For the Record (Ozark Mountain Romance Book #3)

For the Record (Ozark Mountain Romance Book #3)

by Regina Jennings

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

For the Record 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Utemom5 More than 1 year ago
With 3 full length stories & 1 novella set in the small Ozark Mountain town of Pine Gap, this has been a really enjoyable series by Regina Jennings. It wasn't a location or a time era I cared to read about initially, but from the very first story, Regina was able to capture me fully into the lives and loves of this town. I have eagerly anticipated each release of another venture to Pine Gap. Full of lawless individuals, trying to survive and carve out a life for themselves & their loved ones. With a Sheriff that turns a blind eye to crime, the door was wide open for the 'Dashing Deputy', Joel Puckett that arrives on the train from Texas. In desperation to leave a scandal behind in his beloved home state, he is ready to begin a new career for himself in this unfamiliar territory. Full of good intentions, he finds road block after road block against the locals. Betsy Huckabee has followed through each story in this series, and quite a bit of time has passed since the first book 'A Most Inconvenient Marriage'. I love everything about this story, it is my favorite of the 4, including the cover. Betsy finally gets her own adventure, though that is quite literally how she has lived her prior 24 years of life. A self proclaimed independent woman, she has rebuffed every advance from all the available single men in the area. She has no desire or wish to be tied down, and she aspires to write for a big city paper. Of course, with the arrival of Texan cowboy Deputy Puckett, the wheels start spinning in Betsy's mind, and an idea for a fiction series based out of a Kansas City paper begins.. Regina has you connecting with the new guy almost immediately, and of course we fully enter the world of familiar Betsy. Written at just the right pace, and enough mystery to keep you guessing till the end, you will enjoy every single page. Thank you Bethany House & Netgalley for the complimentary copy in return for my honest review.
J_Augustine More than 1 year ago
He isn't quite the hero she expected... I think this is about the 4th, or so, Regina Jennings book that I've read. Read and most definitely enjoyed. Like the others there is plenty of romance and laugh-out-loud moments, but For The Record also seemed to have a little more danger and mystery, elements that I really liked. I'm just sorry to be saying goodbye to the characters, like Betsy, who have become friends over the Ozark Mountain Romance series. In many ways For The Record is a coming-of-age story, Betsy is determined to make a financial go of things to ease the burden on her family but she's also a little naive and starry-eyed. But as she and Joel butt heads and cross words she begins to grow up beyond the silly notion of a handsome prince on a white charger and to fall in love with a very real, and sometimes flawed, man. Whether you love historical romance or a good Regina Jennings book, For The Record is the perfect choice to while away a few hours in delicious reading. (I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All opinions are entirely my own.)
LisetteRue More than 1 year ago
In the town of Pine Gap, Missouri, Betsy Huckabee has dreams of writing for a major newspaper and has written off the notion of finding a special someone. But then Deputy Joel Puckett arrives in town. He’s a bona fide cowboy from his Stetson hat to his shiny cowboy boots. And, to boot, he hails from Texas. But he has a past that he’d rather not share with the residents of Pine Gap. And when Betsy finds herself creating a character based on the deputy’s dashing good looks, her Dashing Deputy stories may dash the small sliver of reputable reputation Joel has gained in Pine Gap, for word may get back to the wrong people I found myself quite enjoying this novel. Jennings creates a storyscape filled with all the things we’d expect of a good story: strong characters, a detailed setting, a robust plot and a satisfying conclusion. I’ve said this before, but I appreciate stories that feature a strong female lead, and Betsy is definitely that. Full of sass and verve, Betsy is an independent young woman who loves the Lord. She has dreams, but isn’t all head-in-the-clouds, either. As she points out, ‘God made her for trouble, equipped her for hardship.’ Like us, she’ll overcome obstacles as need be and buttress others when times arise. My interest was kept throughout this novel, and I would definitely read another story penned by this author. -- Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions are expressly my own.
