Getting a Grip

Getting a Grip

by Monica Seles

Hardcover

$23.40 $26.00 Save 10% Current price is $23.4, Original price is $26. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Getting a Grip 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Bharath More than 1 year ago
Monica Seles' autobiography as expected, lives upto the standards of an awesome read. The simplicity of the book appeals to the reader right from the first page. Truly inspirational and motivating is how I would describe this book. The journey of Monica from her early tennis days to the days of "Dancing with the Stars" grips the reader. I felt as if some one out there had and is experiencing what I had been through many times in my life. I would like to thank the author for sharing her experience. Kudos Monica! Please(Please) keep writing.
Zoe-C More than 1 year ago
One of the best sports books I have ever come across, but it's much much more than a run of the mill athlete memoir. Monica takes the reader on a journey into the bizarre world of professional tennis, what it takes to build a champion and the personal sacrifices you have to make to stay at the top. She also goes into detail about the stabbing and the devastating loss of her father who was also her coach. For years I wondered why she never regained her former glory and now I understand why. It is an inspiring and motivating story that isn't just about tennis. I highly recommend it!
ktwtennis More than 1 year ago
As a hard-core Monica Seles fan, my expectations going in were probably high and this review may be slightly biased as a result. However, I really feel like this is an extremely well-written book and it really has some good insights into life in general. If you're a tennis fan, this is a must read, as it chronicles the life of what a pro tennis player goes through. Monica really holds nothing back, and I'm just so happy for her.
wheelsquilts More than 1 year ago
Monica Seles has long been a hero in the eyes of many tennis fans. Hearing from her perspective about the horrendous stabbing incident that sidetracked her amazing career is one aspect that makes this book a moving read. Her candid telling of her struggles with compulsive eating is courageous and inspiring. Whether you are a tennis fan or not, this book is a compelling story. I couldn't put it down.
mktgyr More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of Monica Seles, you will not want to put this book down. It takes courage to put yourself out there especially when you are in the public eye. Monica's story is exciting, interesting, intriguing, sometimes sad, heart wrenching, but most of all human. I personally loved watching Monica play tennis. I was sadden by the terrible stabbing incident that happened to her. Anyone who has lost their father and had a close relationship with him, can relate to Monica's plythe. I am glad that Monica Seles has been able to get on with her life after tennis and all that she has been through. Her story is a great read!!
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
I used to watch tennis when Monica Seles played and I lived in Queens. It was an exciting time. I also remembered when she was stabbed, but by that time I had stopped watching tennis as my life became more complicated. I read a little about her life and recently heard she was on "Dancing with the Stars". Since I was a fan, I picked up her memoir, "Getting a Grip: On My Body, My Mind, My Self" and I am not disappointed that I did. Seles has written an excellent book about her life on and off the court, her struggles with the stabbing and the aftermath and also the death of her father. She became depressed and gained weight which made her unhappy and she began to hate herself. Tennis was her life, but through her inner strength she overcame her fears and problems. She is a down to earth person and writes with such honesty about her experiences.
RichardMGounEsq More than 1 year ago
Monica Seles is a brilliant writer and a champion both on and off the tennis court. I enjoyed her new book cover to cover and there is much wisdom to be found in this book and in the person and life of Ms. Seles. I had long felt that Monica Seles was one of the all-time greats, male or female, as a tennis champion and she turns out to be an equally superior human being! I found the book to be engaging, warm, positive and highly intelligent. Ms. Seles writes from the heart and the truth just flows from her book. I was fortunate to meet and to speak with Ms. Seles at the release of the book and signing held at Barnes & Noble at MarketFair, Princeton, New Jersey on April 21, 2009, and came away most impressed by the generosity and warmness of this terrific person. She is down-to-earth and sociable and you feel that she is just the type of person that anyone would want as their friend. I had the feeling that she is great company and how a person should be. I think that she would even enjoy hitting with a club level tennis player as she clearly loves tennis and life and has achieved major success in both. Ms. Seles and her book are definite winners!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! Great reading for anyone that has ever struggled with weight issues, injuries, rough times, and career setbacks. Monica details it all with grace and a healthy dose of good humor. You go, Monica!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago