Flower Net (Liu Hulan Series #1)

Flower Net (Liu Hulan Series #1)

by Lisa See

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.73 $17.00 Save 7% Current price is $15.73, Original price is $17. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flower Net (Liu Hulan Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 78 reviews.
TeechTX More than 1 year ago
It is no surprise that Flower Net was singled out as a best first mystery novel -- it is a wonderful read for any mystery lover. I enjoyed it thoroughly and look forward to the rest of the series. Lisa See has created characters we can care about, placed them in fascinating circumstances, and brought it all to a resolution that leaves one wanting to know what happens to Liu Hulan next. Brew up a pot of tea and get ready to follow the twists and turns of Beijing's hutangs and L.A.'s back alleys!
RobynKelly More than 1 year ago
great story, well written, a view into asian culture
readsAlotNY More than 1 year ago
This book combines, romance, history, mystery and the exotic east. Lee is a good writer who has done extensive research to give us a book full of detail and interest. Sometimes the information seem like a list but most often I was intrigued by the characters as the romance developed and definitely captivated by the information on Chinese culture, government and everyday life. The juxtaposition between American every day life and the life of city and country Chinese is startling and eye opening. I had no idea the higher government officials had deteriorated into allowing their children to be princes and princesses of extreme wealth while regulating everyday Chinese to virtual poverty. The disclosure of the factory conditions is even more substandard than I had ever thought. Book two is even more revealing.
robinzhere More than 1 year ago
I have read Lisa See's "Flower and the Secret Fan" and "On Golden Mountain" and found this to be as enjoyable as those were. In this one, See stretches her writing wings into the crime thriller genre and she acquits herself admirably.    What elevated this from the basic thriller was the contrasts between the Chinese way of investigation and the American way. It was interesting to see the classic crime procedures turned to a different view in another culture. Culture is at the heart of this story, but the characters are well written. It was great to see what See had done with this genre.
MrsJason More than 1 year ago
This is a great book about loyalty, history, and courage. It's a great read, interlaced with the histories of China. It's a keeper!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought it was an excellent thriller. Never one dull moment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Author draws you in, keeps you intrigued throughout thevwhole book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ending is unsuspected/ great choice / oriental setting / can't wait to get the next book on this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
all 3 volumes of the series are terrific page-turners, especially if you're interested in modern China. I wish the author had continued the series, I don't care as much for her other novels.
vegetarianlibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had no idea that Lisa See wrote mysteries before she wrote Snow Flower and Secret Fan! This was an engaging story, mainly because the characters of the troubled relationship between the Chinese detective and the American ADA. Their complicated past kept me turning the pages. Also, the detective's assistant provided some nice comic relief. A great look into Chinese society in the 1990s and the difficulties for smart, capable women in a patriarchal, heavily controlled society. To be honest, I can't remember the crime but I would go back and read this book again.
TigsW on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book had its interesting moments,mainly around Chinese history. The writing was fine, but does not stand out in any way. The romantic moments were rather trite. The characters not terribly well developed/convincing. The story as a whole had a "canned" feel to it -- the requisite amount of intrigue, violence, romance between main characters, etc.
sumariotter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This mystery is flawed but it seemed so well-researched and the history so interesting that I did not mind the plot being somewhat far-fetched and the characters not very fleshed out. I do not know a lot about modern China so it was fascinating to me and makes me want to learn more. Occasionally the mystery is too obviously only a vehicle for the history but I didn't really care. This is the first of a trilogy and I'm looking forward to reading the next two.
SunflowerRae on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love everything else I've read by Lisa See but I guess murder mysteries aren't really my cup of tea.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put the book down. Highly good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a different aspect of Lisa See's writing that I had not enjoyed before. I look forward to reading the other books in Liu Hunan series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
New noir trend in mystery combos would prove less depressing but however well written grafic violence has become a filler as do unpeasant people and situations without relief of humor or hope . When a writer portrays a country as one you wouldnt visit if they paid you no matter if the description of food sounds nice (dont mention if sanitary kitchen or used night soil as fertilizer for veggies) new noir is not for me or the author based on three books in series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every resault is a different place to explore!!! YOU GET TO MAKE THE MAP!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking forward to reading more of her books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Somehow, I had not read a Lisa See book before randomly choosing this book. My loss. She is an excellent writer. This book was a combination of mystery, culture information, and personality explorations. Her descriptions of life in China as it changed over in the late 1900's is excellent. I lived in Asia and travelled to China 3 times around 2005. Her knowledge of life beneath the picture presented to visitors is so detailed. A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookmouseDH More than 1 year ago
Has a lot of action and twists and turns
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story occasionally made "jumps", but still a good story. I especially like the Chinese cultural twists, and historical references.