Faith & Lettering Journal

Faith & Lettering Journal

by Worthy Publishing

Other Format

$14.88 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.88, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%.
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Faith & Lettering Journal 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
PennyMindingMom 10 days ago
There are days when I find it difficult to slow down and focus on God’s word. There are so many distractions in my daily life that takes my attention away and focusing on scripture seems almost impossible. I will often read a passage from the Bible and then quickly move on with the next item on my “To Do” list. Bible Journaling helps me how to slow down and focus on a particular Bible passage, so I can really ponder its meaning. The “Faith and Lettering Journal” helps to teach me how to Bible Journal so that I can become engaged with God’s Word in a way that is exciting and relevant to me. The “Faith and Lettering Journal” is a wonderful companion to the “Illuminate Your Story Journal” and “The Illuminated Word” Colouring Journal. It features a stunning hardcover journal with a cloth spine and measures 7 x 0.8 x 8.8 inches. There is an elastic pen loop on the spine to store your favourite pen. I love that the spine opens completely to lay flat while I am writing. Even though there is no right or wrong way to journal in your Bible, it can be difficult to start. What do I draw? How do I lay it out? What do I write? There are ten spreads that are designed to teach Bible Journaling. Each example has multiple columns to practice in and one column to trace the example. Initially, I tried to stay close to the example, but after a few tries, I started to let my own creativity shine. Putting your pencil down on paper to begin drawing can be intimidating. Take a deep breath and just do it and remember that your drawing is only secondary, the real value in the drawing is how it draws you closer to God. I am left-handed and I have a tendency to cover the example with my arm so I like to practice on a separate piece of paper. The journal includes full page example illustrations to offer encouragement and inspiration. Being new to journaling these examples give me ideas on layouts for future journaling. On the ruled pages you can record how your journaling experience has impacted your life or just write your thoughts and reflections on the scripture that is being shared. How you use these pages is totally up to you! Pro-tips on how to use and draw fonts, banners, doodles and flourishes can be found throughout the journal. You can use these details to enhance your layouts. There are grid and dot grid spreads to practice new layouts. I love using the grid pages to try my drawing. I’m a lefty so I tend to write and draw on angles in an effort to keep my hand from smudging my pages. The grids will help me keep my work straight and in proportion, without them, my drawings will tend to be lean to the left. There are also spreads with deep margins to practice your journaling skills. I like to practice on these pages as they are closer to how I would journal in the margins of a Bible. The “Faith and Lettering Journal” proves that it doesn’t require a skilled artist to create something beautiful. It only requires an open heart and mind and a willingness to experience God’s Word in a new and creative way. *Disclosure: I received a complimentary “Faith and Lettering Journal” through Worthy Publishing in exchange for my review. All opinions are 100% my own.
MeezCarrie 12 days ago
This was an instant favorite for me. I already have Krystal Whitten’s accompanying Faith & Lettering book so I was really excited to get the journal too. It’s bright and colorful on the outside with equally bright & colorful illustrated verses & quotes on the interior pages. Whitten also incorporates plenty of practice pages for different types of lettering as well as guided verse lettering and ‘doodle’ embellishments to enhance your artwork. The guided pages are done in various stages too so, unlike the Illuminate Your Story journal, this one seems very accessible to people like me who are all thumbs when it comes to drawing and making things look pretty. If you’ve drooled over the gorgeous Bible journaling that people post to IG and Pinterest, here’s your chance to make some pretty pages of your own. (I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.)
Pooke 14 days ago
The Faith and Lettering Journal, Write on! Do you have a journal, or have you thought of starting one? An exciting new way to write is to use an illustrated art journal, and here is you should consider. This volume has lovely, embossed hardback covers that feel really good to the touch, and are nice to look at. High quality cardstock that should hold up to all kinds of ink without bleeding through to the other side is found throughout. This book has a substantial feel, it will easily stay open while adding thoughts, contain lots of pages devoted to journaling, and has a presentation page for the owner. The Faith and Lettering Journal comes from the hand-lettering artist and graphic designer Krystal Whitten. The guides, instructions, and tutorials Ms. Whitten includes come with the hope to inspire others to try their hand at something that has changed the author’s life. She explains how lettering things from the Bible opened a new way for her to the remember the word of God, a richer way than anything she had done before. God’s word became more real for her, and caused her to have a deeper relationship with the Him. The author gives different examples of Biblical text in lettering form. There are columns to practice her techniques along with places to trace over her designs before trying it on your own. Other decorations such as banners, arrows, and doodles are included. This book shows you fun ways to journal your thoughts, and Biblical messages. Even if you do not think you are creative, the author wagers if you give her instructions a try, you will be surprised at the things you can do. You will find uplifting Bible verses with splashes of color throughout this over-sized book. There is also a handy holder on the spine. By using it, you will always have the writing tool of your choice easily ready for you when inspiration strikes. This over-sized volume contains a combination of pages that are either lined, dotted or graphed. This book will open up many ways to embellish and remember writings, as well as, scripture. Very detailed instructions will make it easy for even the most creative-challenged to be successful. The author makes it very easy to recreate her style, and the book itself contains such eye-pleasing pages and uplifting notes that it is sure to bring a smile. Journaling in such a nice book will give you the feeling of creating art, and you can try your hand at illumination. You are sure to have a new journaling experience! Ellie Claire Art Journals has provided bookreadingtic with complimentary copies of The Faith and Lettering Journal for the purpose of review. I have not been compensated in any other manner. All opinions expressed are my own, and I was not required, or influenced, to give anything but an honest appraisal. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
Heidi_Reads 15 days ago
This was definitely my favorite of the three journals I received because I really love modern calligraphy. I was super impressed with the quality of the book construction, the hardcover designs are embossed and the title is gold. The spine of the book is cloth covered with an elastic to hold a pen, and when the book is opened it can lay flat for a much easier way to draw and write. The two-page introduction is inspiring and encourages the reader/journaler to build faith through rediscovering creativity. Throughout the blank, lined, or dot grid pages for journaling, there are beautiful creations by the artist (full page and smaller ones in the corners), practice pages for tracing and freehand copying art lettering examples, and practice pages for basic serif and sans serif letters, script, swashes, flourishes, and banners. The paper is sturdy and smooth. I loved the fresh style and the lovely balance between energy and simplicity. Highly recommend! This would make a lovely gift. (I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions in this review are my own)
Phyllis_H 25 days ago
I have to say that I am in love with this journal! Everything about it makes my heart happy. The cover is lovely. It is hardback with embossing and gilding on the front cover and a gilded title on the spine. There is a very cleverly placed elastic band on the spine that can be used to hold a pen or pencil. Just holding the journal is a pleasure and I may have spent time rubbing my hands across the cover just to luxuriate in the feel of it, though you’ll never be able to prove it. It is really that nice. The journal opens flat and stays open with no effort, even when it is at the beginning or end of the book. The flyleaf is a pretty teal green with embellishments and gives a sense of elegance to the book. There is an introduction explaining what Faith and Lettering is and describing how you can use the journal. Then comes the fun part. The following pages are a combination of blank journal pages, examples of Faith and Lettering, instructional pages for how to create letters and some of the embellishments and even space to practice. The pages themselves are a bright white, smooth with a nice thickness that gives them a sense of durability. The blank pages vary from being ruled (with finely dotted lines instead of solid ones) with a wide margin, having subtly colored dots spaced so that if you were to connect them they make little squares (yeah, there is most likely a technical name for this), or gridded with small squares. There are a series of practice pages for lettered verses. The section on the left is already there in black. The next section has the lettering there in a light pink so it can be traced. After that, there are four additional columns to be used to recreate it. With the one I was doing, by the time I had gotten to the third section, I decided to play with other concepts in the book to make it my own. After all, that is the point! As strange as this might sound, the process of coming up with my own way of illustrating the verse was like opening the floodgates of creativity that has been closed for far too long! It was so freeing and almost cleansing to play around with this. Not to mention that in taking the time to write the verse out in a creative way while taking time to make it look nice was a wonderful way to really meditate on it. This is the journal that I’m the most excited about. I love the style the author uses for her lettering and embellishments and would even love to see a journal like this (cover design and the dotted pages) minus the coaching pages that I could get to do more journaling and creating more quote images once I fill this one.
RobinWillson 25 days ago
You'll love this! This is to inspire hand-lettering. Practice the basics and do your own journaling or note taking, deepening your walk with God. To improve your cursive lettering, there are pages that illustrate the strokes and give you space on graph lined pages to practice and hone your skill. There are also pages with journaling examples and then places for you to practice, practice, practice. Interspersed with full color artistic bible quotes, pro tips and blank pages. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Michelle_Lynn_Brown 25 days ago
The Ellie Claire Art Journals make for unique gift ideas this Christmas. These journals are made of high quality paper and binding with exquisite attention to detail, including pen loops on the binder and elastic band closures. A great gift for the art lover on your list. This lettering journal goes one step further and helps you create fancy letters, words, and design Scripture (for lack of a better description). There is space for journaling, but the focus is on the lettering. For me, I was not interested in this. My first thought was, “I can do this perfectly on my computer in a few minutes.” However, for those with an artistic nature, this would make the perfect gift. Beautiful pages and excellent quality. I received a free copy of this book from the author/publisher in order to provide my honest and fair opinion of the book.
Julie12 28 days ago
This journal teaches you how to do lettering as well as banners, and flourishes. There are many color pictures to give you an idea of how to put different elements together and I loved having these ideas. There are several fonts to learn as well as some practice pages that you can trace and learn to do the lettering and flourishes that way. I love all blank pages that are lined or dot printed for practicing my lettering or writing out Scriptures or anything that is on my heart. The paper is very high quality and I was able to use my watercolor pens as well as my makers and fine liner black felt tipped maker without ruining the paper or having bleed through. I liked that I could use my art supplies and actually have the journal withstand all my work inside. I have really wanted to learn to do lettering for my Bible journaling and artwork and this book taught me exactly what I needed to know to do beautiful lettering and other flourishes. I had so much fun playing with this book, coloring in the different pictures and creating my own lettering. I LOVED this book and would definitely recommend it if you're wanting to learn lettering and have a journal to practice in that will be a keepsake! I give this journal 5 out of 5 stars. This journal was provided to me by Worthy Publishing. I received a copy of this book to review but I was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading, drawing and writing in this journal.
MelissaF 3 months ago
I really enjoyed copying the scriptures in here but making them pretty visually. I am not overly artistic so this was a great practice for me. You could even practice how to make flourishes. Overall, just a beautiful book. A copy of this book was given to me. All opinions are my own.