Guilty Pleasure (Bound Hearts Series #11)

Guilty Pleasure (Bound Hearts Series #11)

by Lora Leigh

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Guilty Pleasure 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 237 reviews.
thisoldbroad More than 1 year ago
I read other reviews about the grammatical errors, but just figured they were from disgruntled english teachers. I WAS WRONG!!! Every other page, (no exaggeration!), had misspelled words, wrong words, missing words, duplicate words, continuity errors, etc.. It went beyond distracting & annoying. I finally started counting the pages with errors when I was about 50 pages in.. 56 pages, & that's of the 176 page total using my expanded page view! Where was the proof reader? Editor? Is there no quality control with ebooks? With the publisher? Does B&N not worry about customer sat? The story had such possibilities with a great build-up through the other books in the series, but was totally ruined by the distractions of the errors & having to re-read sentences trying to figure out the intent of the writer. I won't purchase another book by this author & am not in a hurry to purchase another ebook either.
my2cents More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed Ms. Leigh's Bound Heart series. Some books are better then others. She has started to really flesh out her stories, compared to the earliest, almost short story, length in the series. When she really invests her time and emotions into her characters,the books come alive with sizzling passion and characters that stay with you, long after the last page is shut and that keeps you reading until the wee hours of the morning. My favorites in the series so far are Forbidden Pleasure and Wicked Pleasure. I wish I could have added this story to that list. Khalid has been a particularly favorite secondary character that I have been eagerly awaiting "his story". When I found out it was his turn finally, I eagerly wrote down the release date and actually went down to the bookstore the day it came out, which is rare for me. I got it home and read it last night. When I was done, I felt sad that Khalid and Marty's story was left flat and will now only be a bridge for other characters to be introduced. I don't know if Ms. Leigh was disconnected from his story when she sat down to write it or if she was pressured to finish on a deadline, but the characters never make that jump from paper to coming alive in your mind. Plus, as in a previous review I have to agree that this Khalid is not the same man as in her previous books. I thought if I had to hear him use the endearment "precious" one more time I might have to jump in there shake him up to find the real man. Where is the buildup of sexual tension? Where was the mischief and humor (as seen in Ian and Courtney's story)? Where was the sensualist and lover in Chase and Kia's story? I like that her books, in this series, are becoming longer, more detailed and plot driven, but I would have rather waited longer and been given the Khalid we had been expecting. It's unfortunate it cannot be "redone" and that Khalid's story will never be better. It's a decent book and its part of the series, so if you are a fan you are going to want to read it regardless of these reviews. Just set aside your expectations though and hope she feels more about her next characters. If you are a new reader, then I would suggest you read some of her earlier titles in the series before you get to this one. Still a fan here ... just disappointed and wondering what the next book in the series will bring.
1eroticafan More than 1 year ago
I think I have waited so long for this one to come out that I was hoping it would be as good the previous ones...I was dissapointed. I love the Bound Hearts series very much.
Emptrix More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the Bound Hearts, series . . . until now! Lora Leigh has some downs in her writing, and she is something of a prolific writer, so one cannot expect every book to be five or four stars, or even three stars but this! I'd give this a minus five stars if possible. I hate being forced to even give it one star. I was anxiously awaiting Kahlid's story, sure it would be my favorite. So not! I wrote a letter to Lora Leigh expressing my great frustration with the inconsistent elements in the story, the lack of her usual spark, and the inexcusable publication of a rough draft that never made it through spell check or grammar check! It was painful to read this book. I offered to edit for her because she so obviously needs someone to help. I would die of embarrassment to have my name appear as the author of such an abortive story, especially when one's readers are expecting it to be at least as good as it's 10 predecessor stories. There is basically nothing good about this book. I have a difficult time believing that Lora Leigh actually wrote this. One thing is definitely certain, it never passed the eyes of an editor and if it did, that editor should move directly to the unemployment line, not pass go, etc., etc., etc. I feel like buying this book was like being taken advantage of in a "shell game".
CAAF More than 1 year ago
Good read - not her best but pretty good. It had the Lora Leigh trademarks - hot sex with macho guys and lots of action - but it felt like half a book. Perhaps it was just that the end felt rushed. On the plus side - Khalid and Shayne are both great characters, classic hero material. I liked Khalid fighting his own protective nature to let her be herself, and adventurous, risk-taking agent. Shayne is certainly being lined up as a future hero. I liked the heroine, Marty. She was determined to be her own person. Plot wise I had some serious issues with the ending. All sorts of highly trained folks are guarding the house [including checking the interior] yet a dozen bad guys manage to get in and stage a major gun battle - and no one notices. Books in this series tend to be chronological - so it would it be better to read them in order. The last three Pleasure books are especially closely knit; Khalid is a major sub-character in Only Pleasure. As it is part of the Bound Hearts series - menage sex is pretty much a given... Bound Hearts 1. Surrender (2003) 2. Submission / Seduction (omnibus) (2004) 3. Wicked Sacrifice: Wicked Intent / Sacrifice (omnibus) (2006) 4. Forbidden Pleasure (2007) 4. Shameless Embraces: Embraced / Shameless (omnibus) (2007) 5. Wicked Pleasure (2008) 6. Only Pleasure (2009) 7. Guilty Pleasure (2010)
I_Read_ALOT More than 1 year ago
The characters within this story were so poorly developed that I almost convinced myself that Lora Leigh couldn't have written this. I've read most of her books and loved almost every single one of them, except for Bengal's Heart, which I felt suffered from similar poor character development and somewhat lazy plot development. That book's flaws weren't as glaring as this book, though. It's really a shame because this book could have been truly wonderful and Khalid deserved a great story. All the elements were there, but it's clear that none of them were given enough time or maybe not enough interest from the author. I just wanted to get the book over with and even began skipping pages. I almost always reread Lora Leigh's books, but I won't be doing so with this one.
earthmotherNG More than 1 year ago
I won't go into a detailed synopses of the story, the plot is basically the same as all the `Bound Hearts'; a coming together, a three-way, and then the HEA. In the early Ellora's Cave books, the menage was brought in after the h/h had established a relationship, as a way of enhancing their sex life, but separate from their `love for each other' relationship. Three-ways were understood to be part of their relationship, but not the sum total of it, unless, as in the case of two of the BH's, it was to be a permanent menage. SPOILERISH........ The book was good, if you like LL, you will really like this story. I did, even though I had a few issues with it. One of the things that bothered me about this book was the same as in the last couple of BH books; that the three-way was established before the relationship was established, and continued throughout the book for virtually every sexual encounter. I understand that this is what these books are about, but the lack of a foothold in the romance of Khalid and Marty with each other made the menages a bit off-putting. It was as if the titillation of the three-way took precedence over the relationship between the h/h. The other thing that really bothered me was the unrelenting nasty talk during the sex scenes. Both the men kept talking and talking about what they wanted the other to do to Marty's sweet little body while the other watched, and in really base, graphic language. This seemed so at odds with the tender, suave, and compassionate man and lover that Khalid had been when he was the third in previous books. Once again, the titillation factor, but it just didn't fit the previously established urbane, sophisticated character of Khalid. I love LL's books and Khalid has always been the favorite of mine. I was so happy to see him get his own book, even if some of the things in this story seemed (to me) to be out of character for him. There have only been two of LL's characters I have never really cared for, Cade August (I felt like he was a creepy slut-puppy bent on banging all the wives not because of the brothers `compulsion', but just because he could); and Chase Falladay (at the end of his book when he mused that he would like to have Kia with a different man each time, I'm sorry, but that just grossed me out. What a sleaze. Was he her lover or her pimp?). The story itself was really good, who would have pegged Khalid for an FBI mole? This action story was a bit more like her SEALS/Ops books than a BH. It is not a permanent menage, for anyone who is wondering. I think Shayne is being set up for his own book soon. (Alyssa?) The story is exciting, and there is a definite HEA. All in all, I highly recommend it, especially to those who have been bothered by a couple of LL's books lately that have seemed to be rushed to print. She is back in rare form, and I really look forward to her Special Ops, Nauti, and Breed books coming out in the next few months.
e_bibliophile More than 1 year ago
Bad word choices, misspelled words or incomplete words, random punctuation- all these things are very distracting from the story. Especially when you have to read a sentence a couple times to find the correct word that you need to make it make sense. Part way through it seems like they re-wrote a section without remembering what had been written before and then ended up right back with the proper story line. I was looking forward to Khalid's story. But with all the editing issues, it was hard.
agent-orange More than 1 year ago
Guilty Pleasure is perhaps the worst book that I have read by author Lora Leigh. It is definitly the worst of the Bound Series. The plot is choppy, as is most of the book. Even the sex scenes lack a continuity to them that her previous books possessed. The other books in this series allowed me to form attachments to the main characters. I had been looking forward to this book after reading Only Pleasure. And to be honest I felt more empathy for Khalid when he was a minor chartacter in Only Pleasure than I did in Guilty Pleasure when he was the main character. Even the menages failed to draw me to the "third" as the other books did. I could care less what happens Shayne. If you liked Guilty Pleasure, and thought the sex was hot, try Wicked Pleasure or Forbidden Pleasure. These were much more entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great series.
VividConfusion on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This addition to Lora Leigh's "Bound Hearts" series features all the essential points of the previous books: stunningly attractive men, a strong-willed woman, and cameo appearances by known characters, all set against the sexual tension of menege games. While some of the characters will be familiar to the reader from other "Bound Hearts" books, the vast majority have never been even mentioned before, making the connection to other books in the series mostly by association with "The Club". The cameos of familiar characters are very brief and often seem somewhat gratuitous, leaving the impression that the characters' appearances were more of a ploy to gain the support of longtime Leigh readers rather than a substantive addition to the plot.As with many of Leigh's "Bound Hearts" books, "Guilty Pleasure" also has mild overtones of suspense writing. This is effective as far as it goes. However, the story seems to rely heavily on Middle Eastern stereotypes and the anti-Arab sentiment of Post-9/11 USA, despite Khalid's role as leading man in the story. Unfortunately, what "Guilty Pleasure" also does not have is closure. Although the suspense aspect of the storyline is resolved, the relationship component is left at a sudden and unsatisfying stop. There is no "after" once the story's climactic danger scene is over. The book simply ends as if the publisher decided to save money on printing by eliminating the final chapter. Although it is an enjoyable read, complete with a number of steamy sex scenes, "Guilty Pleasure" is not one of Ms. Leigh's best works, even within the "Bound Hearts" series. While it adds to the overall "Bound Hearts" collective chain of stories, it is one of the weaker links.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this series
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Agent Marty Mathews has had it bad for Khalid El Hamid--Mustafa since she was 15 and didn’t know what that even meant. For the past 2 years she’s been tailing Khalid as an FBI agent. Now that she’s off the case, she can finally work out her plan to seduce him! Anyone whose read any of Lora Leigh’s first Bound Hearts books has already met Khalid and has anxiously wanted to read his book. I was very happy that it didn’t disappoint. Although I typically don’t like reading books (or series as the case is here) where one of the main characters was in sexual situations with someone other than their HEA, the scorching series is written in such a way that I have no problem with it. The author has a way of writing strong females with good moral who are a perfect match to the strong males they fall for. I loved reading about Khalid and Marty. I’m glad that the series was re-released giving me a chance to read this. I highly recommend. **I voluntarily read and reviewed this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Grab the fire extinguisher and get the ice water ready because things are about to get far too hot to handle. Marty was raised in an unconventional family, she was fully aware of the “club” and the life style of her mother and her two fathers live. But it was the forbidden Khalid that tempted her heart but perusing a relationship would destroy her career. Khalid was the perfect second, never taking a woman for his own, he’s kept always kept himself apart to keep those he could care for away from the danger of his past. One incident, one slip up and his true feelings for Marty puts a target on her back. Now claiming Marty as his own will be the only thing that will save her and he isn’t going to ever let her go. All that careful control is about to come crashing in around them as the explosive chemistry becomes an inferno of passion. Perfect for readers that like erotic romance with substance, Guilty Pleasure artfully balances steam and story. I received this ARC copy of Guilty Pleasure from St. Martin's Press in exchange for a honest review.
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Lora Leigh and the Bound Hearts series. I found the story was good but lacked the drama and intensity of the other books. Khalid has always been such a sexy alpha, he fell a bit flat in this book with Marty. The sex was steamy and erotic but more story could have been woven into. I plan on continuing the series even though this was just an ok read for me.
Cheryl-S More than 1 year ago
Marty Mathews has loved Khalid since she was 15. Always afraid to claim her a his own over the years, for fear the past would raise it's ugly head. Marty is tired of waiting for him. See what happens when she makes it known she's finally going after what she's been wanting for years. Khalid and Marty fit. He gives her the space she needs to be herself. This story is full of dark, powerful, dangerous, sexy alpha men and they're all members of THE CLUB. I'm a little disappointed with the abrupt ending. As always with this amazing author, I can't wait to read the next book. Received a copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed is my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the 2 main characters, she is strong and he is also strong but controlling. She does not give into him easily but keeps him on his toes. Loved other ones also in this series, but this was a great read with just the right amount of pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
held me from start to finish
cheekys_dance More than 1 year ago
I finished this book and felt like something was missing....the ending!  Why would the story end with Marty laying on a bed, bleeding from a bullet wound? What about Deerfield?  Never got to hear what happened to him. Very frustrating to spend $7.99 on a book and not get a proper ending to the story. So many characters left unfinished. Not worth the money paid.