Genius: The Game (Genius Series #1)

Genius: The Game (Genius Series #1)

by Leopoldo Gout

Hardcover

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

GENIUS: The Game 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
blamethebooks More than 1 year ago
Genius tells the story of three teen geniuses who are thrown into a competition run by one of the world's youngest CEOs and visionaries. They have no idea what they are getting themselves into when they join this competition, however, and chaos (and sometimes hilarity) ensues. My favorite thing about this book is how different it is from everything I am used to reading. I love science and math, but I don't indulge in books about those topics very often. And even within the YA genre, science fiction books don't always necessarily delve into the actual science. Genius included mathematical equations and discussions of everything from hacking and coding to solar panels and the inner workings of bugs. Yes, there were times when I didn't understand what the characters were talking about at all, but I still really appreciated these parts of the story and respected their place in the plot. I also absolutely loved the characters in this story. Tunde was absolutely adorable and I just wanted to squeeze him most of the time. And Painted Wolf was so cool! She was completely tough and badass, but she also had a vulnerable side. There were also parts of this book that made me absolutely laugh out loud. I'm not sure if that was the author's intention, but I was almost crying from laughing so hard. (If you have read this book and have met Charlie, you might know what I am referencing.) It was so refreshing to have these comical scenes thrown into a book that also deals with some heavy topics. I think the only thing that bothered me a little about this book (and this is a really small criticism) was the random Nigerian that was thrown in. Tunde would randomly throw in some Nigerian slang (which makes sense, because he is Nigerian), but there was no explanation of what the heck he was talking about. And none of the characters thought to ask, "Hey, dude, what does that mean?" I understand why the language is in the book, but I wish it had been handled a little differently, so I wasn't left wondering what Tunde was saying half the time. I read this entire book thinking it was a standalone (oops), so I was completely shocked by the ending. Even after realizing that this will be a series, I find myself dying to know what is going to happen next. I will definitely be picking up the next book so I can follow the adventures of Rex, Tunde, and Painted Wolf. I need to know what happens to them!
vampiregrl123 More than 1 year ago
Alright, here we go: time for another Sunday Street Team review! This book was very interesting. There were a couple things that turned me off about it, but I’ll get to that in a bit. The characters in this book were pretty cool. The novel was told in the POV of three different people: Rex, Tunde, and Cai, aka “Painted Wolf.” Each teen can do something special: Rex is a coder/hacker, Tunde is a machinist, and Painted Wolf is a activist blogger. All of them get invited to The Game, a competition designed to find the worlds geniuses. Each character has an ulterior motive for being there. On to the parts that bothered me. Leopoldo Gout created a language for Tunde and his people from Africa. The problem is, the language doesn’t make sense. There are a couple times where he explains what Tunde is saying, but most of the time he doesn’t. He uses a combination of English and what I assume is a made up language. The other thing that bothers me is all the smart talk. Gout uses math, and chemistry, and the like throughout the novel. He doesn’t use common terms either. He uses words and phrases that need explaining, which he doesn’t do. It really turned me off to the novel. I felt like it needed to be dumbed down so that I could follow along. While I enjoyed the story and the characters, there were a few things that turned me off, which is why my rating is lower than I wanted it to be.
pooled_ink More than 1 year ago
pooled ink Reviews: GENIUS is a pulse-pumping, head-shattering, thrill of a story. Sparking with coders, fabricators, and political tangos this little game of chess will keep you reading until the last piece has fallen and a new board has been set. A game within a game? Or was the Game simply the opening move? You’ll be dying to know what happens next. Read my FULL review here: https://pooledink.com/2016/04/19/genius-arc-review/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My whole family loves this book. I barely put it down until i was done
DownrightDystopian More than 1 year ago
**Thanks so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this book in exchange for an honest review!** Since I'm a huge science fiction fan, I knew that I had to check out Genius: The Game. The book itself is so pretty. The pages are filled with images that go along with the story, which was such a plus. Genius: The Game follows a group of three geniuses who join together to participate in a competition after only being friends online. I think that my most favorite part of this story was the characters honestly. Rex has been looking for his brother as a hacker and he lives in the United States. Tunde is from Africa and Painted Wolf is from China. I found it so great that each character was from such a different place yet they all had the same goal in mind. Another thing that I really enjoyed was the amount of technology. I'm a huge science fiction geek so of course I get all excited when there's lots of cool technology. The competition itself was also very interesting and I loved that there were multiple point of views which allowed me to learn way more than I would have if it had only been one point of view. At the end of the book, my only complaint was the killer cliffhanger ending! I'm not sure if the book is going to be part of a series, but the ending definitely left me wanting to know more. I know that I will for sure be recommending this book to any science fiction or technology fan!
Aisha Soto More than 1 year ago
Genius: The Game, written by Leopoldo Gout, is the kind of book I usually don’t reach for. Once I read the synopsis, I was really interested to see what it was all about. I’m so happy that I decided to request it. Genius: The Game is quite unique. The story sprouts into an exciting, fast-paced adventure. It leaves you wanting more once you finish reading it. Let’s get into my likes and the one facet of the book that I felt was a bit lacking. LIKES 1. The main characters and their motives. Each MC is quite diverse, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Rex, a coder, is a Mexican-American from California. Tunde, whose POV I enjoyed the most, is an engineer from Nigeria. Painted Wolf is a female activist blogger. How cool is that? Not only do you get to see their POV’s, you also get to understand what their personal motives are for wanting to be chosen for “The Game.” 2. Graphics. I have to admit that one of my favorite parts of the book was the graphics. There are pictures, code examples, and diagrams. I truly feel that they lent themselves to the fun aspect of the novel. 3. Overall concept. Genius: The Game has a great overall concept that was developed wonderfully. Imagine the top geniuses in the world coming together for a competition. Of course, there are ulterior motives for the competition, which you get to find out before, during, and after the competition takes place. 4. Information. I was worried that I wouldn’t understand a majority of the book because the MCs are geniuses. I’m so glad that I was wrong. Gout provided the necessary information for you to grasp what certain codes or technology is meant for (in case you don’t already know). For instance, I’ve never heard of a quantum computer, but Gout did explain certain aspects of what it is. Without this information, I know I would’ve been lost. Another thing to note is that the short, concise information doesn’t take away from the story. DISLIKE 1. Inability to connect with the characters. Personally, when I read a story, I want to be able to really connect with the characters. It helps me to really become invested with the story as a whole. In the case of the characters in Genius: The Game, I didn’t connect or get attached to them as much as I would’ve liked. I think it was partly because I got to know more about their extraordinary talents and skill than whom they were deep inside. I’m really hoping that Genius: The Game is a series! I will definitely be on the lookout for news concerning this book. I was amazed at how easily I was able to get into it, and most importantly, how much I enjoyed it. I cannot wait to see what happens next :). I received this book from NetGalley and the Publisher for an honest review.
yaratrv More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story. The three characters taking turns narrating are best friends online and repeatedly show their friendship matters, which I really liked. The drawings were distracting, and though the story flowed well enough, it was a bit clunky at times. Even though the whole story was a bit outlandish (I mean, getting the top 200 smartest teens/ kids together on a last minute game, no parental supervision, all expense paid trip to Boston for a top secret game? Sure..), I I found parts too unbelievable, which is why I gave it 3 stars. I loved, loved, loved Cai and Rex. I was totally shocked at the deception one of the major characters displayed at the end, and the ending was cliff hanger enough that I'm really interested in knowing what happens next.
BoundlessBookaholic More than 1 year ago
This was kind of interesting, but it didn’t meet my expectations. I received a copy from Netgalley to review, and ended up giving this book 3 out of 5 stars. So here’s the thing…I didn’t hate this book, but I didn’t love it either. The ending kind of sucked and just left the story hanging. I really hate cliffhangers, especially if there’s no second book being published/talked about. I liked the characters for the most part, but I felt like I didn't really get to know them that well, other than their skills that got them into the Game. And the little more besides their skills that I did get to know about Rex, Tunde, and Painted Wolf, I felt unsatisfied with the lack of closure. The different cultures and POVs were overall interesting, and the Game concept was also cool. But the Game felt a little anti-climactic. There were only a couple challenges. I figured they’d be run through a lot of challenges, narrowing down the competitors slower than they did, especially with how much the company paid to get all these people to the Game. The Game seemed like a big waste of money. The other problems that Rex, Tunde, and Painted Wolf faced were just left incomplete by the end of the book. The one thing that took up a lot of Tunde’s POV/time with the warlord was kind of resolved, but I wanted to see it play out more. I felt like you didn’t get closure with that situation. I wanted to see what happened with Painted Wolf next after the Game, especially with what team she ended up on and how they did. I wanted to see what happened with Rex after the end. There was a twist towards the end of the book that just had me staring. It felt so out of place, and weird. I just wanted…more. I did like the hint of romance that was weaved into the story a little bit. Final note: It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either, in my opinion. I think there could have been a lot more of the Game. I really wanted more closure on what happened with Rex, Painted Wolf, and Tunde. Hardcore sci-fi fans might like this more than me.
tpolen More than 1 year ago
I really had a good time with this book. If you have a background in computers, math, engineering - add Genius to your list. A lot of technical jargon and diagrams are included, which I didn't understand - way above my pay grade, and add a level of authenticity to the story. Three engaging and diverse MCs, each with their own problems and secrets, make this fast-paced novel a serious page-turner. Genius is loaded with suspense, an intelligent thriller that would have strong appeal to any YA readers interested in STEM. If there were any negatives for me, it would be the Game itself. I never quite understood if the goal of the competition was to work for the young CEO, have the opportunity to meet him, or something else. The backgrounds of some young geniuses made me question exactly how they fit in with all the computer, engineering, and science types; however, it wasn't difficult to overlook these things - I was too engrossed in the story to think much about it. I'm unsure if a sequel is planned for this book - although I certainly hope one is in the works. Thanks to NetGalley for the digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Rebecca_J_Allen More than 1 year ago
Starring... Rex – a 16 year old Mexican-American coder Cai – a 16 year old Chinese blogger/activist Tunde – a 14 year old Nigerian engineer who up-cycles garbage into technology for his Nigerian village These teens are online friends who get the opportunity to meet IRL (in real life) for the first time when they’re invited to a competition hosted by the world’s top tech visionary, Kiran Biswas. Winners will receive spots on Kiran’s team doing cutting-edge tech development. Um…yes, I’ll read that arc, please! To win the competition, Rex, Cai and Tunde will need to outsmart the top two hundred teen minds in the world. They have to do this while each of them simultaneously faces a threat to himself/herself or their family. I was particularly drawn in by the plight of Tunde, who has never been far from his small village, let alone to Boston, where the competition is being held. His family is held captive by a Nigerian military warlord. His parents and his entire village will be wiped-out unless Tunde both wins the contest and develops a new, powerful weapon and delivers it to the warlord, forcing him to choose between saving his family and helping a vicious killer. Genius: The Game is tightly written and, of course, has tons of cool technology. Readers who love games, tech, and conspiracies will love it! Release date: May 3.
YoungMensanBookParade More than 1 year ago
Kiran Biswas, 18 year old tech genius and head of his own business, invites 200 of the brightest kids around the world to compete in the Game. Three friends, each from a different part of the world and with their own special talents, all get pulled into the Game. Rex, a coder from California who can make a program for almost anything you could ever think of; Tunde, a Nigerian boy engineer who built an entire solar power system for his remote village; and Painted Wolf, a mysterious Chinese blogger and activist who exposes the corruptness of China's business leaders. They were friends long before the game, but had never met in person until the fateful day when they all got invitations. But little did they know how much was in store for them, whether it be being blackmailed into helping an evil warlord or being framed for hacking every major corporation on the globe, the Game isn't just tricky puzzles and riddles like they thought. This realistic-fiction book is a perfect read for any middle to high schooler who likes any field in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math). Other readers will enjoy this book because of its funny, smart, and relatable narrators as well as its in depth technology diagrams and mind-puzzling riddles. My favorite part is the unexpected twist at the end, which will leave you begging for more! Overall, Genius the Game is a smart, funny, and interesting story perfect for any tech lovers, science geeks, math prodigies, and engineering marvels, and everyone else in between. review by Owen L., age 14, Delaware Valley Mensa
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had a lot of talk computer coding and technical terms which made it interesting, but a bit hard to understand at times. I am excited to see how the next book turns out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a great book! I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why is there no more than five star rating