Fragile

Fragile

by Lisa Unger

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fragile 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 269 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Lisa Unger's books, and they're all terrific, including this one. She has a way of building tension steadily so you don't want to put the book down. This novel is particularly ambitious, delving into the secrets of three generations of families in the Hollows. It's a knockout thriller, but it's also a sensitive exploration of family.
Lynie More than 1 year ago
Ricky Cooper's friend, Charlene, is missing and his parents are at odds about his involvement. Maggie Cooper, a psychologist, is convinced her son would never harm Charlene, yet her detective husband, Jones, isn't so sure. The stress between the Coopers is exacerbated by the other storyline that Ms. Unger weaves throughout the search for Charlene. A classmate of Maggie and Jones disappeared and was murdered twenty years earlier and Charlene's disappearance reverberates throughout the community. As FRAGILE unfolds, some of the characters are forced to face half-truths and misconceptions of that earlier tragedy. FRAGILE is a good, strong mystery; a nice read. Lynn Kimmerle
stellanmi More than 1 year ago
I read this book & thoroughly enjoyed it!! I took this book everywhere with me just wanting to read it quickly so I could find out what happened next!!! So many stories overlapping one another that you just couldn't believe the outcome! Recommend it highly...just purchased another one of Lisa Unger's books too! Yay new author for me to love! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
BLUEEYEBE More than 1 year ago
The story opens with a Police Officer throwing a bundle into an abandoned well, then shoveling dirt to cover it completely.... The story flashes back to a month earlier. The reader learns how the past has shaped every character and affected their present day relationships. A girl has gone missing in The Hollows, a small town about two hours away from New York, a small town where some secrets and gossip never die. Intriguing.
PamT2u More than 1 year ago
This is the first book that I read by this author. It was pretty good. The characters were well developed and complex. So were the relationships and interactions between them. It was suspenseful in a non-dramatic way. Her style of writing made you want to keep reading to find out what happened. There are troubled characters and everyone has a past they want hidden. It makes for a good story with many issues to discuss. In all, I'd read another book by Lisa Unger particularly because hshe has a penchant for character development and understands the mentality of small town living.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fragile is a mystery in the best sense of the word, with well-developed characters and slow-building suspense. It is the story of missing teenage girls, decades apart, and the connections between their disappearances. Maggie Cooper is a well-respected psychologist living in "The Hollows", a small town outside of New York City. While juggling a busy practice, she tries desperately to keep her relationships with her detective husband, Jones, and sullen teenage son, Ricky, going strong. When Ricky's girlfriend, Charlene, goes missing, the Coopers and Charlene's mother, Melody, do everything they can to locate her. But is this a recurrence of their worst nightmare from their high school days...when Maggie, Melody, Jones, and the rest of The Hollows' parents and children had to contend with another missing girl...one who was found murdered? Only time will tell. Unger does a fine job of connecting all of her characters and both of her plots (the disappearances of both Charlene in the present and Sarah in the past) to make one gripping novel. She is a masterful storyteller; however, as she states in the "author's note", she has had a personal experience with this. This novel is not to be missed. MY RATING - 5/5 To see my rating scale and other reviews, please check out my blog: http://www.1776books.blogspot.com.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very predictable story. Good read with an interesting group of characters. Missed having the twists and turns of a good mystery.
JenPC More than 1 year ago
Fragile was well-written and suspenseful. The plot contained twists and turns but I was expecting more of an explosive ending. Instead, it had many elements of family and relationship drama. Lots of questions to get you thinking about your own life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was pretty good even though at times it was a little confusing. See, two stories are being told sporatically throughout the book (one about a missing girl from the past and one from the present) and every chapter is from a different character's point of view. The author definitely has a unique way of writing. Overall this was a different and enjoyable read.
BluJay More than 1 year ago
I can't honestly say I enjoyed the book that much. The author kept jumping back and forth between an incident involving a missing girl which happened when the main characters were teenagers to a similar incident involving their teenaged children years later. The abrupt way the author would switch back and forth between plots tended to be disorienting. She would just drop a thread and by the time she got back to it, I didn't care anymore. Each thread could probably have been developed into a book by itself. I thought the answers to both incidents were contrived and way too complicated to be believable.
jenDE More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and I liked the style of all of them better than Fragile & Darkness, My Old Friend. These 2 are not a series per say, but they share the same local and characters. The thing I loved most about her previous books were the ways her characters were always "self analyzing" themselves. I liked reading the thought processes of why they were feeling the way they were. In all the previous books the characters found themselves in situation where they realized there life was not the life they thought. This was missing from both of these books. Yes, the characters still experienced the same angst but there wasn't the thrill and loss of footing that was experienced in the other books. Beautiful Lies & Sliver of Truth are 2 of my favorite books and I suggest them to other readers all the time. Mostly, I think I l missed the THRILL from the previous books.
gettin_picky More than 1 year ago
I liked the way she showed that our traits can be a strength and a weakness at the same time. Each character in this book was "fragile" but strong. It's a story of how your family and your choices will affect your entire life. Well written I had trouble putting it down.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
The picturesque town of Hollows, 20 miles from the darker New York City, looks just like those towns where everyone knows your name...and your business. So Lisa Unger sets out to prove that not only are there deep, dark, dirty secrets in Hollows, but that everybody most certainly does not know your business. The problem for me is that Unger overdoes it. There is just too much hidden evil in this town, and all of the psychoanalyzing in the novel made me feel beaten over the head by the time she was done. The story was just too far gone, especially as to do with one of the lead characters, Jones, the supposedly upstanding police detective. I just don't see his life taking the turns it did given the secret he was hiding.
angramel More than 1 year ago
I love a good mystery, and this book was very well-written. I thought it was a tad predictable, but with some good, unexpected twists as well. The characters are well-developed, although i found it hard to keep up with who's who sometimes as it is chapters before one person or another is mentioned again.
meg820 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I fnished it in about 3 days because I couldn't put it down. I really liked the psychological aspect about it (but then again I'm a bit partial to that because that is my field of study). The author did an excellent job of weaving all the characters lives together in a way that doesn't confuse the reader. I wish the book could've been longer just because the story was that good. I recommend this to everyone who enjoys reading psychological mysteries.
In_the_Pages More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. Though the read was good, and the story was well rounded, I could see where everything was heading. Quite clearly in fact. When I read a mystery novel , like most individuals, I enjoy the twists and anticipation that comes without saying. I could see where the author seemed to make attempts for twists in the story, but to no avail, I already knew the ending chapters and chapters before it happened. I don't want to say it was typical because the story itself was unique and had a lot of depth and character. The plot was typical seems to be a better way to sum of the story. Over all I had higher hopes but still enjoyed reading the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Lisa unger books. She does a great job with developing her characters and keeping you on the edge of your seat. With three generations of characters it was a little confusing at first keeping track of how everyone connected. But I enjoyed how the book unraveled and all the interactions of the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best. The twists and turns in the story kept me wondering what was going to happen next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. I haven't enjoyed a book this much in a very long time. I highly recommend it. Its a mystery, but so much more. The characters are well thought out, and feel very real. Lisa Unger is a great writer. A must read for sure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this book by Lisa Unger the past catches up to her well thought out characters. For me this is the kind of book that makes a person think about conequences. Written in the present day with flashbacks that tie a group of parents together without a lot of jumping around. I found it to be a great read and enjoyed getting to know the characters.
AGG1877 More than 1 year ago
Lisa Unger delves into so many fascinating aspects of our emotional worlds while weaving together the intrigue and tension of a crime thriller. Like many of her other titles, I was so fascinated with the characters and story line that I read this book in just three sittings.
Janet Williams More than 1 year ago
What an exciting book with a multitude of twists and turns! The characters are well written and we get to really know them and truly care.
kmartin113 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the mystery of this book, the where is she, the why is he there, the what happen in the past kept me reading to the end. Great book in my opinion.
Scarlettran40 More than 1 year ago
This was my first book by Lisa Unger, and I was NOT disappointed!
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
From "When Jones Cooper was younger, he didn't believe in mistakes" to 323 pages later and "As she told them all about her buried memory, she felt an awe at how all their separate lives were twisted and tangled, growing over an around one another...," FRAGILE enchants. It is a sensitive, penetrating story of complex people burdened by the past. Jones, a cop,lives with his psychologist wife, Maggie, and rebellious teenage son, Ricky, in The Hollows, a small insular town outside of New York City. It's the kind of place that Maggie had once found dull, constraining, but now finds comforting as people know each other, and seemingly care for one another. It seems that Ricky might benefit from some observation as he's a punk kid with a silver hoop in his nose, sometimes referred to as "Johnny Rotten" by his dad. Try as Maggie may she can't seem to reach Ricky any more but loves him with all her heart, remembering "...how pure and unblemished, how soft and pink his baby skin had been." Ricky is going with Charlene, an undesirable companion in the eyes of Maggie and Jones. She is "a little girl lost hiding behind black eyeliner and vamp red lipstick." However, Maggie does her best to understand, to accept Charlene because she loves Ricky. However, understanding and acceptance go out the window when Charlene vanishes. To some her disappearance is a frightening reminder of a teenager who was abducted and murdered years ago when Maggie herself was a teenager. Jones is leading the investigation in efforts to find Charlene and, shocking to Maggie, begins to look very closely at their son. A once tranquil community is once again shattered by a mysterious disappearance. In a desperate attempt to prove Ricky innocent of any wrongdoing Maggie begins an investigation of her own and makes a shocking discovery. No novice at creating suspenseful, gripping narratives Lisa Unger has once again penned a stay-up-all-night story. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke