Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451

by Ray Bradbury

Hardcover

$22.10 $26.00 Save 15% Current price is $22.1, Original price is $26. You Save 15%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fahrenheit 451 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 563 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Fahrenheit 451. True, it's hard to understand sometimes. I think what really made this book stand out to me was not the plot, but the motifs and symbolism. If you read this book just for plot, I will tell you that you will be confused and disappointed. The glory of this book is in how Ray Bradbury uses symbolism and motif. When I say motif, I mean like a theme. Like fire and water. Bradbury often uses fire to represent ignorance in the book, and water to represent knowledge. Or masks and mirrors. Bradbury will talk about some of the characters (usually the ones who are following the crowd, like the Montags) having "masks," while other characters (those who are different like Clarisse and Faber) are described as with mirrors. If you want to really read this book, I recommend getting one of those literature guides to read along with Fahrenheit. If you know the symbolism behind the book, you will enjoy it much more.
Nikki_in_Ponchatoula More than 1 year ago
God bless you Ray. You gave us a vision of what might happen and so much of what you said did. Traffic cameras, the death of real conversation, the creation of an electronic family and social media. You will be greatly missed.
cllhnstev More than 1 year ago
Written 50 years ago but still rings true in describing today's culture if you look at the themes metaphors,symbols and the message he's trying to tell. I think people who label it boring are just reading it literally and expecting a science fiction thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel bad for all of the people who said this book was stupid. Not to offend anyone, but if you really get it and understand what it's saying then it has a really deep message. I get how its hard to understand because there are so many metaphors but if you think about it it is so much like our world today and this guy wrote it like 50 years ago. Just the fact that i am writing this review on an ereader and not actually having a conversation depicts what he wrote.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little bit of a hard read, but if you liked 1984 or other dystopian novels, this will be great for you! Powerful, thoughtful, and amazing. My only point is that the ending wasn't as conclusive as I would've liked but still great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am in 7th grade but i still found this book very interestinh
JakeNJ More than 1 year ago
First, I would like to state that I really like this book, but also fear that what was written as fiction predicting reality is coming true in more ways than one. I would also like to state that I want to write about the book and then off the book, if you can say that. The main character, Guy Montag, is a fireman, but instead of putting fires out, he starts them for one purpose, to burn those objects that are feared to cause negative emotion, books. While the books are not really disallowed by the government, they are objects that deemed dangerous and those who harbor them. At first it seems that it is another despotic novel where the characters are fearful by what government or as we have seen, "Big Brother" in 1984, is enforcing as a rule of law, but it is even more than that. As we find out, the books can be burned in more ways then one and that is where the object off the book, the topic and how it came to live even more interesting than even the novel itself, which I will touch in a little bit. What we also see, what Ray Bradbury talks about is in house parlors. The shows where the viewer interacts with the show, so as per what we have seen recently, reality shows, but with interactive aspect to them. The viewer is not just watching the shows, but also being fed information that they want them to think, feel and live by. Then of course the sleeping "brainwashing" and so it goes on and on, on the daily 24 hour basis. It is interesting that while reading this book, we find out more about what our society is doing now, while reading something that was written a few decades before. The books didn't just disappear and did not get outlawed, but the viewer became abscessed with the "family" in the parlor shows. The books started to be less and less paid attention to, hence the opportune moment for the government to step in and put the viewer in front of the screen and away from the books. Government seized the moment when people distanced themselves from reading and educating themselves, therefore fallen prey to whatever they were being fed via TV shows. Then of course as we find out everything else follows. I like an interesting point and concept what made this book possible and grow to its fruition. In this version of the novel, we have "Fahrenheit 451", but also explanations, praises and positive critique by various writers. We also have explanation by the author himself. Why the book is called "Fahrenheit 451", what and when it gained such clever title and why the author decided to write about this topic. One of the very interesting points here is that there is more than one way to "burn" the books. One is the physically burn them in the fire, as Stalin, Hitler and many other tyrants have done. There is also another way to do it, as Ray Bradbury points out. If you are not reading the books, changing their content, taking out words and even characters to "please" the general public or as Ray points out, suit the needs to minorities, who want something changed, therefore killing and burning the very meaning of the book itself, literary burning it. The concept, the title, the meaning behind this novel, is absolutely genius. It is in the same genre and level of well written novels, as "We", "Brave New World", "1984" and another one, which I have not yet read, but what actually ignited (no punt intended) the idea for Mr Bradbury to write this novel, "Darkness at Noon".
B_Wiggs More than 1 year ago
Ray Bradbury opens the world of reading to the reader in a world that leaves it undiscovered. When reading it for the first time, in eighth grade, I was astonished and allured by the premise of the book, that being books. A book about books! At the age of 13 and 14, some scenes were hard to picture reading it, but that's the great thing about reading; if you don't understand it the first time, you go back and read it again. Since then, I've currently have read the book for the third time and clearly understand what happened to Montag's wife during the night. Looking back I loved it then and love it even more now because I went back to see the changes and stagnant feelings that socially encompass our world. Fahrenheit 451 reflects our reality like a mirror, just like Clarisse does to Montag, and we have Ray to thank for that. I'll never read an e-book because I know, and I see it my classmates disdain, that I will soon be desensitized towards books in print. What's more personal, warm and inviting than a nice, old and wrinkly book? 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never read Fahrenheit 451 during the 60' or 70's but I'd heard of the book. As I read it now as a senior citizen, I saw a lot of similarities in issues that are current nowadays. As the featured book of the Big Read, the book sparked very spirited and book discussions and aevery discussion took a different path on varied topics brought up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great for reports or even just casual reading. Total Must Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
6 words. It was a pleasure to burn. (And read over and over again)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A truly ageless masterpiece!! The writing is engaging. The plot is very compelling, and how it still relates to our own society evrn today is quite amazing. Bradbury created something incredible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it, though the beginning was really slow.
RBradbury More than 1 year ago
This book is a wake up call to life as we know it. Taking place in the future it not only exploits the endless possibilities of what would happen in the future if we choose to neglect our: opinions and emotions but it also shines light on the endless fight, that man refuses to give up on in order, to resurrect from it's mistakes. Truly honoring one of the best scientific writer's of all time. Bradbury simply tells the story of Montag a firefighter who unlike the rest questions his very sanity after meeting a young girl Clarrisse unlike the rest. With the countless allusions, this book adopts broad time periods from authors from the victorian era and even ancient myths back in egyptian times. In the future where books are banned and roaring tv's take there place, people just stand in line and do as they are told the regular robots and people who aren't so adhesive to the rules are frowned upon and might even turn up dead. Teens kill each other in intentional car acciendents, people overdose on pills only to have their stomachs vaccumed out leaving them to do it over and over again, women who have constant abortions and husbands, and a war that seems to take place throughout the world and within the soceity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glen beck agenda 21 similiar gret read. Easy to understand
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book “Fahrenheit 451” is based around a man named Guy Montag who is the protagonist of this story .This book is written from the point of view of third person limited. He basically lives in a dystopian society which means it is a fiction book where they live in an imaginary place where life is extremely bad.Some important characters in this book are Clarisse a seventeen year old girl, Mildred who is Montag’s wife,Captain Beatty, and Faber who is an old english professor.In their world they are limited to the things they have freedom to. For example they can’t think for themself, walk outside or own /read a book. Since they are not allowed to read or own books what their fireman do is if they find any book in a person’s house they will burn it. The title “Fahrenheit 451” relates to the book because at that degree is when paper begins to burn which is basically the main idea of the book which is burning books. If a police or fireman are seen with a book they have only a few hours to return it into the fire department. I honestly do not think this is my favorite book but i do encourage others to read it because i feel like it teaches us a possibility of what the world can eventually come to. I think it kind of made me realize that our world has many negative things that can be easily fixed although if we don’t fix them our world can fall apart and somewhat become the book “Fahrenheit 451”.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great book! Take a Barnes $10 Off coupons code from bookscoupons.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok so I am in honors english and on our must read summers reading list it says that I must read this book but i'm not sure if the book is in english or not and I need to know if i'd just be better off going to the public library an checking it out instead. Please can someone help me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I normally give books I read 5 stars, because I chose them because I knew beforehand that I would like them. But this is an odd book. I did enjoy the fact that it was deeper than what the writing said, but I also found it slightly irritating when the book ended and the rest was reviews. I have to do a book report on this, so I hope I'm able to!
thomashaynes More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Fahrenheit 451, it was hard to read at the beginning of the book, I wont lie, but as I read along and along, and got into   the plot, I began to understand what was happening and the themes Bradbury was trying to point out to us.  The book itself was not made to understand the plot, but was to understand the symbolism Bradbury used, which was really impure ssive.  This book is definitely for you  if your into the science  fiction type of literature as Bradbury makes incredi ble references and predictions to things we use today, while writing this in the early 50's... But, as a firefighter who lights things (books) up instead of putting them out, you might want a literature guide to help you out along the way, since it gets a little fuzzy at times.  The characters in the story, Guy Montag and Clarrise, lead the way for all the rebels to come out of their shells and prove the government of their wrong-doing.  Mildred Montag, the “wife” of Guy is an ordinary person in the emotionless world, not caring about anything that happens to herself or anyone for that matter.  Many other characters will come up in this book with strange or unforeseeable identities. The entire country, which is depicted as the near future of America, lives in a dystopian society that is surprisingly and mysteriously cut off from the rest of the earth.  In this world, no one shows love, or any emotion at that, in the meaningless time.  Books are forbidden in the country, allowing the government to have more control over more uneducated people who stare at giant screens with colorful images for most of the day.  To those who do not abide by the strict laws laid down by the government, will be hunted down by a hound ready to kill.  This isn't the average hound, as this creature is a robotic dog.  The mechanical hound has a “four inch hollow steel needle” coming from its snout ready to inject any person holding books with morphine.  The depressed world has people constantly attempting or considering suicide regularly.  This was my first ever science fiction novel and has set the bar high for the rest of them, with the amazing storytelling of Ray Bradbury leading the way, this is honestly a must read to anyone who enjoys a novel in their hands.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good read. Wished the ending was better though.
Beamer_426 More than 1 year ago
 I personally enjoyed this book, although I thought it had some more boring parts. I thought some  parts had to much going on and made me confused. I was disappointed when Clarisse never  returned. It never specifically clarified that Clarisse even died, it was more of a possibility or  suggestion. I thought Fahrenheit 451 expressed the importance of knowledge very well.  I think that Ray Bradbury is an extremely creative person to have come up with an excellent  novel like this with such an out of the box idea. I loved the ending and how mysterious it is.  Clarisse could have found Montag, Montag could have fallen in love for real, he and the book  people could have changed the laws and taught the people how important books really are. It left lots of room for creativity at the end, so that you as the reader could made conclusions for  yourself. It doesn't tell you if Faber was ok or if Mildred died set in her old ways. Fahrenheit 451  was an excellent book, and had no imperfections what soever, I personally thought the book was  not my type. I enjoy books with a little more love and happiness. I overall thought this book was okay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book.
GraceBeagles More than 1 year ago
This book is about a firefighter who burns books and houses, instead of putting them out. Ray Bardbury has a very different style of writing. This book was slightly confusing for me, some of the descriptions I did not understand until my English teacher explained them to the class. Overall, the book had a good message, and I liked how it ended with the Hobos being able to start over in the city.
sarahp0 More than 1 year ago
This book is about books being banned. People are not allowed to read books and if they have books then their house will be burned down. No one really has feelings for anything and do not communicate well. Montag gets a different perspective and tries to change the city.