Hell or High Water

Hell or High Water

by Julie Ann Walker

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hell or High Water 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
Lost treasure, lying at the bottom of the ocean, and one determined crew, former SEALS, are ready to cash in on a dream of riches and gold and history. Will their plans come to pass or will is there something far more deadly awaiting them in Davey Jones’ locker? Personal gain or National Security, what will this former band of well-trained warriors decide? Leo Anderson is torn between a promise made to a dying comrade, duty to self and duty to country. One woman is the key to tipping the scales. Olivia is pure CIA tough, an agent on a mission to stop terrorists from recovering weapons grade uranium lost at sea. Is it worth her life? Like two ships who have passed in the night before, this time they are on a collision course for danger, from both the enemy and their hearts, but first they must survive… Hell or High Water by Julie Ann Walker sets a course for action, adventure, danger and romance on the high seas. Add some steam and some perfectly timed humor repeated over and over and I didn’t know if I was gripping my seat from the intrigue or to keep from rolling on the floor laughing! Great dialogue, intense emotions, rapidfire pacing and the salty smell of the ocean make this a completely entertaining escape from life on dry land. Have you ever been deep sea diving? Grab your airtanks, because Ms. Walker is taking us to the floor of the ocean in vivid detail. As the flagship tale in a new series, the tone has been set and it’s a good one as passions and truths are revealed and another strong heroine proves that no specialized combat training can stop a woman on a mission! I received an ARC edition of Hell or High Water by Julie Ann Walker from SOURCEBOOKS Casablanca in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, just wow! Hell or High Water is a fantastic read! It's romantic suspense, my favorite, but it has everything any great fiction has. Julie Ann Walker has a gift for descriptive comparisons. Her characters are fully developed and true to life. Leo, The Lion, is the perfect hero, and Olivia is a refreshingly strong heroine, instead of the typical shrinking violet. And I really enjoyed the humor mixed in with the action and adverture. I actually laughed out loud while reading a few times. I had read some of her Black Knights series, which is also great, and I'm so glad I took a chance on this one. It's a great start to the Deep Six series. All in all, I really enjoyed this book and highly, highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great writing, refreshing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book. Fun characters and story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book rocked. Rusty's story of his death made me ball like a baby.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
AshleeT More than 1 year ago
An exciting high seas Adventure plagued with modern day misadventure. What was supposed to a simple mission, enlisting the help of a few ex-SEALs, turns into long, exciting, turbulent day at sea. As always, Julie Ann Walker manages to write in a way that keeps you engaged, makes the characters easy to relate to, mixes in just the right amount of adventure and romance, with the ability to carry over plots into subsequent books, which keeps you reaching for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this!! Sexy former Navy SEALS turned treasure hunters (of the deep sea variety) - yes please! Enter Olivia Mortier, CIA agent and the woman former SEAL Leo Anderson shared a hot kiss with 18 months prior, a few canisters of a dangerous chemical weapon lost on the ocean floor, and a whole lot of deep sea danger - this book was non-stop action, nail-biting suspense, and super hot romance as well. Can't wait to read the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed
blonde_betty More than 1 year ago
Hell or High Water begins a new series for Julie Ann Walker. In a similar vein to the BKI books, a group of six former SEALs has banded together to start something new. In this case, instead of being a black contractor, they have left that life completely behind and set out to find sunken treasure. Not surprisingly they are reeled back into government service before they get very far. A CIA sting operation gone wrong brings the one woman Leo Anderson can’t forget, Olivia Mortier, to his doorstep. Together they battle a CIA mole and Murphy’s Law as everything that can go wrong does. Leo and Olivia are fun to watch. Neither is willing to admit how much they want the other, but the sparks fly quickly and often. To make things even more fun, we get glimpses of book two as Bran and Maddie exchange movie references throughout. The treasure search is going to extend over the series, which brings a nice connecting element. As the team is only six men it was easy to get to know them a little bit. I loved, Leo and Olivia, but I can’t wait to see more of Bran and Maddie. If you love the BKI books, you will love this one.
