The Face on the Milk Carton (Janie Johnson Series #1)

The Face on the Milk Carton (Janie Johnson Series #1)

by Caroline B. Cooney

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Face on the Milk Carton (Janie Johnson Series #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 644 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, i had to read this book for school and at first i thought it would be boring but as we read it in class it changed my mind. I hated when ELA class was over because then we had to stop reading. This book is suspensful and very addicting. I am 12 years old, in 7th grade, and i never read a better mystery book than this one. I highly recommend this book to everyone with the exception of kids under 10. There might be some words in here they might not know and there are some things in here that i dont think they should know until they are teens. Anyway i think this book deserves nothing less than 5 stars and if i could go up to 10 stars then believe me i would!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was SO addictive. It was the best book I've ever read! The good thing about this amazing book is that the book ends with a big cliff hanger leading on to another book which makes me excited to read on. I think that Caroline B. Cooney did an amazing job writing this book. It could be used for educational purposes or just for fun. I strongly recommend this book to anybody who is ready to be caught reading the best book ever who is from the 6th grade-anybody who is interested. I also recommend this book to people who are getting caught and bored in the introduction who need an exciting start. The title relates very well to the book an made me read through to find out how it related.
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
She did everything fifteen-year-olds usually do. Then one day, something out of the ordinary happened. Janie came across a picture of a missing child on the side of her friend's milk carton. She looked closer and began to realize that the little girl was actually her. Over time, the clues start to piece together. Memories come back to Janie in "Daymares". She starts to worry that her parents might not really be her parents after all. She wonders if the people that brought her up had kidnapped her. She doesn't want to believe it, and tries to forget it all, but the clues keep coming and she keeps seeing memories. Suddenly, Janie's life isn't so normal anymore. Her friends notice that something is wrong, but Janie won't tell anyone what's going on. She decides to do some research of her own to get to the bottom of this, leading up to the suspenseful ending. I would definitely recommend this book to all teenage readers. There is always something exciting happening, which made me want to read more every time. I enjoyed reading about people my age and being able to relate to some things. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book. It was always unpredictable what would happen next. I liked this book because it was suspenseful and action packed. I've never wondered what it would be like to not know where I came from, and if my parents were really who I think they are.  The romance with Reeve was a bit random. I liked him, but it was almost insta-love/convenient plot twist. The other characters weren't that important in my mind. They were just kind of there. This was definitely Janie's story. I also really liked the role her parents play. It didn't turn out the way it could have, but it does make it a bit too happy in my mind. This book is full of suspense and leaves you on the edge of your seat wanting to know. More. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a suspenseful story.   
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book because it is romantic and mystery and it just get you wanting to read the next series. I suggest "READ THIS BOOK" including if you like romance and mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about finding who you really are. What would you do if you found your face a milk carton and it said you were MISSING? Janie digs into her own past to figure out who she really is and where she came from. She starts questioning the life she is living now. Her safe, comfortable life  starts to become a series of daymares and nightmares. In order to solve her mystery she does things she would have never done before. The main characters are Janie Johnson and Reeve Shields. When Janie figures out something has happened to her picture perfect life her character changes dramatically. Her close friend and neighbor, Reeve, soon becomes even closer. He is the only one she can trust and can know the truth. Their characters develop as they go on an amazing adventure together. Things aren't always the way they seem. Throughout this book Janie doesn’t know who she is or who her real parents are. She goes through many adventures to figure out who they are and who she will become. I think this book was really good. I didn’t like it left you with a cliffhanger and the answer is in the next book. I think you would like this book if you are teenage girl because you could connect really well with the main character, but anyone who enjoys mysteries would say this book is a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing story. I had to read all the books in the series. It was so interesting. Her life took a complete turn and everything changes. Great series!!
lieu2010 More than 1 year ago
Good story line This was quite an interesting story. I don't think I can write about it without giving away the story. It's more than the face on the milk carton. This is the story of Janie Johnson. A young high school girl living a good life. Adored by her parents, friends and neighbors. Life is good. One day as she is sitting in the school cafeteria chatting with her friends. She sees the picture of a little girl on the milk carton. A little girl in pigtails wearing a dress that triggers a memory. Travel with Janie as imagination, truth and lies lead to a surprising twist. I must warn you. It has a cliffhanger ending. The good news is, all 5 books in the series are available for purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book it has romace mystery put together into one and never judge a book bye its cover even this book cause it looka creapy but it is not also read the back of the book first!!!! Dont read this book if u r not a teen it has to much romace for yunger ages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VERY inappropriate. Good plot but could have benn ALOT better. Would not recommend to anyone under age 15
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome mystery!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg this was the first book were i actully didnt fall asleep on i was suprize and this was the first book i ever liked if u havent read this book u would want to its good peace outttt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Janie shes her face on the milk carton and doesn't even know she was kidnapped. Great twist to a story of interest from the child (now 16 years old) point of view. I enjoyed the discoveries with the character and I want to read more. Thankfully there are more stories in the series which I hope to read also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this in two days. This is one of my all time favs. My others are delirium (big recomandaton) uhlies series hunger games star chasers ann etc
thewanted More than 1 year ago
I liked the book alot. it was an interesting book to read. it took a week to read for me because this was my favorite book. im already starting to read it again. its about a girl who sees heraself on a milk carton and starts questioning her self and her like. you need to read this book to find out what will happen next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read this book yet but based on the amount of good reports it makes me want to read it. Sounds vey interesting and suspensful. Now i really want to read it. P.s this is nothing like the abduction movie the abduction movie is like the face on the milk carton!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series was amazing! You always wanted to keep reading them and neve wanted to put it down ( or at least in didnt). Truly thought it was a great book. Worth buying!
bookielover More than 1 year ago
This book was pretty good. very suspenful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt wait to read this book! Once I had it in my hands I spent an entire day devoted to its pages. This book leaves you hungry for more. The 3 companion novels to the series are also worth reading!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. i really didn't know that i would like it but i did!!! It was just so good it has everything that teenagers look for in a book. I like most of the characters. The thing that is so different about this book is that the head character "Janie" is just a normal teenage girl who has a very normal life until she sees her own three year old face on a friend's milk carton. Now she must uncover her past. It's a mix of Love and terrifying secrets revealed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dude I loved this book this girl janie who thinks her life is fine up until she sees herself on the back of the milk carton she wondershow its possible in this story she falls in love with her next door neighbor reeve and has to balance out her love life with the mystery on her hand which isn't easy with her sex hungry boyfriend(reeve).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have you ever been in a local newspaper? What if there was a picture of you and next to it was an article about how your parents stole you, and you didn’t actually legally belong to them? Who would you go to now? Your parents who you think stole you, or a boyfriend who doesn’t understand. The face on the milk carton was an interesting book because it didn’t have that regular children’s book plot where you have a little sibling that you hate and you’re being tormented by the popular kids. This book was completely different. This book was about a teenage girl who lives a normal life, and then all of a sudden finds out that she was stolen by her parents. The characters were clever, and so was the plot. Which is a smart thing to do in order to hook in your reader. One thing I was not really happy with was the fact that the real turning point happened too early in the book. But other than that I thought the book was a phenomenal story with twisted plots and events. The Face on the Milk Carton, By: Caroline B. Cooney
firsat More than 1 year ago
The Face on the Milk Carton is an amazing and inspiring story told about a girl who is forced to find the good in everything. After finding her picture on the back of a milk carton in her school cafeteria she finds out the dark truth about everything. Throughout the story Janie does a lot of crazy things to get her way. She goes to the measures of skipping school and lying to her parents for the first time in her life. At first she doesn't tell anyone and tries to figure everything out herself. But when it doesn't work out she has to tell the one and only person she can trust at the time. Finding hidden secrets about things she could dream of leads her to figure out her true friends. and her true parents. Caroline B. Cooney tells a great story while also tell how one teenagers life can be turned around by one small surprise. In the end Janie realizes what she really wants in life and where she really came from.