Four Perfect Pebbles:: A Holocaust Story

Four Perfect Pebbles:: A Holocaust Story

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Four Perfect Pebbles 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The main idea of this book is to show that even through really hard times, if you show courage and bravery, you can make it through. I feel that the author’s purpose for writing this book is to show how close her relationship with her family was during this horrific time, and to show the hard life of Jews while living during the Holocaust. This book is sort of confusing, and I had a little bit of trouble trying to understand some of it as a thirteen year old, but I do recommend that you read this book. This book is very good and interesting. I will now tell you a little bit about this book. This book has details and pictures of the Blumenthal family’s life during the Holocaust. This book tells about the hard times that the Blumenthal family had to go through including torture, starving, being crammed on trains, treated poorly, and many more horrific things that life brought them during the Holocaust. It is told mainly by Marion and her mother, Ruth. Marion Blumenthal was a child when her family went through this tragic time. Her family was strong, courageous, and they stuck together as much as they could. The camps they had to go to sometimes separated them from each other. They eventually had the chance to reunite and when they did, they showed great love and compassion towards each other. I think that this is a good book because it describes the Blumenthal’s hard life. They had to travel from place to place and they had to adapt to each place as they went. They had to live in several different places, even trains. The concentration camps that they had to stay in weren’t very comforting, and the soldiers were very strict. “The only way we managed to survive in those early months of 1944-cold, hungry, and completely degraded-was on hope” This book is very good and interesting. Not only does this book talk about the devastating torture that a family was put through, but it also gives information about Hitler and the Holocaust. This book is very lovely, and I recommend it to teenagers and preteens.
richardderus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the annals of man's cruelty to man, the Holocaust stands out for its sheer, industrial-scale coldness and horror. There is ample literature attesting to the awfulness of being condemned to death for the mere accident of being born to a Jewish parent. This book, another entry into that corwded segment, is aimed at young readers.I don't know that any book about the Holocaust is something I want young readers to read. It's too huge and too vile a topic to make me feel comfortable introducing it to those whose lives are still in the vulnerable and bendable stage. I wouldn't let my child read this book, far better she should read the Marquis de Sade than this kind of material.But the world disagrees with me. So I am renewedly glad that I have no young children. But I think this story is one that makes the idea of the Holocaust, its especial and unique evil in human history, more painfully poignantly real than any other literary work I've ever seen: This is the story of a child who went through the system with her family intact, until the bitter horrifying end of the tale. This is what the horrible, vile, evil, disgusting Germans wanted to destroy: A little girl, her mama, her papa, and her big brother.Because they were Jews.
JanaRose1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Marion was almost five years old when her family fled Germany for Holland. Despite the visas and tickets they had to immigrate to the United States, they were unable to leave Europe once the Germans invaded Holland. They then made arrangements to be part of a group immigrating to Palestine however, they were sent instead to Bergen-Belsen in the ¿family camp.¿ The family is able to stay together until her father dies of typhus several months after liberation.I found this book a bit lackluster. The story alternates from Marion¿s point of view and third person. Such intertwining of narration and first-person voice makes the story a bit bland and unemotional. Overall, this book lacks the intensity of other holocaust books.
Whisper1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a story of frustrating missed opportunities. This is a story of hope. This is a story of courage.Told in simplistic detail, the story contains the Blumenthal family of four who are moved on Hitler's chess board, forward, backward, sideways, down hill, uphill, on trains, in camps, with hope, with little hope, with denial and then with realization that to be stuck in Germany when your life is meaningless to the master holding the rule book equates to a harrowing game that you never agreed to play.The author tells the tale of the Blumenthal journey that lasted six and 1/2 terrifying years.Trapped in Hitler's Germany, the Blumenthal family were temporarily lucky to flee to Holland, but shortly thereafter that country was not safe. Through a series of unfortunate missed opportunities, they were sent to various refugee camps, and then back to Germany to Bergen Belsen. Six days before the British troops liberated Bergen-Belsen, the Blumenthals were transported like cattle to another location. Riding the typhus infested death train for two weeks, eventually they were liberated by Russian troops.At the beginning of the Nazi occupation young Marion Blumenthal collected three perfect pebbles, superstitiously she believed if she found the fourth it would be a sign that their four family members would survive. Alas, Marion never found the fourth pebble.
TFS93 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Heartwrenching! This one is perfect for younger children, it doesn't sugarcoat, but it also doesn't give graphic detail, so kids can think and draw their own conclusions about how horrible the Holocaust was without being too sickened to want to read the story. A wonderful tale of survival and never giving up even when many obstacles are thrown in your path. A tale of family love that will make you appreciate what you have even more!
LibrarysCat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This Holocaust narrative provides one family's experiences during WWII. Written in simple, but compleling, language, the author relates the horrors that she witnessed as her family was sent to the death camps and death trains. Aimed at young readers, the book contains very disturbing pictures which further highlight the author's recollections. However, occassionally the simplicity of the story seems to jump over parts of the history.
ithilwyn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A story of a little girl's survival. She also goes into what life was like after the war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Four Perfect Pebbles is a story about a family struggling through the Holocaust. It is heart-breaking yet a historical story. Marion Blumenthal Lazan is committed to speaking about her holocaust experience. This book is not very adventurous but it is greatly dealing in history. Marion was born in Germany and came to the United States. She married Nathanial Lazan. They live in Hewitt, New York. Today Marion is 79 years old. Marion’s family did what they absolutely had to do to survive. Even then Marion’s father died of typhus. She survived one of the most disastrous events in history. As did her mother. Being in and near Germany made it even more fearful because of the weather. The Jews probably felt that their lives were pointless during that time. The writing style of the book is perspective. “Even the very worst conditions at Westerbork were a heaven by comparison. For Bergen-Belsen was hell.” This book definitely achieves its purpose to tell a story about how exactly it was to go through such death. This book stands out from most books about the holocaust. I have read many other holocaust experiencing books and this one is the perfectly explained one. Marion and her family are forced to live in Nazi camps, both concentration camps and death camps. They find death and death finds them. They battle starvation and dehydration. They also travel very long distances for places worse than where they were before. It was a Nazi apocalypse. Overall this story is exactly what anyone would read about the Holocaust.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
InTheBookcase More than 1 year ago
I found this book uncommonly absorbing, for being written in a biography style. Mostly you will learn about many events from World War II, and how a true story was played out for the Blumenthal family. I expected the book to be okay, but as it turned out, I really enjoyed it! I truly recommend this book for anyone at all, who is interested in reading a real life Holocaust story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ravenrocks More than 1 year ago
This was a very intriguing book. The character Marion was very real and lovable. the only problem was at the beginning, for the first five pages it was a detailed story. But it suddenly turned into a biography with out much detail. besides that it was a good book. I would recommend it.
love2educate More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book for our whole family. We all really enjoyed the book. I once heard someone say that prejudice is taught and learned. If life is looked at openly and people learn to form their own opinions then this world would be a better place. People would then hopefully stop judging for all of the wrong reasons of which were instilled in them and have a more open outlook on life. We want our child and our family to look at things openly and especially for our child to look at things for what they are not to judge by the color of someones skin or their backround, or religious beliefs. This brought such great topics of conversation. Our children must learn the past so they can be openminded about our future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mothman More than 1 year ago
Four Perfect Pebbles Patrick Cook I give these book four stars. I think this is one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. Because this is the only Holocaust book I have read. But this makes me won't to read more Holocaust books. One of the reasons I like the book so much was because it was a true life story. The book is about this girl if she could find four perfect pebbles almost exactly the same size and shape it meant that her family would remain whole. Mama and Papa and she and Albert would survive Bergen-Belsen. The four of them might have even survived the Nazis' attempt to destroy every last Jew in Europe. Following Hitler's rise to power, the Blumenthal Family-father, mother, Marion and her brother Albert- were trapped in Nazi German. They managed eventually to get to Holland, but soon thereafter it was occupied by the Nazis. For the next six and a half years the Blumenthal's were forced to live in refugee, transit, and prison camp. Their story is one of the horror and hardship, but it is also a story of courage, hope, and the will to survive.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Today the author of this book, Marian Blumenthal Lazan, came to my school and talked about her experiences during the Holocaust. Some of us even got to eat lunch with her and ask questions. I haven't finished the book yet, but I would recommend this for anyone who is curious about the Holocaust and would like to read a memoir/first hand account.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. It makes you thankful for the little things in your life like heat and food. And it is one of the most heat moving holocaust books that i ever read!!! 'i have read a lot'
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was god, I got it in a book order. I thouht it would be a normal big book. But it is small and bad. It does not have a enough detail.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is soo amazing. I haven't finished it yet but so far I love it! This woman, Marion, is sooo wonderful! I just met her today. She came and spoke to my school and shared her hardships and experiences with us. It was definately a very emotional experience for everyone in the room. I know it changed my entire outlook on life and how I take everything for granted. I just have so much respect for her. And it breaks my heart that anyone could do that to any living being.
Guest More than 1 year ago
She came to my school a couple of years ago. She was wonderful. It was hard for her to talk about her experience. The book is fantastic. Very sad but it puts what life was like in the holocaust into perspective. I really enjoyed it. A very good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is very poor. I usually like books but this one is not my favorite. Not enough details at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first read this book when I was in the 6th grade. Ever since then it has stuck to my memory like a bad dream. Not to mean that in a negative way because I absolutely love this book. I would love to meet the author because this was absolutely brilliant. I am now in the 11th grade and I will recommend it to my friends if there is a project or report due on the Holocaust. At the end you feel a sense of bitter happiness but you feel hope for yourself. Beautiful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that the book was so so. It was great about the facts it gave about the Holocaust but it wasn't as descriptive and pulled together as I think it should have been. But I would still recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
WE READ THIS BOOK IN SCHOOL AND I JUST CRIED MY EYES OUT! I REALLY LIKE TO READ THESE TYPE OF BOOKS TO LEARN AND UNDERSTAND WHY IT WAS DONE! I FEEL BAD ABOUT ALL THE JEWS WHO DIED BECAUSE THEY ARE AS EQUAL AS THE REST OF US!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book dosent have enough details and is very confusing because her story sounds like its not in order.