect wonderful things for them. I guess because my expectations didn’t line up with what happened with this book, my rating is lower than usual. For me, the dialogue really saved this book whereas, ironically enough, the miscommunication between Cole and Shannon affected how much I enjoyed it. *ARC provided by publisher
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not love this series more.  Every single one has been excellent.  Can't wait for more!
Kristas_Dust_Jacket More than 1 year ago
I'll admit - I thought I might have a hard time getting into Cole's story. I mean, I still think of him as the 14-year-old sweet kid from book #2. Even though we caught a glimpse of grown-up Cole in Hannah's book, it wasn't the same as him being front and center. And sexy. And a dirty-talker. I think Samantha Young knew that we might still have a remnant of teenage Cole in our minds when we started Echoes of Scotland Street. Which is why she eases us into it. The first scene in the book is between 15-year-old Cole and 15-year-old Shannon. They have this awesome conversation outside his grandmother's house. Shannon likens him to a Tony Stark, Clark Kent or a Peter Parker. She says Cole Walker is a super hero name. So true. Flash forward a bunch of years and Cole is all grown up. He's put his drawing talents to good use as the star tattooist at a well-renowned shop in Edinburgh. He's been surrounded by people who love him and are interested in him. Shannon, on the other hand, has been in one failed relationship after another. And, after the disastrous end of her last one, her family has pretty much written her off as a lost cause. Shannon is seriously in need of a super hero. But, she sees Cole as the villain with his tats and his piercings - just like all her other boyfriends. There is one thing about Echoes of Scotland Street that I loved more than anything. It might surprise you. For a bit, this book goes along like many others. Cole pursues Shannon. She blows him off. On and on we go with only Cole's persistence and confidence and Shannon's inane stubbornness to pull them through the story. I have to tell you - so many times, I sit here and think that there's no guy who would put up with so much crap from a girl. The best thing is, Cole doesn't. He truly is one of the best book boyfriends ever. Because, when Shannon's words and actions prove to be too much, he tells her so and writes her off. I loved it. It proved how comfortable he is in his own skin. And that he has a strong moral compass and isn't a doormat. All necessary qualities in a good man. And, as it turns out, Cole's stand was exactly the kick in the pants that Shannon needed. Once she saw beneath the false mask she herself had constructed on him, she was able to see Cole's inner hero. And it was then that he was able to do things for her she didn't even dream of. Your mind went right in the gutter, yeah? I meant That Cole was able to help Shannon conquer the demons of her past and to start to work through a lot of the guilt she was harboring. But, truthfully, grown-up Cole is a sexy beast who knows his way around the bedroom. Samantha Young doesn't let us down - this book is super hot and super satisfying in every way. We see lots of our favorite couples from previous books too. And, we get to meet the subject of the next book in this incredible series. It's a brand new guy - I'll keep it a surprise, but suffice to say, I'm already jonesing for his story. In the meantime, Echoes of Scotland Street will tide you over. It's everything you love in the On Dublin Street series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love, recommend, get lost in the lives that have been created, ...I knowwwww did?
Crazybooknerd More than 1 year ago
Echoes of Scotland Street by Samantha Young (Audio Edition) Narrated by Elle Newlands On Dublin Street Series #5 4 Stars - Cole was everything I knew he would be. Caring, strong and not a player which was awesome. This book was quite enjoyable. I do wish it would have been from Cole's point of view as he's the character we've read about from the past 5 books. That said, he was very upfront with his thoughts so even though this book was from Shannon’s pov, we still got to see most of what he is thinking. Shannon was coming out of a bad relationship and I felt she progressed through her emotions well. Also, the secondary characters in this story were a lively bunch and only added to the story. Elle Newlands did a fantastic job as narrator. She puts a lot of feeling and emotion in her performances. ~Paragraphs and Petticoats~
amarie76 More than 1 year ago
I can't believe how much has happened since the first book, On Dublin Street. It's unreal to see how the "old gang" has been doing, years later. We don't often get that opportunity with books. It's like having an extra long epilogue. I'm all for that! In Echoes of Scotland Street, we get Cole and Shannon's story. Remember Cole? He was the shy, sweet kid from Down London Road? Well, he's all grown up now. I'm happy to say that he turned out well! Jo did an excellent job of raising him. I have to say, I was a little worried about him in the beginning, however, and I thought that this was going to be the one book in this series that I wasn't going to like. You see, Cole was kind of...pushy? forward? in the beginning, and did not seem to take hints that his advances might not be welcomed. I wasn't sure how Shannon would deal with that. I was pleased that Cole listened and took heed to Shannon's feelings. I had mixed feelings about Shannon. Her family and her prior boyfriends really did a number on this girl. There were times that I wanted to scream at her to get it together and to quit overthinking things. You only had to see how much Cole was cherished by those around him, in order to see what kind of guy he really was. That boy had the patience of a saint, let me tell you. Other times, I could understand where Shannon was coming from, and why she felt the way she did. There's no way she could have gotten over everything in a few short weeks. In Echoes of Scotland Street, we get to meet a new batch of characters. I liked them okay, and it was nice to meet the friends in Cole's life, but I would have liked more time with the old characters who I love so much. Yes, they are still in the book, but I am greedy and wanted more time with them. All in all, this was a great book by Samantha Young, and I flew through the pages quickly. I am getting ready to read the last book, Moonlight on Nightingale Way. It's going to be bittersweet, and I know that I will be cherishing each word and sentence. I'm just not ready to say good-bye, yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never disappointed, and I love catching up with all of the characters' stories!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Michelle5423 More than 1 year ago
Love Samantha Young books. Glad she finally wrote about Cole's story!
megankylene More than 1 year ago
I did it! I’m all caught up on the On Dublin Street series and ready for Moonlight on Nightingale Way releasing in June 2015! I know I am way late to the ODS party, but I was belatedly excited when I finally met Cole in Down London Road and then realized the Echoes on Scotland Street was his book. I really liked him as a kid and couldn’t wait to see what he would be like as an adult. Unfortunately, this book a little disappointing and the characters lacked that special spark found in some of the other previous stories. We first met Cole in Down London Road as Jo’s little brother, all angsty and artistic. Growing up, his dad wasn’t around and his mom was a drunk, so he largely depended on Jo. After Jo and Cam got together, Cam took Cole under his wing, enrolling him in judo and encouraging his art. How adorable. Echoes on Scotland Street takes place nearly nine years after Down London Road. Our little Cole is all grown up and one of the top tattoo artists in Scotland. Cam and Shannon couple met years ago as teens on Scotland Street, a moment that neither of them forgot. As fate would have it, they meet again when Shannon MacLeod moves to Edinburgh and walks right into the same tattoo shop Cole works, INKarnate. After a string of abusive relationships, Shannon decides to turn over a new leaf in a new city with new friends. This book had a good beginning. New girl in town with sad past meets boy, wrongly judges boy based on looks and past experiences, pisses boy off, cue tension. The chemistry between Cole and Shannon was way off for me in this book. I didn’t feel that spark and connection that I felt with couples in previous books. After Shannon pushed Cole away, she began really seeing him for who he was — a nice guy. But all of her remarks about how attractive Cole was seemed overdone. Overall, their relationship seemed forced to me. Further, so many of the sex scenes were borderline cheesy and lacked that signature Samantha Young tension. What I did like about this book was seeing where everyone is so many years after the beginning of this series. Braden’s hair is graying and Joss (or should I say J.B. Carmichael) is a bestselling author. All of our beloved couples have kids and Cole is doing so well. I love that Elodie and Clark still have Sunday dinners Each new person who joins them has an instant family – I loved that. Their family is truly a family that sticks together, even if most of them are not blood. * I received an advanced copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 2.5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Phe_BookMusings More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars - The 5th installment in the ODS series is all about Cole Walker—Jo's wee brother, first introduced in Down London Road. With the love and support of the Carmichael-Nichols-Sutherland-MacCabe-Sawyer clan, Cole has grown into a confident, creative, down-to-earth, easy to talk to, intelligent, caring and compassionate adult, despite what his appearance might suggest to people. At a few inches over six feet with broad-shoulders and an amazing body, it isn't his natural good looks that raises eyebrows and turns heads ... it's his tattoos. Having worked at INKarnate, an award-winning tattoo studio, since he was a teenager, Cole went on to graduate from the Edinburgh College of Art, earning a reputation as one of the best tattooists in Scotland. But underneath his bad-boy exterior lies a loyal, family-oriented man who has never been a fan of casual, opting for relationships instead. The story begins with a flash back to a chance encounter on Scotland Street between a 15-year-old Cole Walker and a 15-year-old Shannon MacLeod who share a few minutes of random conversation before going their separate ways. From there, each of their lives take very different turns, but that brief moment they'd shared together leaves an indelible impression upon them both.  