Healing Love

Healing Love

by Abby Niles

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Healing Love 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
TDB005 More than 1 year ago
The one thing I love most about this series is that although they are MMA books, that isn't the central focus of the story. So often it is all about the fighting and very little about the characters and what's driving them. Abby Niles seamlessly blends both aspects into a story that is thrilling yet steamy all at the same time. Healing love was quite a pleasure to read. I think that both Lance and Ella (aka Kelsey) were well developed characters, and the plot was definitely engaging. I felt like I really got to know the characters well in the book, which is always appealing, so I was definitely invested in how their relationship was going to work out in the end. I admired both characters for their strength and convictions. They both had a lot to learn as far as leaning on someone to help, but I think in the end they were able to heal enough to come together in a believable way. I've really enjoyed reading this series, and I look forward to reading more from it in the future. I'm giving it two thumbs-up, so definitely give it a read.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! Wonder Woman to the rescue... ;) Both Ella/Kelsey and Lance are fantastic characters who very nearly let their own pride ruin their lives. Brought together when Lance is assigned to be Ella's MMA trainer, their mutual respect (her for his excellent training abilities, him for her skill and determination) quickly turns to something more...even though neither of them is really in a place at the moment to indulge in "more". They've both got their own fights to get through--literal and figurative--and a past they can't escape. Throw in a pig-loving, adorable little girl; two scary-as-heck local gangsters; and an illegal underground fighting ring; and you've got one heck of a story! Healing Love is the fourth book in the series, but it would work fine as a standalone. Though if you enjoy this one, you'll love the first three too, so... Don't say I didn't warn you! Rating: 4 stars / A- I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.
Charmed-Reflections More than 1 year ago
The fourth book in Abby Niles’s Love to the Extreme series, Healing Love is also an enjoyable stand-alone read. That being said, I found that there were still several occasions at the beginning where the emotional responses of the characters, while necessary for the progression of the storyline, were too mercurial to establish plausible believability. (The same could be said for their inability to immediately recognize someone that they had close encounters with only a day or two beforehand.) Even so, it is obvious that Niles has done her research and has ultimately provided her readers with another great read. Her characters are well-developed and the struggles presented are real. Kudos!
BooksLaidBare More than 1 year ago
This might be the fourth book in the series but it one that will certainly encourage you to pick up the others if you haven’t already. Paying the price for some seriously messed up mistakes, Lance is in trouble but what he does about it is one of the strongest plus points of the book. I don’t want to spoil it for you, so I’m not giving any details away but let’s just say that he has a lot to learn not only about his situation but about himself. Ella meets Lance whilst she is at the gym trying to hone her skills. Her past has her on the run, whether or not that is a clever move remains to be seen but it is the only option she has at the minute but will it remain her only option? I like the relationship between Lance and Ella even though I thought they had a lot of issues that they needed to work through. I liked that Lance gave her confidence, empowered her and by loving her helped her to see that she was strong enough to stop trying to outrun her past. They were able to help heal each other, they were the balm that soothed each other’s insecurities and the author gave them the perfect scenario with which to cultivate their relationship. This was a grower, it slowly built as the story progressed and because of that it was more realistic, it gave the couple a sense of realism and their issues the opportunity to be resolved and their love to develop.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
3.75 stars-- HEALING LOVE is the fourth installment in Abby Niles’s contemporary, adult LOVE TO THE EXTREME romance series focusing on the men and women of the MMA. This is underground MMA fighter Lance Black, and Dr. Ella (Kelsey) Watts’s story line. HEALING LOVE can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Told from dual third person perspectives (Ella and Lance) HEALING LOVE focuses on secrets, revenge, and taking back control. Ella is on the run and is hoping to remain hidden in plain sight. She is a strong woman who is hoping for some training time to improve her skills in the event that her past come looking for revenge. Enter Lance Black, a personal trainer and underground MMA fighter who takes on our heroine in the fight of their lives. What ensues is a building relationship between two people based upon a series of lies, omissions, and dark and dangerous pasts. Lance is a man caught between right and wrong; Ella is a woman caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. The relationship between Lance and Ella begins accidentally when Ella steps in to save a man she knows nothing about. Three against one found Lance in trouble but rescued by a woman-a total stranger-did nothing to improve his attitude about everything that had gone wrong. Lance found himself spiraling out of control, and now Ella had been caught in the whirlwind of destruction. The $ex scenes are erotic, intimate and hot. HEALING LOVE is a story about impulsive actions; impassioned need; and startling awareness about heartbreak and need. Our hero is a man whose past sins have caught up with his present; our heroine is a woman trying to survive one day at a time. The premise is encouraging but oft-times tragic; the characters are dynamic but it would have been nice to learn a little more detail about our leading hero; the romance is a struggle to a happily ever after-no one comes away unscathed or unharmed.
Lost-N-Love-N-Hopeless More than 1 year ago
Putting your past behind you to embrace the love of your future is a Healing Love. Ella/Kelsey and Lance both had some healing to do from there past lives to be able to have a healthy future. Abby Niles gave me an anchor in the world that Ella felt she had to leave before she could live the life she wanted to live. **This ARC was provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.** More @ http://mileythebookjunkie.blogspot.com/2016/02/blog-tour-healing-heat-4-by-abbey-niles.html
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Excellent book with lots of suspense, a great paced romance, and characters that will have you swooning. Lance Black is a MMA fighter/trainer that has more on his plate than he can currently handle. Yet the woman he is currently training is a mystery he's determined to unravel. Ella Watts (known as Kelsey in this new town) can't believe the man who terrorized her and turned her life upside down is due to be released from prison soon. She plans on being ready for him though, that's why the training she is doing with Lance Black is so important. Keeping her attraction for Lance might be her biggest fight though. These two both have issues from their past haunting them. Together they just might be able to beat them both. Definitely a book I recommend.
bouncyberthaCR More than 1 year ago
3.5 - "You're one badass b****." Stars! Book four in the Love to the Extreme series gives us Lance Black’s story. He featured quite heavily in the previous book so I was interested to see where Abby would take this slightly elusive characters journey. Add in a woman with more than a few secrets of her own, and it was a pretty agreeable read. I think it shows clear reading enjoyment when you manage to start a book and finish it on the same day. Abby has a way of dealing with somewhat heavy subjects in a light and un-angsty way. Ella/Kelsey is looking to beef up her training with the potential reappearance of her less than loving ex, and Lance is tasked with training her. "You do your thing. I’ll do mine." What becomes obvious pretty much from the beginning of the book, is that Lance is in some serious trouble himself in relation to the local criminal scene, of which his involvement then pulls Ella in as well. As I said I read this book in an afternoon/evening, it was easy to get into and not a struggle to stay engaged in this couples story. It felt a lot shorter than the previous books though, which I am not really complaining about as if my memory serves me correctly, at points all of them felt a little drawn out. The end to this one was a little 'cut & dried' for me, with all potential threats just seeming to step back and go on their merry ways, in the way of easy resolution. But I liked Ella and although super stubborn Lance was easy to empathize with as well. Together they were unbreakable. It was great to read that Abby has at least another three books to come from this series, the Coolier Mixed Martial Arts Gym and its staff and members are certainly somewhere I am happy to keep visiting. ARC generously provided via Netgalley, and it was a pleasure to provide the above honest review.