For the Roses (Clayborne Series #1)

For the Roses (Clayborne Series #1)

by Julie Garwood

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$9.75 $9.99 Save 2% Current price is $9.75, Original price is $9.99. You Save 2%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

For the Roses 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 124 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a very quick book to read, and I mean that in a good way. Very loving, sexy, heart warming, and exciting. I read For the Roses and the other books in the series a few years ago and I have re-read them because they are that good. Although I do like romance this is not just a romantic story it much more than that. It about family and love and respect, I loved it. The reason why I have taken the time to write this review is I have just seen the movie ROSEHILL that was adapted by Hallmark (WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT THAT WAS). Avoid at all cost, the essence and heart of the story has being destroyed the humour was taken out of the story, you would not recognise Mary Rose who was made out to be a jealous person who disregarded the men who raise her.The men did not appear to really bond together like in the book, what happen to Harrison he did not exist in the movie and the most unforgivable act was that they KILL OFF COLE For the Roses surely proved that a family can be strongly bonded through the years of love and taking care of each other. Family can be create not only formed by blood. Aside from the family values, the romantic story of Rose & Harrison added spice to the whole book. Mary Rose's discovery of her real father and their initial meeting was a tear jerker. I was once again in tears when I read the part of Mary Rose adjusting to her new family. J.G. described each scenes and emotions so perfectly that I feel like I am part of the book itself. I have many favorite scenes in this book but I have to hold back telling it, otherwise, I will give it away and ruined it for those who haven't read the book just yet. 
Guest More than 1 year ago
There were lots of laughs in this book as well as lots of moments that nearly made me cry. But the story starts wandering about halfway through, especially when they get to England, and I found myself skimming a bit. I love Julie Garwood's style. She always has a great blend of humor and poignancy. This book had both, and I loved all the characters 'except for Eleanor and the bunch in England', but it didn't keep my interest throughout. When the final chapters came and there was yet another new plotline, I just sighed. But then the ending felt rushed, with several things left out. Why didn't we get to experience Harrison's joy at Mary Rose's good news? Why didn't we see the reunion with Mama Rose? A lot to love, but I have to give it only three.
CodygirlDG More than 1 year ago
Follow the story of Mary Rose -- from when she was found abandoned by her four adopted brothers, to her all grown up. This story has it ALL and I can not recommend it highly enough to those like me who absolutely ADORE western romance. 200 stars, 200 A+'s -- this is the one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. A little twist on family and romance intertwined. It took a look at the 19th century in both high society of London England, as well as the US when it was still a little wild.
denverbroncosgirl More than 1 year ago
In the beginning, I really didn't like it much. The main female character was just plain annoying. I really had to push myself to continue reading. The only reason I did is because it is one of my best friend's favorite books & I promised her I'd read it. Many things that were said & done were contradictory. I will have to say that it did get better about 1/2 to 2/3 into the book. This was a really long read for me because I disliked the beginning so much. The end of the book went by much quicker. If I could break it down, I'd give the first half of the book 1 star, and the second half 3 1/2 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book! It's a thick book, but I found myself breezing through it. I loved all of the characters and especially the name of the town haha Not only did I fall in love with Harrison and Mary Rose, but I fell in love with all the brothers as well, especially Cole! Eleanor cracked me up! Go out and buy this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I laughed out loud reading this book, was suprised, sad, and amazed. It was a wonderful book to read. I only read alittle each day, because I didn't want it to end. I also have the sequels to this book and can't wait to get started reading them. This book had be thinking about each part I read the next day on my ride to work.
sara.edens on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For the Roses by Julie Garwood is a paperback that is well-worn in my personal library. Garwood¿s talent for making her heroines spunky, daring, and innocent, while allowing them to be strong, is a plus for her books. Mary Rose is no exception. Mary Rose interacts with her family and friends with caring. She allows her interactions to be realistic and fun. It is easy to visualize this spunky heroine. She is allowed a temper, even at times that women are angry for no reason, but has that temper in such a fun way that one cannot be angry back at her. Garwood¿s pen allows endearment, not anger. Mary Rose realizes her complaining makes her brothers uncomfortable, so she complains when she wants them to quit bothering her because they change the subject or find another place to go. She gives caring to Corrie, a woman living away from civilization because she was treated horribly by indigents and is disfigured. She protects Corrie from trouble-makers in town when they attempt to burn Corrie out. Although this is an older book, it is worth a read, even if you are not a lover of historical romance. Her characters are individual, not dull, and bring a good time to the reader. This is the kind of book that is enjoyable, relaxing, and fun. NOTE: I purchased this book with my own funds.
bhryk0 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story, though it may have had a bit too much description at times. I did find in the first half of the book at least that I could skip a couple of chapters and not miss too much.The Clayborne's were a family drawn together when 4 urchin boys who were living roughly on the streets of New York City in 1860 found a baby girl (Mary Rose) in a dumpster. At the time Adam was 14, Cole and Douglas were 12 and Travis was 10 - a bit young to do what they did (in these days anyway) but I guess in 1860 children of that age were more adult. Because Adam was on run they decided to move to the country to bring up the baby, they chose Montana. The boys wanted Mary Rose to be a lady so they sent her to boarding school in St Louis to finish her education.When she returned home in 1879 after, she had finished schoo ,a stranger came to town and started working on their ranch, his name was Harrison Stanford MacDonald and he was going to change their lives forever.I did love the closeness of this misfit family, they certainly looked after each other. You get to know each person very well. Adam is the scholar and the quiet one, Douglas in the healer, Cole is mean (most of the time) and Travis is the thinker. Mary Rose thinks everyone deserves a chance.
jonahfied on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I read from Garwood and put me in a frenzy to read the rest of her books. The story in FOR THE ROSES is driven by love and loyalty. While a bit hoaky, the twists and turns, and the reality of slavery (and how it tore families apart) was heartwrenching. Garwood captured the essence of love and family. A truly magical book.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A long and involved story about a group of boys who find a girl child thrown on a rubbish heap. They decided that they should become a family and bring her up. They're held together by loyalty and love and the girl that they've called Mary Rose has just returned from school.Lord Harrison Stanford MacDonald has arrived at their town and Mary Rose has taken pity on him as it looks like he's lost in their town. However he has a secret that could break the family apart.I liked the story and enjoyed the characters, I would like to read more in this series and meet more of them again.
Camethyste on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. I don't often care for historical romances, but I really enjoyed this one. The characters are interesting and well-developed. The story had me riveted.
madamemeow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first in a series of books by Julie Garwood about the Claybourne family, and I think the most thorough. Sadly, I read it last, but each book holds its own as a novel. This one simply explains the characters and their background a bit more. One character, after reading all the other four books, I'd never realized was African American until I'd read this book! But it's an amazing book, a wonderful read, and a definite page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite stories. I have it in paperback and also bought it for my NOOK so I could have it with me everywhere as well as the CD for listening in the car. The whole series is great. I have the others as well. Well worth buying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think I read this book at least 5 or 6 times!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the claibornes!!!! This story is sooo precious and sooo sweet and sooo unforgettable!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a series I have reread numerous times over the years
RSMH More than 1 year ago
The best of Julie Garwood's novels and that is saying a lot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Momof4IN More than 1 year ago
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!!! The story of four orphans coming together to form a family and raise a baby girl in the wilds of Montana, For the Roses is a fantastic story about life, friendship, family and love! The letters from Rose to Mama Rose were adorable, the family aspect was so real you could feel the love, the romance between Rose and Harrison was hot and steamy, just an all around wonderful book! Highly recommend! 10 stars at least!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago