Fallen (Will Trent Series #5)

Fallen (Will Trent Series #5)

by Karin Slaughter

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fallen 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 338 reviews.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
This is my third book that I have read by Karin Slaughter and like with the others could not put it down.
Perry_Mason More than 1 year ago
Without revealing the plot let me say that this book is an excellent read that will keep you from wanting to put it down. Each page is filled with enough to hold your interest. The dialogue is believable and the plot first rate. And there is a nice romantic thread that develops throughout. Karin Slaughter has really grown as an author and I look forward to reading each new release.
BookAddictFL More than 1 year ago
I was a big fan of Karin Slaughter's early work. While she remains a great writer, for me, her last few novels have fallen a bit short. Fallen has tremendous potential with gripping suspense and characters that stand out. But the cast of characters in this one is quite large and sometimes hard to keep track of. Slaughter's attempt to keep the suspense rendered an often frustratingly vague plot that didn't tie together until the very end. I found the conclusion too convenient in some aspects and a little unbelievable in others. This book is part of an ongoing series. Slaughter fills in plenty of details about her characters' pasts, so I don't think it would be a problem for a reader new to her work to follow along
JamesterCK More than 1 year ago
Wow, where do I even begin with this series? Like I've said before, Karin Slaughter is probably my #1 favorite author and any true fan of the Grant County series can tell you these characters are seriously amazing. They feel like old friends now, so every time I read a new installment in the series it's like reuniting with them all over again. In this book, Faith's mother, Evelyn, is kidnapped and everyone is at a loss as to why. The crime scene is bloody and everyone knows if Evelyn isn't already dead she will be soon. Faith is shocked and terrified for her mother and she has to rely on her partner Will and Dr. Sara Linton to help her find Evelyn before it's too late. The characters in this series are absolutely amazing. I guess before I go too much further, this review might have some spoilers. There is a MAJOR event that takes place in Beyond Reach that changes everything, so if you haven't read that one yet and plan to in the future, I suggest you don't read this whole review. I guess you take that risk with any sequel to a book though. We see Faith sort of fall apart in this one and not without good reason. She's worried about her mother, but she's also worried about something happening to her kids. She's still a very strong, smart woman though and does anything and everything she can to figure out where her mother is. I'll admit, when both Faith and Will arrived on the scene several books ago, I wasn't too pleased. Not that they weren't well written, just that when I'm used to certain characters, change can be difficult. Now I really love them though. Will is very instrumental in trying to solve this case, since Faith is mostly at home protecting her kids. I love how successful he is despite his battle with dyslexia; he's developed ways of organizing his notes and things so that he's very efficient. He still seems to be embarrassed by his handicap, but not as much so as in previous books (probably because pretty much everyone knows about it now). Amanda Wagner (Will and Faith's supervisor, Faith's sort-of Aunt, and one of Evelyn's closest friends) takes charge of most of the investigation, with Will at her side. I wanted to slap her quite a few times in this book, and I know Will did too, for not being forthcoming with information pertinent to the case. She was trying to protect Evelyn and her secrets, but it seemed like every time Will would find out an important piece of information, Amanda already knew about it and so it wasted a lot of time. Even though she's extremely tough, and even that may be an understatement, we see a much softer side of Amanda in this book. Sara gets dragged into the investigation as well, examining the dead bodies that pop up and giving her two cents on the situation. I love Sara and I hate seeing her working in the hospital environment where I'm pretty sure she's unhappy; she needs to go back to having her own practice. Basically I just want to see her happy again. It's been almost 5 years since the "event that shall not be named" and she's still trying to find some normalcy in her life. I loved the twists and turns that are present in all of Karin Slaughter's books. Towards the end I had things figured out, but the ending was still explosive and amazing. Unlike some books, I think this one ended on a very good note so maybe I can rest easy until the next one comes out.
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
Faith Mitchell, a GBI agent checks on her mother who is watching her child. No answer, and when she goes to investigate, a shoot out occurs, leaving one dead, the mother missing and the baby okay in the shed. Karin Slaughter has created a suspenseful novel filled with fascinating characters that keep this novel moving forward. It is possible her mother who is a retired police officer was a dirty cop and involved with some unsavory people. You won't believe how quickly you will read through this novel. A perfect companion for the beach this summer!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting, but I had to downgrade it because of the astonishing stupidity of all the characters, especially Faith and Evelyn. And of course it is purely ridiculous that Will Trent would have the job he has with his handicap and emotional instability. He could never have passed either the psych or written test.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been reading this series of books and this one did not disappoint me. Good characters;good plot.
bayareagirl More than 1 year ago
first time reading this author -- gripping? not the book I read 12 pages of Faith getting ready to answer some Qs. Old lady who happens to take crime scene photos. NADA! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't say enough praises for this series. Great thriller, fast pace, complex characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by this author and i just couldnt get into it at all. I read halfway through the book and i thought it dragged!
cj-53 More than 1 year ago
This book drags, not to mention doesn't make much sense. Maybe it's because I have not read the other books in the series, but if this is any indication, I won't bother doing that. I hate the way most of the female characters in this story are rude, pushy and obnoxious. The fact that the character Will allows himself to be bullied constantly, to me, is unrealistic. No man I know would sit still for being treated like that.
Joan Klossner More than 1 year ago
It drives me nuts that Amanda only tells Will what she wants him to kmow. Like she's some super cop. Most of Will's time is spent gathering information about the case that his supervisor already knows about and could saved him the time. If Amanda just would have a treamplayer instead of being a crappy supervisor. Amamda has go or change for me ever read these books again.
Kelly Giordano More than 1 year ago
Big dissapointment from a usually good author. Slow moving and underdeveloped. Struggled through and almost gave up at least 3x.
6789-1234_567 More than 1 year ago
Ms. slaughter made the characters more dysfunctional in this book than the previous one. I like Will, but I don't like how she continues to weaken his character making him appear to be dumb,weak, and afraid of all the women in his life and definitely afraid to speak up. Amanda and Faith were too overbearing and just rude! Please don't let this happen with Sara. This was a very hard read to me.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Georgia Bureau of Investigations Special Agent Faith Mitchell calls her mom Evelyn, a retired narcotics police officer, who is not answering her phone. Faith sees her mom's door is open with blood on the knob and notices her baby is safely hidden in a nearby shed. Without regard to protocol or her own safety, Mitchell charges into the house where a hostage scenario turns ugly as one person is dead and another individual has a gun pointed at a third party; but mom is not there. Faith and her partner Will Trent search for the former's apparently kidnapped mom who allegedly was a dirty cop who may have been a cop killer. Both (more so Will) also spend time with widow Dr. Sara Linton who has seen first hand plenty of horror in Grant County as the former coroner and wife of the late police chief (see Broken and Undone). Meanwhile Faith has become the prime suspect in the shootout at her mom's residence while some other police retirees come to the assistance of Mitchell and Trent. The latest Georgia police procedural is the usual gritty, gory and somewhat complicated thriller expected from Karin Slaughter. The story line is action-packed with the underlying theme being family secrets can harm relationships. With a convoluted degree of seemingly no separation between key players, readers will still enjoy Fallen while wondering who's done what to whom. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous 10 months ago
she%27s+a+great+writer
Anonymous 11 months ago
This book was great!! I will say that it wouldn't be nearly as satisfying and entertaining/gripping though, had I not read Slaughter's entire series of both Grant County & Will Trent; most importantly the Will Trent (this) series. Knowing the back story of all the characters and their pasts, relationships with each other, & just all the complexities of the story lines, this book Sooo much better!! So I would highly recommend reading this series from the very beginning, so this book is just that much more enjoyable for you! Otherwise, as always, Slaughter makes a brilliant, suspenseful, edge of your seat, come on I've got to know NOW!!, novel lol. Would absolutely recommend reading this! & all her books in the series! ???????????????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
%0A%0Aexcellent++
CloggieDownunder on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fallen is the third in Karin Slaughter¿s Georgia series. The story starts with Faith Mitchell returning to her mother, Evelyn¿s, place after work to collect her 4 month-old daughter Emma. When she arrives, she finds a bloody handprint on the door and Emma locked in the shed. Evelyn¿s gun is missing from the gun safe. Faith arms herself and enters a ransacked house. There¿s a dead body on the laundry floor and lots of blood in the kitchen. Soon, two more men are dead, and Evelyn is missing. Does this have to do with the reason Will Trent was investigating Evelyn when she was head of the drug squad? Will, his boss, Amanda Wagner and Sara Linton are soon trying to piece together the evidence. In this novel, we get to learn a bit more about Faith¿s past and her family; Angie Polaski/Trent proves beyond doubt that she is a nasty piece of work, a manipulative monster; Amanda shows that while she can be a bitch, she has a depth not previously apparent; and we can probably forgive Faith her occasional bad judgement in some measure due to her fluctuating blood sugar levels. Slaughter does not shy away from issues. Police corruption, drug gangs, and prisons all make an appearance. The story is well researched. The plot and dialogue are excellent. Just when you think you know where the story is going, there¿s another surprise. This book has lots of strong women and a strong, but flawed, man. Slaughter uses Will to ease some of the tenser moments by putting him into situations that create humour e.g. locked in a car boot with a rifle. He becomes the source of quite a few laugh-out-loud moments, especially his exchanges with Amanda. This book is a page turner, filled with gripping, edge of the seat crime drama. The dilemma with a book like this is you can¿t stop reading but you¿re enjoying it so much, you don¿t want it to end. I wonder, each time I pick up a new Karin Slaughter book, how she can keep up the standard, but so far, I have not been disappointed. I really enjoyed this book and I am sure Slaughter fans will love it.
adpaton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dyslexia, diabetes, dysfunctional relationships and dirty cops are an unlikely mix but Karin Slaughter puts them together with a sure hand and in Fallen creates an interesting and relentless page-turner. She has developed a well-rounded cast of characters and attracted the attention and regard of the thriller-reading public, making her a best-selling writer ¿ deservedly too since her books are a fine balance of action, intelligent plotting and entertainment.Slaughter¿s fictional world is in Atlanta, Georgia, in which she has set both the Grant County [featuring trauma doctor Sara Linton] and the Atlanta series [with Georgia Bureau of Investigation agents Will Trent and his partner Faith Mitchell]: this book is the third in which she combines the threads, and her 11th full length novel, yet it reads well as a stand alone.Faith Mitchell¿s mother Evelyn [a former member of the Atlanta police department] is kidnapped and mutilated, her house is ransacked and there are dead hoodlums on the property. Faith herself is under suspicion and battling to deal with her diabetes and her new-born daughter, so it¿s up to her partner the dyslexic Will Trent, assisted by Sara Linton, to investigate. Drugs, gang politics, homicidal prisoners, police loyalties, family secrets, the old girl network and dogs, combined with the city of Atlanta and its suburbs, form a potent and exciting mix of elements that guarantee you will stay absorbed.
mahallett on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
really dumb. don't understand the rave reviews. she writes well and that does carry you along. her characters will pass inspection even though there's way too much info about them but the plot! the plot is ridiculous!somebody should shoot amanda.
bohemiangirl35 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not Karin Slaughter's best. She's one of my favorite authors and I have loved loved loved these characters from the beginning, but they were not themselves in this novel. They did stupid things that they never would have done in previous books, and generally got on my nerves because they were acting like people I didn't recognize even though this is the 11th book for Sarah Linton and 5th for Will Trent. However, Slaughter still told a suspenseful story and I'm ready for the next one. I will probably go back to the beginning and read the others over again.
Jarratt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Based on the high reviews, my thoughts on the book must be an anomaly. I got about 3/4 of the way through the book and didn't give a whit about any of the characters so I quit reading. The characters were either awful people (Amanda and Angie), spineless (Will), or we just didn't know enough about them (Faith, her neighbor). Something would happen to a character, then you'd have to go 100 or more pages before returning back to that character to find out what happened. The pacing was slow with too much exposition.I'm not sure what others see in "Fallen," but it wasn't for me.
Gatorhater on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great thriller about a retired captain in the narcotics department, Evelyn Mitchell, that was forced to retire because of hints corruption and of skimming money of the top on drug busts. Then one day her daughter Faith, a special agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigations, was trying to get ahold of her mom since she was taking care of her daughter, Emma, but got no answner after repeated calls to her house and on her cell phone, Faith went to her mom's residence. When she arrives at her mom's house, she notices things aren't quit right, spots a blood stain on the entrance door. She immediately calls for backup informing them that a officier needs assistance, she tolded to wait for backup, but she enters before they arrive. She's involved in a shootout killing one of the intruders in the house the other excapes out the back door only too be killed after he takes a shot at the neighbors children, but their is no sign of Evelyn in the house, the arriving officiers find Faith's daughter safely wrapped in a blanket in the laundry room. What ever happened to Evelyn, the intruders were of mixed background, was her past coming back to haunt her?
rdurant1217 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the latest in the Will Trent/Faith Mitchell/Sara Lipton series and it does not disappoint. The book starts off with a bang and doesn't let up - the fast paced, well-written and edited story is woven expertly. Karin Slaughter moves the plot along while also advancing the personal lives of the characters in a way that is spot on and makes sense. This is a fantastic thriller and I felt as though I had another exciting adventure with characters that I've come to know and enjoy. While the ending was a bit predictable, the book was so well written that I didn't care. I couldn't put this down and it was the perfect way to spend an overcast, rainy Sunday. Highly recommended!