Ghosted: A Novel

Ghosted: A Novel

by Rosie Walsh

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.73 $16.00 Save 2% Current price is $15.73, Original price is $16. You Save 2%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ghosted 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Read it in one day. Great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really didn't want this book to end. Definitely a page Turner. This author really knows how to capture her audience and keeps you in suspense!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The+very+best+book+I+have+read+in+so+long.++Quite+a+mystery%2C+and+so+sad+..+but+extraordinarily+exciting+all+at+the+same+time.+I+will+be+recommending+this+book+to+my+friends.++So+glad+I+came+across+this+book%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved these characters and the unpredictability of this story!
INpurplereader More than 1 year ago
Ghosted has such a relatively new cultural definition of ending an intense emotional relationship abruptly, without communication, or a known cause. Using this as a launching pad for her novel Ghosted, Rosie Walsh creates a modern Gothic tale that engages your imagination as you try to figure out the 'why' of the story. Instant chemistry causes Sarah and Eddie to spend seven seemingly idyllic days together, pledging to return to be together after a long-planned vacation and a brief time with friends. Both feel that they have met their soul mate. Then the ghosting begins. Sporadic epistolary chapters addressed to 'Dear You' are confusing at first and only later begin to give away secrets of the past. Walsh does a fine job developing the setting of a British countryside, making it both vivid and wistful. The building of emotional bridges and longing are also crafted quite well. Sarah's friends urging her to forget Eddie go unheeded because Sarah is certain that Eddie had also filename in love with her. Convinced that something must have happened to him, she begins cyber stalking him and remembering clues about his routines that he had mentioned during their long conversations. She becomes convinced something must have happened to him, so she ignores the warnings of her friends. Walsh weaves several red herrings alongside true clues as the 'you' in the letter comes to be revealedone. I found myself guessing too early, then updating my guess a couple of times along the way. A true-to-life twist adds to the gothic-romance tale. The tension that lead to the climax was well worth it, but I wished for more elaboration or detail as the denouement hurriedly unraveled the final plot twist. This is a fine summer beach read or perfect for a rainy weekend. I give it 4.5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is literally one of the best books I’ve ever read......and I read a ton.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished reading this absolutely beautiful book with tears streaming down my face!! Loved every minute of it and could not put it down! Highly recommend!! Thank you dear author for a fabulous and beautiful story! Look forward to more books from this talented author!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are so real you feel what they feel. Loved the relationships weaved through the main characters lives. Great story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great characters. Great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book. The characters are so real and even though the storyline is sad, it is a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts off slow and builds.
Anonymous 3 hours ago
Could you do another , I couldn't put it down!
Anonymous 23 hours ago
waterslider is a furrball
Anonymous 29 days ago
Overall easy read that was engaging
liccyh 5 months ago
You might pass this title past on the bookshop table, but please don't! It is brilliantly written and the characters really relatable. Sarah meets Eddie on her annual trip home. A drink turns into dinner which turns into them spending a wonderful week together. Eddie has to leave to go on a long-planned holiday, and, though he promises to be in touch, Sarah simply never hears from him again. Has something terrible happened to him? Does he want their relationship to end? Is there a dark secret that links their pasts? I loved the twists and turns in the plot and can definitely recommend this book. There's a real emotional depth to it that makes it much more than standard 'chic lit' so do give it a go.
Rexcatz 9 months ago
I really liked it, and couldn't put it down.
Anonymous 11 months ago
%0A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
liked+it+very+much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will+have+you+addicted+from++the+first+page.+Enjoyed+this+read%2C+it+is+a+must%21
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good balance of enough suspense and enough romance. I enjoyed this read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting book. I think this is a book where you have to pay attention to the text, and not skim over it. There are little parts that become important later and the characters actions are just as important as the words they speak. I can’t say that there is any specific character that stood out for me in this novel, for a majority of them irritated me. Jenni is the only character, at the end of the novel, that I cared for and I really wondered why she was still hanging on. It’s been years since the accident that took the life of Sarah’s sister. Paying respect to her sister, Sarah again makes a yearly trip to London, only this year she meets Eddie. She never meant to fall in love but Eddie was nothing like Reuben, her first husband. They spent one week together and Eddie was off on holiday. They hated to part but he promised to call Sarah while he was gone. They made a commitment to reconnect once he returns, as they both wanted to move forward with their relationship. When Eddie doesn’t call, Sarah thinks the worse. Sarah can’t think of any logical reason why Eddie hasn’t called her. Enlisting the help of her friends, Sarah tries social media to try to find any information on Eddie. Sarah eventually gets some leads but what she finds is not what she wants to hear. As readers, we travel back in time, through parts of the novel, and experience the beginning of Eddie and Sarah’s relationship, to see how it began. These flashbacks give us a glimpse into their lives and provide a few clues to help us put the story together. I liked Sarah’s relationships in the novel. I liked the variety of people she had to talk to and who were a part of her life. Some of these people were instrumental in her life and some, I thought she should appreciate more. Like I said before, there were quite a few people who bothered me in this novel. People who I thought should get a life or needed to grow up. But, that is what a good novel does, they provoke emotions and this one sure did. Then, there is Eddie. What a character. I’ll let you form your own opinion on him. I didn’t care for the ending. I could have thought of a hundred different endings for this novel beside this one. I just didn’t need another ending like this one. I’m glad we read this novel for book club, as I don’t think I would have read it otherwise. Between 3.5-4 stars.
Marla-Bradeen More than 1 year ago
A wonderful, captivating read, GHOSTED is a touching novel centered around love and loss. Walsh's engaging writing style, the relatable characters, and the looming, unanswered question at the heart of the story drew me in from the start. But what impressed me most with this novel were the unexpected twists I never saw coming. This book is women's fiction at its finest. Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow in parts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. An easy to read beach book.