The Grace of God

The Grace of God

by Andy Stanley

Paperback

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Grace of God 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
ccsemick More than 1 year ago
Brace yourself. Andy Stanley’s The Grace of God will challenge all you’ve been taught about God’s grace. Concerned that, “Grace is often an early casualty in the world of organized religion,” and that we are “predisposed to the “thou-shalt-nots” of the Bible, Stanley deftly argues that “God’s expressions of grace” are by far “more innumerable than his requirements.” Stanley’s book clears the debris of theological misconceptions on the grace of God and humbly reminds us that “The church has been assigned the task of exposing our neighborhoods, communities, cities, states and world to the grace of God. This is our mission. This is our responsibility. There is no Plan B. We are it.” I loved this book. Written to theologians and laymen alike, The Grace of God, reads like a compelling novel and taps into the craving of every heart, calling God’s grace “bigger than compassion or forgiveness.” A pastor and son of nationally known, Dr. Charles Stanley, Andy skillfully blends his theological expertise with a humble candor that made this book easy to digest and embrace. From Eden to Eternity, Stanley builds an irrefutable biblical argument that grace is a universal gift to mankind. While at all times gracious, Stanley boldly exhorts the Body of Christ, saying that “churches talk about grace, singing about how “amazing” it is. But they create graceless cultures where only those who play by the rules feel welcomed.” Stanley skillfully loosens the grip on the doctrine of grace held jealously by organized religion: “If the church is God’s primary vehicle for dispensing the message of grace, then the local church is clearly not for church people. It’s for everybody.” Using a palatable blend of key biblical texts and a candid look into his personal discovery of God’s grace, Stanley sets a table of delicious truths I’ve never seen served together in a sermon series or in my personal scripture studies on this topic. But this book isn’t just all grace and no truth; nor does it rant and rave against the foundational doctrines of the church. Instead it resolves the “artificial” conflict between grace and truth “that throws so much of Christianity into disarray,” through spotlighting the incredible life of Jesus Christ who was “full of grace and truth.” (John 1:14). To the woman caught in adultery, writes Stanley, “Jesus didn’t try to balance grace and truth. He gave her a full dose of both.” Stanley warns, “Once we start shaving things off of grace or adding to it, it’s no longer grace.” I highly recommend reading The Grace of God by Andy Stanley. If you do, expect refreshment as your thirsty soul drinks in these clear truths, undiluted and delicious! ______ Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Anonymous 4 months ago
Very good book.
groundedforlife on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had not read any books by Andy Stanley previous to this one (I've since gone back and picked up two of his earlier books). I happened to just by chance pick it up one day while killing some time between appointments for work read the cover and thought hmm maybe this could help with some questions that always run thorugh my mind. While I was reading this book and long after I was done I could only think of two words "Wow and Thank you". I Highly Recommend this book. I really never understood the whole aspect of "Grace" until reading this very easy to read plainly written book. The one thing we all so desperately want is the one thing we do not deserve and yet it's the one thing that is available to all of us if we will just ask.
cheetosrapper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
**I received this complimentary copy through Booksneeze.com. All the opinions expressed are my own.**This was an amazing read and well worth the time spent reading it. Andy Stanley did a masterful job on communicating the grace of God. By showing how man does not deserve God's grace, how God has extended his grace a plethora of times, and why grace is a great gift of God.Mr. Stanley does not try to persuade the reader to his understanding of grace but tries to inform the reader of what the grace of God is. By doing this, he allows the reader to come to their own conclusions. After all, grace is something not easily understood by mankind, something Mr. Stanley readily admits in this book.Another plus for this read is the way in which Mr. Stanley weaves the story of grace exhibited. By using Biblical history, Mr. Stanley shows that some of the greatest Biblical character had much grace extended to them and how such grace is still available today. God has not changed; neither is the grace He gives.I would highly recommend that this book be put on your "must read" list. Mr. Stanley is an amazing communicator and his style, with this subject, work wonderful in tandem. The beauty of grace was revealed with such passion and candor that I found myself stopping several to review what I had just read. A six star book when only five stars are given.
