Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters Series #2)

Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters Series #2)

by Michelle Zink

Paperback

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
mrdarcy3 More than 1 year ago
Lia made her way to London after the tragedy of her brother's death. She knows that Alice is now truly her enemy. Lia continues to hunt for the missing keys while discovering how to gain power amongst the planes. She's no where near as strong as Alice and that thought frightens her. When she receives word that her Aunt Abigail, guardian of Altus, lay dying, Lia must travel to her to discover the location of the hidden pages. These pages will tell Lia how to use the keys to close the gate once and for all. However, traveling to Altus will be a dangerous journey. During the trek, Sophie begins to turn on Lia. The Souls have captured her and force her to tempt Lia into opening the Gate. Lia refuses, but the betrayal deeply griefs her. Through her journey, she meets a man Dimitri. At first, he's a friend, but soon, he captured her heart. Lia doesn't know how to choose between him and James. Unfortunately, the in wake of Lia's disappearance, Alice has been comforting James. The thought of her twin with her childhood love, makes Lia sick. She vows to straighten out everything after she accomplishes her mission. Until then, she finds comfort with Dimitri. The journey to uncover the pages will be extraordinarily dangerous. Dimitri will accompany her along with several riders along the way - each only knowing part of the journey. Will Lia and Dimitri escape with the pages unscathed and the secret knowledge or will Alice and the Souls intervene? I loved the second book in this trilogy - and I can't wait for the third book and the showdown. I enjoyed the tension between Lia and the rest of the characters as she pulls away from everyone due to the weight on her shoulders. I like the introduction of Dimitri and then now love triangle for Lia.
iheartmonsterdotcom More than 1 year ago
Plot Sketch: In this second-of-three novel, Michelle Zink continues her tale of Lia and Alice, the twins that were born at odds: one with a mission to usher Samael into this world (the gate) and the other to ensure it does not happen (the guardian). Only problem is, they were born in a Caesarian birth in the late 1800s, and they were excised from the womb in the wrong order, causing their natures to conflict with their missions. PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS leaves us with Lia taking a journey to find out as much about the Prophecy as possible. GUARDIAN OF THE GATE details much of that journey and takes us through more of the sisters' fight against each other. (I can't tell you too much without spoiling either book!) Verdict: Michelle Zink is a masterful storyteller. I cannot wait for the third installment of this dark trilogy. It's very clear that Zink has honed her writing since PROPHECY (which was impeccably written to begin with) and is now a precision wordsmith. Her words weave you into this dark tale leaving you to feel every element and nearly every emotion as if you were inside the story alongside her characters. Her imagery is vivid, yet concise. Her words allow you to create your own image of the story and allow you to continually add to that image, rather than to violently force a picture that she wants you, the reader, to envision. It's brilliant. The story is beautiful yet terrifying, and strangely uplifting. Her characters are amazing, deeply layered, and surprisingly versatile. If you're looking for great YA to love and adore, I emplore you, start with PROPHECY and GUARDIAN. These take YA to a whole new level, and hold other YA authors to a much higher standard. Bravo! Location: London, mostly Main Character: Lia. Favorite Character: You know, I adore Lia. But Alice is such a devilish character and I have such a love/hate relationship with her, that she just might be my favorite. Even though I'm team Lia. Time to Finish: Having trouble tracking this lately as I'm not reading books in one sitting, but this book was one that I wanted to go back to every second of the two and a half days I read it over. Would Change: Not a thing. Even my nitpicky side that wants to find something wrong with great works can't pinpoint something I'd change about this story or this writing. Favorite Line: I think I have to change this for this review to Most Powerful Line: because it didn't make me happy, but it was super powerful and impactful: "No. He was a member of the Grigori." pg. 51, ARC. Plus the other ones I loved would be total spoilers. Good for Monster? You know, I said Prophecy would be a great read for Monster, but I've been unable to convince him to pick it up. I recommended Prophecy to a family this year, and they adored it, even after the son objected vehemently. Afterwards, he said he loved it. He was scared that it was going to be Sisterhood-of-the-Traveling-Pants-ish. It's totally not. Promise. In fact, it might be the antithesis of such books. People Who Will Like This: Victorianistas, lovers of dark gothic fiction, grammar snobs, good vs. evil ?ers People Who Won't Like This: nyctophobics, people obsessed with comedy Chapters: 34
dgeyer More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. It transported me to another place. I can't wait for the final installment. I would definitely recommend this book.
Amanda Boccolucci More than 1 year ago
Read it! I'm extremely surprised that people haven't heard of this book. The whole series is awesome.
LISA MALONEY More than 1 year ago
This book had everything anyone could possibly want
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I found myself in amazement after reading this book. I had flew through it so quickly, that I hadn't even realized it! Now, that is some awesome writing! One thing I enjoyed about this book is getting to see everything from Lia's point of view. In this book, you don't really see things from Alice's side. Though the reader is still caught up with what Alice is doing from Lia. This book picked up right where is left off and threw you into one amazing story! The plot line of this book is great! I loved watching Lia travel, and make some major life changing ideas. She learns more from a other she meets along the way. I like how strong Lia turned out to be. In the beginning, Lia is weak and how no understanding of what is really happening. In this book her ignorance is gone and she is someone new. The love interest in this story caught me by surprise. (Lately books have been doing that to me) I was sure that Lia, still admired James, but the new guy does catch my eye. He is completely opposite of James and for me, definitely catches my heart. I am on to the third and final book and can't wait to see how it ends. This book has loads of actions, love, and more traveling with secrets revealing itself left and right! If you have not started this series you should. It has amazing writing that makes you flow through the book really fast! Plus, there's a new hottie. I like him! LOL!
Ashley Massengill More than 1 year ago
This book has not only adventure but shows how much sisters go through each day just to live. Also it has the exciting thriller for those of us who need some. I recomemd it for 5th graders & up. I read the first in my fith grade year and i cant stop reading it and the second
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the setting of the book, not in the dreary Gothic upper-New York, but at Altus, an island that I can imagine the bedrooms full of white furniture and walls, overlooking the ocean and beautiful landscaping. I love how Dimitri and Lia have a relationship, though James is somewhere in Lia's heart is what makes me sad, thinking about how Lia is breaking James's heart by being with Dimitri in ways that she could never be with James, truly. I love how this book took the prophecy to a new step, outlining things more clearly. I recommend it to anyone looking for a new series to get hooked on. can't wait for Circle Of Fire!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
its really good i cant wait intill the 3rd one comes out but the q i have is y this says guardian of the gate comes out this july when i got my book from the store last yea
turlisa More than 1 year ago
Another great book. pulls you more into the characters and makes you want more. Cant wait for the third to come out on ebook. Will definately continue on with the story.
Normandie Essig More than 1 year ago
it was an amazing book and i would definetly reccomand it.
Domii3298 More than 1 year ago
Guardian of the Gate was simply amazing! Full of drama, suspense and romance. I love the first book also. I can not wait until the 3rd book comes out!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Lia made her way to London after the tragedy of her brother's death. She knows that Alice is now truly her enemy. Lia continues to hunt for the missing keys while discovering how to gain power amongst the planes. She's nowhere near as strong as Alice, and that thought frightens her. When she receives word that her Aunt Abigail, guardian of Altus, lays dying, Lia must travel to her to discover the location of the hidden pages. These pages will tell Lia how to use the keys to close the gate once and for all. However, traveling to Altus will be a difficult journey. During the trek, Sophie begins to turn on Lia. The Souls have captured her and force her to tempt Lia into opening the Gate. Lia refuses, but the betrayal causes her deep grief. Through her journey, she meets a man, Dimitri. At first, he's a friend, but soon, he captures her heart. Lia doesn't know how to choose between him and James. Unfortunately, in the wake of Lia's disappearance, Alice has been comforting James. The thought of her twin with her childhood love makes Lia sick. She vows to straighten out everything after she accomplishes her mission. Until then, she finds comfort with Dimitri. The journey to uncover the pages will be extraordinarily dangerous. Dimitri will accompany her, along with several riders along the way, each only knowing part of the journey. Will Lia and Dimitri escape with the pages unscathed and the secret knowledge, or will Alice and the Souls intervene? I loved the second book in the PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS trilogy, and I can't wait for the third book and the showdown. I enjoyed the tension between Lia and the rest of the characters as she pulls away from everyone due to the weight on her shoulders. I like the introduction of Dimitri and the new love triangle for Lia. CIRCLE OF FIRE will be released in August 2011.
marianslibrary More than 1 year ago
My love of gothic genre first drew my attention to, Prophecy of the Sisters, Book 1, by Michelle Zink. Add fantasy to the mix, superb writing, fabulous description, and Michelle Zink created a bestselling Young Adult book creating a fan base savoring for more. I was very well pleased as the sequel unfolded! As with Prophecy of the Sisters, Guardian of the Gate, held my attention! I became quite engrossed with the continuing story! The book sprang to life so much so I could vividly picture many of encounters and conflicts! The year is 1891 and the setting is England complete with castles, manors, and legends. Guardian of the Gate, Book 2, begins with sixteen-year-old Lia Milthorpe pursuing the missing pages to bring an end to the prophecy which has engulfed her family and others for many years. Lia and Alice's parents and brother are now dead, all due to circumstances surrounding the prophecy. This prophecy has turned Lia and her twin sister, Alice, against each other. Alice has evil plans for the prophecy which puts the sisters at odds. Alice is also in pursuit of the missing pages. Alice is the Guardian and Lia is the Gate of the prophecy. In the past, the Gate has been the enemy but now it is the Guardian! With the help of her father's friend, Edmund, Lia's mission is to secure the lost pages needed to end the prophecy and to find the two remaining lost keys. Their goal is to reach the hidden island of Altus. Hopefully there they will find answers to the missing pages they so desperately need to find. Along with her on the journey Lia is also accompanied by Sonia Sorrensen and Luisa Torelli, who are two of the keys to the prophecy and also bear the Jorgumand mark on their wrists. They were all born at midnight on November 1, 1874. As the tale continues to develop, Lia learns more secrets about her parents and the part they played in the unfolding tale of the prophecy. Lia discovers the importance of their family lineage as it pertains to the prophecy. Through her Aunt Abigail, Lia realizes where she must go, "Chartres," to uncover the missing pages. Lia is determined to continue and establish her rightful position with the Sisterhood. Dimitri is by Lia's side to help her to reach her goal. Will she find what she's looking for to uncover all of her answers to finally bring an end to the prophecy? Will Lia be able to find the last two keys needed? By the end of the book you will be on pins and needles to find out if Lia is powerful enough to win out in the end. Her sister Alice has the evil forces on her side to combat Lia. There can only be one sister left standing. Which one will it be? I can't wait to uncover the answers to these questions in the final book of the trilogy!!!
booklovergal12 More than 1 year ago
Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink was a great addition to the Prophecy of the Sisters series. The sequel was just as entertaining, absorbing, and adventurous as the previous book. Zink's writing is entertaining and flawlessly done. The book flows gracefully. I felt as if everything was actually taking place before my eyes instead of merely reading a book. Once again, I was impressed by her ability which far surpasses that of some authors who've been published far longer. Guardian of the Gate was a fabulous sequel to The Prophecy of the Sisters. It has suspense, action, romance, and a strong female character. I doubt anyone could find problems or complaints about this book. It is that good. I am counting the days until the next addition comes out and I'm sure I will be satisfied yet again.
stephxsu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ever since Lia uncovered the ages-old prophecy that threatens to separate her and her evil twin sister, Alice, forever, Lia and her friends have been in England, honing their magical skills and preparing to learn more about the prophecy. However, Alice¿s and the Souls¿ powers have grown, endangering the lives of the people Lia loves most. With the help of Dimitri, a handsome and protective member of the Grigori, Lia and her friends journey to Altus to find the location of the lost book pages to the prophecy. It is not long before they learn that the journey will be far more difficult and dangerous than they anticipated, however, with a whole slew of frightening magical creatures on their heels¿and even in their midst.In GUARDIAN OF THE GATE, Michelle Zink successfully introduces new elements to this ambitious historical supernatural story in a way that will impress fans of the first book. The same problems I had with the first book, however, still exist in this one, with the result that it will keep die-hard fans reading while most likely not bringing in a newer audience.GUARDIAN OF THE GATE removes readers from the late nineteenth century as we know it. Instead, we are brought into an in-between world full of mystique and danger, mythical creatures and a love that, if not exactly realistic, is at least delicious in its passion. Fans of James from Book One might be thrown a little by the introduction of Dimitri, but his devotion to Lia is a strong one, although his reasons for his dedication could have been better explained.Lia is, as always, an admirably independent character when it comes to her unfair share of bad news. I was able to sympathize with her as she struggled to balance her love for her close friends with the gradual realization that the Souls make no one safe around her. Unfortunately, her first-person narrator was rather rough and uneven: at times she lapsed into omniscient voice (a big no-no for first-person POV), and at others she too easily explained to readers what would have been more effective had the characters showed us their intentions and motivations themselves. Likewise, GUARDIAN OF THE GATE also had the similar weakness of Book One in that the plot moves so slowly that, combined with the uneven narration, it became all too easy for me to put this book down right when I shouldn¿t have wanted to.It may not be without its faults, but overall, Michelle Zink¿s Prophecy of the Sisters series is an exciting blend of historical fiction, supernatural, and the gray areas of conditional relationships. If you¿re a fan of haunting writing and do not mind the slow pacing and incomplete character development too much, this series is definitely one to consider.
ShellyPYA on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 2 in Prophecy of the Sisters. Lia's quest to find the missing pages of the book that will help her close the gate of the souls continues. From London, she, Sonia, and Luisa travel to the island of Altus, where Lia receives a cryptic clue as to the whereabouts of the pages. But she must travel to an unknown destination with her guide, Dimitri, for whom she begins to have feelings, and fight off the souls who would jeopardize her quest.
marcejewels on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved Prophecy of the Sisters and was on pins and needles waiting for this one. The few issues I had with Prophecy, Guardian of the Gate answered quickly so I was extremely pleased with Michelle Zink. (Thank you MichelleZ)Michelle Zink has became one of my new favourite authors and I will read everything she writes. She takes me on a visual journey through her artistic writing. I feel like I am watching a movie while reading, everything feels so real, this is the ultimate reading escape.Now about Guardian of the Gate, hmmm, because I love her writing and the characters I enjoyed it but it was quite different from Prophecy of the Sisters. This one didn't have me on the edge of my seat waiting for new discoveries. I enjoyed seeing Lia mature so much from the responsibility but still there were times they reminded us she was only 16, which was a good thing. Oh and the love interest, can I just say I can't wait for James and Dimitri to meet, ooh la la, that is going to be dramaful greatness.Overall I did enjoy Guardian of the Gate but I look forward to the next in the Trilogy as now it will be about the interpretation of the next part of the Prophecy and how they get to the end.I give this one a 4 because the writing is amazing, in my opinion, and it is the 2nd book in the series. If it was a stand alone I would have gave it 3 1/2 stars. You must read this in order.
storiesandsweeties on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'd been looking forward to the continuation of this story since turning the last page of Prophecy of the Sisters. It felt like a long, torturous wait, but in the end it was worth every second. Guardian of the Gate not only lived up to the amazing story that was started with Prophecy--- for me, it surpassed it. All of the same beauty was there, the sweeping Edwardian surroundings, the charming manners and propriety. The same mystery and magic---but as the adventure continues, its seems that all the best parts of the story leap forward and intensify!Lia's quest takes off like a shot, as she races against time to find the missing pages of the book her father left her and the missing keys that she needs to bring an end to the prophecy and close the gate forever. She is joined by her friends from the first book, Sonia, Luisa, and Edmund, but she is forced to hold back at fully trusting even those closest to her because the souls working for evil can overtake anyone at any time. This story had more of a fantasy feel to as Lia and her companions travel to a land called Altus where the other sisters of the Prophecy live, and she must find her aunt to help her locate the missing pages. It is a completely different surrounding than the dark and dreary Edwardian London, and it change everything for Lia! You really get to see her character develop in ways you'd never expect at the beginning of the story.The synopsis is a little deceiving regarding the turn in the love story between Lia and James...I don't want to ruin any juicy plot points, but I will tell you that the love story that is there is so much better this time around! While the first book concentrated more on discovering the prophecy and had very little to do with a love interest for Lia, the romance in this installment is almost at the forefront of the story and is part of what drives the plot along. It was heartfelt, intriguing, and exciting! I loved it!The wait for the third book in this series is going to be another torturous one! I'm already excited to see how this story will end!
IceyBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The second book in Michelle Zink's series was just as unputdownable as the first. The Guardian of the Gate was a fast-paced read in which Lia continues her journey to end The Prophecy of the Sisters forever. Its not as easy as it seems, especially when your biggest enemy is your very own twin. Lia still resides in London, an ocean away from her heartless sister Alice, who lives in New York. Yet, even an ocean apart, Alice knows every action Lia takes, because of her use of forbidden magic. Alice has gone out of control, the Grigori (the rule-makers of the Otherworlds) nor the Souls (whom Alice is working in content with, and whom Lia is trying to defeat) can stop her. After the surprising arrival of her Aunt Virginia, Edmund, and her friend Louisa, Lia begins her journey from London to the hidden island of Altus. She leaves her father's trusted friend, a detective, in charge of finding the missing keys to the Prophecy, while she sets out with Edmund and Louisa to retrieve the missing pages that will instruct Lia in ending the Prophecy of the Sisters once and for all. Its not as sad as The Prophecy of the Sisters, and I nearly gave it four stars for lack of suspense towards the end, but the last seven pages made a huge difference when Lia encounters Alice one last time before the story ends. As I read through The Guardian of the Gate, I really felt every emotion. I could almost see the breath-taking island of Altus right before my eyes. I love the way Michelle Zink states all the details simply, yet so clearly and well-defined. I also like how the ending ties the whole story together, as Lia looks forward to bringing an end to The Prophecy that has troubled generations of Sisters before her.
bookmagic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second in the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy. To recap so far based on my faulty memory, Lia and Alice Milthorpe are orphaned twins destined to play the ultimate role between good and evil. The Guardian is to protect the Gate from letting in Samael (Satan) and the souls of the otherworld (good) and the Gate is the one to let them in (evil). Lia was to have been the Gate but due to their Cesarean birth, the twins came out in opposite order. Alice is now the Gate and Lia the Guardian but she is susceptible to influence from the Souls. The sisters were protected while their father was alive but he has died at the beginning of the first book. Alice embraced her evilness, even killing their young brother Henry. At the end of Book I, Lia is headed to London, with her friends that are also keys to the prophecy, leaving behind Alice.Lia is in London waiting to be taken to her Aunt Abigail on the mythical Island of Altus. Lia will then be sent to find the missing pages of the prophecy. This book was much different than the first and I am not sure I liked it as well. There is definitely a lot of development in the prophecy and we learn more about the history and the role that Lia's parents played. We also have a new love interest for Lia, as she left behind James in America, not telling him about the prophecy. Dmitri is one of the Grigori, and he seeks to protect and guide Lia on her journey.Zink is an incredibly talented, beautiful writer. Every sentence seems perfectly crafted and drew me in to the story, despite the fact that the plot was a bit thin. There was plenty of action but very little of Alice, who is back in New York, further developing her powers to destroy Lia. I think I missed some of the character interaction that was in the first book. It is also hard to get too excited by a book that you know won't have a resolved story at the end, but I did find myself quite caught up for the last half. I look forward to the final installment and hope to really see a lot of play between Alice and Lia as they fight this battle of good and evil.my rating 3.5/5
Bookswithbite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found myself in amazement after reading this book. I had flew through it so quickly, that I hadn't even realized it! Now, that is some awesome writing! One thing I enjoyed about this book is getting to see everything from Lia's point of view. In this book, you don't really see things from Alice's side. Though the reader is still caught up with what Alice is doing from Lia. This book picked up right where is left off and threw you into one amazing story!The plot line of this book is great! I loved watching Lia travel, and make some major life changing ideas. She learns more from a other she meets along the way. I like how strong Lia turned out to be. In the beginning, Lia is weak and how no understanding of what is really happening. In this book her ignorance is gone and she is someone new.The love interest in this story caught me by surprise. (Lately books have been doing that to me) I was sure that Lia, still admired James, but the new guy does catch my eye. He is completely opposite of James and for me, definitely catches my heart.I am on to the third and final book and can't wait to see how it ends. This book has loads of actions, love, and more traveling with secrets revealing itself left and right! If you have not started this series you should. It has amazing writing that makes you flow through the book really fast! Plus, there's a new hottie. I like him! LOL!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago