Getting Hot with the Scot: A Sometimes in Love Novel

Getting Hot with the Scot: A Sometimes in Love Novel

by Melonie Johnson

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.19 $7.99 Save 10% Current price is $7.19, Original price is $7.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Getting Hot with the Scot: A Sometimes in Love Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
Xantippi 4 months ago
Received an advance copy from NetGalley. I loved this story, the characters were well developed and draw you in. The story line has it all...romance, comedy and angst. I didn't want to stop reading this book once I started.
MaimeosAngelsEL 4 months ago
Melonie Johnson is a new author to me and I have to say I really enjoyed this story. This was an entertaining read full of fun and with plenty of humour; there were timers that I laughed so much my face ached. Cassie Crow,has one goal in mind and that is to become known as a a serious journalist. However when she meets hunky Scott,Logan Reid she decides that she can afford to have one night of fun, after all what could be the harm? Shockingly it is Logan who wants more than a one night stand and with this in mind he pursues Cassie. The question is can Logan convince Cassie to take a chance on them? The characters were both extremely likeable and easy to relate to and the chemistry and tension was smoking hot as they navigated their relationship. All in all this was one of those little gems that I really loved. This may have been my first story from this author but it will not be the last.
ViperSpaulding 4 months ago
Wonderful slow-burn romance! Cassie and Logan have the kind of chemistry that's hard to ignore, but their careers are steadfastly in the way. Their romance is destined to burn as hot as a firecracker, and burn out just as quickly. Their London vacation time is the stuff of fantasy romance, and it's exquisitely done. All but extinguished by the ending even they saw coming, their romance gets a post-vacation resurrection that forces both characters to get right to the heart of the matter. I loved every page of this epic romance, loved getting to know her friends and his family, and loved the two-steps-forward-one-step-back pacing of their romance. Nothing is easy in love, but this beautiful story shows that it's well worth fighting for. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
Lit_Litehosue 3 days ago
Who wouldn't want to find a sexy Scot in a kilt hanging out in a castle when they are on vacation?? Cassie and her friends are on the holiday of a lifetime and when she meets Logan it's not only sparks flying, but little explosions. Getting Hot with the Scott is a fun and quirky story with some awesome characters.
BuckeyeAngel 10 days ago
Cassie Crow, a pop-culture reporter for a TV talk show, is focused on becoming a “serious” journalist. But when she stumbles into a kilted Highlander with a killer accent, Cassie decides that taking one night off from work and spending it with a sexy Scot couldn’t hurt. . . Logan Reid has built a career on his charm, hosting a series of off-the-wall hijinks on the Web. But when the Scottish prankster meets the all-American, equal parts intelligent and irresistible Cassie, Logan realizes that one night of fun won’t be enough. Could it be that this career-focused, commitment-phobic couple is finally ready to take a chance at true and lasting love? It’s not too often that a contemporary book can hold my attention until the very end, but this one managed to do it. I really enjoyed both main characters as well as all of the side characters.I liked the interactions from start to finish, even if it was predictable. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read more from this author. I highly recommend. **I voluntarily read and reviewed this book
RobinLovesReading 3 months ago
Cassie Crow is a pop-culture reporter but has bigger aspirations than her job on a television talk show. She is focused on becoming a journalist and wants to be taken more seriously. For now, she is on vacation with a few friends and they are now in Scotland. When she sees a Highlander in a kilt, Cassie immediately has a bunch of ideas as to what she'd like to do with him, Logan Reid has a pretty interesting career that is based mainly on hijinks, but mostly on charm. He meets the delectable American, Cassie, and quickly discovers that one night of fun is hardly enough. When she returns to America after her trip, Logan finds a good excuse to follow her. This was a cute little story. Cassie and Logan each had dreams, and a future together seemed hardly impossible. Watching them travel down this road made for enjoyable reading. Meanwhile, Cassie's friends were a hoot and no doubt will each have a role in future stories. This debut novel by Melonie Johnson was quite an wonderful read that was remarkably well-done. I look forward to going further in this delectable series, and will soon be reading Smitten by the Brit, which will be out soon, as well as Once Upon a Bad Boy, which will be released in June. Many thanks to St. Martin's Press and to NetGalley for this ARC to be reviewed in exchange for my honest opinion.
killerbugz 3 months ago
3.5 stars This was a cute book, with themes of hurt/comfort and reinventing your life. The writing was good, too. I liked Cassie’s fierce determination and her willingness to forgive, and eventually I understood Logan’s quirkiness as well. My complaint with the book was that Ms. Johnson was trying to introduce enough characters to build a series, and it was not done smoothly. Five women go on the vacation of a lifetime, 5 years after graduating college (how are they making enough, and how could they take 6 weeks off?). I kept getting them confused because they pretty much all sounded alike, and there were so many unnecessary scenes that were there just so we’d get to know them a little. Eventually, the author gave up on two of them and sent them off shopping whenever something was happening. This all combined to make the first 2/3 of the book move very slowly. Once Cassie got back home, things picked up and got pretty interesting. The ending was wonderful. This was a good commuting book, as I could put it down and take it back up again later without feeling too worried about the characters in the meantime. I’m going on to read Bonnie’s story, because I really want to know how she and Theo will surmount their obstacles. I received an advance copy from NetGalley in return for my honest review.
DoveArt 3 months ago
This book was such a pleasant surprise from a new author. It was entertaining and engaging, with likable main and supporting characters. I really enjoyed Melonie Johnson's smooth and detailed writing style and I am looking forward to enjoying entire series! Thanks to NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
MLH438 3 months ago
Getting Hot with the Scot is the first book in Melonie Johnson's Sometimes in Love series and delights with steamy romance and charming, well-written characters that grab you and don't let go. Cassie Crow meets Logan Reid while on a European vacation with her girlfriends. She's looking for a hot fling and definitely finds just what she wants in Logan, but they must decide if a fling will be enough. "Logan Reid was certainly delicious. But tempted as she was to have a second helping, Cassie knew he was an indulgence best not repeated." Cassie is tempted into many helpings! The fling with Logan blossoms into a relationship, but the road to HEA is not without potholes, as what happened in Scotland doesn't stay in Scotland! I'm definitely looking forward to the rest of the series, as Johnson introduced wonderful secondary characters, Bonnie and Theo, who are set up for their own story. I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
Christine_QueenofBooks 4 months ago
Excellent start to a fun new series! (Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for an e-arc!) Getting Hot with the Scot by Melonie Johnson was such a fun read! Who among us hasn't imagined a hot little vacation fling? The only problem for Cassie: She's been on a Eurotrip with four girl friends, and the fling just hasn't materialized. Never mind, there are castles to be explored and whisky to be sipped - and oh, hey, a sexy Scot in a kilt. Yup. This book goes all the way there. And then it dials it back to reality really quickly (as all vacations must come to an end). I liked the way Johnson structured the plot, as well as the cast of characters she developed - especially Logan's family, and that Cassie had more than one friend! (The woman with just one close friend has always struck me as a strange feature of so many romcoms.) These characters felt like people, not like two-dimensional romantic leads. There are certainly some steamy bits, but I'd say this one is too plot-forward for me to label it a steamy romance (though do expect sex scenes). And the language - oh, the language. Getting Hot with the Scot took me about an extra half hour to read because I kept highlighting and looking up Scottish slang terms - love! This is the first in a series, and I just know I'll be picking up the rest, which (so far) follow the women featured in this book. I need to know what happens to my favorites!
sbart84 4 months ago
Getting Hot with the Scot is a debut romantic comedy that you don't want to miss. Cassie is on a dream vacation with her best friends, and has one thing left to do on her "to do list", and Logan is the perfect match at least she thought so. Little does Cassie know that Logan is setting this meeting up as a prank for the filming of his show. Now can Logan make up to Cassie once she returns to the states. This was such a fun book to read, so many laugh out loud moments. Great sexual chemistry between them. Loved the dialogue and banter between them. I'm looking forward to reading much more from this author.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Hot indeed! There's nothing like a hunky Scotsman with the goods to back up his swagger. And boy does Logan have the goods...sexy and funny. What a wonderful hero he is. And the sizzling chemistry between him and Cassie is insane. I was captivated from the couple's amusing and steamy first encounter to the end of their journey. What a pair of fantastic characters created by this talented author. I loved the wonderful cast of characters in the five long-time girlfriends and can't wait for their stories. The author gave each one of the girls such entertaining individual characteristics that are unique to each. The story moves at an easy pace with wonderful humor, a sweet and sexy romance and some drama. You can't get around drama with five American girls on a five country vacation. And then there's Logan's quest to advance his career that involves Cassie which she's wants no part of and has the possibility of exploding their budding relationship. The story has a very organic feel to it that puts you right into each situation as it unfolds and had you either laughing at the antics of swooning over the romance. For a debut Ms. Johnson has a stunner. Truly fabulous! I voluntarily reviewed an ARC.
Fredreeca2001 4 months ago
Cassie and her girlfriends are on a trip to Scotland. They are stressing because they have not seen a hot Scot in a kilt yet. I mean, it is one of their ultimate goals. Cassie accidentally strays off course on a castle tour and ends up being kissed by a real live Scotsman! Then she finds out it is all a prank. But, she just can’t keep her hands off this man! Cassie and Logan have the HOTS for each other. But, Cassie has other ideas. She is career focused and Logan is not up to her caliber. He is a little too laid back. But, there is just something about him that draws Cassie to him. Logan is determined not to let her get away. He even takes a gig closer to her in the states. Things really heat up then! Well, well, well, I have found a new romance author! I literally laughed out loud at some of the great one liners in this book and the attraction between Cassie and Logan is pure enchantment. With this crew in this tale, there is no telling what will happen in the next installment. Make sure you visit my instagram for a giveaway for this wonderful book. @reecaspiecesbooks. I received this novel from St. Martin’s press for a honest review.
Fredreeca2001 4 months ago
Cassie and her girlfriends are on a trip to Scotland. They are stressing because they have not seen a hot Scot in a kilt yet. I mean, it is one of their ultimate goals. Cassie accidentally strays off course on a castle tour and ends up being kissed by a real live Scotsman! Then she finds out it is all a prank. But, she just can’t keep her hands off this man! Cassie and Logan have the HOTS for each other. But, Cassie has other ideas. She is career focused and Logan is not up to her caliber. He is a little too laid back. But, there is just something about him that draws Cassie to him. Logan is determined not to let her get away. He even takes a gig closer to her in the states. Things really heat up then! Well, well, well, I have found a new romance author! I literally laughed out loud at some of the great one liners in this book and the attraction between Cassie and Logan is pure enchantment. With this crew in this tale, there is no telling what will happen in the next installment. Make sure you visit my instagram for a giveaway for this wonderful book. @reecaspiecesbooks. I received this novel from St. Martin’s press for a honest review.
GratefulGrandma 4 months ago
Cassie and her four friends have finally taken their trip to Europe, that they planned back in their freshman year of college. They are on their last leg of the journey presently in Scotland, moving on to London, England.  Cassie has wanted to have one fling with a man on this trip, but as their travels wind down, her box of condoms is still full. While visiting Edinburgh Castle, she wanders into an off-limits room, and comes face-to-face with the man of her dreams, a Highlander with red, unruly hair wearing a kilt. Little does she know that when she throws her inhibitions out the window, that her life will change forever. Will this just a vacation fling or something much more, that she had not planned for?I wish I had four friends like Cassie does. They are so much fun. They work hard to try to get Cassie and Logan together, for more than just a fling. Cassie Crow is a hostess on a morning show in Chicago, but she has big plans. She wants to be involved in more serious reporting and has her life somewhat planned out, she does not have room or time to become a laughing-stock caused by Logan's web-show "Shenanigans". Logan Reid and his sister are internet sensations with their show "Shenanigans". Logan plays practical jokes on all sorts of people, but will the joke that Cassie stumbled into be worth the harm to her and a possible relationship? I loved Logan's character. He was a hurt little boy, hiding in a man's body. I enjoyed seeing him grow and change throughout the story.This was a sweet story. Logan was indeed a sexy Scot and Cassie a shy, driven woman who sizzled when they were together. I enjoyed watching things develop between them, and was rooting for a happy ending. There were a few slow parts in the story, particularly once they were back in Chicago, but otherwise, the story was well-paced and I read through it pretty quickly. I am looking forward to the next story with Bonnie (Cassie's best friend) and Theo (Logan's best friend). I had a feeling reading this one that something will develop between them once Bonnie dumps Gabe, her fiance that seems to be quite happy with the status quo. All in all, this was a fun, sexy book and I recommend it to romance lovers who enjoy a happily ever after with a lot of sizzle. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon my request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.
JennieF 4 months ago
ARC for honest review with no compensation received from NetGalley and St. Martin's Press Getting Hot with the Scot by Melonie Johnson is book 1 in the Sometimes in Love series and a new to me author. Cassie and her friends come to Europe on vacation and while in Scotland and touring a castle, Cassie gets turned around after going to the restroom and finds herself in another part of the castle that is off limits...but she ends up meeting a very Hot Scot, Logan Reid who is filming his escapades for his web site. What happens next is funny, charming, entertaining, hot fling, and sparks! Will these two find a HEA or will it just be a vacation fling??
CathyGeha 4 months ago
Getting Hot with the Scot by Melonie Johnson Sometimes in Love #1 Cassie Crow and her friends have been planning their trip to Europe for years and finally, about five years after they graduate from college, they have gone on their dream trip together. This book begins in Scotland and is the first in a series of books that will no doubt showcase each of Cassie’s friends and how they find the person who will become t heir partner in life. But, this is Cassie and Logan’s story. Cassie is in a Castle and happens upon a hunky kilted Scot inside a library wall. Is he a time traveler or??? Well...when Cassie realizes that the tall gorgeous redhead with the brogue is Logan Reid, prankster extraordinaire, she put the kibosh on his hopes of putting the impromptu kiss they shared onto his website. Not wanting to give up on getting her to sign the release form he puts the moves on to see if he can change her mind. Little does he know that HER goal is to have a torrid European fling while on her dream vacation. And thus begins their journey toward a HES...maybe. Beginning in Scotland they move on to England, seems to end, picks up again in Chicago and continues on from there. How they manage to find their HEA involves some maneuvering, includes Cassie’s friends and sets the reader up for book two that will be the story of one of Logan’s friends getting together with one of Cassie’s friends – these two meet on the European vacation, too. This book had a New Adult feel to it so my guess is it will be a favorite with those who read this genre. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC – This is my honest review. 3-4 Stars
MJHughes12 4 months ago
Steamy, sexy vacation fling? Yes, please! Getting Hot with the Scot was a fun read that left me wanting to hop on a plane and find me my own kilted vacation souvenir! Logan was all sorts of fun but it’s so obvious that he uses his humor as a bit of a shield to keep things light and not let people in. He’s got some heavy baggage that he’s holding onto and at points I wasn’t sure if Cassie would be able to work her way fully into his heart. Cassie was so much more than the “vacation fling” girl we were introduced to in the beginning of the book. She’s got a career that poised to take off and she’s got a heart of gold. These two had so many things to work through – from the opening prank to commitment issues - and I just loved watching these to find themselves and then each other as they finally realized what their relationship was. My favorite part of this book was Cassie’s friends that she traveled with. They were so much fun and had me wishing I could join the group and have some adventures with them. They always had each other’s backs and I loved how they encouraged Cassie when she needed a push to let herself go and have some fun. Their antics when it came to the opposite sex had me laughing out loud, and Sadie and Ana were such a hoot! And Logan’s friend Theo was such a great wingman – and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for him and Cassie’s best friend Bonnie in the next book. With a well-developed plot and some really great characters that worked together to tell Logan and Cassie’s story, I am very impressed with this author’s debut! There were a couple of spots that did slow down just a bit for me since there was a bit of world-building that needed to happen to set up the next books in the series, but overall this was a well-written book that was light and fun but also had moments that had me feeling some serious emotions right along with the characters. This is definitely one to add to your TBR shelf!