mels_71 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received this book as part of Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program. Many people consider God as portrayed in the old testament to be vengeful compared with the picture of love displayed by Jesus. I find that quite puzzling. You don't need to read too far to find God offering forgiveness to those who don't deserve it. Andy Stanley starts in Genesis and works his way through the bible looking at how God has been offering grace to those who least deserve it from the time of Adam and Eve onwards. He also looks at how God's discipline shows His love for us.The church has often failed to show the world what grace really looks like. It's hard to give others grace and often we fall into the temptation of thinking we can earn God's favour instead a realising that firstly, we are always going to fall short and secondly we don't need to earn anything. Grace is what the world needs. In Andy Stanley's words: ¿Grace. It¿s what we crave most when our guilt is exposed. It¿s the very thing we are hesitant to extend when we are confronted with the guilt of others¿especially when their guilt has robbed us of something we consider valuable.Therein is the struggle, the struggle for grace. It¿s this struggle that makes grace more story than doctrine. It¿s the struggle that reminds us that grace is bigger than compassion or forgiveness. That struggle is the context for both. When we are on the receiving end, grace is refreshing. When it is required of us, it is often disturbing. But when correctly applied, it seems to solve just about everything. This struggle is not new; it has been going on since the beginning.¿An excellent book. I'd highly recommend this for Christians and also to those who haven't yet grasped what a gift the grace of God is.
C_White More than 1 year ago
The Grace of God by Andy Stanley is a compelling read about how to find and seek redemption and finding your way back to the security of God’s grace. It shows us that God does not have to but he willingly gives us his grace. When I first picked up the book, it was slow starting and it did not capture my attention right away. It did not intrigue me that much but after a few, I got into it. With multiple stories showing how God’s grace can effect different situations; it makes for a great nighttime read as something to ruminate over whilst you sleep or even just one to pick up read a chapter to give you something to think about during the day. *this boo provided by booksneeze hiwever the worlds are my own.k was As I stated it took me a while to get into it; however once I did, I realized that it is a humbling read. The Grace of God states that God’s grace is still very much available to us today; just as it was in Biblical times, we just need to seek it. I would recommend this book to my friends and family as a must read not only for the wonderful telling, but also that it gives us a basis on which to establish ourselves in His grace
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arayj More than 1 year ago
The grace of God is a precious commodity that we all long for yet struggle to understand. What is grace? How do we earn it? How do we give it to others? Even for long-time church attenders, the grace of God is often difficult to explain. The Grace of God by Andy Stanley is a great first step towards understanding. Beginning well in the beginning, Stanley walks through the pages of Scripture in understanding the grace of God. In so doing, he reminds readers that God's grace is not simply a New Testament concept but a Biblical truth. In his own effective writing style, he uses humor and personal illustration to drive these foundational principles home to the reader. The purpose of this book is to bring clarity from a biblical perspective regarding God's grace. To this end, Andy Stanley accomplishes his purpose. The Grace of God was an excellent read. Andy Stanley is one of the most effective communicators of our time. The use of Scripture was consistent throughout the entire book. I was engaged throughout the entire read. I give The Grace of God five out of five stars and I highly recommend this book for those who are new to faith in Christ or those who have been following Him for many years. ___ Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Thomas Nelson Publishers BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
passleadershipon More than 1 year ago
I have heard it said that while you can learn a lot from the stories of the people in the Bible, since it is God's Word, it is God's story we should be paying attention to in its pages. This concept never came as alive to me, however, as it did while reading Andy Stanley's book, The Grace of God. Stanley's book takes the reader into God's story of grace in His book, The Bible, highlighting the narrative of grace that runs throughout the Old and New Testament. Almost a personal, heartfelt, accessibly-written Bible commentary, Stanley describes the God of grace who from Day 1 has been doling out grace unfairly and indiscriminately to people who don't deserve it. The Grace of God paints this picture through the retelling of Biblical stories from God's perspective. Stanley starts from the very beginning of creation, highlighting the grace that has been "God's pre-eminent characteristic from the very beginning" (p. 3). He then moves through story after story in the Old and New Testament that highlight God's promises to His people and the people's inability to negate His promises through sins/acts that deserve punishment. Even more challenging, though, is Stanley's grace-filled views of the stumbling blocks some have regarding the Ten Commandments (the law) and the death and destruction so evident in the Old Testament. Throughout the book, Stanley highlights key insightful phrases in bold, and these were so powerful/important that I plan to write them down so I can revisit them regularly. Each chapter provides the big picture of God's grace narrative, but also brings home the challenges we face seeing, understanding, applying, and living out grace today. Ultimately, it is a call to see the true nature of God, to accept the grace we cannot earn, and to extend that grace to ALL we come in contact with. NOTE: I received this book for free from BOOKSneeze, but the words of the review are my own.
JoyForChrist More than 1 year ago
This is a book that re-tells Old Testament bible stories and then interprets God's grace into the way God interacted with the humans in the stories. Each chapter takes a different bible story or multiple stories and then says "God dealt gracefully with humans" because they didn't deserve such merciful treatment. This book is a fast light read because we've heard the story of Adam and Eve, Abraham, Jospeh etc many times and 2-3rds of this book is the re-telling/paraphrasing these stories. Although the book paints a nice picture of a graceful God, I didn't find this book very deep. Example: Stanley takes the creation story and explains that God didn't have to make the world so beautiful - that was grace.. God didn't have to give Eve to Adam - that was grace. God could have destroyed Adam and Eve for the fall, but instead He allowed them to live outside of the garden - by grace. By the end of the book, I felt it was nice to see that ALL good things are undeserved, unearned and all come from the grace of God. I just wish this book could have had more depth and not been 2/3rds re-telling stories we already know by heart. I feel there are much better and deeper books that would bring us to reflect on the grace of God. This book was just kind of "blah" or "okay". You could easily go without having read it, it wouldn't go in my library and I would never recommend it to others. I'd say "read it if you want but it's only so-so". Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am giving my honest review.
CMorrison More than 1 year ago
Andy tackles the topic of Grace in this book. With 13 chapters he starts from the beginning of the bible. Andy takes the reader on a journey through scripture by highlighting well-known stories and points out God's grace. Stanley delivers his typically engaging content, while maintaining his approachable style. Stanley is also a master at pulling out the pearl of a passage. He by-passes a lot of good stuff. Instead, he focuses on the best. A good principle to live by. With grace, comes faith. Such a strong statement in such a uncertain world. Believe.
SingingPilgrim More than 1 year ago
Andy Stanley's The Grace of God is an excellent modern study on this pivotal aspect of our faith. All Christians can benefit from pursuing further understanding of God's grace. Stanley's down-to-earth writing style makes this book an approachable read even for the newest Christian while maintaining value for us all due to its important subject matter. While I enjoyed and would recommend this book, I wasn't wowed by any new revelations, though there were a few points to ponder. And that's okay. There is a lot out there about grace. Fortunately, it is not a subject typically ignored by Christian leaders and teachers. However, due to this influx of information on grace, it's easy to downplay or ignore some of its most important applications in our lives. This book is excellent in addressing this through its organization and approach. Stanley leads readers through Biblical stories, retelling them in everyday language to help the readers to see new viewpoints in such familiar content and highlight the most vital truths about the gift of God's grace. This book would make a fine edition to any Christian's library. I recieved a copy of this book for free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my impartial review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blooming-with-Books More than 1 year ago
THE GRACE OF GOD By Andy Stanley Grace is something we all strive for but none us ever deserves it and we are reluctant to share it with others. But what is grace, specifically God's Grace? Andy Stanley takes us on a journey through the Bible and time to show us that every act of God is part of His plan for Grace. His entire act of Creation was a gift of Grace. We did not have to have a separation between day and night or land and sea. God could have stopped with Adam but in His grace he did not leave Adam without a human relationship. In His plan for redemption He did not pick the most righteous individuals to fill Jesus' family tree. He picked those who were fallen and sinful. He chose the Judahs and the Rahabs for Jesus' lineage. God brought to light what most people would try to hide. In His grace He came to the sinful and the undeserving because if we deserve grace it is not grace. The Grace of God makes one realize how many times during a day one can extend God's grace to others. We should strive to be like the father in the parable of the Prodigal Son, we should openly rejoice when someone comes seeking a relationship with our Heavenly Father. We should not be like Jonah, doing everything we can to keep from sharing God's grace. God is merciful and He will accept anyone at anytime if they hold out their hand to Him and His gift of grace. We must always remember Grace is God's gift to us, we can never earn it and He offers it freely to all. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Book Sneeze® dot com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The concept of "grace" is something that I've always struggled to fully understand. I have heard it discussed time and again, read verses (such as Ephesians 2:8), and been through Bible study courses. But the topic is one that continues to both perplex and inspire. This week I read The Grace of God by Andy Stanley, and probably not for the last time. He works step-by-step through the Bible, examining time and again how God's grace is revealed to us. Most of the examples were stories that we know well (Jonah) but revisiting them provides a change to re-examine. I liked how the tone of the book; Stanley has a conversational style that makes it easy to read. I imagine that the book will be read by Sunday school and Bible study groups, but it also makes good reading for anyone looking to further understand God's grace. I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
sarahsmithstorm2 More than 1 year ago
Andy Stanley, author of Enemies of the Heart just released a book called "The Grace of God." This book is a book we could all use in our lives. Andy Stanley give clear scripture based approach on Grace. Andy uses a number of stories and people from the Bible to explore the grace of God. In many of these stores and scriptures we find how God has given an abundance amount of Grace to those who has sinned against God. This book continues to reinforce the idea that God doesn't care about what we do for him, (are works), but about who he is. Many of us put an emphasis on how much we tithe, pray, read our Bible, attend church, ect.. These things are all good and important to the Christian faith, but God doesn't want legalism and works-based faith, he wants our heart and want us to know him. He is a God of grace, love and compassion. While I enjoyed this book, I believe it isn't for the serious Christian wanting to grow deeper. I believe it is for someone new to the faith struggling with faith and works. Also, I believe Stanley focuses too much of this book on man and not on the mystery of God. Grace isn't just about humans, it's a gift from God, but its for his Glory, not ours. I think this book could be misinterpreted by new Christians. I think is a good reminder, but it wasn't as good as I expected it to be. This book was provided to me through booksneeze. This is my honest review and I was not compensated for it.
WereJumpin More than 1 year ago
The Grace of God by Andy Stanley I newly received The Grace of God by Andy Stanley in the mail. The book is very insightful and uplifting. It speaks to you about how God created the Earth just for us. God knew it would be good for us, which He done out of grace. Stanley walks us through the stories of Joseph, Moses, Jonah, all the way to the New Testament of where Jesus was on Earth. Stanley points out where grace seems to be hiding in all these books in the Bible. Stanley mentions that through God's grace, which we all need. God gives us something that we do not deserve. We all need God's grace, but not everyone will receive it, and we may feel this is unfair, but sometimes we do not want what we deserve. Stanley states, "Grace is the vehicle God uses on occasion to ensure that we get precisely what we don't deserve." I would recommend this book to Bible Study groups. We could all learn about God's grace and it would be a great discussion topic. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
ShirlGhirl More than 1 year ago
Excellent book on God''s grace. Andy Stanly ey uses well known stiries throughout the Bible to explain God's grace. One of the caveats in this book is the way he brings together the God of the old & new testaments as the same God of grace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rosepedal More than 1 year ago
It has taken some time but I have finally had the opportunity to read this amazing book on God's grace by Andy Stanley. It is an excellent book and very encouraging especially if you are wondering how God can freely give such unconditional grace and love to us. I strongly encourage and recommend that you pick up a copy today and jump into the Grace that Gods want to freely give us. Andy Stanley helps to explain Gods Grace and express what God intended it to be in such a way that I couldn't help but to be filled with an over whelming feeling of love and grace, I began to realize that God wanted to give me His grace even when I thought there was no way I deserve or earn it. I read several parts over and give this book a whole hearted 2 thumbs up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago