Falling for the Girl Next Door

Falling for the Girl Next Door

by Tera Lynn Childs

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Falling for the Girl Next Door 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
Tru and Sloane are back! I really enjoyed their second installment, even though I couldn't get behind one (okay, two) of the big decisions they made in the book. They saw the error of their ways eventually, and really, who hasn't made dumb decisions while in their teens and beyond? Far be it from me to be pointing fingers! FFTGND starts out with Sloane and Tru in a happy place--Sloane's actually liking Austin now (though she's counting the days until she's back in NYC for Christmas), and she and Tru are all kinds of cute together. You know that's not going to last, though, otherwise what would be the point of having another book? ;) And yep, soon the drama starts (I swear, half the reason I read YA is so I can be grateful I'm no longer a teen)--one problem is a carryover from book one: it gets worse, and thankfully the person most involved decides to do something about it (yay, Tru!); another problem develops more slowly, though the reader could really see it coming way before Sloane ever does (denial. Not just a river in Egypt.) And then there's the cyber threat to out Sloane's identity as the creator of Graphic Grrl... All in all we end up in a pretty good place again by the last page, though not everything is resolved and I'm still anxious to see how it'll all end up (though at this point, I'm more anxious for Willa and Finn's #2. When will it be released? When?? When??? Finn....) FFTGND could probably be read as a standalone, though I'd really recommend reading book one first ( Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru ) because there's definitely some elements of the story that carry over, and you'll know the characters better. Both of the Sloane and Tru books can be read independently of the other Creative Hearts series books, but why would you want to do that? Do yourself a favor and read them all! ;) Rating: 4 stars / B+ I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
TheThoughtSpot More than 1 year ago
"Received an advance reader copy for a fair review". Thanks to Entangled Publishing and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review Falling for the Girl Next Door by Tera Lynn Childs! This story begins right where Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru leaves off. Tru admits he has a drinking problem and breaks off his relationship with Sloane until he can fix the problem. Sloane wants to convince her family that they should live together in Austin, but she finds out that her parents' marriage might be in jeopardy. Sloane is also the victim of a blackmail attempt because she is receiving emails from someone claiming to know she's the creator of Graphic Grrl and threatening to expose her unless she bargains with him. Tru and Sloane mature and learn to deal with the feelings they have for each other while trying to keep their relationship strong no matter how many "bumps and turns" get in the way. This story has depth and dynamic main and side characters and includes young adult romance - 4 stars!
alterlisa More than 1 year ago
Not sure why but never really connected with the characters in this book. I've not read any of the other books in this series but didn't feel that I'd missed anything. Overall, I just didn't feel like there was much of a story here. I also didn't like that their story was told from alternating points of view, Sloane's in 1st person and Tru's from 3rd person. I find that jarring and it made me aware that I was reading. Though the book was only 186 pages it seemed much longer and not in a good way.
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.) This was a YA contemporary romance, featuring Sloan and Tru from Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru. Sloan and Tru were both okay characters, and Sloan’s opinion of Texas had changed a lot from the first book. I also thought that Tru was quite brave to admit what he did to Sloan. The storyline in this was about Sloan having to find a fake boyfriend to try and impress her father at their Christmas eve dinner, as well as Sloan wanting to talk her dad into moving to Texas. Thankfully the fake-boyfriend part of the story didn’t last too long though, as things got a bit silly when Tru got jealous. The ending to this was okay, and it seemed like things were good between Sloan and Tru again. 6.5 out of 10
KaraS More than 1 year ago
This is a cute YA romance. I haven’t read the others in the series (this is Book 5), but I don’t feel it is absolutely necessary. It would have helped with the back story of Sloane and Tru, but I was invested in the characters anyway. Sloane is a Texas transplant who is slowly learning to love her new town – not least of which is due to the “bad boy” next door, Tru. This book deals with some real life teen issues and the struggle seemed real. I liked the fact that therapy was used in a positive, life-affirming way. The fake relationship may not be the best choice for either of them, but it is understandable. Both characters are frustrating at times, but I thought the ending was very sweet. This may not satisfy everyone because there were lots of things left up in the air, but overall I found it to be a satisfying teen romance story. Received copy from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.
Rhondaz More than 1 year ago
Falling for the Girl Next Door by Tera Lynn Childs....I enjoyed the story, it was well written with likeable characters. I loved watching Sloane and Tru's stories be told. This is my first book by Tera Lynn Child and it will not be my last. I voluntarily reviewed an advance readers copy from publisher via NetGalley.
etoile1996 More than 1 year ago
falling for the girl next door is the second book in sloane and tru's story. when i picked this book up i wasn't really aware of that fact. it's also the fifth book in the creative hearts series, which just feels a bit confusing. like maybe the author is trying to build up a high school series like the sweet valley high books? maybe teens are on the look out for things like that? while i hadn't read the first book, it didn't really matter because the first couple of chapters recap a lot of the stuff that happened in the first book. while i found it useful to have the background i also struggled with finding this recap stuff interesting. and if i was new to the series and not interested really, how bad would it be for a returning reader? another thing i wasn't sure of, though i'm sure this is continuing the style of the earlier books, was that sloane's perspective took place in the first person. tru's perspective took place in third person. why do we need that shift in perspectives? i didn't mind the alternating viewpoints, but the shift from first person to third really got on my nerves for some reason. i'm not sure why there was a sequel to sloane and tru's story from the first book. perhaps some of tru's issues hadn't been fully resolved, and they do take care of that here. but other than that, sloane and tru were working through stuff in their relationship. and they both were dealing with some serious family drama. and things mostly got resolved. this was a perfectly fine read, but i'm not sure i'm interested enough to go back and catch up on the series. **falling for the girl next door will publish on november 14, 2016. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (crush) in exchange for my honest review.
BookishThings More than 1 year ago
It’s no secret that I love the Creative HeArts series. There’s only one more book after this one, and I’m sad to see it come to an end. But Tru and Sloane don’t let us down. I loved that both Tru and Sloane are dealing with their own problems. I just wish that they’d realize that fighting battles together is ALWAYS better than fighting them alone. Sloane has a lot going on. She has someone blackmailing her about her web comic. Then she is trying to figure out how to get her brother and dad to stay in Austin. She feels like the person that drove the wedge between her family, but there may be more going on than she realized. Tru has finally come to grips with the fact that he has a problem. He wants to be worthy of Sloane, and thinks pushing her away until he’s who he wants to be is a good idea. But maybe a little outside help will allow him to see that maybe pushing her away is a stupid decision. I love these two so much. They work so great together, and even though they are “on a break” their friendship is still there. (Even when it’s awkward.) We also get to see some of our other favorite characters in this series, and I can’t wait for Finn and Willa’s book!
DebraMenard155 More than 1 year ago
I voluntarily reviewed this ARC from Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.I really enjoyed reading this book,love the cover,characters.I will definitely have to look up more of Ms.Childs books in the near future.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Mixed feelings on this one. The good points - it's well done with great writing. It wraps up Sloane and Tru's story and I love these characters. The story moves along nicely and deals with real issues. What I didn't care for - In my opinion there wasn't a lot to the story. At least not enough for a whole separate book. It simply wrapped things up that started in book 1. I didn't feel that Tru's issues and the help he sought out was realistic. It all seemed too simple when in reality it's a very real issue and not so simply dealt with.
SiobhanDavisAuthor More than 1 year ago
An entertaining read with well-developed characters, a wonderful creative setting, some real-life problems, and a sweet romance I could totally get behind. I haven't read any of the other books in this series (including the first book which tells how Sloane and Tru got together) but it didn't matter as this can be read as a standalone. I love that both mains were creative people - Sloane is the mystery talent behind Graphic Grrl, a very successful online animated superhero strip, and Tru is a wannabe filmmaker who loves nothing more than filming his beautiful girlfriend - and it really created a great backdrop for the story. Tru and Sloane are great characters, both complex and well developed and a good representation of teenagers struggling to deal with family and identity issues. Together, they were a wonderful team and a great example of a truly supportive relationship. I could understand that Tru didn't want Sloane to become his crutch, and he wanted to be the type of boy she deserved, but I hated that he mistakenly pushed her away. Sloane wants to do the right thing by him so she goes along with it even if she is missing him terribly. The situation with Finn was very humorous at times and I'm intrigued to read his and Willa's story now. I love that family features quite prominently in this book, even if it is more of the dysfunctional variety. I adored Dylan and only wish we had gotten to see more of him. Jenna was also a great character. The romance was sweet and clean and my only complaint is that I wish there had been more of it and that it was a little more emotionally intense. The plot wasn't anything amazingly original but it's well executed and it chips along at a nice pace. The book does deal with some serious issues but it's not a deep read, however, I liked that therapy was involved and how that played out as that's an important message (even if the transition would have taken longer in real life.) Overall, this was a really enjoyable read and I look forward to checking out other books in this series. Thanks to Entangled Teen for providing an advance complimentary copy of this book. (less)