The Fifth Sorceress: A Fantasy Novel

The Fifth Sorceress: A Fantasy Novel

by Robert Newcomb

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fifth Sorceress (The Chronicles of Blood and Stone #1) 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cainch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This may be the single worst book I have ever read: it's so howlingly poor that it's almost funny (almost). I'd give it negative stars if I could. I don't know who is doing the editing at Del Rey, but they could use a trip back to Creative Writing 101. It starts out harmlessly enough: just another Terry Goodkind-ish droning epic (though it's plain from the outset that even Goodkind has it all over this guy in the area of writing mechanics): but after the first chapter, the reader is subjected to a horrible mush of poor grammar and misused words (kids, when writing, always remember to keep a dictionary handy). His logic is hopelessly flawed (how 'simple and symmetrical' could a 3-winged bird be?) and his time lines inconsistent ('Let's see: the fleet needs to reach its goal exactly 30 days from now. The goal is exactly 30 days travel away: so why don't we leave a week from now?') His characters are pathetically weak and constantly wallow in self-pity: yet they also maintain such relentless arrogance that you begin to hope that the whole kingdom sinks under the sea just to make it stop. And don't get me started on the plot. I'm no prude, nor am I easily offended. This book offends my intellegence, though. Newcomb is not the first low-talent writer to simply indulge in an adolescent rape fantasy to generate sales, but this guy doesn't even manage to create prurient interest. Rob, a little advice: read Neil Gaiman's stuff. Read Bradbury, Ursula Leguin, and Zelazny. That's how it's done. And kindly put the $8 I wasted on this trash toward hiring a decent proofreader.
guy-montag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Blood. People with special blood. Endowed blood. Plot point. Endowed blood. Endowed blood. Endowed blood. Endowed blood. Endowed blood. Similar plot point. Endowed blood. Endowed blood. You get the idea.It was promising at first, but any author's first novel runs into problems and unfortunately, this novel doesn't overcome them. The ideas and setting are interesting, the characters have potential. But it gets all too repetitive, and the author manages to beat the phrase "endowed blood" well into the dead horse stage and beyond. It gets literally painful to read when the same phrase pops up for the 75th time in *one* *single* *chapter*. In the end, I just stopped reading because of this. I wanted to go on, but... Simplistic plot and narrative structure plus "Endowed blood" repeated to nausea - I just couldn't keep reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
See headline
imayb1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In many ways, The Fifth Sorceress by Robert Newcomb is a very typical fantasy novel, centering on a well-favored prince who would be king. Disaster strikes on the day his father steps down from the throne. The prince swears revenge (naturally) and the lead court wizard takes the prince under his wing. The magic set-up in this novel is a bit different from the norm, though. I like some of the imaginitive things magic can do in this world. Apparently, it's highly mutable and mutative. A person's magic ability is dependent upon qualities of the blood. Magic as a tool can be used for good (practiced mostly by men) or evil (practised mostly by women) but the prince is prophesied as the one who can unite both aspects of magic in neutrality. Well, he has a lot to do. It's obvious to me that the prince's woes and the woes of his kingdom cannot be solved in one book.The writing is good. The author gets a bit carried away trying to describe human suffering and his ideas of "evil" aren't really the same as my own, but the story is quite enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thegash More than 1 year ago
This series is very well written. I enjoyed it very much. The series hasn't been finished yet and it has been 3 years since the last book has been published don't know if it will be completed. I am looking forward to the ending regardless of how long it takes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many people have said they did not like the book but I enjoyed it and have read the next two. Does he write as good as Terry Goodkind, no. But for me, still a good read. I have just strated his 4th book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Harder to choke down than rotten eggs. This is by far the most poorly written prose I have read in a long, time. Far better fare on the market (Farland, Russell, Cornwell, Jones, Martin, etc). DO NOT waste your time on this. ..unless you want to see how horrible writing can be picked up and marketed by a glitzy publishing campaign with shill-review writers on sites like this. This sucker is best used as a boat-anchor rather than a book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The number of reviewers here claiming that this book is well-written confirms my belief that this country's educational system has gone completely to pot. Let's put aside for the moment the derivative plot. Put aside the infantile sexual stereo-typing. Put aside the relentless arrogance and self-pitying introspection by the characters whom you are supposed to admire/identify with. Put aside the howling logical errors (a 'symetrical' three-winged lark, Tristan mentioning death enchantments, only to be 'stunned' at hearing Wig mention them just TWO pages later). Where was the editor who was supposed to read this book prior to publication? The author fails to display better than rudimentary skills in the area of writing mechanics. He beats you to death with certain words (if I ever read the term 'endowed' again, I'm going to scream) and certain phrases ('Tristan was stunned at what he next saw'; 'What Tristan next saw would remain with him for ever'; 'Tristan's mind reeled at what he beheld'). He constantly misuses words. He takes everything to the superlative, and overwhelms the reader with adjectives/adverbs. Sentence structure is unvarying, paragraph structure is unvarying, and his working vocabulary isn't broad enough to give his writing a fresh, interesting tone. It's like being locked in a room for a week and having Rosanne Barr read limericks at you. I know that this isn't supposed to be literature, but when you are marketing a book as a great epic and charging people a not-inconsiderable price for it, I feel that the reader is, at the least, entitled to a casual nod toward quality from the publisher. Since being introduced to it through Asimov and Anne McCaffery 20+ years ago, it has always been my opinion that as a genre (or two) SF/Fantasy has generally maintained a higher standard in the area of basic writing quality than other entertainment genres (mystery, suspense, romance, etc.). The pomp and hype with which this book was released makes it a sharp and obvious break from that standard. Even with all of its other glaring flaws it could have provided a few hours of simple, mindless entertainment had the folks at Del Rey done their jobs and reviewed 'Sorcoress' before sending it to press.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best book's that is have read in a very long time. It had a lot of different creatures and charecters, and I love the fact that is was on a different planet and not on earth for once. It had a good moral story line. A brother's love for his sister to take on the world to get her back is breathtaking. He takes on 4 Sorceresses: Kluge Captain of the minion army, and the minion army to get her back and win, In the mean time is battling on the concept of being king. But then he make's the choice. I will buy The Gates of Dawn in June. For all you hard core sci-fi people read this book. You will love it!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
So many pieces of this book were taken from wonderful stories written by real authors and transformed into a tasteless and unimaginitive waste of shelf space. I drudged through it as my sweetie attempted to get me the perfect book for Christmas but I've never been so happy to be finished reading a book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Can't believe how disappointed I was in the Fifth Sorceress. Talk about a book that hates women, this is it. Eevil for evil's sake alone in fantasy works if there is a reason for its existence. There no justification, rhyme or reason for the actions of the evil in this book. Too bad, book was well written otherwise, but a valid underlying reason for the evil in this series was a glaring hole that destroyed it for me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book expecting some epic fantasy. I felt that many of the idea's have been used before and that made the book seem unoriginal. The biggest issue I see with the book is that it is just boring. It doesn¿t convince the reader. I didn¿t have feelings for many of the main characters. I didn¿t care if they lived or died. Beyond that though there was a few exciting parts, barely enough to keep interest. I feel that most of the book was rushed. Overall all these elements made this book mediocre. The book could¿ve been so much greater if more time was spent on it¿
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the imagery displayed throughout the entire book. The situations were original and inspiring, and I absolutely fell in love with the Coven. I couldn't put down the book and I even cried numorous times. It drew me in instantly, and I devoured it in a matter of days. I recommend this to anyone and everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really like this book it keeps you on your toes and make you hunger for whats next and keeps the imagination going and now I can't wate to read the next one I'm very curious to find out what happens afterward!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Newcomb set up quite an interesting world easily pulling me into the place and, therefore, the story. It did remind me of the stories of Terry Brooks and Goodkind, but he has managed to be different enough. The only drawback was the division between men and women of blood. I'm anxious to see if he ends this division as the story progresses.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Listen to Korn and Disturbed Like movies such as American Pie and Road Trip enjoy this book. Mature audience only bah, thats what all the good cd's and some of the good movies say it goes the same 4 books too I guess.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok, I generally do not read reviews of a book before I read the book - I prefer to make my own decision as to whether the book is good or not. Because I do not read the reviews I do not write reviews - EVER. However, In this case I must make an exception. I was excited about the release of this book and made the mistake of reading the reviews on this website. Undaunted by these criticisms I read the book anyway. After reading many of the negative reviews I was surprised to learn that this novel is a good read. Yes, it is a first novel. And yes I think that shows at times. This book is not equal to Goodkind or Jordan. But I must pose the Question, are many books of that caliber? No! This book is not the greatest book ever written but it is not bad either. I must disagree with those reviewers who gave it one star. I have read many horrible fantasy books, there are certainly many of them out there, but this is not one of them. The main complaint about the current crop of fantasy is that the authors are unoriginal. Mr. Newcomb's book has many new concepts, while also sticking to some of the basic fantasy story lines. So what if the females are the villians in this book? Would the same outcry be raised if the villians were males? All in all, this is a fine book. I look forward to the next title in the series - where the villian appears to be a MALE! - and I think if you read it, with an open mind, you will like it also!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was amazed by this book... Wonderful characters great new world. What a great way to start out with a first book reminds me of the writing style of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind (my all time favorite) I sat down to read and finished in 1 night I could not put it down it is that good of a read. Get this book all you will enjoy it!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, some good things where done in it, but overall, it was somewhat lacking. Too many ideas that just did not go anywhere. To much unfinished character developments or characters who where introduced for no real purpose other than to fill up a couple more pages. Too much time spent in idle plot lines and not enough development of the true theme. It just left me wanting, not in the sense of I wnat to know what happens next, but I want to know why I read this one. It is almost as if the author wanted to write a trilogy but then condensed it into one long, ill-thought novel, edited down in all the wrong places. I will probably pick up the next installment, just to see where it goes and how the author introduces new plot lines, sense wery few of the important or interesting ones are left at the end of the first book, but I will wait for it to come out in paperback. As I recommend you do with this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was EXCELLENT. I couldn't put it down. I read it in one night from cover to cover. Similar to Robert Jordan's Wheel of time series and Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth, this novel is attention-getting from page 1. There are a lot of questions that get answered (I'm not going to tell) that keep you reading just to find out what's going on. The action is excellent and the plot is great. For a first time out, this author is one to WATCH.