Nine years later... Shannon has come to Edinburgh to start over, wanting to keep distance from her old life. She'd always gone for the wrong type of man, drifting from one toxic relationship to the next. Her last boyfriend—the pièce de résistance. So Shannon's sworn off men—especially those of the bad-boy player variety. But ironically, the only interview she's landed since moving there is with INKarnate, a place that embodies everything she's running from at the moment. Cole is exactly the sort of guy that Shannon wants to avoid—gorgeous, tattooed, charming, cocky, and seemingly determined to pull her from her self-imposed solitude, causing her to unjustly lash out at him. But with a childhood marred by abuse and neglect, Cole has no interest in waisting his time on someone he doesn't think is worth it. As Shannon realizes how unfair and irrational her comments were and opens up to Cole about everything she's been through, he begins to see that all the assumptions she'd made about him had absolutely nothing to do with him. And before long, the passion between them ignites to blazing levels. But when Shannon’s past comes back to haunt her, her fears may destroy the trust Cole has built between them—and tear them apart for good.... Hmm... I had slightly higher expectations for Cole's story. Fans of the series fell in love with the sweet, artistic, irresistible young teen who was fiercely protective of his big sister in Down London Road, and watched him mature with each new installment. Now he's a sexy, successful, swoon-worthy adult who, after such a difficult childhood, I'd hoped would find a wonderful woman. Shannon wasn't it. Perhaps it was because I already felt such a strong emotional connection to him going into this story that I found Shannon's assumptions about Cole to be overly judgmental. Overall, I didn't love it, nor did I hate it. The friendship and camaraderie amongst the secondary characters at INKarnate was highly entertaining, which was a bonus. Another well-written read in the ODS series, Echoes on Scotland Street is a sensual story wrought with sexual-tension, misunderstandings, forgiveness and hope with a satisfying HEA.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was another wonderful love story by one of most favorite authors & Ms. Young never disappoints. The plot & writing is first-rate, the characters well developed & plenty of steam- just perfect! Thank You!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great continuation of the series. Recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AlwaysYAatHeart1 More than 1 year ago
I love the On Dublin Street Series.  Echoes of Scotland Street is the 5th book in the series and is Cole Walker's story.  We've seen Cole as he grows up in each of the novels, and I've been so excited for him to finally get his story and find his own happily ever after.  In fact, he's turned into one sexy beast, and I just loved him and everything about him in this installment.  Shannon MacLeod is new to the series and is Cole's love interest.  Of all the female leads so far in the series, she has been my least favorite, but she did grow on me as the story progressed, just not as much as the other females thus far in the series.  She's had a tough go of it though, and as you get further into the story, you find out why she is the way she is and reacts the way she does to certain things.  You also get to find out a lot more about Cole's past, which just makes you want to hug him and squeeze him even more.  The romance in the story is hot, sexy, and chemistry filled, as are all of Samantha Young's novels.  Another thing I love about the book is that it incorporates all the previous characters from the series into the story and I really enjoyed getting glimpses of them and seeing where they were at and what they were doing at this point in their lives.  Overall, Echoes of Scotland Street is another great installment in a series that I've fully enjoyed.  Samantha Young delivers another hot guy and another steamy romance to all her fans all wrapped up in a great story..........I mean, what more could a contemporary romance fan ask for. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book. I love books that give off a sense of realism. Without that aspect the book would appear bland. Cole's story was a great addition to this series and I can't wait for Logan's.
AnnePR More than 1 year ago
I've yet to be disappointed with any of Samantha Young's books. Just wish there were more out there to read!!
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
Title: Echoes of Scotland Street Author: Samantha Young Publisher: NAL Series On Dublin Street #5 Reviewed By: Arlena Dean Rating: 4.5 Review: "Echoes of Scotland Street" by Samantha Young Book Description: "Shannon MacLeod has always gone for the wrong type of man. After she drifted from one toxic relationship to the next, her last boyfriend gave her a wakeup call in the worst possible way. With her world shattered, she’s sworn off men—especially those of the bad-boy variety. Cole Walker is exactly the sort that Shannon wants to avoid—gorgeous, tattooed, charming, and cocky. But his rough exterior hides a good man who’s ready to find “the one.” He’s determined to pull Shannon from her self-imposed solitude and win her heart. As Shannon opens up in the face of Cole’s steady devotion, the passion between them ignites to blazing levels. But when Shannon’s past comes back to haunt her, her fears may destroy the trust Cole has built between them—and tear them apart for good… What I liked about this novel.... I thought this was a sweet read of how these two met while teenagers for a short time then going on a different path ending up survivors of 'cruel hands' that fate lead them. We see from the read that Coles hard life has left him a kind hearted and protective young man (with tattoos)while Shannon has horrible physical and emotional scars that she finds that even though she has moved to a new town she is still flagged with past memories. This was some read of having loved someone who constantly belittle you and making you believer you are worthless, definitely having your self esteem and confidence completely knocked out of you. What will happen when Cole and Shannon meet again? This is where I say you must pick up this well written inspiring story to find out how this author presents to so well to the reader. This is this authors fifth series of 'On Dublin Street' and this one where Cole is now a intensed handsome tattooed man who is a tattoo artist. Now reconnecting with Shannon he knows that she is the one for him but will she be willing to take a chance with this 'bad boy' since she had been burned by a string of bad boys that almost destroyed her? But is Cole all bad? Will Shannon be willing to take a chance with this charismatic, charming, sexy and tattooed guy? This is where I say you will have to pick up this well written series to see for yourself how well this author presents it to the reader. I will say that the sex scenes were off the chart 'provocative, sensual and so very passionate. The characters for this most part where many were from some of the series as well as this one were well defined, developed, realistic, colorful, believable and even the dysfunctional ones....all giving the reader the attention needed to keep ones interest during the read. I found this story a good contemporary novel from where you may be brought from tears to laughter as you read through this emotional and intensed read with some rough and gritty edges. But in the end you are given a romantic read that will make you ... well I will stop here and say read it for yourself and you will see how this story focus on second chances for this hero and heroine!
kimberlyfaye More than 1 year ago
I'll admit, I put off reading this book for a little while because I was afraid I would be uncomfortable reading about Cole as the role of romantic lead. Since I devoured this series in a short period of time, I watched Cole grow up as a minor character in the other novels. I thought it might be hard to separate the man he is today from Jo's baby brother, as I knew him. Yes, it was a little awkward at first, but I got over that pretty fast. I've loved all the men in the On Dublin Street series, but Cole is probably my favorite. *sigh* He's just so swoony. (And I only feel slightly uncomfortable saying that now.) I do think Samantha Young realized it might be difficult for some readers to embrace Cole as a sexy man after reading about him as a kid for so long. She wrote the book in a way that introduces him as he is now without getting too sexy, too quickly. We got a little glimpse of him as a grown man in Fall From India Place, but he's center stage now. What a man he's grown into! He's a tattoo artist who is renowned for his work. He might be a big, beefy guy with tattoos, but he has a heart of gold underneath. He still carries with him the pain of his upbringing by a truly terrible mother. I just want to hug him and tell him it will be all right.  Remember when Cole met that pretty little redhead at his grandma's house at the end of Before Jamaica Lane? She's back! Can I tell you how much I LOVE THAT? I'm so glad they brought her back around. Shannon MacLeod has had a string failed relationships with bad-for-her men and she's officially sworn off bad boys forever. When she gets a job at INKarnate, it's a blessing and a curse. With it comes new friends in a new town, a place to live and ... working side-by-side with Cole Walker. The guy she's afraid she shouldn't have walked away from years ago. Of course, all signs point to bad boy, so she tries her best to avoid the pull she still feels for him.  Avoiding Cole doesn't last for long. I don't know how she resisted him as long as she did, in all honesty. He had no problem letting her know he was interested in her. Afraid of getting hurt, she pushed him away over and over again. It took a fight, and a moment of clarity thanks to Hannah, to bring her around. I was so glad it did. I loved them together. They had tons of chemistry and they were pretty hot together. Cole is all man now... and he's a little bit dirty. (I am NOT complaining. It was smoking hot.) As unsure as I was about reading this book, I have to admit that I really, really enjoyed it. It was a great second chance story, of sorts, with characters I couldn't help but love. Well, one I already loved but that I got to get to know in a different way. I really enjoy this series. I feared this would be the last book because I didn't know which other secondary character could possibly get a book of their own. Thank goodness it is not the end! Shannon's brother Logan was introduced during this book and will have his own story early next year. Hooray!  I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As the series continues I am always excited to catch up with the past characters. As for EofSS I enjoyed parts and skimmed through others. No matter what I will be purchasing Logans book