SavannaKaiser More than 1 year ago
If you think reading historical fiction is boring, you've not a read a Regina Jennings book! This story was so much fun to read and even surprised me with its mystery and intrigue. The two main characters have so much spunk and sass. They're unique and never quite do what you expect them to, which creates the perfect page-turner from start to finish. I loved our lone Texan trying to create a new life for himself and enjoyed his sparks with our independent gal, Betsy. Her aspirations as a writer and defender of her small town endeared me to her even more. They both have their obstacles to work through, but it's not an easy road for either of them. The plot twists and turns like the Ozark mountain trails they traverse. I have to give a shout-out to the awesome setting for several reasons. First of all, the author did a great job of placing the reader in each scene, drawing our attention to the natural background and the secondary characters in such a way that we really see them. The setting for the book is literally out my back door, smack in the middle of the Missouri Ozarks, so I loved the familiarity of it all and seeing the infamous bald knobbers show up in a big way. And hey, I spotted my town of Hartville even mentioned on one page. How cool is that?! There's nothing I have found quite like this author's style and stories and I love that. I can always pick up one of her books and expect an entertaining adventure that's full of charm, wit, and romance. This may just be my favorite book of hers yet! I received a free copy from the publisher. No review, positive or otherwise, was required—all opinions are my own.
JustCommonly More than 1 year ago
"Only a limited patch of Earth could claim the privilege of belonging to Texas." (7) I love the opening of For The Record by Regina Jennings. Such a visual opening that draws you straight into the setting, the character, Deputy Joel Puckett's mind and the beautiful writing of the author. Ahh. This may very well be my favorite of Regina Jennings' books. Why? I think the beautiful cover have a little to do with it. Why do I feel a personal connection with Betsy from that cover? I just do. From her look of curiosity, to her rather "bookish" demeanor, it just captured me. How about you? The characters each brings a little something to For the Record. The romance is sweet, but infuriating at times. Truly, both Betsy and Joel are not typical inspiring heroine or the dashing hero one would expect. Betsy is obnoxious at times, and somewhat nettlesome, and Joel is stubborn and a stickler of all things! Yet, Betsy's also a dreamer and Joel is broodingly handsome which makes them stand out in your mind, and make you root for them. Their start may not be the most romantic or easy to love, but you wait. With a little humor (Betsy's creative story), great historical backdrop (especially with the Bald Knobbers keeping the new Deputy busy and Betsy intrigued), a little suspense and a message of acceptance and love, For the Record will keep you interested and looking forward to the author's next book. Did I also mention that you'll find a connection in the author's previous stories through the characters? If you've read Regina Jennings' other stories, you won't want to miss this one. Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
NHbookloverMS More than 1 year ago
Would a Texan really up and leave Texas for good if he fell in love with a woman in Missouri? Mmh…doubt it. For some reason, this is the question I found myself asking as I read For the Record by Regina Jennings. A funny thing to ask when the object is to read and review the book for the story it contains - not the idea that a Texan could possibly fall so head over heels that he leaves Texas when, in the end, he didn’t have to. But I know Texans. Most of them would choose Texas over money, fame, love, family and maybe even God Himself. But I guess that’s what romance novels are essentially about: the impossible being possible. Joel Puckett certainly doesn’t leave his beloved Texas by choice. In order to maintain the career he loves (a lawman) he moves to the hills of Missouri to a small town in need of some law and order (or so says the state of Missouri). Having been compromised by a woman before, he’s not interested in the woman who dashes across his path upon his arrival. But, then, she’s not much interested either. At least, not in that sense. Betsy Huckabee is a woman who just wants a little freedom. With a desire to be a writer and a very keen imagination, she finds that the new deputy might be her ticket. Dress him up a little on paper and he just might sell...dress him up too much and he might sell a little too well. Which leads to a fiasco – not freedom. While For the Record is a cute story complete with the happy marriage ending, it comes up a little short on a cohesive plot. A Texan leaving Texas for love wasn’t the only question I was left pondering. For instance, if Betsy doesn’t want to live with her aunt and uncle, what keeps her from just moving home again? In the 1800s, were stories really syndicated so far and so wide so quickly that within a few weeks, her serial had found it’s way all the way to Texas and so get her in a bind? And why would a huge state like Missouri care about a few hardly harmful vigilantes in one of their little hole-in-the-wall towns? The romantic encounters are a little over the top…and the heroic couple forgive and make up quite quickly for having hardly any discussion on how much they’ve hurt one another. I understand that “romance novels” are supposed to be set on that goal: romance. But a little depth to the plot wouldn’t hurt… This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for review purposes only.
Virginiaw More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful historical western romance. This had a little suspense mixed in. I love that. Betsy and Joel really get on each other's nerves at first and then get to know each other. This made me laugh and cry at different times. There was a nice storyline with you learning what the true meaning of a hero really is. I received a copy of this book from the author and gave a review of my own free will.
RobinWillson More than 1 year ago
Great entertainment! I didn’t realize this was part of a series. It did great as a stand alone. Betsy is a strong, independent woman with talent who is struggling. She has great love for her family, but is an old maid by many standards and still lives with them. Her hope is to earn enough money to support herself. Joel is the new Deputy in town, trying to fit in and earn respect. He’s a strong advocate of the law, and has a tough time with the locals who are trying to punish wrong-doers on their own. He’s got a past that he’d just as soon not have revealed to everyone, but Betsy’s good intentions can get him into trouble. Very well written and engaging. You’ll enjoy getting into the heads of these characters. Great Christian message throughout. Love that cover! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Bethany House Publishers - Netgalley book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”. http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.
EmilyAnneK17 More than 1 year ago
For the Record by Regina Jennings is the third book in the Ozark Mountain Romance series. It follows Betsy Huckabee, an aspiring journalist as she looks for that perfect story to catch the big newspapers’ attentions. As soon as the new Deputy, Joel Puckett walks into town, Betsy decides he is the perfect person to write that great story about. So, much to his annoyance, she begins to follow him on all of his adventures (and misadventures) trying to catch the gang members. But what happens when they become too close and truth gets mixed up with fiction? For the Record is a great title for this novel. It captures the spunk and stubbornness of both the main characters as well as some of the absurd and questionable situations they find themselves in. Betsy is not a woman for following societal rules, but luckily, she lives in a small town in the West where everyone knows her and very few care that she breaks them. I loved that about her. Joel, however, is new to the town, meeting with much contention because of his presence. But he was determined to follow the rules and earn people’s respect the best way possible. He is truly an admirable character, mistakes and all. His past makes the present more difficult and Betsy only worsens it. But that they were able to overcome all of it makes the story that much more beautiful and fulfilling. And it truly is beautiful and fulfilling. And did I mention funny and a little bit romantic? It is well thought-out, mystery included, and the setting is authentic. The complexity of the townspeople’s relationships and political alliances is a great representation of real people and the historical setting. I enjoyed this book very much and would recommend it to lovers of sweet historical romance. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. All opinions are my own.
SouthernGalLovestoRead More than 1 year ago
When you pick up a Regina Jennings novel, you can expect a delightful historical story with a good taste of romance and fair amount of fun. That is exactly what I found in her latest, For the Record. Betsy Huckabee is a fantastic main character -- full of hopes and dreams to make a name for herself while stuck in her tiny town, working for her uncle's small newspaper. When the charming Deputy Joel Puckett arrives, she sees a chance to put her creativity to work but is not prepared for all the repercussions of her fantastic ideas. Betsy and Joel are characters full of life, and their adventures bring excitement to the Missouri Ozarks just after the Civil War. A great cast of other characters fill out the story with the thrills, historical setting, and humor needed for an awesome story. For those who are interested in history, there is an interesting element woven throughout the story. If you think the Bald Knobbers are just a music and comedy act in Branson, Missouri, you may find the actual background of that name intriguing. Thanks to Bethany House Publishers for providing a copy of For the Record. It was my pleasure to share my thoughts about the story.
Librarycataloger More than 1 year ago
Betsy Huckabee is a young woman working for her uncle's small-town newspaper and living in his home but she is determined to find a better job and her own place to live. When she discovers that larger newspapers aren't interested in publishing news from her small town Betsy decides to create fictional news stories about a dashing Sheriff and she uses the new Deputy as inspiration. In a tale filled with humor and some madcap adventure Regina Jennings allows us to follow Betsy and Deputy Joel Pickett as he tries to make Pinegap, Missouri a better place to live and she tries to further her career. For The Record offers readers humor, mystery, romance and adventure. If you enjoy historical fiction you will want to read this entertaining book! I received a complimentary copy from the author and Bethany House but was not requirer to write a review.
KatrinaEpperson More than 1 year ago
Regina Jennings is a talented author, but to me she is fairly new as I have only read a few of her books. Each book I have read I have loved and this book is no different. This is the third installment in her Ozark Mountain Romance series. For me, this was a stand alone. The author whisks the reader away to the small town of Pine Gap where we meet Joel Puckett arriving via the train ready to assume his role as deputy to the the area and help the sheriff solve the problem of masked bandits in the area. Joel's arrival puts him in the path of the masked bandits and I must admit I was hooked on this story. Betsy Huckabee is a beautiful, young woman who lives with her uncle who runs a newspaper. She moved in with him upon the death of his first wife to care for his children and run his house. Betsy has a love of writing stories, but must send her articles to Kansas City for consideration and so far she's had little success. Suddenly Joel appears and so does her inspiration for a knight in shining armor/hero for a fictional ladies page. Just one problem, how can a character be all fictional when he's based on the exploits of a real life version? I absolutely loved this story. It has elements of mystery, suspense, humor, romance, love and forgiveness. Both Betsy and Joel captured my heart in this story. The plot is engaging and flows effortlessly. Needless to say once I started reading it I couldn't put it down until the last page was turned. This is a book I would recommend to anyone. **I received this book from the publisher as part of their blogger review program. All thoughts or opinions are expressly my own.
mackenzie_carol More than 1 year ago
For the Record is Regina Jennings’ most recent stand-alone novel, and is only the second book I’ve ever read by her. I really enjoyed her writing when I read A Most Inconvenient Marriage, so I knew that I wanted to read more of her books in the future, and finally I got the chance when I had extra gift card money and was able to preorder this novel! Regina’s stories are always funny, but also have serious parts that really make you think, and I just love how plucky her heroines are, especially Betsy. Betsy is not the typical won’t-rest-until-she’s-found-her-man type you would expect to see in a time period like this, but is actually completely independent and frankly doesn’t really care that she hasn’t found someone to spend her life with, until she meets Deputy Puckett. Joel Puckett also wasn’t at all what I expected when I picked up this book! But don’t worry, that’s not a bad thing, I just didn’t expect his past to be the way it was, or for him to still be paying for it when we meet up with him in Pine Gap. While I knew from the get-go there had to be a real valid reason for him to leave his beloved Texas to come to a backwoods town like Pine Gap, but once I found out the real explanation, I was so sad for him, and completely astonished! He knew some terrible people out in Texas, that’s all I’m saying. Anyway, Regina did a fabulous job with this novel, and I’m really even now still thinking about it even though I’ve already finished another book since I put down this one. There was just the perfect amount of drama and suspense without this becoming a suspense novel, and I really didn’t expect all the twists and turns that took place throughout the story. All in all, I definitely give it all five bookshelves, and I know that I am very glad I purchased this one. Especially since it’s now on my all-time favorites list. (This review is from my blog, spreadinghisgrace.blogspot.com)
TheBookUniverse More than 1 year ago
I am going to have to applaud Regina Jennings on this book. I received this book from Bethany House to review it. This has been, by far, the best historical fiction book I have EVER read. I hadn't realized it was the third book in the Ozark Mountain Romance series and I was worried I wouldn't be able to follow along. Despite this, this book can be a standalone book and it was easy enough to catch on with the story line. I really enjoyed reading from the Betsy Huckabee's point of view. She was a very brave, amusing, and sassy character. One thing I really enjoyed about the protagonist was that she wouldn't stay behind during the dangerous quests Deputy Joel Puckett went on. She didn't wait for some prince to rescue her in this book. Instead she saved the "prince" several times. The fact that the protagonist wrote for her uncle's newspaper was pretty amusing as well. We (readers) are shown little snippets of what she writes in the articles. I also enjoyed that even though Deputy Puckett was supposed to be the dashing hero, he wasn't all perfect. The author did a great job with giving him some flaws and not make it so the descriptions and snippets of his past was of him being amazing. One thing I think the author could have worked on more was either minimizing the amount of characters that show up or have like a side note saying what they do. In the beginning I was mine with all the characters and understanding what they did in Pine Gap. As the story progressed, more characters started to show up and I couldn't remember which characters did what in the town. I tend to know I don't enjoy reading a book if I haven't had the urge to read it in 1-2 days. This book was way out of the ball park! I felt myself drawn to this book and I finished it in no time. I cannot wait for the other book the author writes in this series. I hope my review helped give some insight in this book, and I hope you read it! Thank you Bethany House for this book to review!
LoriP123 More than 1 year ago
I loved Betsy and Joel's story! I'm definitely looking forward to reading more great stories by Regina Jennings. Deputy Joel Puckett is heading to Pine Gap Missouri in order to get away from a local scandal and to keep the only job he has ever wanted to do in his lifetime, but leaving Texas and his family is one of the most difficult things he's ever had to do. Betsy Huckabee has always lived in Pine Gap, but dreams of the big city life filled with action and adventure. She helps her uncle run the local newspaper during the day and at night writes fanciful fiction filled with an attractive young deputy who puts his life in danger daily protecting the local residents of Pine Gap. They both seem to realize that their friendship is becoming something more and it makes them both realize that they can no longer think only of themselves, but of each other as well. I was given an ARC from the author/publisher. All conclusions are mine and mine alone.
lsnlj More than 1 year ago
This is book three in the Ozark Mountain series. It is a stand alone book, but you will enjoy the entire series. Jennings does a great job at making you feel a part of the town. She has a spunk to her writing style and it is full of laughter, mystery, romance and much more. The dashing deputy Joel Pucket has no idea what to expect in Missouri. Having to leave his beloved Texas, for secrets of his own, will this be the second chance he is seeking or will he ever be accepted in this quirky town. Betsy Huckabee is always looking for a story. When the handsome deputy comes to town will this be the inspiration she needs to launch her journalistic career? I enjoyed the sparks that fly between Betsy and Joel. The challenges they face, individually, together and as a town.
Digging4Pearls More than 1 year ago
Betsy Huckabee longs for more than helping her uncle set up type for the weekly newspaper. She wants her stories to reach people beyond Pine Gap. When a new deputy shows up, she gets the idea to shadow him in order to come up with material for a serial in the ladies' section of the newspaper. The only problem is, the man doesn't say or act like a sigh-worthy hero. Deputy Joel Puckett has no desire to get tangled up with another woman and doesn't take too kindly to having a young lady follow his every movement. It's hard enough coming in as a replacement for the local sheriff and trying to gain the local folks' trust. What he doesn't need is a pesky girl getting in the way of his investigations. I recently finished reading Regina Jennings new book, For the Record. I thoroughly enjoyed this delightful tale set in the back hills of Missouri in 1885. I found myself laughing at the antics between Betsy and Joel and hated to see the book come to an end. I give it a 5 out of 5 for happily-ever-afters. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers. A favorable review was not required and all views expressed are my own.
MichelleKrim More than 1 year ago
I just loved Betsy and Joel. There was great chemistry between them and plenty of humorous situations. While there are fun and lighthearted moments, the story also deals with the Bald Knobbers, which adds a touch of danger. This was an entertaining read from start to finish. Plot: Betsy Huckabee works with her uncle for the small local newspaper, but she dreams of writing more important stories. When Deputy Joel Puckett is sent to clear out the Bald Knobbers, a vigilante group that's been taking the law into their own hands, Betsy sees this as her opportunity. She follows Joel around to find an interesting story, but when circumstances are not exciting enough, she begins embellishing and sends the stories away, hoping Joel will never see them. Meanwhile, Joel's finding out that Betsy and her family are the only ones in town who seem to be on his side. Due to an unfortunate situation at home, he's unable to return to Texas, so he's determined to make things work out in his new job. Characters: Betsy is full of spunk, a little bit of mischief and loyalty to her family. She's a fun heroine, even if she tends to annoy Joel at the beginning of the book. Joel was introduced in Jennings' Caught in the Middle, the last book of the Ladies of Caldwell County Series. He's keeping secrets about his past, but I loved his determination and the fearless way he faces the Bald Knobbers. Content: This story is appropriate for all readers. The romance was kept clean and the spiritual content was light enough that those who don't enjoy inspirational may still like this story. While there was a bit of violence due to the subject matter, even that was very mild. Recommendation: I'd highly recommend this book to those who enjoy historical westerns and lighthearted romance. While it's the third book of the series, it completely stands alone. I look forward to seeing what the author will have coming next! Rating: 4.5/5 stars I received a copy of this book from Bethany House. This review is my honest opinion.
ARS8 More than 1 year ago
For the Record by Regina Jennings I believe is her best yet. I really liked these characters and the story they had to tell. Betsy Huckabee is a 24year old gal who definitely does not fool herself into thinking she is marriageable. In fact, she has scared off every suitor in her town as none really suit her. I like that she knows what she wants and decides to take charge and make her dreams come true. Joel Puckett is a Texan who has had to leave his home in disgrace. He is a bit gun shy around women, Betsy especially, and knowing his story, it is very understandable. Betsy just downright terrifies him. I also found it humorous how she was able to move quietly and be able to sneak around a lot of the time taking him by surprise. This story has some great lessons like what if the law fails you, is it all right to take matters into your own hands? How much is your reputation worth and is it worth fighting for? We have dear characters from previous books, quirky townspeople, and a romance that was practically simmering off the pages. There was humor and some slapstick comedy mixed with some very serious subjects that moved the story along at a great pace. I look forward to more from Ms. Jennings . I received a copy of this book free from the publisher. I was not required to give a positive review and the views expressed are my own. This was a very good read.
Mocha-with-Linda More than 1 year ago
Regina Jennings once again delights with this historical romance set in the Missouri Ozarks. Gifted at creating characters that leap off the page, Jennings populates Pine Gap with an eclectic array of personalities that keep the pages rippling with action. Between Betsy, the Bald Knobbers, and the various family feuds plaguing the town, poor Deputy Joel can't seem to get a break! Clever banter and lively repartee between Betsy and Joel keeps them dancing on the edge between vexation and admiration. For the Record made me alternately laugh out loud and hold my breath with its perfect blend of humor, danger, and romance. Don't miss this engaging story! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book free from Bethany House Publishers and Regina Jennings for a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
CarolJo More than 1 year ago
Hillbilly Betsy Huckabee has had a minor role in the first two books in the Ozark Mountain Romance series but she is the female protagonist in this book! The book started off a little boring to me but I was soon involved in Betsy's escapades and her desire to "help" the new deputy. The Bald Knobbers are well-known in southern Missouri and play a major part in this story. It was difficult to figure out who the bad guy was! I recommend this book by Regina Jennings to others. I received an Advance Reader Copy of the book. This is my honest opinion.
MeezCarrie More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting on Betsy Huckabee’s story since I met her as an adorably precocious child in A Most Inconvenient Marriage. Needless to say, she hasn’t quite grown out of her precociousness as an adult. When combined with Deputy Joel Puckett’s prickliness, it translates into some quite delightful banter between the two as well as multiple opportunities for giggles at Joel’s expense. (You may also remember Joel from Caught in the Middle, part of her Ladies of Caldwell County series.) One of my favorite parts of Betsy and Joel’s relationship is how Betsy umm… borrows … Joel’s identity for her Dashing Deputy stories she is submitting to the Kansas City newspaper. Deputy Eduardo Pickett is a rather unrecognizable version of Joel (understatement) because to be perfectly honest Joel isn’t the most swoonworthy of heroes. He’s not particularly swoonworthy as far as dashing deputies go, and Betsy is forever having to embellish his heroic acts to be in fact more heroic. And of course this backfires on her – and Joel – in more ways than one. But that just makes the story all the more entertaining! And you know… Joel winds up being quite heroic after all... There’s also a fascinating bit of history in For the Record – specifically of the Bald Knobbers, a group of vigilantes in the Ozarks in the late 1800s. Are they good guys? Are they bad guys? Who are they behind their masks? One thing is for sure, they certainly cause Joel much consternation. They aren’t exactly the friendliest welcoming committee to Pine Gap. I love reading historical fiction that makes me want to head to the Googles to find out more about the history element when I’m finished reading the book. Bottom Line: For The Record by Regina Jennings is entertaining and funny and romantic. Intriguing history, delightful characters, and a writing voice that just makes you smile – all of these elements combine to make this a truly enjoyable read. If you like Mary Connealy and Melissa Jagears, then you’re going to love Regina Jennings too! (I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.)
hthuish More than 1 year ago
Gosh, I loved this book! Regina Jennings sets the story perfectly - a big city deputy from Texas, Deputy Puckett, comes to save a small town in Missouri from outlaws and stop a ban of townsfolk who have begun to take the law into their own hands. In the little town lives Betsy, a wide-eyed, adventurous gal with dreams of writing for a big city newspaper. The two form a friendship, but both have secrets. Deputy Puckett has been accused of dishonoring a lady in Texas and his reputation is tarnished. Being sent to the small town of Pine Gap is his chance to start over. Betsy's submissions have been consistently turned down by the big newspaper in Kansas City because she doesn't have anything interesting enough to write about, that is, until the new deputy shows up! Betsy follows the deputy around and begins writing stories based on him, with a few added exaggerations. Although the young deputy tries to dissuade her attentions they two become friends. Together they begin to solve a growing puzzle of crime. As their friendship begins to grow deeper the secrets they both hold on to eventually come to light. I love the romance in the story - it isn't over the top and cheesy. This is a quick and fun read! The characters were amazing, I couldn't help but become attached! This story seems like it would be so predictable, but I love how it surprised me at times! The only negative thing I have to say really has nothing to do with the story plot. Sometimes the sentence structure seemed a little off, or details were missing when describing a scene, so I would have to reread a couple paragraphs to fully understand what happened. Other than that, it was AWESOME! I would definitely recommend this book!
LifeofLiterature More than 1 year ago
I like strong heroines in novels so I was excited to read this story, as Betsy has spirit and gumption to carry her through all sorts of adventures. Her independence, however, never overshadows her desire to help her family, a trait I can admire. There were several surprising twists and the villain in the story keeps you guessing. This particular novel can be read alone as the story develops entirely in this book. I expected a little more humor to the dialogue, but I did still enjoy the characters, the setting, and the overall plot. The main protagonists both grow up a little in the novel and I enjoyed watching their friendship and eventual romance develop. I recommend this novel to lovers of historical fiction! I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers and the generous author, Regina Jennings, in exchange for an honest review.
LifeofLiterature More than 1 year ago
I like strong heroines in novels so I was excited to read this story, as Betsy has spirit and gumption to carry her through all sorts of adventures. Her independence, however, never overshadows her desire to help her family, a trait I can admire. There were several surprising twists and the villain in the story keeps you guessing. This particular novel can be read alone as the story develops entirely in this book. I expected a little more humor to the dialogue, but I did still enjoy the characters, the setting, and the overall plot. The main protagonists both grow up a little in the novel and I enjoyed watching their friendship and eventual romance develop. I recommend this novel to lovers of historical fiction! I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers and the generous author, Regina Jennings, in exchange for an honest review.