The Girl Who Disappeared Twice

The Girl Who Disappeared Twice

by Andrea Kane

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$6.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl Who Disappeared Twice 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 72 reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Another great thriller that kept me turning pages until the end. Although, with this one I think I found the perp a little ahead of when I wanted because I was able to put the pieces together as they came instead of all at the end. I will not spoil the book because I think that it was semi easy to come to the conclusion as to who was a part of the crime. A story wrapped around this family with a mom and dad who aren't the most attentive parents due to their high stress full time jobs find themselves looking for their daughter who has been kidnapped. The twist is the mother herself had a twin that was kidnapped at the early age of 6 years old. I loved the eeriness that kidnapping happened twice in this woman's life and how ironic that her name is Hope. A psychological thriller that made me wonder how it was done instead of who because I cracked the code! I would pass this book along to those who enjoy the thrillers, no gore or mess, just a who dun it!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Westchester County, New York over three decades ago, when Hope Willis was a little girl her twin Felicity was kidnapped from their shared bedroom. She overcame her grief to become a family court judge in White Plains and married workaholic Edward the defense lawyer, and together in Armonk they raise their five year old daughter Krissy although he rarely sees his wife or daughter. However, Hope's perfect world collapses when someone kidnaps Krissy. Being an insider in the jurisprudence system, Hope knows how critical the early hours in an abduction are as well as the limitations that handicap the law. Although her husband objects, Hope hires Forensic Instincts, a private group consisting of profiler Casey Woods, ex SEAL Marc Deveraux and strategic technologist Ryan McKay. Although the reader will know who the kidnapper is from the moment that Hope receives the call that her daughter is missing, fans will enjoy the first escapades of Forensic Instincts as the team with a few additions along the way work an exciting rescue mission after beating information out of a psychopath. Fast-paced with sharp tongued skin ripping interplay, fans will enjoy this taut thriller as the team, the FBI and the mom know the clock is ticking. Harriet Klausner
KOtis67 More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure about this book when I picked it up but I figured free is good, well this book would have been worth it even if it wasn't free. I will definitely be picking up more by this author.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
Andrea Kane seems to know her way around fbi and police and all the details to solve a case. It started over 30 years ago of a kidnapped 6 year old Felicity out of bed she was sharing with her twin Hope who was not taken. Now Hope little girl has been kidnapped right in front of the school. Hope is a family court judge and her husband defense lawyer. and police are setting up task force to find Krissy. Hope calls in a private firm Forensic Instincts who work out of the box. Cassie company she lives and busness all in one building. Marc ex FBI agent and seal. Ryan is electronic genius all work together. The FBi Profiler is straight by the book Cassie's boyfriend first time they meet on the same case. Hutch also gives her the gift of 3 yr. old bloodhound that was forced to retire after great training but cant handle flying. Patrick is retired FBI agent who was in charge of Felicity kidnapping that he never solved. They are all working around the clock to try and find Krissy before its too late. It all works together to make a great story that keeps you wanting them to find Krissy and does her kidnapping have any part of the past kidnapping. I enjoyed the story.
cr1 More than 1 year ago
an intriguing read, didn't figure out "who done it" until near the end.
Peetaluver More than 1 year ago
I thought thhis book was defintly a real good read. Sure it's predictable when you put all the peices together but it was still intersting and captivating. It was so much fun trying to figure out all. I reccomend it to anyone who likes suspense and crime solving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This novel is well-written and a decent read, but it is definitely predictable. It was a good story and had enough action to keep me turning the pages. I predicted the ending, but wanted to know how the story got there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dynamic! There is no way to NOT enjoy this booK. It will satisfy your literary craving & searching for Ms. Kane's excellent menu of books. Great great job, Andrea! Signed, Misque
ann cain More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were neat and I'd like to get to know them more. I can definitely see this as the beginning of series. Although I did enjoy most of the suspense in the book, a lot of it was predictable. I figured out one of the main suspects by chapter 4. I dis keep reading though to see how it was tied together.
Jeannie Milan More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very interesting strory. keeps you wanting to go back for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agrew with other reviewrs who found the book enjoyable but predictable. I also thought the nursing home scenes were poorly researched. For example, dementia patients would never be in a facility that included an unfenced pond.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book had a good premise but did not keep me interested. The end was anti-climatic and it was way too easy to figure out who the kidapper was. The lead up to why the kidnapping was done and how the kidnapping was executed had too many holes in the plot. I would have liked to see more character development of Hope and Edward' s marriage and less emphasis on Forensic Instinct but I guess they were the author's focus.........
mb_rvws More than 1 year ago
But addicting anyway.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Alert! Not a new Nook book. I already have this in my Nook Book Library. Barnes and Noble is so deceptive. I loved this book and sorry to give it a poor rating, but don't try to fool me into buying something I bought years ago. It's time for authors to speak up and make sure they don't participate in fraud.
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wow! That was my first thought when I¿d finished this book. I didn¿t want it to end. I had to stop reading to sleep last night. Not because I wanted to but because my computer stopped working and I had no choice. The book had me from the very beginning. I suspected who the kidnapper was but couldn¿t figure out why. The author threw so many things in to make you think the kidnapper was someone else. It was very obvious that the author had done a lot of research. The characters were very believable as were the events that happened. While reading the book I could see a parallel between this book and the kidnapping of Jayce Dugard, and many other high profile kidnappings. If you like suspense and thrillers this would definitely be the book for you. I definitely will find more books by this author. It isn¿t often I find adult authors that capture my attention and hold it like this one did.
SugarCreekRanch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Girl Who Disappeared Twice is a fairly standard private investigator suspense novel, but with an entire team of investigators ("Forensic Instincts"). These investigators are talented beyond belief, and are blessed with only strengths and no weaknesses. Even the search dog is infallible, despite not training with any of his new handlers.The crime is the kidnapping of a young girl. The mother's twin was kidnapped in a similar crime years ago. I suspected "who dun it" well before the end, but it's a unique twist and was an interesting story line.
rhonda1111 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Andrea Kane seems to know her way around fbi and police and all the details to solve a case.It started over 30 years ago of a kidnapped 6 year old Felicity out of bed she was sharing with her twin Hope who was not taken.Now Hope little girl has been kidnapped right in front of the school. Hope is a family court judge and her husband defense lawyer. and police are setting up task force to find Krissy. Hope calls in a private firm Forensic Instincts who work out of the box. Cassie company she lives and busness all in one building. Marc ex FBI agent and seal. Ryan is electronic genius all work together.The FBi Profiler is straight by the book Cassie's boyfriend first time they meet on the same case. Hutch also gives her the gift of 3 yr. old bloodhound that was forced to retire after great training but cant handle flying.Patrick is retired FBI agent who was in charge of Felicity kidnapping that he never solved.They are all working around the clock to try and find Krissy before its too late.It all works together to make a great story that keeps you wanting them to find Krissy and does her kidnapping have any part of the past kidnapping. I enjoyed the story.
bitsy08 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another new author and a good one at that. Really enjoyed this book and am going to look for more from Ms. Kane. The story is about a young girl kidnapped from her family and years later, the surviving sister's child is kidnapped. Some of it was pretty easy to figure out but I still enjoyed it.
marcejewels on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From my blogAndrea Kane is definitely becoming a favourite author of mine. Her suspense books always have that added something, thrill, sexy, edgy, etc, she is my thrill seeker go to author now, my Sugar and Spice, lol.I was able to figure this one out, not sure if it is because this is my favourite genre or if it was obvious, I will have to wait to see other reviews. Don't get me wrong, I loved it and couldn't stop reading it, couldn't wait to find out how it all came together. And a major positive for me, the characters are all strong in their own way.AndreaK has a way with taking you along on the journey. I always want to become one of her characters and be a part of the investigation helping out. In this one I couldn't choose between the FBI or Casey's team that had their own 'illegal' way of doing things, but they got things done in a hurry. I enjoyed the going back and fourth sarcastic comments they threw at each other. I got the feeling it was a "I love to hate them and can't work with them can't work without them scenarios".Now I understand why she is known as a Romantic Suspense author, she knows how to turn up the heat, HOT, but never taking you away from the story. I love the idea of working couples fully passionate about their careers but still just as passionate in the bedroom and AndreaK does a great job of this. It definitely is all business but with some 'play' also. This is a race against the clock suspense that will keep you on your toes. All the twists and turns and dead ends completely engage you. There was a main character left out towards the end which doesn't make sense to me, so this and the fact that I figured out the mystery early, I didn't give this one a 5. I do enjoy her writing, definitely look forward to reading Andrea Kane's older works, yes I want more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was searching for a new series & stumbled upon these & now i can't wait for the next book to come out. Highly recommend if you like series or even if you don't. Great character development & very suspenseful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Betty16101 More than 1 year ago
I liked the book and the characters. I am cutting off the 5th star because it is so easy to solve the mystery. The mystery is why all the cops and FBI guys don't solve it as quickly as the reader. Also, because the tech guy missed some technology that he could have easily used. But of course I was still guessing to see if my first reaction was the right one and enjoyed the book. I feel so lucky that I never had any really bad things happen to my kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had a hard time getting thru the book.
Katrink More than 1 year ago
Although predictable, the story was captivating enough that I read to the end, but the writing style was pretty amateur. For example: "Hope shoved his arm away and whirled around, whipping her head back and forth." Seriously? Whipping her head back and forth? Who does that unless they're being attacked by bees? Most of the male characters sounded like GI Joe action figures and apparently the entire Forensic Instincts team can go days on end with no sleep.