Hades (Halo Trilogy #2)

Hades (Halo Trilogy #2)

by Alexandra Adornetto

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hades 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 276 reviews.
Arctic_Fox More than 1 year ago
The first one left me a little miffed. In general, there are three broad kind of ways a female protagonist can be portrayed. Either as a strong character, a weak character, or someone who is in the middle and at the end of the story may fall to either side of the spectrum. I admit that I have a preference for the strong character who are often witty or sarcastic, middle character's are always easy to either love or hate depending on how they end up in the end, and I have felt also that not all weak characters are to be looked at with disgust. But there are very few authors that can portray a weak character and not piss the reader off with their indecisiveness and often unrealistic views. The setting and plot are generally what helps shape whether the character's personality will be well received, and the readers preference for personality's within a certain context. So within the context of angels and heaven mixing with high school dramas, I can't find Bethany's weak personality endearing. If anything, her impulsiveness and lack of foresight make me dread reading the next book in the series without immense positive reassurance that Bethany won't continue to taint my idea of angels and isn't the snipe of a self-centered individual that I have unfortunately interpreted her as. The summary given of Hades, furthermore makes me more doubtful that it will suit my tastes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot believe there isnt more reviews. The first book Halo was amazing. I love the characters and the plot! The romance is wonderful and nothing like our "usual" works of teen fiction. I dont usually write reviews but honestly, I am going to read this book since the first one was also excellent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. Very hard to put down. I read this book in 2 days! Can't wait to read Heaven.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my freinds and i loved halo and when we found out there was going to be a series we all freaked. i love how this author portrays the bad guy the good guys and of course the love.
yasmxoxo More than 1 year ago
I can't wait. I fell in love with the first book, Halo. & I know this book is just gonna be so good. =]
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
Hi again guys! I’m assuming that if you are reading this review that you have finished author Alexandra Adornetto’s novel Halo and if you haven’t then please turn back now! (And maybe check out our review of Halo HERE?). Now, you know how Halo came to a halt with the demon Jake Thorn wanting Bethany more than anything in all of the worlds and with Bethany and Xavier together (yay!). Well, I’m also assuming that you’ve read the synopsis of the novel and if you haven’t then be prepared for a total bombshell—Bethany ends up in hell and it is Jake who has dragged her all the way down there. I hadn’t even known that Hades had been released when it had been, in fact I kind of forgot about the Halo series altogether (oh no!) what with all the novels that had been needing reading. But when I was on Amazon and saw that *dramatic gasp* Hades was out I had jumped out of my seat and screamed: “OMG! I NEED THIS! NOW!” Or something along those lines. Personally, I thought that as a character, Bethany has managed to grow a lot more than she did in Halo. In Halo, Bethany seemed like the naïve character that needed a lot of babysitting to get along in the story—however in Hades Bethany now has to put up the fight for her life. Not only is Jake trying to seduce her into being his and wants her to be his wife, but the Devil himself wants the only angel to ever become trapped in hell to become dead very much like everything trapped inside of Hades. The one thing that I found interesting (besides the cover. P.S. look how pretty it is!) Was the way Adornetto described the one level of hell that Jake ruled over. It seemed the most pleasant of the bunch, especially since she described it as a type of dark city with hundreds of literally damned nightclubs (where obviously the Damned are damned to dance for eternity). All through the novel I had been biting my nails, gasping and wide eyed as events took place where I would constantly be going: Oh my god! Oh no! No way! And other things of that variety. Not only did Hades hold many unseen twists and turns, but I noticed just how strong the relationship between Beth, her siblings and of course Xavier really was. Both Ivy and Gabriel end up going to lengths of the extreme and all the while it leaves the reader thinking: Please! Please! Let Xavier save her! I would recommend this (obviously) to fans of the first Halo novel and to the angel genre (which I now dub it’s title). But also to fans of supernatural romance and a novel that is unique in almost every single way. And who will it hurt if I tell you that Hades ends with you begging for more…
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AWOSOME!!!!!!!! Great read, very thrilling! kept me on the edge of my seat!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put the book down i am so satisfide DONT STOP WRITING SUCH GOOD BOOKS ALEXANDRA THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE BOOK IT MEANS A LOT TO ME AND IT REALLY BRING THE FEELING AND EMOTIONS OUT OF ME SOME ADVICE PUT SOME LOVE IN THE BOOKS AND FEELINGS TO GET YOUR BOOKS GOING YOUR MY FAVORITE AUTHOR LOVE U
