Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings

Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings

by Maria F. DeBlassie

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.79 $15.95 Save 7% Current price is $14.79, Original price is $15.95. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
SaraOxo 6 months ago
Everyday Enchantments by Maria DeBlassie a four-star read that will leave you musing. This wasn’t what I was expecting when I picked it up, it’s a collection of writings, some better than others, but I am sure you ill find some that will call to you in them. There are musings on many subjects in this and you will be sure to find some that will appeal.
Erin_Davidson More than 1 year ago
Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings by Maria DeBlassie is a delightful little read, of short essays. Everyday Enchantments, isn’t exactly a self-help book, but more collection of personal essays from Maria DeBlassie, to demonstrate to readers the everyday experiences we have with magic, without noticing them. This book is very good for helping readers be more mindful, and more aware of the world around you, rather than stuck in your own head. I found it personally help me practice meditation and mindfulness, whilst being outdoors and active. It helped me gain a new appreciation for the smaller things in life and how truly beautiful this world can be, when we aren’t taking it for granted. Though this type of book isn’t something I usually reach for, it was definitely a refreshing and charming read. 4/5 stars.
Laeljeanne More than 1 year ago
This is a light and breezy book about the small joys of life, from gardens to books to sweaters to tea time. Even if one doesn’t share the same passions, DeBlassie writes with such verve that dear reader feels the warm fuzzies. If all is not going well, a chapter from this lovely book could help reframe the day. I was fortunate to receive a digital copy from the publisher through NetGalley of this book that reminds us that the small things matter, and that we choose how we view our world.
Belladonna_Thomas More than 1 year ago
Everyday Enchantments by Maria F. DeBlassie Book Review by Dawn Thomas 200 Pages Publisher: John Hunt Publishing Ltd / Moon Books Release Date: October 26, 2018 Religion, Spirituality, Meditation, Self-Help, Personal Transformation This is a lovely book of almost a hundred short stories. Each one has its own theme but the message is still the same. She reminds us to be mindful and find joy in anything you do. I love how readers are immersed into the stories as if we are experiencing it ourselves. In one story, the author describes eating cherry tomatoes so vividly you feel the same sensations. The same is true in the sunbathing story. You can feel the sun moving along your body as you read her words. In the bookshelf story, I had to laugh at how many times she organized her books. I have done the same things to mine as many times. The author’s writing style flows so easily and is very descriptive. She write with such passion it is easy to fall into a story and lose yourself. If you enjoy reading books by Clarrisa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D, then you would appreciate the stories in this book.
Madi91 More than 1 year ago
Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings by Maria DeBlassie 5 -Stars This novel is a short collection of essays that really make the reader see life in a different perspective. It helped me to see beauty in the average daily thing such as cutting an onion. I really found the authors work fascinating. I felt very relaxed and mellowed out while reading this book. It was great to really step back from life with this book.
E_A_Walsh More than 1 year ago
Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings by Maria F DeBlassie was a different interesting read, that was very soothing, and at times almost had me asleep.. in a good way. This isn't your normal style book. It's a collection of sorts, with no real direction. Just soothing emotions, calming situations and a insightful look into the world around us. It did take a bit to get use to the style of this journal like writing, but once I found my stride I was pulled into each new enchantment and let myself see the way the author does, and it was a bit of a wonder. A little weird, but a wonder. Having the room quiet, and reading such words, I was in such a relaxed stated that my eyes felt heavy. I'm sure if I had any light music or a warm blanket I would have dozed off. I know, falling asleep while reading. But I have to tell you, this was a good thing, because this book puts you in that state of mind. In saying that, if you need a good bedtime read, this book will get you to a place where your mind is calm and relaxed. I think this might be a re-read book, when my mind won't shut down, and for that I thank the author for putting such words on paper. With that said I give this book my high recommendation and my stamp of approval. Happy Reading -E.A. Walsh
kaitreview More than 1 year ago
Everyday Enchantments by Maria F. DeBlassie 4-stars Everyday Enchantments is a great inspirational read by Maria F. DeBlassie. It’s short and sweet and full of stories about life’s little treasures. It’s an incredibly detailed read, I was able to picture everything playing out in my mind as Maria describes everything from scents, emotions and even to the smallest of details, which made it highly entertaining. It’s books like these that I love reading as they open your eyes to everything we take for granted and allow us to remain present and living fully in the moment every single day. I fully enjoyed this read and would recommend it to anyone looking for some daily inspiration!
JessiKay22 More than 1 year ago
Upon finishing this book, I find myself to be seriously lacking in the whole "words" department, but I'm going to try to do this book justice nonetheless. Honestly, I feel like this author is a long lost friend of mine because so many of the musings and wanderings found here seemed like they came from my own mind. There's something so beautiful about having one's own thoughts and perceptions spoken or written by another. I guess the beauty lies in feeling found and known. I will admit, it took me a while to become accustomed to this second person narrative. However, now that I've finished, I really can't imagine this any other way. If you consider yourself an introspective person, often lost in your own thoughts, then this book is for you. If you can find magic and joy in the small, ordinary moments of life, then this book is for you. If you are simply looking to relish the beauty of this world around you, then this book is for you. I could go on, but I will leave it at this--I truly wish I had a physical copy of this book because it was so poetic and soul-soothing that I'd love to be able to pick up this book and peruse it when needed from time to time. All the love for this one, folks--go read it!
Erinwolf79 More than 1 year ago
I give Everyday Enchantments: Musings on Ordinary Magic & Daily Conjurings by Maria DeBlassie, 4 stars. This is a book that shows you many things. It is a collection of writings by an author who finds the happiness in the small things. She makes the everyday seem like magic. There are snippets in here of just about everything. From morning to evening, there is so much that we could be reflecting on, so much to be thankful for. The author shows you how to see things differently. This is something completely different than what I would normally read. This may fall under the category of self-help or spiritual. But the author is not telling you what to do or think. She is just reflecting on things in her life in a way so you understand. Mainly, this is a book to show you that you can see things in different way. Written in short snippets, it isn't something you have to necessarily sit down and read in one sitting. You could pick it up for a few minutes here and there and learn something new. If you want a new outlook on life and are interested in finding the magic and happiness in the small things, this book is for you.
NNLight More than 1 year ago
Everyday Enchantments is exhilarating. A creatively personal self expression that is a self help book at the same time. There are few who will not have The Hair Day essay resonate to their very core (Mrs. N sure did). The author takes the daily mundane and crafts them into prose. This book simply screams to find JOY in your life. The simple things are profound. . . one just has to have the inner ability to understand that and appreciate them for more than what they seem to be. Those who feel a connection to the Universe and feel in communication with it, will love this book. A cozy read on a fall day, a comfortable read on a spring day. A book that awakens the soul. This is a book for all seasons. My Rating: 5 stars