momof3boysj 4 months ago
Cassie goes on the vacation of a lifetime with her best girlfriends.She has a surreal moment in a castle only to find it was a set-up from a TV show. Tempted by the Scot, Logan, she has a hot night with him, but she doesn't sign the release for the footage. There's a definite spark, and he follows her to London. They have a wonderful time alone and with friends until she finds the waiver. Mad, she signs it an leaves for the USA. Logan's in the US for a new opportunity and happens to be in the same town as Cassie. He looks her up, they make peace and start a new relationship, even spending the holidays together. She has a new job, too, and things are going well....till they don't. It will take a grand gesture to get these two together for the HEA. Loved this story! **Received a review copy on netgalley
Jackie Dye 4 months ago
YES! This book was the kind of romance that wraps you up in its storyline, with fantastic characters, quirky humor, emotional upsets, and magnetic connections! Once I started reading, I couldn't stop! Melonie Johnson has created a unique, beautifully written story that just felt like it needed to be told!! I am so curious to see what happens between Bonnie and Theo! This author has a new fan! I highly suggest checking this book out for yourself!
dSouthernGal 4 months ago
I received a (ARC) copy of this book through netgalley and it delivered a hot sexy romance to be sure. I loved the five girlfriends vacation plan as a theme throughout this book. As it provides an interesting background to this story. Cassie Crow's one wish in this vacation is to have one, hot night romance. as a remembrance, before she devotes all her time, in becoming a serious journalist. She thinks it will never be as they are on one of the last legs of their trip, Scotland. They are visiting a castle, where she gets lost and finds a passage way, where she meets a hot looking, Scottish highlander with a perfect scottish brogue (the fantasy man of her dreams). The attraction is immediate on bothsides, and they share a kiss. A kiss that was way more potent than she’d expected—. Only it turns out, the hot sexy kilted highlander is Logan Reid, a internet celebrity, pulling a prank for his internet podcast, in hopes of snagging an invitation to do a Tv series. But Cassie refuses to sign a release form. So Logan (in hopes of getting her to sign), extends an invitation for a drink, but the attraction between the two, ends them some place else. And the story begins.
Robindpdx 4 months ago
This was a fun, sexy, well-written book. Cassie is working on transitioning from a pop-culture reporter to a "serious" journalist. On a vacation to Europe with her best friends, she has a one-night fling with a sexy Scot. Logan has built a career filming pranks and posting them on the Web. After spending a night with Cassie, he doesn't want it to end there. Cassie and Logan were funny and adorable and so were their friends and family members. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more books in this series. I would recommend this book and the series to others.
NadineBookaholic 4 months ago
Cassie Crow and four of her friends are off to Europe for a trip of a lifetime, each of them have chosen a destination they would love to visit after graduating from college and now, five years later their dream has become a reality. Logan is a jokester, he makes his living by pranking people and uploading it onto YouTube but now he has a chance to further his career with a television show in America, and an unknowing Cassie walks right into his trap. I haven't laughed this hard in a LOOOOONNNNGGG time! There were parts that I was afraid I would choke on the drink I was drinking or worse spit it out all over the person seated next to me. The laughs were just one part that made this book a great read, the chemistry between Logan and Cassie was the other. These two couldn't keep their hands off one another, and honestly with a man in a kilt who could blame Cassie. This was a fun, sweet, and sexy read that had me wanting to get to know each of the secondary characters more. I am sooooo looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Great start to Melonie Johnson's debut into Contemporary Romance! Happy Reading!!! **I have voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Readers Copy of this book for my Blog, Nadine's Obsessed with Books**
CynYoung 4 months ago
I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book. I liked how Logan and Cassie meet in this story. The setting of the story was also fun. Logan seems a bit immature at the beginning in the way that he handles various situations. Eventually, we see a different side to Logan which adds depth to his character. Both Cassie and Logan are likable and the story is enjoyable.
tiggeruoSO 4 months ago
Five friends go on a dream vacation and Cassie is looking for a hot guy to fulfill her other dream, hot sex. When she stumbles into the wrong room in a castle they are touring it seems she may have taken a step back in time. I was not a real fan of this book I found Logan completely immature through 90% of the book, I found him board line annoying. I like Cassie and her friends but I also found her some what immature. I thought they were in there twenties, but they acted like they were just out of high school with there antics. Towards the end of the book it did feel like they did grow up some however it seemed a little to late for me. There is a lot of sex but not a lot a chemistry. I did not find this book was for me.