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Luvd this series. Its a must read!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first book in this series, Halo and i loved it. This one is just as good. If u like page turning books this is for u. The next in the series comes ot in August
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How the book ended was a bit of a cliff hanger. But a cant wait till the third one comes out. Does anybody know when the third book comes out??
Jessica Webster More than 1 year ago
I liked the first better then this one
SilverPL More than 1 year ago
I kinda liked the first book not like i loved other books. I just didn't like how it ended and i'm giving a chance to grab me this time. I really wish that this will be way better than the last one, Halo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is fantastic! Heaven (book 3) needs to hurry up and come to the Nook Store!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so amazing i love the whole seires i couldnt put the book down it was too good i recomend it is amazing
Olivia Hobert More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 2 days! I didn't put it down it's so amazing! I love these books, and I hope Heaven ends up being as good as Halo and Hades! Definitely 5 stars for this book! Good for you readers out there who love romance and suspense!
evanescenceSE More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. very hard to put down. can't wait to read more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sex is appart of the series i mean really you take someone who from hell and put him in a room with a arch angel and he will want to get into those pants or robe:? I am 13 but i know a lot more than i should and can read very well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is jaw droppingly clever. And to think an 18 year old wrotr it......All I can say is wow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant wait for the next one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant wait till the third one comes out!
BookSake More than 1 year ago
The follow-up to Halo, which I loved, started innocently enough. It moved right along getting into the heart of the matter and arriving in Hell in no time. Most of the story involved Bethany and Jake - seeing as how they were in hell throughout the majority of this story. I think that is where it fell short for me. There is so much that could be done when writing about Hell and while there were a few liberties taken with what hell was actually like - we got to see so little of it that it just wasn't enough to hold my interest. Basically a hotel and a few nightclubs, of course there was the vast nothingness - but what about all the other levels of Hell - those seemed like they would have been more interesting. Maybe a tour? I love scenes involving Gabriel, Ivy, and Xavier - they were my favorites in the first book as well. There just aren't enough of them in this book. Jake's reasoning for bringing Beth to Hell fell short of my expectations as well. If you are helping to rule Hell - you should be a complete bad ass.Jake wasn't. If there is more to come from this series I probably won't seek it out, but might continue reading if it falls into my lap. Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.
Bella_and_Edward_Forever More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Halo! Can't wait to read Hades!!!!!! I wish it would come out sooner!
mt256 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hades is the second novel in the Halo series by Alexandra Adornetto. It picks up where the last novel left off. Bethany and Xavier are still in love. The small town of Venus Cove is returning back to normal. Things seems to be going well for all parties until a bad decision with really bad consequences occurs. Jake Thorn finds a loop hole to trick Bethany into going to Hell. I like this book so much more than the Halo. I felt as if the characters in this novel finally came alive. Bethany is an angel trapped in Hell. Jake intends to keep her there at all costs. However Bethany refuses to accept her fate. She'll stop at nothing to get back to the ones she loves. Jake on the other hand, is obsessed with Bethany. He will stop at nothing to keep her in Hades, as he calls it. There tempers flare quite a bit as they go up against each other. Bethany finds some unlikely allies to help her. I'm glad the author included Jake Thorn in this novel. He's an interesting character that's multidimensional. At times I really wanted to hate him but at others I couldn't help feel sorry for him.The story line in this novel was good. It was definitely a page turner for me. There are so many obstacles that the characters must overcome I just wanted to keep reading to find out what was going to happen. As for the ending let me just say this: Major Cliffhanger! I can't wait to see what happens next.
nocturnewytche on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am giving this book one star. I cannot even finish it! Halo was good, but my interest in this series just does not hold over enough to care to finish this. I may try it again one day but for now, I cannot say I enjoyed this one enough to finish it. A big disappointment.