From a Dead Sleep (Sean Coleman Series #1)

From a Dead Sleep (Sean Coleman Series #1)

by John A. Daly

Paperback

$19.33 $19.95 Save 3% Current price is $19.33, Original price is $19.95. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

FROM A DEAD SLEEP 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
CuriousKitty More than 1 year ago
I had the pleasure of meeting John at a book signing. He approached me and talked to me about his book. I found him very personable and friendly. After speaking with him I had him sign my book and went on with the rest of my browsing. When I left I bid him good luck on his new book. I was already reading another book which i was nearly finished with. I had other books from the library that i intended to read first but I decided to wait and  read John's novel. I was quickly drawn into the story and didn't want to put the book down!! His characters are very well defined and interesting. I couldn't wait to see what happen with each of them. I found myself imaging what each of them looked like and sounded like as they spoke through the book. I didn't want to put the book down!! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I highly recommend it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Initially this book was somewhat difficult to follow as it jumps back and forth between two people who apparently have no connection, although later you see how they connect. Additionally Sean is sort of the antithesis of a hero; he’s just not a likeable guy and nowhere is this more emphasized than in his disgust or ignoring of the disabled child who (for some strange reason) idolizes him. However, you later see that while Sean is coarse and rough, he is, in a strange way, kind to the child. He never is outwardly cruel anyway. While Sean grows on you, he is a strange one. The jumping around gives you everyone’s perspective (and they are generally told in bulk clumps which helps). I didn’t like the book when I first started reading it, but before I was 1/3 of the way through I was totally hooked. It is not a style of writing I generally would choose to read, but it was a fun change. The story is written like a cross between “The Sopranos” and an old black and white detective movie (but with much better dialogue). I will definitely add this author to my keep in mind for my TBR list. I give this book 3.5 out of 5 clouds. This product or book may have been distributed for review; this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.
coziecorner More than 1 year ago
John pens "From A Dead Sleep" in a well written plot filled with mystery, suspense and drama. Between his well developed characters and all the twists and turns within the story line, you will find yourself having a really hard time putting the book down....I know I did! Highly recommended for all mystery and suspense fans. This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very deep, I liked it but hate the explanation of why Kyle did what he did well after the fact. It made me skip a head not knowing what happened to the story. It would have been better for me to have had that as a read before chapter one. Once it got going again then it was real good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is different from most who done it that I usually read! You get a super picture of each character. You get different perspectives from each person. It keeps you interested and wondering how it will end up!! Good read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kinda slow, but a good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my first review of a book on this medium, and I've read probably 200 or so, but I feel the need to thank the author for a great thriller. I love the hero in this novel, so different from the standard fare you find in books. It's dark, almost a noir quality that grabs you from the first page and only lets you breathe a few times until the end. I'm buying the rest of this series, and gobbling up anything else Mr. Daly has to offer...I suggest you do the same.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well developed, and from the perspective of the good AND bad guys!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was difficult to get into this book initially. However, I just did not want to put it down after it began to make sense to me. The characters are filled out enough to make you emphasize with their emotions whether you agreed with them or not. It certainly raised my heartbeat several times, plus I always like a happy ending. I will be wanting to read more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is rare for a suspenseful "murder mystery" novel to have such highly developed interesting characters; generally the author is focused on keeping the story moving and the characters fade into the background, overshadowed by the events that are taking place. However, From a Dead Sleep doesn't just keep the reader turning the pages following the action of the story, it also provides enough details about the characters to make them believable. From Sean Coleman, a misunderstood security guard whose prior life choices have left him as the town joke, to Toby Parker, the thirteen year old autistic child who is the one person in town who believes in Sean, to Kyle Kimble, the deaf accountant of a dangerous casino owner/drug dealer whose suicide sparks the events of the novel, each of the characters is far superior to the cookie-cutter stereotypes found in most suspense novels. The relationships and tensions between the characters provide a satisfying reading experience. The story, the characters, and the humor weaved throughout the heart-pounding action make From a Dead Sleep one of the best suspense novels I have ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book - can't wait to read the others in this series!