Family Affair

Family Affair

by Caprice Crane

Paperback

$14.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Family Affair 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Amy_Y More than 1 year ago
This is a story about what makes a family. It's a quick read, mostly because it has the pacing of a good romantic comedy movie. I typically don't care for books where each chapter is written from a different person's perspective but for this book. The author did such a great job distinguishing each character's voice to the point that you didn't have to look at the heading of the chapter to know who's point of view it was. The choice to tell the story from different point of views was a good one, especially since there was a divorce going on throughout the plot. You got to objectively see and feel both sides of the story. The book took place in Los Angeles and being from Los Angeles, I enjoyed going to places I go to, but with another view different from my own. I laughed out loud and cried a little. The Foster family became my own for 300 pages.
Hal30 More than 1 year ago
Read it
IHeart2Read More than 1 year ago
My synopsis Brett and Layla have been together since high school. Shortly after Layla's mom passed away, Layla moved in with Brett and his family. It's now years later and Brett and Layla are married. While Layla begins planning their future, Brett questions his feelings for her. When did Layla stop being his wife and start being his sister? My review I'll be honest. sitting on my night stand (unread) are the author's two previous novels: Stupid and Contagious and Forget About It. When I heard about Ms. Crane's latest release Family Affair, I automatically added it to my TBR List. I thought it would be a light, fun read. Definitely a good book to curl up with on a cold winter day. Actually Family Affair ended up being more than that. While reading Family Affair one question repeatedly came to mind: what makes a family? I'm sure if I asked ten people this question I would receive ten different answers. This is exactly what Layla struggles with. Layla's mother passed away when she was a teenager. Her dad left the family years before. So when she began dating Brett, it was natural that his family would welcome her as part of their family. Initially I think Brett accepted this. As he grew older and left home, Layla always wanting to spend time with his family became a bit disturbing. So much so, that he began seeing her as his sister and not his wife. Doubting his love for her, he asks for a divorce. This decision drives a wedge between Brett and his family. As the reader becomes a part of their antics to win the family's attention, Brett and Layla delve into their respective relationships with each family member and with each other. Narrated in alternating chapters, Family Affair is a refreshing read. 4.5/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Our book club read "Family Affair". For the most part, we all enjoyed it. However, the ending was a little idealistic in that almost "everybody wins". I like those kind of endings because I'm also idealistic, but it didn't sit well with some of the members. It was warm and funny; and it shows how we tend to take relationships for granted.
coolmama on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
blahsilly mindless bus/beach book, i was disappointed as I enjoyed caprice's other 2 booksbrett and layla have been together forever - and now brett decides he wants a divorce.the only interesting technique is how alternating chapters are told from others perspectives.i really didn't care enough about the characters, and they couldn't figure out what they saw in each other, to care much about this story.
scoutlee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My synopsisBrett and Layla have been together since high school. Shortly after Layla¿s mom passed away, Layla moved in with Brett and his family. It¿s now years later and Brett and Layla are married. While Layla begins planning their future, Brett questions his feelings for her. When did Layla stop being his wife and start being his sister?My reviewI¿ll be honest¿ sitting on my night stand (unread) are the author¿s two previous novels: Stupid and Contagious and Forget About It. When I heard about Ms. Crane¿s latest release Family Affair, I automatically added it to my TBR List. I thought it would be a light, fun read. Definitely a good book to curl up with on a cold winter day. Actually Family Affair ended up being more than that.While reading Family Affair one question repeatedly came to mind: what makes a family? I¿m sure if I asked ten people this question I would receive ten different answers. This is exactly what Layla struggles with. Layla¿s mother passed away when she was a teenager. Her dad left the family years before. So when she began dating Brett, it was natural that his family would welcome her as part of their family.Initially I think Brett accepted this. As he grew older and left home, Layla always wanting to spend time with his family became a bit disturbing. So much so, that he began seeing her as his sister and not his wife. Doubting his love for her, he asks for a divorce. This decision drives a wedge between Brett and his family.As the reader becomes a part of their antics to win the family¿s attention, Brett and Layla delve into their respective relationships with each family member and with each other. Narrated in alternating chapters, Family Affair is a refreshing read.
Jac8604 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Told in alternating POVs, Caprice Crane tackles an interesting subject in a humorous way. Unfortunately, all the humor in the world can't make up for Brett's selfishness. He's initially unwilling to work on their (relatively minor) issues and instead decides to dump his wife. After that, he goes on to be pretty hateful towards her when what she really deserves is some compassion and sympathy. While he goes on to make it up to Layla, I can't say that he was totally redeemed in my estimation. Still, Crane's trademark humor managed to rescue this novel for me somewhat. However, if you're looking for more likable characters, try her novels Stupid and Contagious and Forget About It.
agirlandherbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Brett and Layla Foster have been a couple since high school, so Brett¿s decision to separate not only shocks everyone, but strains their family ¿ because the Fosters are the only relations the parentless Layla has. What happens when a clan prefers an in-law to blood kin? And what happens to an extended family when its bedrock crumbles? Using alternating narrators, Caprice Crane deftly illustrates a tribe in crisis, and how they handle the hardest problems life dishes out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
katadata More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book. I never saw the ending coming. It made me laugh, smile, and most of all, cry. It takes a lot to make that happen. Maybe it was how much I related to both Brett and Layla or maybe it was how much I was sucked into their story. Either way, it is another AMAZING piece of work from Ms. Crane.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago