Fragments of Fear

Fragments of Fear

by Carrie Stuart Parks

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fragments of Fear 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
enjoyed this storyline and characters, can we have more of tavish and sawyer along with marleythis would ma,ke a great movie, enjoy
D_Maddox 8 months ago
There were so many things I enjoyed about this book. Tavish's life was out of control and she was a mess at the beginning. Missing her recently decreased grandmother, reeling from her finance’s supposed suicide, feeling unloved by her mother, and afraid her art was never going to sell, Tavish had plenty to deal with. Then she gets a call to pick up her dog from the pound - but Tavish doesn’t have a dog! She argues with the pound but finally relents and gets the dog when they tell her to get her today or she will be euthanized that night. She recognizes the dog immediately as belonging to a man who recently commissioned her to do a portrait of him and the dog. When she tries to find the owner, she finds him murdered. Things only get worse for her from there. I believe her relationship with the dog is the first step in her journey to a better life. But things get worse before they get better - she discovers more murders and then there are attempts on her life. The story is full of suspense, twists, and surprises up until the very end. By the end, Tavish has matured and grown into a more self-confident woman with a bright future. A little romance adds to the adventure also. Ms Parks pulls all the pieces together into a tense and fun read. I will read more books by this author. In full disclosure, I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
jkmeaux 8 months ago
At first I honestly didn't know what to think of this story but as I continued on I became so wrapped up in the plot I was absolutely spellbound and couldn't put it down! A twisting plot, so pay close attention, an adorable pup named Marley, and a very unexpected ending! A great introduction to a "new to me" author. Thank you to NetGalley and Harper Collins for an an advanced copy of this book. Thoughts and review of this book are mine.
LLangley 9 months ago
The culture of New Mexico, fine art theft, archaegological digs, microchips, a Puli dog, and an innocent bystander accused of murder--or is she innocent? You'll find it all in Fragments of Fear, a new novel by suspense author Carrie Stuart Parks. She keeps readers engaged with an interesting story line, a likeable and believeable main character, truly bad bad guys, and edge of the seat suspense. If you're looking for a good read, this suspense novel won't disappoint, but be prepared to let other things go by the wayside, because you'll have a hard time putting down Fragments of Fear. It's the perfect book for a holiday or vacation time. Just when you think you know which way the plot is headed, you'll find some surprises. If I say any more, it might spoil the read, and you don't want that! Pick up a copy of Parks' Fragments of Fear today.
J_Augustine 9 months ago
Can she trust anything...or anyone? Carrie Stuart Parks is definitely one of my go-to, must-read, favorite authors. All I have to do is see her name on the cover and I know I am going to seriously love the book. Her brand of suspense/thriller, sometimes with a dash of romance, is right up my alley. And I simply love her no nonsense writing style. Needless to say, I've been pretty excited about reading Fragments Of Fear since I first heard about it several months ago. And, oh, I was so NOT disappointed! It was everything I had hoped for and more! Sorry, but I just had to gush a little there. I wasn't kidding when I said that she is one of my favorite authors. Anyway... Fragments Of Fear was an excellent read. It's a taut psychological thriller slash romantic suspense novel and I was totally engrossed in the story right from the start. One of the things that Carrie Stuart Parks does well, aside from painting vivid mental images of the characters and settings, would be the psychological element. Seriously, you feel every bit of Tavish's emotional roller coaster as she seeks the truth, and a little justice, while being gaslighted and terrorized by some very nasty bad guys. Carrie Stuart Parks brings the New Mexico landscape alive, from the elegant art world to a dusty archaeological dig, in Fragments Of Fear. It's a story that I really enjoyed and would definitely recommend. (I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All opinions are entirely my own.)
magnificentk 9 months ago
Fragments of Fear is a mystery style novel, but deviates from your typical run-of-the-mill heroine. Evelyn McTavish, who goes by Tavish, is a complex character with flaws and traits that most authors by-pass. She has obsessive compulsive tendencies, issues dealing with her overbearing mother, and suffers from low self esteem. But when confronted with a series of murders, it’s clear someone wants her dead. Tavish has to break out of her self-imposed box and delve into a world completely out of her comfort zone. Readers become engrossed in Tavish’s pursuit for justice and will root for as she tries to navigate a world that is very different than the life she’s led. The author gives an interesting perspective into the way others see Tavish versus how she sees herself. I rather enjoy novels with characters and stories lines that are complex and unique. This isn’t a typical heroine saves the day story. Readers will spend time trying to figure out Tavish. Is she a train wreck or a super hero? There is a love story, but Tavish take center stage and the romance element almost seems like an afterthought, although it does play into how Tavish views the world around her. The novel took me some time to get into, but I found Tavish to be delightful and loved to see her transformation throughout the story. There is definitely a lot of high stakes action and suspense, so if you are a fan of danger and life-or-death situations, you’ll find this an exciting read. Carrie Stuart Parks always has intriguing settings, and this takes place in the deserts of New Mexico. It’s the perfect backdrop for this mysterious plot line.
KimPotter 9 months ago
Fragments of Fear by Carrie Stuart Parks is a stand-alone suspense mystery. Evelyn McTavish is trying to move on after the death of her fiancé. Selling her art is the beginning but when she receives a call to pick up a dog that the shelter claims is registered to her everything seems to explode. With her life in danger her path crosses that of FBI Agent Sawyer Price. Now, with someone she can trust maybe she’ll make it out alive. If she can figure out just what is going on! This was a great story. Even though the odds were against her, Tavish never gave up. I would definitely like to read more from this author. I received this book from Celebrate-Lit in exchange for my honest review.
5643437 9 months ago
Fragments of Fear brought me slowly into the storyline. At first, I felt Tavish was one of those characters I might find it difficult to like. Because I am not a dog person, the dog did not initially capture my attention. But as I kept reading I found myself drawn into the story. Sawyer Price, FBI agent, immediately caused me to like him. I also found myself wanting him to help Tavish find her way out of the chaos and intrigue she was in when they first met. The mysterious and dangerous aspects of the story kept me reading. I found myself wanting to know how the story would turn out in the end. The mysterious woman who shows up at Tavish’s fiance’s funeral made me angry. She was a rude and ill-mannered individual. I have to say I appreciated the journey Tavish found herself on and her willingness to stick to her claims that her fiance was murdered instead of someone who would commit suicide. The storyline took me a while to get into, but once I started enjoying it, I was glad I stuck with reading it. I have to say in the end the dog played a necessary role in the story. So if you like books with mystery, danger, or pets, check out this book for yourself. I received a copy of this book for my fair and honest review.
Deana0326 9 months ago
Tavish is a very wealthy young woman who doesn't have the best relationship with her mother. I guess if you call your mother by her first name, it is obvious there is a fracture in the relationship. I didn't care for Tavish's mother at all. Maybe her mother is upset that her daughter is independent and doesn't always do what her mother wants her to do. Her mother is always requesting Tavish's appearance at functions she doesn't want to be at. Whatever the reason, the author does a great job of exploring their relationship throughout the story. The suspense in the book is good and has many twists in it. What would you do if you received a call from an animal shelter saying to come pick up your dog before it is euthanized? Tavish is quite confused with the call because she doesn't own a dog, but I'm so glad she has a good heart. The dog is a clue to something that brings the story to an adventure filled with secrets and danger. I adored the dog and thought it was a great addition to the story. Sawyer is charming and wants to help Tavish while trying to keep her safe. I love that he is not afraid to share his faith and encourage Tavish to not give up. It was fascinating to read about archaeology and be able to feel a part of the dig that was going on. I love the element of art in the story and have always enjoyed learning about different pieces that an artist has put their heart into. Tavish has a difficult time trusting people and when her life is in danger, she will have to learn to let her guard down and trust Sawyer. She is thrown into an unexpected turn of events that bring her to a place where she will encounter life and death. I loved how the author keeps readers guessing with her excellent ability to throw in curves that involve intrigue and surprises. It's hard to figure out who are the enemies and just what they are after which made me want to read as fast as I could. The book is very good with layers of complicated people who are after something of value. I have to say that I loved how intense the story is at times. Overall the story is well written and delves into the art world with drama, heart pounding action and a bit of faith scattered throughout the story. I received a copy of this book from Celebrate Lit. The review is my own opinion.
Deana0326 9 months ago
Tavish is a very wealthy young woman who doesn't have the best relationship with her mother. I guess if you call your mother by her first name, it is obvious there is a fracture in the relationship. I didn't care for Tavish's mother at all. Maybe her mother is upset that her daughter is independent and doesn't always do what her mother wants her to do. Her mother is always requesting Tavish's appearance at functions she doesn't want to be at. Whatever the reason, the author does a great job of exploring their relationship throughout the story. The suspense in the book is good and has many twists in it. What would you do if you received a call from an animal shelter saying to come pick up your dog before it is euthanized? Tavish is quite confused with the call because she doesn't own a dog, but I'm so glad she has a good heart. The dog is a clue to something that brings the story to an adventure filled with secrets and danger. I adored the dog and thought it was a great addition to the story. Sawyer is charming and wants to help Tavish while trying to keep her safe. I love that he is not afraid to share his faith and encourage Tavish to not give up. It was fascinating to read about archaeology and be able to feel a part of the dig that was going on. I love the element of art in the story and have always enjoyed learning about different pieces that an artist has put their heart into. Tavish has a difficult time trusting people and when her life is in danger, she will have to learn to let her guard down and trust Sawyer. She is thrown into an unexpected turn of events that bring her to a place where she will encounter life and death. I loved how the author keeps readers guessing with her excellent ability to throw in curves that involve intrigue and surprises. It's hard to figure out who are the enemies and just what they are after which made me want to read as fast as I could. The book is very good with layers of complicated people who are after something of value. I have to say that I loved how intense the story is at times. Overall the story is well written and delves into the art world with drama, heart pounding action and a bit of faith scattered throughout the story. I received a copy of this book from Celebrate Lit. The review is my own opinion.
Floyd Johnson 9 months ago
Evelyn Yvonne McTavish (‘Tavish’ for short) is not being believed. She is convinced that her fiance has been murdered - the police do not believe her. Evelyn tells the city pound that Marley, the Puli (a dog breed) is not hers - Mr. Brown, the attendant, does not believe her. And when she reports the death of John Coyote (a client for whom she did some artwork), the police cannot find the body or the blood she had seen on the floor. Evelyn’s credibility is going downhill fast. All that is in the first two chapters. The plot involves events that are over two years old, events that may involve her mother in a criminal conspiracy, and events that may involve national security issues. Tavish and FBI Special Agent Sawyer Price will need to work independently and cooperatively to piece together the seemingly disconnected pieces of information to solve the riddles before them. Written with a light faith-based style, the book has its protagonists looking at their own spiritual lives even as they are forced to work together on the issues before them. The book belongs in both the church and public library, as well as in the hands of those who enjoy a thrill ride from an experienced author. For those looking for a good Fall weekend read, this book may fill the bill. ______________ This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
Madison-s_Library 9 months ago
Fragments of Fear is a thrilling and intricately woven suspense novel. With endless twists and loads of action, it is a novel that continued to keep me guessing and marvelling at the unexpected strength of the main character. Fragments of Fear is the first novel I have read by Carrie Stuart Parks and I was impressed with her storytelling and mastery of the suspense details. Evelyn McTavish, Tavish to her friends, is rocked when her fiancé dies by suicide. A surprise visitor at the graveside service further shakes Tavish’s confidence in herself. Her art isn’t exactly making the waves she thought it would, she hates her accounting job and she still lives under her mother’s roof - even if it’s a guesthouse. When she receives a call saying her name and number was in the microchip of a lost dog, she stumbles into a world of stolen artefacts, drugs, and murder. When the killer’s target is turned her way and the police label her as crazy and don’t believe her story, Tavish sets out to find out what’s really going on. Tavish is an unlikely heroine. She is not exactly self-confident, has zero experience solving crimes and taking on bad guys, but she never gives up. Even when everyone writes her off, doesn’t believe her or calls her crazy. Even when she has been shot at, blown up and left for dead. Tavish, despite having no detective experience, is pretty good at investigating. I liked that this is a citizen-driven investigation and while she and FBI Agent Sawyer cross paths and work together at some points, they don’t unrealistically team up or are unnecessarily thrown together. Parks leaves the characters, Tavish in particular, to find their own way and answers, which I found refreshing. There are so many threads in Fragments of Fear. I like a good, thick plot and that is exactly what you get with this story. Along with all the action and life endangerment, there are threads of drug crime, art crime, artefact theft, murder, family drama complications, cons, and mysterious coverups, as well as a touch of romance and discovery of faith. Fragments of Fear is a detailed and well planned suspense novel, which I greatly enjoyed. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.
Ourpugs 9 months ago
Fragments of fear Definitely a lot involved in the book. Everywhere she went Takish got into some kind of trouble. Never was sure who was on her side, even her own mother. She really had quite the adventure. At the beginning of the book she inherited a dog. A different type of dog that is in most books. So she tries to figure out why the dog was in her name. One thing leads to another. This is my first book by the author. It definitely won’t be my last. I really enjoyed her writing. I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher through Celebrate Lit. This review is my own opinion.
LucyMR1 9 months ago
This is my first Carrie Stuart Parks book and it definitely will not be my last as I devoured this one. Loved that it keeps you guessing and on your toes throughout. I found this to be very inventive and smart writing that engrossed me from page one. Murders keep piling up and knowing who you can trust becomes a puzzle when your life is on the line. A complex story line and a real character in Tavish, as she suffers from panic attacks, who finds strength to keep going through her adversity. Throw in a lovable dog and you have the makings of a great story. This is not just a story of running for your life but of running the race towards Proverbs 3:5. Self perception is also addressed and how someone else sees us can be enlightening. Run to snatch this one up, as you won’t be disappointed. I received a complimentary copy from CelebrateLit/publisher. The honest review and opinions are my own and were not required.
ARS8 9 months ago
I was glued to the pages of Fragments of Fear which is an action packed thriller that does not stop or slow down till the final pages. Evelyn McTavish, or Tavish, is a lost soul who is very rich yet is searching for answers about life, wanting to find true love, and has no self-esteem at all. I am glad that she did have a healthy dose of self-preservation at least as she really needed it in the twists and turns on the rollercoaster ride her life decides to embark upon. This story has a lot of puzzle pieces that by the end fit all together to give a good picture of the story that you just read. I was hooked from page one, and like Tavish could not rest until she had some answers. And she needed them a plenty. Tavish had a problem with herself, so much so that when she started living a healthier lifestyle she did not see the outside changes that were happening to her. I understood that word picture, that she was overweight yet did not notice that she began losing weight and that everyone else was seeing her differenty. Her self-image was one that was cloaked in shame, lonliness, and self-pity. She was still wearing her “fat” clothes when she wasn’t that size anymore. I think the visual really helped as Tavish was changing on the inside as well. I get that and the book was all the more meaningful for it. I received a copy of this novel from the publihser. I was not required to post a positive review and all views and opinions are my own.
amandainpa 9 months ago
I have read one other book by Carrie Stuart Parks and I enjoyed it so I was looking forward to reading this one as well. I enjoyed many things about this story. Tavish, the main character was enjoyable to read about and I adored her relationship with Marley, the dog in the book. The setting of the story was also great and unique to me...it takes place in Albuquerque, New Mexico and there are several scenes in the deserts and canyons that were described very well. There was no shortage of action in this book. The plot moves very briskly and there were no moments when I felt that the story lagged or was slow. The content was very clean and appropriate and the faith message was presented well.  The plot was a bit complicated and full of many characters that I found difficult to keep track of at times. I also found that romance was definitely an instalove situation.  Overall, the mystery was interesting and kept me guessing and there were a few twists that I didn't see coming. I highly recommend this one to fans of suspense and action. I received this book from the author/publisher to review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 
Erin_Slocum 9 months ago
My Thoughts on Fragments of Fear: This book is very unique. It centers on art but then again it doesn’t. Some big takeaways from the book. Acceptance is important no matter what we look like. The negative space is real and we need to be looking for it and at it and the people who live there. Lies are all around us and hurt can come from even the closest relatives and the nicest people. What would you do to save someone you loved? If someone wasn’t who you thought they were which way would you remember them after they died? All these questions and thoughts plus so much more went through my head while reading Fragments of Fear. Art is definitely not my thing. I know nothing about it. All the names in the book were just that to me. I couldn’t tell you which were real artists and which weren’t. But that’s not the reason I picked up this book. I chose to read this book because I’m a lover of mystery, suspense, and murder books. But I don’t want the normal ones on the shelves. I want the murder mysteries that are written by Christian authors so I don’t have to worry about content that I don’t approve of. Nothing like getting into the midst of a really good mystery only to come across questionable content and have to stop reading. This book will not make you stop reading. Instead, it’s going to make you keep reading. You might take the book to the dining table, or even possibly the bathroom because you don’t want to set it down. While I figured out parts of the book before they were revealed there were some definite wow and you’ve got to be kidding me moments. Loved them! In fact, I loved the whole book. The style of writing is unique and flows really well. Nothing disjointed here. I loved the strength that the main character comes to have. She develops strength in herself and learns who she can and cannot trust. Of course, learning brings about some wrong decisions. But her knowledge of negative space keeps her relatively safe and thank goodness she happened to mention to Sawyer about negative space as well. It’s like their own secret code! Also, have you ever heard of a bad guy with a good heart? There might be one of those in here too. And let’s not get me started on that dog. Oh, how adorable. Tavish is so lucky that sweet pup got foisted on her. Highly recommend this book and I’m going to be checking out other books by this author now as well. I have voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from Celebrate Lit. All views expressed are only my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC regulations.
Randi_AMDFT 9 months ago
When I pick up a mystery or suspense book, I look forward to the mystery... of wondering who did it and how it all went down. From the very start, this book certainly had that going for it! The action started right from the first chapter and didn't stop until the very end. In the beginning though, it really had me as the reader questioning what was really going on. We 'see' what our main character Tavish sees, of course... but as the evidence disappears and given her already fragile mental state... you can't help but wonder... is this REALLY going on? Is it all in her head as the police believe? How does it all go together? That air of mystery kept me turning the pages to find out the truth. Nothing is quite what it seems, as information is slowly revealed- a fragment at a time- throughout the story. And I couldn't get enough! There is just a hint of romance in this one, which I believe fans of the romantic suspense genre can appreciate... but the mystery is really the primary focus here. As a Christian novel, of course there is some mention of God, but likewise, it's not in your face about it. As a Christian reader, I appreciated seeing that aspect of faith... but I believe that non-Christians could still enjoy this as a good, clean read without feeling as though they are being preached to as well. This is the first book that I had personally read from Carrie Stuart Parks. From my understanding based on thoughts from other reviewers, it seems as though this one might be rather different than her previous works that tend to deal more in forensics. Again, having not read anything else from her in the past, I cannot compare but I can say I really enjoyed the style of her writing and look forward to checking out more from her in the future. **I received a complimentary copy for consideration. All thoughts are 100% my own.
Librarycataloger 9 months ago
Evelyn McTavish is an accomplished artist but she seems to have a hard time realizing her self-worth. "Tavish" has apparently had a weight problem in the past so she has a poor self-image of herself, her relationship with her mother is very strained, and she has just buried her fiance when this book begins. Suddenly, she finds herself caretaker to a dog whose owner has been murdered and running from the person who probably killed him. As the story continues, Tavish and FBI Special Agent Sawyer Price work together to find answers as more murders are committed, art work is stolen and art forgeries are discovered. Along the way, Tavish has her car stolen, she becomes a walking target, and she finds her sanity being questioned. Who is behind this and why is she the target? Sawyer seems to want to protect her but are his motives honest and pure? Perhaps the only positive outcome from all of her problems is that Evelyn Yvonne McTavish finally begins a relationship with the Heavenly Father that her late beloved grandmother had encouraged her to find. I must admit that I don't often read stories set in New Mexico so I enjoyed the references to Albuquerque and the use of Native American artifacts in the plot. I also enjoyed the unending suspense and trying to guess just what was coming next. Fragments of Fear is filled with non-stop action and danger and I can see why other readers are so eager to Parks's books. This was my time to read a book by Carrie Stuart Parks but it won't be my last! I voluntarily received an Advance Reader's Copy from Thomas Nelson as part of JustRead Publicity Tours but I was not required to write a positive review.
ibjoy1953 10 months ago
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK  I really enjoyed this fast paced thriller from author Carrie Parks. Tavish seemed to get herself in trouble everywhere she went. When she finds her boyfriend dead, the street is so bad she finds herself chewying on her fingernail, a very bad habit. And her boyfriends death leads to a string of deaths, and she can’t seem to find the connection. Then she meets FBI Special Agent Sawyer Price, who not only is a bit attracted to Tavish, he wants to help her find answers. Tavish and Sawyer wiggled their way into my heart from the beginning. I love the unique and interesting characters created by Ms. Parks. They all played their parts so well in each scene of this highly rated thriller. Tavish was a mixed up young lady, she wasnt a Christian, instead she depended on her Crystal’s. And the supporting characters have their own unique qualities as well. There are so many twists and turns to this story. I tried throughout the book to figure out who did what, it was all so mixed up, it seemed like everyone was guilty. I love the way this author weaves all of the characters together with the horrific issues going on, and created an ending that was a shocker in some ways. Near the end, I had narrowed the killer down to a few, but I was still shocked at the results. I love when authors keep us guessing throughout the story. Especially authors like Carrie Parks, writing such twisted scenes, bringing every character into the picture. And I appreciate that Ms. Parks shows Tavish’s life before and after she gives her heart to Jesus. If you love a good clean thriller/mystery, this is the book for you. You will love this one! A copy of this book was given to me by the author or publisher. I am not required to write a positive review. The opinions here in this review are totally mine alone. I am disclosing this with my review in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
MelissaNC 10 months ago
Fragments of Fear is the newest suspense novel from Carrie Stuart Parks. It is quite action-packed from the very beginning. Tavish, the main character, is thrown into a mystery of her own when she finds a dead body, inherits a dog, and escapes many life threatening situations. She quickly figures out she has no idea who she can trust and she feels like the police think she is crazy so she sets out to figure out herself what is going on. I can tell you this, I did not see the ending coming. Totally took me by surprise. This is the first novel I have read of hers and it definitely will not be the last. *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers through Net Galley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
devonrexlover 10 months ago
I was so anxious to read this book. The synopsis was so interesting. Evelyn's boyfriend commits suicide. She ends up with a dog from the pound. It's chip has her name on it. She knows who the owner is and takes the dog to his house. She finds him murdered. So starts a non stop action book. Unfortunately, the writing just didn't measure up. Everything jumped around so fast I couldn't get involved in any story or character. From sentence to sentence could be a different subject. I would read whole sentences that didn't make sense. I would go back to re-read them and realise there were quotation marks on half the sentence, the rest of the sentence were thoughts. This was very distracting. The writing didn't flow and felt choppy as it jumped from one subject to another. The FBI agent was in very little of the story. He and Evelyn were together for such a short amount of time yet fell in love was very unrealistic. I really felt like I knew the dog Marley, the best. I've read some good reviews on this author and really want to try another of her books. I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley for my honest opinion.
caribougirl 10 months ago
Wow - what a fun ride! This book hit the ground running and did NOT let up! I literally could not put this one down. The entire book had so many twists and turns. While I didn't have any trouble keeping track, I was left guessing until the very end. Very well written suspense with just a hint of romance. There was also a solid faith thread that was not in the least preachy, but did come through loud and clear. Evelyn McTavish (known as Tavish) has recently lost her fiance. Though she refuses to believe it was suicide, the police do not give her any credence. While she's still grieving, she gets a call from an animal shelter to come and get her dog before they put it to sleep. Tavish has never had a dog, but she doesn't want to be responsible for an animal being euthanized, so she goes to check it out. Picking up the dog sets a whole series of events in motion that she could have never imagined. This book had a little bit of everything. An intense mystery with suspense, non-stop action, fun lovable characters, drama, great dialogue and little bit of romance. My only complaint (and this may be something that gets fixed in the final edits) was that though the book was written in 3rd person, it would shift to 1st person whenever someone was "thinking". It wasn't difficult to track - just a bit distracting. Since it didn't detract from the story at all (nor was it confusing), it did not take away any stars from my rating. I would strongly recommend for readers who enjoy inspirational mystery/suspense or romantic suspense. Special thanks to NetGalley for an advanced e-copy of this book. I was under no obligation to write a review and the thoughts contained herein are my own.
More_Than_A_Review 10 months ago
Fragments of Fear by Carrie Stuart Parks was a truly enjoyable read. I enjoyed this story and the mystery around it to the point I read it in less than 24 hours. Tavish was a mess and I like my heroines to have their life together. However you could not help but like her. The scenes with her and the dog were hilarious. Tavish has lost her grandmother and her fiancé. She deals with anxiety and uses all kinds of methods to try and calm herself. From biting her nails to crystals. Let me mention this is a Christian story but is not mentioned much throughout the book. Tavish suspects that her fiancé was murdered when the police think it is a suicide. Then she sees another murder and the police do not believe her. She meets Sawyer (loved that scene) who I really liked as a character. He is an FBI agent finishing an undercover job when they meet and he starts helping her. And best of all he believes her. Lots of action in the book. My favorite parts were watching Tavish develop and come into her own. Sexual content – none Violence – deaths, a body appears to have been tortured but no details, kidnapping, shooting, Language and drinking - none
CatheSwanson 10 months ago
With her usual deft characterization, Carrie Stuart Parks has brought to life a cast of unique and believable people (and dog) in Fragments of Fear. This book moves fast, with as many twists and turns as any thriller, without losing sight of the individuals’ character development. The book begins with a rather ditzy, anxiety-ridden woman, burdened with shock and sorrows, but as soon as I started getting impatient with her, the story shifted, and I was hooked. Each of the supporting characters is well-drawn and has a meaningful role in the story, just as every detail is important to the tightly-constructed plot. The author knows art and archaeology, and that expertise is obvious in the story. There’s also murder, theft, a disappearing corpse and chip technology in the mystery. The ending was surprising and satisfying. I had to look up the breed of dog in the story, because it sounded so unusual. Marley is a Puli. Google it. It’s action-packed suspense, all the way through, but there’s a little romance and a light faith theme. If you like thrillers and suspense, you will enjoy this one!