Flirting with Scandal: Capital Confessions

Flirting with Scandal: Capital Confessions

by Chanel Cleeton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flirting with Scandal: Capital Confessions 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters, enjoyed the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed.
SexyVixenReader More than 1 year ago
I'm hooked Capital Confessions was a fun, sexy read. William Clayton is my new man crush. The characters were believable and the writing is excellent. The story keeps moving and I just couldn't put this book down until I finished.
A_Star More than 1 year ago
This book is one for the keeper shelves! I really loved Flirting With Scandal, the first book in the Capital Confessions series. I've always enjoyed a romance that mixes in some politics and shows that lifestyle from the inside, and this story was everything I'd hoped for. It was scandalous and super sexy right from the start. It was also a story with a lot of heart. I liked Jackie and Will a lot and wondered how they were going to make it work ultimately. Will was a nice guy with a definite edgy side, and I fell for him hard myself. Okay, I'll admit I swooned big time for his character. If I'm going to read about a good guy who isn't dragging around a lot of angst and baggage, from now on I want him to be just like William Clayton! I loved how Will really felt that he could be his true self with Jackie and fought for her throughout the book, not giving in to her fears. And holy moly their chemistry was intense from the get go. This author can write seriously amazing love scenes! The details, the heat, I could go on and on. I understood how they couldn't keep their hands off each other! I'm really looking forward to reading the next book in this series, featuring Blair. Hopefully Will and Jackie will make an appearance. I'm so glad to have found another author whose writing I love!
bouncyberthaCR More than 1 year ago
4 - "There's no crying in politics." Stars! Flirting With Scandal is the first book I have read by Chanel Cleeton, and if the rest of the Capital Confessions series is as entertaining, she has got a new fan for life in me. ”This one looks like trouble” I think there is a fine line when you are writing a romance story set in a specific arena, politics, medical and technical backgrounds can be tricky to get right, and there is a risk the story gets bogged down with the over inclusion and explanation of things relative to the trope. Chanel hit this just right for me, as although it was very clear from the offset that Will and Jackie’s story and romance is built and based around an election campaign, the story between them still flows smoothly and isn’t muddied by too much political jargon and back-story. ”If I’m flocking you, no one else is.” I love a sexy preppy guy, who behind closed doors turns in to a dirty mouthed bad boy. The author balanced this out with Will perfectly, All-American to his potential voters, All-Sexy when it came to his time with Jackie. ”Just so we’re clear, I’m here because I want to. No other reason.” Good because I’m not planning on letting you go.” Jackie has a little wobble around the 75% mark, which had my rolling my eyes a tad, the author took what was a really enjoyable and unusual story and erred on the side of predictable for one beat too many for me and I think what dropped a star of my rating was the fact I could see it coming from a mile off , I can see the reasoning behind it, and how it bought things to their inevitable head, but I was hoping that the author would stick with keeping things different, and go for a different route. It only had minimal impact on my enjoyment though, and all in all I found this couple and their story a really entertaining, unusual and original read. ”There’s beauty here, whether you want to admit it or not." Being the first book in the series, doors are opened in this book for future characters, and we get to see a little of and find out a bit about, Blair Reynolds. Her book Playing With Trouble is due in July, and I am looking forward to seeing what story this talented author gives her. ”Now that I’ve had a taste, I want more.” ARC generously provided via Netgalley, and it was my absolute pleasure to provide the above honest review.
KatsNook More than 1 year ago
Flirting with Scandal is the first book of author Chanel Cleeton’s Capital Confessions series. The romance, politics and scandal drew me in from the beginning to the end. This is a great start to a new series! In Flirting with Scandal we meet Jackie Gardner, a young intern at a powerful political consulting firm. She’s lived in Washington, D.C. all her life and loves the thrill of politics. This is surprising since she is the illegitimate daughter of a very influential senator, a man who has never acknowledged her existence. The anger and pain caused by her parents fuels her drive to succeed. She’s worked hard to put herself through college and is determined to make her career goals. But all her dreams are compromised the moment she meets William Clayton in a hotel bar. Sparks fly immediately until Jackie discovers his true identity, a candidate for the Virginia State Senate. The news quickly douses the heat between Jackie and Will, but fate has more stored for them. When their paths cross again can they ignore their intense chemistry and full-fill their career dreams? Or will they give in to their passion and risk losing everything? You have to read the book to find out! I absolutely loved Flirting With Scandal! The romance between Jackie and Will is intense and passionate. This is written in dual point-of-views so readers get a glimpse at how both characters are affected by their strong connection. I loved how Jackie is intelligent, independent and a hard worker. Washington is a man’s world but Jackie is just as tough and smart as her male competitors. And Will recognizes that in her and respects her drive and passion for her work. Will is the perfect guy! He’s handsome, wealthy, and honest. He wants to make a difference in the world. Flirting With Scandal has the perfect combination of steamy sex, drama and emotion that has me wanting more. Author Chanel Cleeton created characters I loved in her International School series and now in this series. Her writing is clear and flows well. The blog posts from Capital Confessions are a fun and creative lead into each chapter. I can’t wait for more in this series!
IreneC More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars Flirting with Scandal was such a good read! Every now and then you start reading a book and you know from the first page this is going to be one if those books you can't put down.  I loved the characters, the storyline and the chemistry between Jackie and Will was off the charts!  I highly recommend this book. Great start to the Capital Confessions series, can't wait to read Blair's story next Playing with Trouble
christokes More than 1 year ago
Chanel Cleeton has done it again, once again weaving a beautiful and exciting world full of passion, intrigue, and emotion. Flirting With Scandal was an incredible story of politics, following your heart, and learning who you are in the midst of the overwhelming chaos around you. This book was filled with well written characters, believable scenarios, and intriguing plot lines. I was so sad when this story ended and I cannot wait for more of this series.Our two main characters are quite different in personality and life experience, but they have one thing in common- they play the game to win. Jackie was such an incredibly wonderful character. She is a woman who has lived a life of secrecy, always observing and working behind the scenes. She is brilliant, beautiful, and a force to be reckoned with. Her tenacity and love of the political game is not a character trait I have really seen in many stories. It was refreshing to see a woman who is strong and determined within the political realm as opposed to the normal scandal type stories of the “other” woman or the seductress. Jackie was full of life and smarts, something that was prevalent throughout the story. I loved how she continually surprised everyone with her dedication and political knowledge. Will was the perfect counterpart to Jackie. He was mature and smooth. His political aspirations were to help people, not have all the power. His pure intentions to help others is a deep connect for our two main characters. Will is not your normal politician. He is ruled by his heart and not his desire for prestige. I loved how both Will and Jackie were strong pillars in the political world. They both wanted to be above the petty games of politics (though they understand the game) and make a difference.  Will knows what he wants and will do what he needs to get it. His passion and longing for Jackie is beautiful. He finds in her a partner, someone who makes him better and causes him to fight harder for what he wants and what he believes in. The major themes within the story were some that I was hesitant about when I first heard what the story entailed. I am not big into politics and sometimes the drama and lies surrounding the stories are too much for me. But I trust Chanel and her brilliant writing so I jumped in with both feet. What I found was a story that made me want to be part of a political campaign and see how things work behind the scenes. Chanel takes what could be a good concept and makes it great. There is scandal and secrecy within this story but it is perfectly interwoven with the storyline. There is so much happening but you never feel overwhelmed by the details and drama. Each secondary character is necessary to the story and has a role to fulfill that betters the reading experience. It is a love story between two unlikely characters but Chanel’s writing shows you their deep connection, which in turns makes them perfect for one another. It is a love story yet it is so much more. It is about a strong woman trying to find her place in the political world while keeping her secrets and about a man who is determined to be who he is- true to himself despite the sway of the politics around him. If you love Chanel’s writing, then prepare yourself to be astounded (even though you expected nothing less) and in love with Flirting With Scandal. This book is refreshing and this story will take you deep into a world where grey is the norm and love comes at a cost. I am so excited to see what else happens in the Capital Confessions series and hoping to see some more of the other secondary characters from this book!
ljtljtljt More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars! Flirting with Scandal by Chanel Cleeton is the first installment in her brand new political trilogy, Capital Confessions. Each book focuses on one of three sisters that live and breathe the political scene in Washington DC. This story is all about twenty-one year old Jackie Gardner, the illegitimate daughter of a powerful senator. She loves politics and truly excels in her internship as a political consultant for Will Clayton, Virginia State Senate hopeful. Jackie is smart, politically savvy and hot. With the exception of his age of twenty-six, Will is the perfect candidate for an elected office. He is smart, good-looking, and understands the needs of his constituents. In a nutshell, he is the total package. He is charismatic and knows how to keep his nose clean and clear of any scandal, that is until he meets and falls in love with Jackie. Jackie turns out to be the love of his life and their chemistry is amazing. Wow, what a political scorcher. I really liked this book and Ms. Cleeton truly has a gift with writing political scandal. I was on the edge of my seat for most of the second half. However, as much as I enjoyed this story, I found Jackie's age and position, in conjunction with the responsibility she is given in Will's campaign, difficult to believe. Nevertheless, this is both a compelling and passionate love story. Ms. Cleeton perfectly combines heat, drama and angst into this fast-paced romantic read. Overall, this is a well-written, emotionally charged book, and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read an awe-inspiring love story. I can't wait for book two in the series! Complimentary copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
chucha_13 More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Chanel Cleeton and her books ever since I have read her International School series that had her name permanently imprinted on my favorite author’s list. This time, she gives us a new, deliciously sinful, sexy and scandal-filled series that will take DC by storm. I am completely, irrevocably in love with it. It’s those witty and romantic dialogues that will have you smiling and swooning. You keep on looking forward on what’s next anticipating the scandal that is about to blow up in the pages. JACKIE: She looked like trouble – the kind you couldn’t wait to get into. She’s absolutely fabulous, the kind of woman you would love and would love to give that comforting hug for everything she had been through. For years, she worked her a** off, and despite the fact she has a lot on her plate, and some skeletons on her closet. Not to mention, she had been working so, so hard not to turn into her mother. She has walls as high and as sturdy as the Great Wall of China, and it would take a lot of effort to bring those walls down. She was the dirty little secret of one of the most popular senators in DC, she grew up watching scandals unfold in her midst. Now, she found and internship in one of the most sought after political consulting firm. She was good at what she does, now if only she can fight temptation. I’m not a child who gets bored with his toys after five minutes. If the guys you’ve been with treat you like that, then you’ve been screwing around with boys. Wouldn’t you rather f*** a man? William Andrew Clayton was the next big thing in politics. Being one of the youngest candidates for the senatorial race, he wasn’t new to politics. He already knows what to expect, but still the campaign was taking a toll on him. It didn’t help that political blog, Capital Confessions was on him as well. He needed to know what he needed to do: work harder, play discreetly and most of all, avoid scandal. He’s the complete package, the boyfriend material: smart, sexy, crazy good in bed and not to mention he says the right things. If Jackie was afraid of commitment, he wasn’t. He was brave enough to plunge into the emotions and risk everything – but question is, will she ever be ready? I want you to be scared. I want things to be messy, and complicated, and difficult. I want you to feel, and I want you to know I’m the one making you feel, that I’m the one making it mean something. Chanel Cleeton had surpassed expectations with this novel. I love the combination of romance, steam with a dash of politics and scandal – this book was a great start to the series I’m sure everyone would look forward too.
AmyBosica More than 1 year ago
“He called this romance; I called it the scariest f***ing thing that ever happened to me. He should have come with a warning label–Caution: Seems harmless, will turn your life upside down until you don’t know which was is up.”  I love, love, loved this book! What a great read! This is my first book by author Chanel Cleeton and it won’t be my last! Flirting With Scandal had a very intriguing plot. I loved how this story mixed politics and romance. I was hooked on Jackie and Will from the moment their characters were introduced. Their chemistry was instant and scorching. The sexual tension between the two of them was so palpable. Jackie is smart, independent and strong. She doesn’t want to let her past or who her family is, dictate her life. Will….he really took me by surprise. At first, I saw him as the preppy, rich, political type. However, there was so much more behind Will. Jackie brought out this whole other side to him. With Jackie, he became this hot, dirty mouthed, takes what he wants, Alpha male and I couldn’t get enough of it. Flirting With Scandal is told from dual points of view. It is a smart, fun, sexy read. It was well-written and I couldn’t read the pages fast enough. I was completely captivated. This book was such a breath of fresh air for me. It had all the elements I look for in a good read and more: Sex, Drama, Angst, and Romance. The Politics and “Forbidden Romance” was an excellent bonus. I think the Capital Confessions series is off to a really great start. I can’t wait to see what the next book will bring!* I was provided an ARC copy of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review*
kimberlyfaye More than 1 year ago
I’ve been anxious to read this book since I first heard about it because a) I love Chanel Cleeton’s books, b) it’s set in DC and not nearly enough books in genres I enjoy are, c) two words: political scandal, and d) forbidden romance. And holy crap, y’all, it was everything I wanted and more. Chanel’s foray into adult contemporary romance was a HUGE winner for me. I really enjoyed Jackie and Will’s story. I was absolutely hooked on the idea of them from their very first meeting. The sexual tension between them snap, crackled and popped and I couldn’t wait for the big payoff. These two had chemistry in spades. Of course, things were also complicated between them because of who they were and who they associated with. Plus, Will’s very much in the public eye … and there’s that pesky Capital Confessions blog to worry about. ;) Still, Jackie and Will found it impossible to stay away from each other and I’m glad. They were smoking hot together. Things were never going to be easy, but what they shared was worth the fight. This book was just SO… DC. (I work in DC, but thankfully not IN politics. The organization I work for does have a political agenda, but I’m not involved in the nitty gritty. I do, however, hear a good deal of it from friends and coworkers, so I feel justified in making that statement.) The secrets, the lies, the shady politicians and backroom deals. SO DC. I’m always fascinated by the way policy is really set and how people are elected, but I prefer to observe from the outside. I could never actually work in politics. But damn, do I love watching TV shows and reading books about it. It’s so satisfying when a book you’ve been anticipating lives up to every single expectation you’ve built up for it. And trust me, I build expectations high, y’all. It frequently comes back to bite me in the ass. Not with Flirting with Scandal Though. This was perfect. Sexy, scandalous and even sweet. It read like a TV show and I could picture it all unfolding before my eyes. And yes, I would absolutely tune in to watch this on a weekly basis. I loved the characters and can’t wait for more from some of the secondary characters. Starting, of course, with Blair in Playing with Trouble. I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
MaineBookMomma More than 1 year ago
This was my first book from Chanel Cleeton but it will definitely not be the last. I loved everything about Flirting with Scandal – from the way the author developed her characters to how the plot unfolded. It was carefully crafted and completely intriguing. From the moment Jackie and Will saw each other from across the bar room, I was hooked. Every scene between Will and Jackie is filled with quick wit and sexual banter – their verbal foreplay is incredible. Their flirting made me swoon and I loved this couple. You feel their connection because it is intense and slightly erotic. However, their illicit affair and Jackie’s not so hidden secrets about her past constantly puts Will’s election in jeopardy. It’s all consuming. You’re completely drawn into their romance, the drama of Washington DC’s political scene and it all leaves you on the edge of your seat. You are wondering where their romance will go and when it’s over, you’re desperately craving more. I thought Flirting with Scandal was an amazing romantic political book and I suggest you immediately purchase it. It’s a sexy, fast paced read that you will absolutely enjoy.