From the Hips: A Comprehensive, Open-Minded, Uncensored, Totally Honest Guide to Pregnancy, Birth, and Becoming a Parent

From the Hips: A Comprehensive, Open-Minded, Uncensored, Totally Honest Guide to Pregnancy, Birth, and Becoming a Parent

by Rebecca Odes, Ceridwen Morris

Paperback

$20.69 $22.99 Save 10% Current price is $20.69, Original price is $22.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

From the Hips: A Comprehensive, Open-Minded, Uncensored, Totally Honest Guide to Pregnancy, Birth, and Becoming a Parent 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Sareyn More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! It seems so different from other books about pregnancy. The writers approach the subject in a very honest, non-judgmental and open manner that is refreshing. It's also great to read all of the different ways people have experienced pregnancy and parenting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
breachbaby More than 1 year ago
I received this book as a gift and loved it so much I bought it for other pregnant friends. It's a great book for first time moms for pregnancy through the first year. I appreciated the fact that it covered many different options and choices. Most books have some method or technique they are pushing, this one did not. It made me not seem so crazy for choosing cloth diapers, or feel bad for choosing a daycare. My one complaint is that it would frequently reference another section of the book so you were frequently flipping back and forth. Overall it was my favorite pregnancy book.
SNA More than 1 year ago
I love this book! Unlike all the other pregnancy books I've purchased, this was the most straightforward and non-condescending. Because of the authors' divergent perspectives on all aspects of pregnancy, childbirth, and baby care, the book provides choices rather than dictates hard and fast rules. There is clearly no agenda they are pushing, as I have found with so many other pregnancy books. I am a first-time mom, and this is my go-to guide.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I needed a reference guide so I could understand my pregnancy, but after reviewing the classic standby, What to expect when you're expecting, I was quickly turned off. It was a scary medical journal. I am so glad I found From The Hips. It's current, very honest and makes me feel normal. I loved reading the countless stories from other mothers to be. It was very well organized and a joy to read. I highly recommend it. It tells you everything you need to know from pregnancy to birth to raising baby. Wonderful.
annarama on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
although this book is marketed for women of all ages, i found it to be especially geared towards the teen to early twenties crowd, in both its presentation and what it had to say.each page of this book is laid out like a magazine, with fancy typography, illustrations, vivid colors and various quotes thrown in here and there. it looks really cool. but, i found these things distracting since they broke up the flow of the main text. it's not so much a book you would read straight through, rather something you might open up and read a couple pages at a time, or search the index to read about particular topics.there is a lot of information in this book: the stages of pregnancy, birthing, becoming a parent and caring for a baby. the authors even touch on issues like the politics of hospital vs. home birthing, dealing with toxic relationships and insecurity issues. while i admire the sage advice to dump toxic friends and keep a positive attitude, i felt it was more appropriate for a younger crowd.this might be a good book to give to a teen, but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone older than 25.
miriad79 More than 1 year ago
This is the BEST book on pregnancy and parenting that I've read. The info is presented in an honest, realistic way. There is a lot of feedback from real moms, both positive and negative, about everything, which really reassured me after my kiddo was born. I felt like I was doing it wrong, that I wasn't feeling what I was supposed to be feeling, and this book let me know that I was NOT a total weirdo, and that I was part of a larger mom club that shared my feelings. I referenced this book during my pregnancy, I took it to the hospital with me when I had my daughter, and I found myself referencing it at 3am in those first weeks when I didn't know what I was doing. I got more out of a single chapter of this book than I did out of the whole of "What to Expect When You're Expecting". Highly, highly recommend.