Eternal Hunter (Night Watch Series #1)

Eternal Hunter (Night Watch Series #1)

by Cynthia Eden

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.56 $7.99 Save 5% Current price is $7.56, Original price is $7.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eternal Hunter 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 81 reviews.
Cid More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest, the Nigh Watch books sort of picked me; I didn't pick them. I won the second Night Watch book in a raffle at a book club and figured I might as well get the first book. I'm so glad I made that decision! The Setting - is a world in which things exist just below the surface. Normal humans don't realize that surrounding them are Others, people who aren't really people. They're demons, charmers, shifters, vampires - and the list goes on. At times people don't realize what's right in front of them and others they're very willing to believe. It's not an original idea, but it's one that the mind accepts - because what better place for something strange to hide than right in front of us? The story takes place in the swamps of Louisiana, all that lovely humidity and heat! The Characters - were very primal. The book features a pair of shifters. Basic to a shifters personality is a very animalistic set of priorities that drive them. These priorities drive both the characters and the plot. Erin wants to be normal, but she will never be that - because she's so much more. And she's broken. I found myself empathizing with her character as she struggled to come to terms with her brokenness and how maybe, just maybe there might be someone out there who understood her. Jude is raw, primal power. He's a little bit cliche in that alpha male type role, but who cares? He has his own dark side and the play back and forth of each of the characters revealing just a little bit more to the other was really awesome. I was really happy with the way the killer progressed through the story. I won't discuss it, but it was g-o-o-d. The Plot - centered around the stalker. Finding out who he was and getting rid of him. But it was also a story of growth. The thriller aspects of dealing with the stalker were great. There was something more to him, something very deranged and twisted that made you want to know more. Layered with this is the growth of the characters. Erin heals through the book, which was very cool to watch. Like I said, the character came with a lot of baggage and through the plot and Jude pulling her towards him the book became as much about dealing with her stalker and the love story as it was about her process of healing. I waffled for a while on if I thought the book was a 4 or 5 star book. There was some minor confusion with some of the dialogue at times and wondering what else drew the characters together besides their animal attraction but in the end when I finished the book I flipped back to the beginning and started it again. I really liked this book; it's a total re-read and something I suggest if you want a steamy, dark and gritty read.
mischif More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Cynthia Eden is and has been one of my favorite authors, and she never fails to deliver. Her writing is simplistic in nature, direct, and easy to follow. Her books are fast pased, and her characters are always well developed. My personal favorite will always be Maya and Adam, in Immortal Danger. Eternal Hunter is a great thrill ride, and will have you on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end. I read the book in about four hours, simply couldn't put it down. Erin is sure she's mated to a psychotic shifter, that likes to leave her gifts that no woman would want, but Jude the hero, comes along, her protector--not that she needs one--and things heat up quickly between them. She tries to deny her feelings for Jude, but to no avail. The lust is too strong, the beasts hunger will not be denied. The love scenes were hot and the drama thrilling, a real page turner. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, and keep reading. As ever I will await the next book with as much pacience as possible, and excitement.
DoB77 More than 1 year ago
I found this author when I read her contemporary suspense titles. I have found that I really enjoy her stories. The stories move quickly and keep you guessing at times, and I like her characters. The world of Others she has created pulls you in and entices you to pick up the next book as soon as you finish.
Jutzie More than 1 year ago
Eternal Hunter by Cynthia Eden Night Watch #1 Jude Donovan is part of the Night Watch team. He is a hunter, mostly of Other but for human's as well. Hunting for those against the law helps keep his beast happy. And it's quite a beast that Jude has inside of him, he is one of the rare white tiger shifters. After catching one of his human bounties, he gets a call that the man was murdered while in his cell and it's not pretty. Once Jude meets ADA Erin Jerome...his beast goes on a new hunt. Erin has started a new life. After her stalker in Lillian, she thought she could escape to Baton Rouge and start over, but now it seems he has found her once again. A stalker who thinks leaving her dead bodies should make her happy. After hiring Jude to help hunt down her killer, she finds the man takes protecting her seriously. Erin has tried to hide her true nature and live normal but can she let her wild side out with Jude? And when he finds out all of her secrets will he still want to be by her side? I enjoyed the storyline and the suspense. A killer who seemed to be invisible, how so you find someone that no one ever sees? Many of the other characters were interesting as well. **Sexual situations and language.
C.Ibarra on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eternal Hunter by Cynthia Eden is the first book in her Night Watch series. This book was seriously steamy. Jude Donavan is a sexy shifter working as a bounty hunter for an agency called Night Watch. One of his cases brings him up close and personal to Assistant DA Erin Jerome. Jude knows Erin is Other but what kind is a mystery even to him. Their first meeting doesn¿t go well and tempers flare. Soon Erin finds herself being pursued by a stalker she thought she left behind when she moved from the small town of Lillian, Louisiana to the much larger city of Baton Rouge. Her stalker has a sick sense of what a woman wants and leaves Erin "gifts" in the form of dead bodies. Erin knows if she wants to stop her stalker and put the nightmare she is living behind her she¿ll have to enlist the help of Jude. The sexual tension between Erin and Jude soars as he plays bodyguard and hunts the man stalking Erin. All the while Erin tries extra hard to keep all the secrets of her past buried.Eternal Hunter offers preternatural hotties, fast paced action, and erotic sex scenes. The story progresses much like you would expect. (Dominant) boy meets girl. Boy pisses girl off. This makes said girl want to jump boy¿s bones as much as that thought disgusts her or at least that¿s what she keeps telling herself. Girl fights urge as long as possible until boy and girl engage in mind blowing sexcapades. All in all makes for a very entertaining read.
thewalkinggirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I started reading this right after watching an action anime and the Zap! Pow! Action! transition was really smooth. As I got further into it, I finally realized that I'm really not keen on romantic suspense of the hunt for the serial killer stalker variety. I say that because I should have liked this more than I did. When not sharing about the similarities between their childhood traumas and their current case, Erin and Jude were really engaging. Strong, passionate, not-too-angsty. The secondary characters were by and large interesting as well and the world building was consistent.If you like romantic suspense with shapeshifters and demons added, I think it would be worth your while to check this out.
BookaholicsReviewer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Eternal Hunger by Cynthia EdenParanormal Romance- Dec. 29th, 20094 1/2 stars In Eternal Hunger Cynthia Eden returns to her super sexy shifters! I love her shifter romances and this book did not disappoint. It grabbed me from the first page and did not stop! Cynthia Eden's paranormal world is complex and absorbing. If you are already a fan of her books you will have to purchase this book to add to your collection. If you are a new reader, be prepared for a fun, smooth read. This story starts with Jude Donovan, a tough no-nonsense bounty hunter who ALWAYS gets his prey. But his latest capture brings with it trouble packaged in the new, ultra attractive Assistant D.A., Erin Jerome. All of a sudden he is bent on hunting an all together different type of quarry. Jude immediately senses something different about Erin and his inner animal wants her for his alone. But Erin is no easy prey. She has sworn off shifters of any sort in her life. Erin is deceptively strong and no one even a shifter is going to push her around. Even if he does have a rough sort of charm that she finds attractive. Starting afresh in a new town, the last thing she wants are any complications. Which means keeping a low profile. And she knows a shifter will just bring her trouble. Unfortunately, her past and Jude¿s collide as Erin is targeted and Jude becomes her bodyguard. But Erin¿s ultimate test is taking the final risk and believing in herself. This book was sheer pleasure from start to finish. Cynthia Eden is one of my favorite authors. I am hooked by her series because each of her books reveals something new about her world and her characters are always sympathetic and likeable. It is difficult to describe how enjoyment I feel every time I read one her books. Her ability to write a fast paced novel that is: fun to read, easy to get involved in and always satisfying. The mystery behind the Erin¿s past and a string of murders are engrossing, as unexpected changes make for a thrilling and riveting read. The engaging characters are genuine and extraordinary and I often felt a part of the story. Along with Jude there is a cast of his bounty hunter colleagues who I hope will be making appearances of their own. I loved this story and look forward to her next book with great anticipation! Reviewed by Steph from the Bookaholics Romance Book Club
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I simply adored this! I'm a Christina Feehan fan and she was absolutely correct about this author !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So glad I found this author, she is a great story teller so far I haven't read a book of hers that I didn't love!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the series. Whether it involves angels, shape shifters, sexy as sin demons (like Niol)...all have been great reads. Again, I hope to see a book coming out on Bastion. Or a book that has the VERY rarely written about mythical Japanese creature a Kitsune. Kitsune
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago