Hard Night

Hard Night

by Jackie Ashenden

Paperback

$8.96 $9.95 Save 10% Current price is $8.96, Original price is $9.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hard Night 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Evampire9 3 months ago
He’s the owner of a billion-dollar security company and leader of the 11th Hour who spends his life completing dangerous missions for others. But Jacob Night has one personal mission he has yet to complete, finding his missing brother. She has no memory of who she is or her life before she came to work for Jacob Night and she’s not sure she wants to remember. When she and Jacob are ambushed by men who have come to kill her for sins she can’t recall, she has no choice but to face the past and once everything comes to light, they may not escape with their lives intact, let alone the hearts. Jacob Night’s story is one well worth waiting for. The characters are strong and supremely convincing as Jacob tries to pry Faith’s memories loose while struggling with some off the charts chemistry and a combustible relationship that has missiles exploding every direction. Lots of gripping emotional turmoil and fiery passion flows from the pages of very intense and highly entertaining romance, where readers can’t decide if they should chuckle, sigh or duck for cover. As Faith body begins to betray her by remembering the past, Jacob continues to egg her on hoping for a breakthrough in recovering her memories which keeps dialogue and suspense quite volatile. While, the fast paced and smooth flowing plot keeps readers on the edge with lots of exhilarating action and thrilling excitement with some jaw dropping twist that has readers gearing up for more with turn of the page throughout this highly explosive and intense read. Jacob and Faith take not only each other by storm but also the readers with hurricane force winds.
D-does-reviews More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I’ve read by this author and it definitely won’t be the last. I love reading military/black ops stories that feature a superbly conditioned Alpha male who can handle anything that comes his way with one hand held behind his back while he struggles with his vulnerabilities. This one has a unique twist in that the vital information Jacob Night needs is locked in the mind of a woman who has lost her memory due to a traumatic brain injury. Faith has been living and working with Jake for five long months and while she remembers many things she’s no closer to remembering her ex-husband. This book has a well built storyline that’s both believable and compelling with plenty of action and an enigmatic billionaire who has met his match in a woman he can’t forget. I read a complimentary copy of this book provided by Kensington Books through NetGalley and all opinions expressed in my voluntary review are completely my own.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Faith was a mystery to Jacob.Jacob watched her from his town car as went into the bar at the top of the stairs. Her body had been teasing him for five months at least and he wasn’t a man who denied himself. But going there with Faith wasn’t a good idea. But after six months she still had no memory of who she was. Than what he learned from Phillip Blake - little facts and tidbits into the jigsaw puzzle that was Faith- such as her real name , part of her background. Jacob had found her badly hurt with no memory in a hospital he lied and said he was her cousin. He brought her to his home and into the 11th Hour Team - a paramilitary organization that did special “jobs” for people. He had set it up six months earlier and since than Faith had been his go-between . She didn’t need her memory for that. She was turning out to be one of his team’s best assets. Cool, calm, and totally professional. He had wanted to tell Faith what he had learned but she said she wasn’t ready yet to know. But Jacob wasn’t going to wait forever. Deep in Faith’s memories somewhere was the knowledge of where Jacob’s missing twin brother Joshua was. The brother Jacob had been looking for the last five years. Faith came back to the car from the bar. She had gone on a new recruit mission and she thought things went well and he seemed interested. All new recruits were thoroughly vetted by both Faith and Jacob. Physically and psychologically. All current members were essential to the team and had developed a good rapport with one another and it was always tricky adding a new recruit since that changed the teams dynamics. Faith wouldn’t often look Jacob in the eye or get close to him either. But he knew it was because of the undeniable physical chemistry which clearly made her both suspicious and uncomfortable. She had also been Joshua’s lover. No one talked to Jacob like Faith did. Everyone else was too afraid. But Faith didn’t seem to have any problem with giving him a tongue- lashing if she thought he deserved it. No one knew Jacob’s background he made sure of that. Faith didn’t want to know who she really was, she got cold at the thought of it. Jacob never did anything without a reason, Faith had learned that. Jacob was a mercenary. Essentially the 11th Hour was guns for hire. The missions Jacob usually accepted entailed protecting people who needed it, or taking down people who deserved it, so it seemed simplistic to label them as basic mercenaries. Than they were shot at while in the car and Jacob drove to the airport and flew the plane even though he had been shot in his thigh and got them to a safe house in another state. Jacob had destroyed the fragile bubble of normality Faith had built for herself by telling her what he had - her real name and who she was. Than Jacob and Faith became lovers. Jacob convinced himself he could have one night with her. Great book. I absolutely loved it and didn’t want to put it down. I loved Faith/Joanna and Jacob together especially both parts of Faith wanting Jacob I also loved how they interacted. They had both lost or didn’t have so much and got very little back in return for a long time. Both were strong independent people but also lonely. I loved the ending it so fit. I loved the action and suspense in this book. I found nothing to criticize in this book very happily! I loved the characters and the ins and outs of this book and I highly recommend it.
Boohimdanno More than 1 year ago
I am not sure if it is the authors writing style or the story but Hard Might just doesn't click together making it a somewhat hard and boring read. As readers we always suspension of belief but at times even this story was too over the top and didn't make any since. The story throws two people together and bam lots of sex. Which then leaves very little times for the story to evolve. The author Jackie Adhendenn tried to create a sexual tension with a push pull reaction to things but in the end everything falls flat lacking the desired outcome. Thank you to Netgalley and the Publisher Kensington Books for the Advance copy of Jackie Adhendenn Hard Night
Deb_from_Oz More than 1 year ago
Two characters both so tough and hard in so many ways but both so damaged and reliant in others. Faith has no memory of who or what she is when Jacob arrives at the hospital saying she is his cousin Faith she has to believe him what he isn't telling her is that she is the link to his missing brother Joshua When her memory finally returns she realises that she is Joanna Lynn a covert Military Special Ops agent who was sent to kill Joshua, her own team betrayed Now the two of them must work together to find out exactly what is going on. This is a fast paced book with plenty of twists and turns to keep you turning the pages as fast as you can
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic first book in this new series. This is the first book I"ve read by Jackie Ashenden and can't wait for the next book in this series. Jacob is definitely an alpha male to the max. And will stop at nothing to find his brother. At least before Faith came into the picture. Their connection was on fire and the sex scenes were hot and hotter. There are a lot of twist and turns had to stay up to finish did not want to put it down.
belllla More than 1 year ago
This is for me the best book that was written by Jackie Ashenden and is now one of the best books I ever read. I loved every page it was such a page-turner. How to write but not to involve spoiler? Hope is a great character she has so good combination of the different side of herself, I loved how strong she is and her backbone that she wasn't scared of Jacob and had always ready a comeback. Jacob is also great his determination to finding his brother is strong but caring for Hope comes first. I love his possessiveness toward Hope and their attraction bammm explosive. I am so grateful for giving the opportunity to read this amazing book. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
Lorizen More than 1 year ago
Book 3 brings Jacob and Faith into the 11th hour series. Jacob is the head of 11th hour and in search of his brother. He believes Faith in the key to finding him, the problem is Faith has amnesia and doesn't remember anything. The has nightmares, bits and pieces of being attacked and hurt but nothing more. Jacob finds her in the hospital and brings her home to recoup hoping her memory will return. After 6 months and nothing happening, also working with the group doing some work, Jacob decides it's time to try and flush out her memory. After they are attacked, he takes her to his safe house in Washington where he slowly seduces both her body and her mind. He may have just gotten more than he bargained for with that. This story has some great twists and turns and a hella lot of who do you trust. It flows nicely. I couldn't decide if I liked Jacob or not. Faith I liked. I was a little disappointed with this one, not up to Jackie's usual exceedingly over the top great, but still was a good read. Next book please.
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
Eleventh Hour is made up of hard core members whose goal is to help those that need them. Faith - who has no memory is inducted into this group when its founder Jacob Night takes here from the hospital. Jacob's only goal is to find his twin brother who was separated from him in the foster family system at a young age. Enter Faith who holds a key to his search. Found this book full of twists and turns but also with a sprinkling of romance and healing. I read this fine as a stand-alone but will probably revisit this series as the characters, of a secondary nature, are amazing. "A copy of this book was provided by Kensington Books via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. Comments here are my honest opinion." Skilled author is what makes this a great read.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
HARD NIGHT is the third instalment in Jackie Ashenden’s contemporary, adult 11th HOUR erotic, romantic suspense series focusing on the men and women who work for 11th Hour Security. This is ex-Black Ops / 11th Hour owner Jacob Night, and Faith Beasley’s story line. TOTAL CONTROL can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous story line is revealed where necessary. Told from dual third person perspectives (Faith and Jake) HARD NIGHT follows the building relationship between ex-Black Ops / 11th Hour owner Jacob Night, and Faith Beasley. Six months earlier Faith found herself in the hospital without any memory of who she was, or anything about her past including the man she would grow to love. Jacob Night suspects Faith knows something about his missing brother Josh but our heroine is unable to recall the how and why of her current dilemma. Fast forward to present day wherein Faith will be targeted by someone from her past. Desperate to protect the woman with whom he is falling in love, Jake ‘abducts’ Faith to places unknown in the hopes of being able to jostle her memory into revealing the truth about the brother he lost. Faith Beasley has amnesia. For six months our heroine has struggled to regain her forgotten memories but with their return Faith knows it is only a matter of time before Jake discovers the truth about her connections to the past. Jacob Night doesn’t do relationships and a relationship with the woman he believes is keeping secrets threatens all sense of peace for our story line hero. The relationship between Faith and Jacob is one of immediate attraction; there is a definite palpable sexual energy that may or may not be predicated on the fear of the unknown. Faith is hoping for something more but when her memories return betrayal and heart break become her only companion. The $ex scenes are intimate, erotic, aggressive and intense. The colorful secondary and supporting characters include Callie Hawthorne and Jack King (Raw Power #1), Kellan Blake, and IT specialist Sabrina Leighton (Total Control #2). The requisite evil has many faces but is familiar to our story line couple. HARD NIGHT is a story of power and control; betrayal and vengeance; family and love. The premise is engaging and energetic; the romance is spirited and dramatic; the characters are broken, flawed and intoxicating. HARD NIGHT is an impassioned and startling story of romantic suspense.
Timitra More than 1 year ago
Rated 3.5 Stars Hard Night is a suspenseful, sexy and enjoyable read. I've been looking forward to reading the mysterious Mr. Night's book ever since I read the first book in the series. The previous books gave glimpses into him leaving you with more questions than answers but Hard Night tells his story. In a nutshell it's a boss/employee type of story with broken characters but there are other dynamics to their relationship that add a forbidden/taboo element to it. While I enjoyed it, it didn't fully work for me for a few reasons, it took me a while to get into it, I didn't really connect with the characters and the hero's nickname for the heroine had me cringing. I'm not sure why it engendered this response in me since it's not creepy but every time I saw it it elicited that response. I liked it but didn't love it. Copy provided by publisher through Net Galley
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
In this third book of the 11th Hour series we finally get to know the elusive founder, Jacob Night. He's on a quest to find his twin brother that he was separated from years ago when they were put into foster care. He's certain the woman in the hospital suffering from amnesia is the key to his brother's whereabouts. Due to this he plans on keeping Faith around until her memory returns. When her life is put in danger Faith and Jacob embark on a journey that will uncover her past and hopefully lead Jacob to his brother. Will they survive what they uncover along the way? I adore Jackie Ashenden stories and this book is no exception. They are all a bit dark, off the beaten path, a whole lot sexy and always a joy to read. I highly recommend this one.
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
Sexy and hot, I loved this book. The 11th Hour series is about tough former special ops that step in to help when no one else can. It was created and is run by the mysterious Jacob Night, who, until now, we didn't know anything about. Hard Night tells Jacob's story and background, which is tough, raw, and gritty. It takes a damaged soul to create such a company, however, we also learn the company's true purpose, which I never could have guessed. Faith is a women with amnesia and no recollection of who she is or how she was injured in the incident that stole her memories. Jacob finds her in a hospital and brings her home to help care for her and, hopefully, restore her memories. He claims to be her cousin, but nothing Jacob does is altruistic and the reason he brings her to his home is dark and secretive. This is an engaging book that I couldn't put down. It hooked me from the first page. I loved finally learning Jacob's story and how it intersected with Faith's tale. This novel is raw and rough, and fans of the genre will love this book. Put this one at the top of your TBR list as this is a must read. The author is on my must read authors' list.