Forests of the Fae: Devlin's Door

Forests of the Fae: Devlin's Door

Paperback

$12.56 $13.95 Save 10% Current price is $12.56, Original price is $13.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Forests of the Fae: Devlin's Door 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, this book was amazing. I couldn't keep my nose out of it. I was up all night reading because every chapter, every page, every paragraph, sentence, and word had me on the edge of my seat. I'm not huge into "farie" books, but wow. This was amazing I am at a lost for words. I highly recomend this book if you like being at the edge of your seat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the overall story. Loved the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kris Kibbee is a gifted writter! I was drawn in with her vivid discriptions, unexpected turns, and what an ending! If you enjoy reading fae (fairy) books, you'll love this one!
chrucas2 More than 1 year ago
Forests Of The Fae: Devlins Door by Kristine Kibbee This book is AMAZING!!! I haven't read a book that I couldn't put down in a long time. Every page was another exploration. It was imaginative, and sad, and happy. Anne, the main character reminded me a little of myself. How many of us have been through some type of bullying? However, Anne finds something that helps her get through the many struggles...kinda? haha You have to read the book to understand! The little boy that Anne meets on the train is very interesting too. I recommend this book more than words can say! I give it five stars for sure. I am so happy that I read this. Thank you Kristine Kibbee!!! God bless all.
Francine1440 More than 1 year ago
Forests of the Fae: Devlin’s Door is the first book of a very promising series written by Kristine Kibbee. Suitable for young adults and up, this book has the perfect amount of action and adventure to keep the interest of this age group. From the first page the author grabs the reader’s attention, teasing about the mysterious abandoned town named Nowhere Town where, decades ago, all of the inhabitants vanished seemingly overnight. Anne, spending the summer with her redneck aunt and uncle and nasty cousin Lexie, stumbles upon the secrets of Nowhere Town, including ghostly inhabitant Grace, evil fairies, and Grace’s diary which brings the town back to life. This book is very well written and has wonderfully detailed characters and creative settings, both in this world and the fae world. Devlin’s Door is definitely a fun and entertaining read. All of the characters are realistically written, in particular the teenagers who are very believable in their actions and dialogue. The description of the way of life of the fae and their world is imaginative and well thought out, sometimes drawing from well-known fae lore and sometimes with some new concepts of this fantasy world. I love reading a book where one can tell the author has spent a lot of time developing a brand new world and that is quite evident in this book. I hope to enjoy the second book in this series soon. I read this book on my ereader and it formatted well. The cover is very well done, both interesting and eye-catching.
JLaper More than 1 year ago
FOREST OF THE FAE: DEVLINS DOOR by Kristine Kibbee is about a girl who has to stay with family over the summer and discovering the secrets of a ghost town. Before I get into what I like about this book I’m gone to talk about what I didn’t like about it. It starts out interesting enough, but soon goes down hill on progressing the story by jumping around making it hard to focus on what is going on. Characters that are not part of the main cast are introduced as if they just pop out of thin air, and I think one did because they were suddenly just there. Anne, the hero of the story has more of a personality than her family she is staying with, even her cousin who seems to be glued to a phone with twitching rabbit ears. That is literally how I understood it. There is also name dropping of brands and movies that are used in describing how someone is reacting. This person gives a look like in so and so film as if that will help the reader know what look is being given. However, if the reader has not seen the movie they have no idea what type of look it is. And the whole name brand thing, instead of the character drinking a beer they are drinking a name brand beer. This story has potential. Now for what I like, Anne is one part of this story that I like and the slight build up to something grand. She is going to stay with family and on the trip she is riding with an annoying little boy that gives a little of humor at the start of story. He is like the annoying little brother you want to pretend you don’t have, but still find him endearing. The scenes descriptions are written well and give you the image with words, which I enjoy in a book. The cover is the style of illustration that appeals to me and that was part of my decision to wanting to check the book out. The writing is ok and the author gets across what they are wanting to say, yes it is for a younger audience and so the characters are written to appeal more for that audience. I would suggest as something to check out if a person like fantasy and wanting to read something that reads more as fun any geared toward its audience.
Ebienic More than 1 year ago
Anne isn’t pleased about having to spend the summer at her aunt and uncle’s house with her insufferable cousin. But when she gets to poke around a town whose residents mysteriously disappeared almost 100 years ago, and discovers a journal written by 13 year old Grace, she may open a portal that was best left closed. Can she and Grace protect each other and escape the malicious Fae? In an age where everyone equates fairies with cute little sprites no more mischievous than Tinkerbell, I really appreciated a story that recreates the true malevolence of the Fae. The writing was descriptive and sucked you into the story, and while I can’t say I was totally stunned by the ending I was pleasantly surprised that the author was not afraid to take risks with the characters. Now I’m left wondering if the story stands alone and should not be tampered with, or if I want to see a series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a young adult fantasy adventure. 13 year old Anne is sent to live with her Uncle, Aunt and cousin for the summer. Her cousin Lexi treats her horribly and her summer seems hopeless. When she starts going to the Nowhere Town things get a little more interesting. A mysterious diary leads to questions and then a girl and raven from the time the town was lost appear. A fantastical journey begins and takes them to the land of the faerie. This book is very well done and filled with surprises. It will have you reading until the last word. I would have enjoyed a different ending however the author did a excellent job of weaving the story.
MissLewingtonKatie More than 1 year ago
This is a slow, unfolding mystery, with magic, faeries and intrigue, which alternates between the past and present. I love the opening pages of this book. Great description, an interesting character dynamic and dialogue that is realistic. I also like the genuine shocks this has. The book gave me a jolt on more than one occasion and I feel creeped out after finishing it. You don't know where this is going to go. The metaphors are marvellous. This also has more female characters than male, which is no bad thing and I don't think there is enough fiction with female perspectives. The only criticism I have is the infuriating cliff-hanger and the wait for part 2.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Anne is being sent to her aunt and uncles place while her parents are on a 3 month mission. Of course she doesn’t fit it and it doesn’t help that her cousin Lexie is going to try and make this visit an even bigger disaster. But Anne hears about an abandoned town in the forest and is curious. After being locked in one of the houses she finds a journal and the more that she reads from it more of the town start rejuvenating. But this town has a dark secret. In the 1920’s, when surrounding towns were dying this one was the only one to thrive. But then everyone disappeared and left all of their belonging behind. Anne is very curious about this and the more she learns the deeper she gets until she finds out what happened and falls into the mound by the town. I really liked this book. I couldn’t help but feel bad for both Anne and Grace. The both are in a crummy position but they try to do their best. I loved the fae in this book since I love the darker views of the fae. I was really blown away by the ending, I didn’t expect that one at tall. This is a great midgrade with lots of action and adventure. This is a great story that any age will like. I can’t wait to see what happened in the next book. I received Devlin’s Door for free from Sage’s Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review.