Evening Stars

Evening Stars

by Susan Mallery

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Evening Stars 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 303 reviews.
CyndieThompson More than 1 year ago
Susan Mallery has another winner on her hands with the release of Evening Stars. This is the third book in the Blackberry Island series and it's just as wonderful as Barefoot Season (book 1) and Three Sisters (book 2). You don't have to have read the first two books to follow the story line in Evening Stars, but I would suggest you read all three -- they are just that good. The characters are compelling as are their stories. I was hooked from the first chapter and didn't want to put it down until I got to the last page.
ColeteR More than 1 year ago
Evening Star’s is a unique book. It made me sad that Averil and Nina had such a hard time communicating throughout the book, even though it all works out in the end. I thank God my own mother is not flakey and irresponsible like Bonnie. The whole book made me think a lot about the dynamics of my own family and makes me appreciate them all the more. So, a very good read, and I enjoyed the characters because they were so different.
Gorcon More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book,even though I pretty much knew how things were going to turn out from the very beginning. But I was reading this while relaxing on a summer trip, and wanted something easy and light. The author does get redundant in describing the characters and the problems they are facing, but easy to just skim read over those parts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good mindless beach read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, Susan Mallery's books grab me at the start and I cannot put them down. I instantly fell for the characters and their strengths as well as their struggles. Love the Blackberry Island series and cannot wait for another one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book, something a little different than the normal Susan Mallory book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
5.0 out of 5 stars Not expected but very thought provoking, March 13, 2014 By m. e. berg - See all my reviews This review is from: Evening Stars (Blackberry Island) (Paperback) When I started reading Evening Star, I expected another book focused on residents of a small town. Instead, I found a focus on yet another dysfunction family. The more I read, the more involved I became in the interactions between the 2 sisters and their mother. This was the fourth book I read about how affected we remain in adulthood by our childhood family dynamics. That must be the latest publisher preferences, but this's is the strongest and most touching book of the list. This is the story of two sisters, the older of which took over caring for her sister and maintaining her home and mother. Why, because their mother didn't want have to grow up and take responsibility for herself or her children. She wants to be a perpetual Peter Pan but that means her daughter has had to be the adult since she was a child. Now both daughters need to figure out how to grow up and get past their history. This has become one of my favorite Susan Mallery's novels. It touches something deep inside me and, despite my age, leaves me wondering how to get past my expectations of myself and who I am, just as Susan's characters have done.
AnnaR64 More than 1 year ago
My heart went out to Nina right from the beginning…The responsibilities she had to take on at such a young age seem just unbelievable! I wanted to smack her Mom off the side of her head with a two-by-four many, many times and I am not a violent person! As a mother myself, I found it hard to believe that someone would actually be this way with her children, but you never know what can happen in this world. The story was a little slow at times, but got moving along again quickly. Overall, another great story by Susan Mallery!
RGinDC More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. Took me back to a place I love and introduced me to characters like me, sometimes fumbling along, sometimes getting it right. I recommend to anyone looking for a good book. 
Nikki_MNM More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this books. Susan has a way of writing that when you finish a book, you start think of your own life and how you can make it better. If you don't learn something about your self from this book then you need to read it again.
Anonymous 4 months ago
I+really+enjoyed+reading+this+book%21++It+was+a+great+story+about+families+and+how+they+survive+with+each+other%2C++plus+some+love+stories+for+them+too%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick and entertaining reads about friendships.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in wearing crop top and short shorts. Walks anld smilesi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A man about 18 walks in. I have a cock that os huge i want you then i fuq you hard.JKJKJKJK
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an Ok book. The story was good and I really liked the relationship between the sisters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Main story of two needy sisters and daffy mom was good story flowed but sometimes was lost with the other characters. But the moral of the story was that money can buy you anything. An easy chair read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Soothing and enjoyable yet predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
This series is so heartwarming that it puts me in a great mood when I read it. The stories are so much more than just romance, and while this book had more romance than the previous with two love interests, it really focuses on family dynamics and inner growth. With a flighty mother and a spoiled little sister, Nina has grown up with too much responsibility and as such, put her own dreams aside to concentrate on taking care of everyone else. When things happen and she has a chance to look at her life, she isn’t really happy with it, but is scared to make changes. Chronicling Nina’s journey to discover her inner strength, and her true dreams, this is a beautiful story. The characters are deep and complex, and very realistic. Nina’s inner doubts and worries were very familiar feeling, and I was genuinely happy any time she had something happen to make her smile. There was a playfulness in this story that was lacking in the previous books, with two love interests, especially the younger Kyle who idolized Nina when he was a kid and she was his babysitter. It was amusing to watch their interactions. Overall, this was a great addition to the series. The stories are so human and endearing. I love travelling around Blackberry Island with the characters. There is a predictable HEA feeling to it, but the journey there is worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mallery has created another small town that sucks you in & makes you dream of going there.  Her characters are vivid and complex.   Their lives involve familial conflict and the resolution.  You find yourself rooting for the main character to follow her dream.  Although this is the third in the Blackberry Island series, it can be read as a standalone without feeling lost.  The question is, will Mallery create another trilogy on Blackberry Island?  If so, it could rival her Fool’s Gold series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Nina never got to do things for herself. Her mother never accepted responsibility for either Nina or Averil or even her own antique business. Nina had to step up and fill in the roles. Then she had to forget her dreams of medical school when she ended up having to raise Averil. Now things seem to be getting back to a stable area where Nina might be able to pick up those dreams when she is faced with the possibility of two guys that are showing interest in her. Then Averil comes back to Blackberry Island. She has never seemed to get a grasp on being an adult. Now she isn’t interested in her husband and can’t figure out what she wants to do in life. So now she is back to try to find herself. This is not my usual type of book I read. It wasn’t a bad book, and I’m sure there are many people that will love it. I had a hard time connecting with the characters. I felt like Nina was getting the short end of the deal having to be the responsible one in the family. I thought Averil was spoiled and lazy and their mother was just about as bad. It was a good story in the sense of Nina finally getting out and starting to live her life. For those that like contemporary romances, I think this is one that you will want to read. I received this book in exchange for an honest review.