Go Clean, Sexy You: A Seasonal Guide to Detoxing and Staying Healthy

Go Clean, Sexy You: A Seasonal Guide to Detoxing and Staying Healthy

by Lisa Consiglio Ryan

Paperback

$24.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Go Clean, Sexy You: A Seasonal Guide to Detoxing and Staying Healthy 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
beckvalleybooks More than 1 year ago
Having been completely won over after both hubbie and I had read and followed Lisa's detox plan from her previous book 'Renewal Anytime 10 day detox' I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. Her knowledge and attention to detail, as well as the delicious recipes, made our very first detox so much easier than expected. This time in Go Clean, Sexy You she has completely designed the detox and recipes around each season, giving you a choice of 4 detox plans and recipes to follow. The 'in season' fruit and vegetables also make for an easy shop and are actually what you want to eat at that time of year. I love the way the detox works with the seasons for what your body needs at different times of the year too. If you have the paperback version, it is absolutely lush with stunning images and it is so much easier to use. Lisa has a really friendly and simple approach that put's you totally at ease as she guides you through the book and she fills you with confidence even before you think of starting the detox. She has literally thought of everything you could possibly want to know in order to complete a successful detox. First she explains the facts behind a detox and why it's not all about the food you eat, she offers practical advice, for each seasonal detox she gives you the menu plans, shopping lists, recipes and it doesn't end there! When you complete your detox she has even included a 'Return to Life' section filled with more delicious recipes and advice to see you continue on the right path and have no excuse of going back to your old ways. Although you don't have to start healthy eating 100% of the time, as Lisa believes in the the 80/20 approach, which sounds quite do-able to me. In the book the dirty dozen food list was a real eye opener for me and will always continue to try and buy organic foods and I enjoyed learning from the ph chart and information. I also liked the simple menu plan layout which I have been referring to constantly. We are half way into the Spring detox, which is focusing on the liver, the recipes have been quick to make, easy to follow, and we have not been hungry once. I'm loving some of the recipes so far and will definitely be having them once my detox ends. It's actually nice to be eating food that is naturally flavoured instead of eating what I call 'cardboard food' as well as knowing your going to be helping your own body and seeing the results. I say this with confidence because we had great results from the previous detox both with weight and health issues. Another bonus of doing another detox is that we now already have most of the larder products and vitamins (these are optional). Now's the time to start your body on a healthy journey with confidence.
TeresaKander More than 1 year ago
This is a quick, easy read with a LOT of wonderful recipes. There is a detox plan for each season, along with a menu and a shopping list---and a recipe for everything on the menu. There are a variety of foods included in the detox recipes, and most of them are foods which I eat on a regular basis already. Some of the recipes might even find their way into our regular meal plans. I love that this book is filled with so many full-color pictures. The pictures of some of the foods make them even more enticing than just reading about them. I am planning to start with the summer detox, and to detox a few times a year to keep myself at the highest level of health, as well as improving my everyday nutritional intake. **I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.**
WisReader More than 1 year ago
The softcover print version of this lifestyle detox and makeover book is of very good quality. The photos and colors are beautiful. The type is easy to read. The book begins with a philosophy and some explanation. I feel I understood the concepts and required changes better by first learning more about the author. I appreciated the guidelines to basic preparations at the beginning. Guidelines are also offered for seasonal foods to keep expenses more reasonable. Over 100 recipes are included. No one tells you a detox will be comfortable or easy. Knowing what to expect and the resulting benefits should make the journey easier to get through. The author promotes an 80/20 approach to clean eating. It is not cheating if you use less healthy foods as a treat or break as long as you choose well the majority of the time. Lisa C Ryan helps us each to develop a doable healthy eating plan of our own. I received the book in exchange for review.
Ecpd188 More than 1 year ago
Once again it is good to read one of Lisa's books for clean living. I am always looking for a better way to detox as I have so much trouble with my stomach. I am so happy to have this book where I can easily put my hands on. You can tell that she puts a lot of time and effort in her books and also has good recipes for you. She has so much information on eating healthy and to rid your body of toxins in your body that cause so many health problems. I can't believe that she does her book by seasons so you have the right ingreditants that are available. She gives you a lot of information that help to make a more healthier you. If you have a lot of health issue and want to feel better don't wait another minute, get this book NOW!! Happy detoxing and a healthier you.
BookwormNM More than 1 year ago
Go Clean, Sexy You is full of delicious recipes and fantastic tips that will make you look forward to feeling your best! Lisa shares how to be a healthy you while ridding your body of toxins. She breaks her book down by seasons, so you are buying the right foods at peak time, offering shopping lists, recipes and tips for feeling good and making it super easy to eat healthy. Very grateful to have these recipes at hand. Thanks to a Beck Valley Book Tour, I received this book for free.
hobbisl38 More than 1 year ago
A Simple Approach To Detoxing Through The Seasons. I don't know what it is but there's something about the word "detox" that I find quite unsettling but in this book, Lisa gently encourages us to focus on the benefits our bodies will experience whilst not being too harsh a task master on ourselves. It's great to read a detox book which takes into account that fact that we humans do tend to have the odd (well, frequent!) lapse and give up. Lisa urges us to put it behind us and carry on. The seasonal selections of detox recipes are easy to make and don't contain ingredients which cost a small fortune to buy. Basically Lisa gives you the tools and encouragement but as usual, it's up to you. I think you really have to be in the right frame of mind to consider a detox, as Lisa clearly was due to her health issues when she began her journey. Even if you don't do the full detox, the recipes are healthy and tasty and could easily be added to your family repertoire of seasonal dishes. If you're looking for a 'no muss, no fuss' detox book then I'd recommend taking a look at this one. I received a copy of this book free in return for an honest review.
BookMomto6 More than 1 year ago
I enjoy a good book about food and this book was perfect for me. I love to eat clean and have even guest posted a recipe on a blog about clean eating. My favorite parts about the book are the fantastic recipes and the fact that the recipes are seasonal. One of the best ways to eat a healthy diet is to eat food that is local and seasonal. Because Lisa Consiglio Ryan takes the seasons and what foods are in season, the diet is better for us all to eat and better for our planet. I strongly recommend checking out this book and the detox days – all set up for you, including shopping lists – in Go Clean, Sexy You. I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
LadyStephM More than 1 year ago
This book has great tips and options, for not only the detoxes in each season, but also to maintain a healthier diet and lifestyle. This challenge allowed me to branch out and try foods that I never ate before, such as mushrooms and avocados. Coworkers were intrigued because they never thought of some of the food combinations, so their creativity was sparked. As warned, days 1 to 3 were hard, I unfortunately suffered with headaches for the full 3 days. I can only recommend that you ease yourself into the full detox by taking the time to wean yourself off of some foods that are not in the detox. What is great is that I can pick up this book in each season and do a detox, because there are full seasonal detox schedules, so just like mother nature, you too can restart each season. This book is definitely for anyone who is looking to jump start their healthy lifestyle journey.
MyLifeAsMummy More than 1 year ago
I love the fact that I was immediately engrossed and inspired to change my eating habits for the better. I have diabetes and coeliac disease in my family so I really need to start changing my eating habits soon and I know this is the book to help me do that. Not only does Lisa have a vast amount of experience, she is also a certified health coach. I really like that Lisa recommends 80/20 approach to healthy eating. I know this is something that could really work for me. I know from past failed eating plans, I can not stick to a 100% clean eating diet. *I received this book free of charge, however all opinions are my own
EbethTowns More than 1 year ago
When I began reading Lisa Consiglio Ryan’s “Go Clean, Sexy You”, I was immediately engrossed and impressed. The reading is easy, the tone is engaging, and everything I was reading resonated with my own health journey. Ryan teaches about how all the parts of our lives work together and affect our well-being. Through that concept it makes sense that how we eat, live and practice what we believe all work together to help us live our healthiest lives. Ryan is a Certified Health Coach and she brings her expertise along with her experience, which has also been incredibly enlightening for me. I’m still learning, and reading and taking notes from this book, and from the Whole Health Designs website. I’ve taken nutrition classes, juiced, and drank smoothies. I was ready for a new way of looking at my nutritional life. Learning about what it means to go clean, about my PH balance and acidity, so much about restorative health – and feeling the difference it makes to my body – all of these components have encouraged me through this book. As a sufferer of fibromyalgia, for the first few years after my diagnosis I tried medications prescribed by various Doctors that were ineffective and had terrible side effects that caused my life to be further out of alignment. Many of the concepts and practices put forth in “Go Clean, Sexy You” have helped me remain nearly medicine-free and be back in natural alignment, in every aspect of my life. Ryan is a terrific author, nutritionist and example; she puts forth complex information in a simple to digest and understand format, and her writing is simply encouraging. **I received this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review.
rmcwentz More than 1 year ago
I have done several of Lisa Ryan’s detox programs. I found that her programs are always easy to follow and the best part is that Lisa is available to you at any time! All of her recipes are easy to make AND she gives you alternative options for meals if there is one that you like more than another or you don’t like something. In Go Clean, Lisa breaks it down for you. She gives her story and explains what detox is/does. She goes so far as to telling you exactly what you should have in your kitchen regarding tools and staples. Lisa has created this book like a “Detox for Dummies” book – breaking it down into who, what, where, why and how. The detox sections are broken down by season so the items needed are easy to find. The plan is set up as to what to eat and when – and I LOVE the shopping lists! Talk about making it easy! Even if you don’t want to do a detox, I would recommend checking out Lisa’s book just for the recipes.
A_Gluten_Free_Mom More than 1 year ago
I have fallen in love with Go Clean, Sexy You! I always think I should do a cleanse of some sort but love to eat...so all juice cleanses are out. Lisa Consiglio Ryan has put together a healthy, gluten free cleanse that allows you to eat real food (and enough of it!) all the while giving your body the breather from modern frankenfoods that we have all become accustomed to craving. The seasonal approach to a cleanse is ingenious! I am a firm supporter of eating what is fresh now (even though I don't always follow what I preach).
LynchburgMama More than 1 year ago
Baseball season has started and since our children play 40 minutes away, we are always on the go! That means we are stopping to grab fast food and junk food. I have wanted to get my eating habits under control since I gained a lot of weight from a medication I took during my initial on-set of Fibromyalgia. Inflammation is my curse with this disease but now, with Lisa's plan, I can battle it head-on! I have to be honest - detoxing is scary. When I think about detoxing, my mind wanders off to medical shows and seeing people detox off of drugs. Food is my drug. Detoxing from (junk) food is no different. There are cravings, fall backs and withdrawal symptoms. But this book lays out the entire process for you. I know my eating habits are bad so I took the advice of getting myself set up for success by purging my kitchen of everything standing in my way. If it's not there for me to grab, I'm not going to eat it, right? Easier said that done when we're out at ball games and I'm smelling the grill, seeing cheese fries and hot dogs. The seasonal foods and lists are perfect for helping me keep on track for more than a week. Thankfully, I have a fairly simple health history but diseases such as diabetes, runs in my family. I don't want to bring it on myself by eating habits. As a child, we are told all fruits and vegetables are healthy. They are but some contain more sugar than others. I enjoyed learning even more about how to add flavor without sacrificing some of my favorite flavors. I've always thought of clean eating being bland but the recipes and gorgeous pictures are proof thatit can be extremely delicious. Lots of books leave you feeling empty after a cleanse. You return to old habits because you're not given a plan to guide you for the time afterwards. I am looking forward to cleansing again and being able to get my health back on track - for good - and relieving inflammation naturally! I challenge all of you to try this and making it a lifestyle rather than jumping on bandwagons, falling off, only to wait for the next 'quick-fix'. Let's make this our lifestyle! I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.
JulieGB More than 1 year ago
I have never done a detox before, so this program intimidated me. But, at the same time, it interested me. With the possibility of sleeping better, losing some weight, and even having more energy, it drew me in like a moth to a flame. Is this something I can do? Or should do? The answer to both is yes. We all have toxins in our systems that keep us from our full potential selves. I already knew that, I just thought that a detox wasn’t worth the trouble of doing it. With this program, the author has done all the work for you. She includes recipes and shopping lists, so that all you have to do is plan ahead and commit. I am at the planning stage right now, and looking forward to beginning my own detox. I’m feeling positive about it and can’t wait to see my results.