I-am-a-book-addict More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Julie Ann Walker's BKI series, that being said, I will admit to being wary of a new series that is sort-of ~ but not quite a spin-off of that series. All wariness aside...I have read the first book in this new series, Hell or High Water, and I am in love with it! This gives you idea of where this series will lead us. "In a world on the brink…Six men. One sunken Spanish galleon. Millions in gold and silver coins lying on the ocean floor. And a past that refuses to let the guys of Deep Six Salvage forget the Navy SEAL motto: the only easy day was yesterday…" Book #1 in the Deep Six series, Hell or High Water is written very similarly to the BKI series. It has action, adventure, sexy Alpha dudes, and is written with a fun sense of humor that I just adore in Julie Ann Walker's writing. This book introduces us to some new characters, the sexy guys of "deep Six Salvage" who are all retired SEALS, with the main focus on Leo & Olivia's story and let me tell you the chemistry between these two is off the charts hot! The background story is fun and exciting, these guys are searching for a sunken treasure ship, but of course if it's found right away we won't have much of a series. If you are a fan of the BKI series or just a fan of fun, feisty, fabulous adventures. You will love this book!
JKRindy More than 1 year ago
I love Ms. Walker’s writing style and the way she can weave words so you feel you are experiencing each scene along with the characters. The Deep Six series is about Six X-Seal Team members that made a commitment to one fallen Seal team member to get out of the military and live their lives fully. So, they pool their monies in order to find a sunken 1600 Spanish galleon with millions in gold and silver coins lying on the ocean floor. A Novella called "The Way of The Warrier, a collection of several authors in one book. Pick this book up for $.99 find out about this Seal team before they retired. In this Novella "Hot As Hell". We are introduced to the Six Seals but the novella focuses on the 7th member, Michael “Mad Dog” Wainwright. Mad Dog finds Harper Searcy who is a secretary at the U.S. Embassy in Islamabad, Pakistan This Seal Team was added as extra protection when rumors of possible terrorist attack surfaced. After they all left the Seals, Mad Dog and decided to run his family’s ship building business in Atlantic City, have babies and live his life to the fullest in honor of his promise to his fallen brother. The remaining Six members went to a private island off the coast of Key West to start their lives as Salvage hunters. The two main characters in Hell Or High Water are of Leo “the Lion” Anderson, Team Leader and CIA Agent Olivia Mortier. Leo and his team worked with Olivia for 3 months before the team left the Seals. Their mission was to root out the mold or molds, but that mission failed. Olivia and Leo had one hot passionate kiss and then Leo was out of the Navy faster than anticipated. Leo nor Olivia could forget that one HOT PASSIONATE Kiss. Maybe that is why Agent Mortier has decided she needs the teams to help her again. She traveled to the island to talk to them and explained that a terrorist had stolen a ship with bio chemical canisters and now they are on the ocean floor. The newly civilian team would be perfect because the mold/s would not know about this mission. For $500,000., that team needed in order to sustain while they hunted for the sunken treasures, they decided to take the Black Ops assignment. The chemistry and passion was still there for Leo and Olivia and somewhere along the way, they gave into it. Olivia knew that it could not turn into anything permanent because she had a secret and if Leo found out, he would not want her anyway.She felt it is her fault he that the fallen Seal team member was dead because of her. However, Leo wants more, but she will not allow that to happen. Along the way, we find out more about each team members, Leo’s crazy uncle, a crowing rooster and Meat the English Bull Dog that is spoiled by all of them. There is lots of action, suspense, nail biting, trying to figure out who the mold/s is before it is too late. And of course the HOT HOT Super Sexy scenes that Ms. Walker is famous for writing!!! You will not regret getting this wonderful Novel.
PJ16 More than 1 year ago
Loved the new series. The characters are great and can't wait for each of their books. I really enjoyed the back story that told how they all got there. Action, heat, humor all done beach style as only they can do. Can't wait for the next book. Lots of wonderful description of the location, boat and island.
sdeets More than 1 year ago
Leo can't get her out of his thoughts. Olivia needs him in more ways than one but carries the guilt for being responsible for the death of one of Leo's seal team. There's a lot of action, humor, tenderness and as usual, a bit of hotness between the characters. Good story line, easy to follow and you can see the layout for the stories to come. I highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WolfFaerie17 More than 1 year ago
Leo "Lion" Anderson is a retired Navy SEAL turned Salvage Crew team leader along with the rest of his SEAL team. Leo can't seem to forget CIA Agent Olivia Mortier and their soul scorching kiss year and half later. Olivia Mortier thought she'd seen the last of Leo Anderson but now she's going to be asking him for a favor. Olivia's thoughts circle around her head whenever she thinks of Leo. Olivia has kept tabs on Leo's whereabouts and knows he's in need of money. Olivia waltzes over the sandy beach of Key West which leaves Leo speechless at the sight of her. Can Olivia go thru asking Leo for a favor? Will either Leo or Olivia admit their feelings? Your answers await you in Hell or High Water. What a smashing great beginning for this new series that is a spin-off from Black Knights Series! I'm so glad to be reading this series. I love the characters and the story! The story taught me much about deep sea diving and boats along with what could potentially could go wrong. The story is complex, compelling, intriguing, real, and a real page turner. This book hit the ground running from first page to the last page. The characters are real, flawed, honest, down to earth, fascinating, and complicated too. I look forward to more books in this exciting new series.
Pure_Jonel More than 1 year ago
What a rush! Walker launches her latest series with suspense, intrigue, action, and unbridled passion. The story comes to life through her vivid narrative, bringing you along for the ride. The intricate and unforgettable plot weaves together in such a manner that you can feel the action of the tale. At the same time, the danger and intrigue kept my heart pounding. I loved getting to know these characters in such an up-close and personal manner. The camaraderie between the characters really did it for me. These aren’t simply individuals thrown together by circumstances; they are friends who’ve been to hell and back together. The verbal and nonverbal communication between them highlighted just how close they are while also showing who they are as individuals. And let’s not forget the fantastic main characters that Walker introduces us to. They were the type of individuals that I could really root for. The chemistry between them was undeniable, and I couldn’t help but laugh at everything that came between them. This novel was fast paced, captivating and hauntingly suspenseful from beginning to end. Walker has definitely created a crew that will do this series proud. Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
ReaderLoverKV More than 1 year ago
Excellent, Excellent Excellent read!!! I could not put the book down, Lol. Mrs. Walker's word building and strong alpha character driven men is totally awesome. I started this book late yesterday evening and read the entire thing until 3am! I did not want to go to sleep until I had finished every luscious page of Leo & Olivia's story! WOW! I mean just, WOW! Very informative, even to the minute detail in describing her former Navy Seals-Deep Six team, who upon retirement found 4 of the 6 (Wolf, Monet, Bran, Romeo, Doc, and Leo-The Lion Anderson) back in the waters again to help heart and country to save innocents all with a deep love story. Amazing! Non-stop action and witty, sarcastic dialogue from these wonderful men. I CANNOT WAIT for the continuation of this series, which if you have read her Black Knights, Inc story includes reference to those alpha men as well. I can't express the love I have for this book and the wonderful men that they are! Please hurry for the next book in this particular series as I anxiously await her next book in the Black Knights, Inc series!
In_My_Humble_OpinionDA More than 1 year ago
Action, adventure,danger, romance and a ton of fun. Julie Ann Walker has done it again in this spin off from her Black Knights Inc series.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 REVIEW: WOW!!! When Julie Ann wants to start a new series she does it in style. Hell or High Water is book one in the Deep Six series and we get to me Leo “The Lion” Anderson and his band of merry men. They are all ex-Navy SEALs. All trying to put a real life together after a promise to a fallen comrade. But of course things can’t so smoothly. Oh no.... smooth would be to easy. I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed learning about all the guys a little. Their backstory is heartbreaking and I will admit I shed a few tears. The adventure kept me turning the pages. The tension between Leo & Olivia was a perfect balance to tug and pull. It was also great to get a little cameo from one of Ms. Walker’s Black Knight Inc. characters :) I can’t wait to see what is next for this six guys. The future is looking pretty bright even if they have to go deep to find it. Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley & SOURCEBOOKS Casablanca in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
My_Peace More than 1 year ago
Hell or High Water by Julie Ann Walker is an entertaining, fast paced start to the Deep Six series. With a realistic, modern day plot full of action, adventure, and very real threats, Hell or High Water was an intriguing read. I liked the unique setting and adventure that Julie Ann Walker writes about in Hell or High Water...almost like a very modern pirates on the seas story. I loved the water and the mysteries that it contains, the treasures waiting to be found. She really made me interested to find out what would happen next! Olivia and Leo are strong main characters. Olivia is CIA, but lately she has found she wants more than just her job. It is her job that brings her back to Leo, with whom she has a brief past. He's never forgotten her, and no one can measure up to her. Circumstances forced them to part company though, and they've never reconnected until now. I could feel the connection and chemistry between them, and I liked that this is a couple who is reconnecting and have a past, however fleeting it was. I liked how Leo was. He was such an alpha, but he totally respects Olivia and what her job entails. They are both believable characters, although there are some aspects of Olivia's job that had me wondering about the CIA! The sea brings them together again, but the journey to the future is unknown and I couldn't wait to see how this would all work out. Olivia is conflicted, and Leo has his own goals in life too. I could easily picture them together! Julie Ann Walker introduces us to a lot of secondary characters in Hell or High Water, setting the stage for more stories in this series. I really liked them all, the relationship between them, and how they interacted. They are all essential to the story and the series. For an adventurous, action packed adventure on the sea with a powerful plot and just as powerful characters, I'd recommend Hell or High Water to any romantic suspense reader.
tigerlilly_liz More than 1 year ago
~ 3 Hell or High Water Stars ~ Hell or High Water is book one in Julie Ann Walker’s new Deep Six series. I have to say I LOVE her Black Knights Inc. series and was expecting something along this line. I was not disappointed per say, just not as into this first book as I hoped to be. Hell or High Water is told in multiple POV’s. We are given lots of pop culture references throughout. The plot was interesting with flushing out a CIA mole and retrieving chemical weapons. The prologue was confusing until I read the fist chapter, which explains that our retired Navy SEAL’s are now treasure hunters instead of working for the government. JAW does a good jump introducing us to our seven Hot and Sexy retired Navy SEAL’s. I enjoyed getting to see each of these men and learning why they choose not to reenlist, though the reason is a very sad and an emotional one. This story has some very strong emotions and lots of upheaval for our leads and secondary characters. The start of the story is kinda on the slow side for me and it really never picked up. We don’t get as much action/adventure as I am use too from JAW and what action we do get I was not as into.  I like Leo “The Lion” Anderson our team leader. He is loyal and even after retirement he still feels a responsibility towards his men. I liked that he differed to the others before making a decision and that he put others before himself. As for Olive, she is confident and has courage, but I still went back and forth on liking her or not. I think it had to do with her past and the emotional issues it caused her. Also I was bothered that Olive did not confess what happened in Syria, when it became obvious that this secret would come out. Our secondary characters especially Bran where amazing. Bran added some great humor, which kept the story going for me. I really enjoyed the times he interrupted Olive and Leo’s sexy time. The set up for Bran and Madison was great too and I can’t wait for his story. He really stood out in this one. Hell or High Water was an enjoyable read and a good start, but it did not wow me as her Black Knights Inc series. I will be picking up the next book in the Deep Six series.   *Disclaimer: Review copy provided by Sourcebooks Casablanca via NetGalley with the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments and ratings are my own.
JackieBCentralTexasJB More than 1 year ago
Read from June 07 to 09, 2015 Book Info Mass MARKET Paperback, 384 pages Expected publication: July 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks CASABLANCA ISBN 1492608904 (ISBN13: 9781492608905) edition language English series other editions (1) Source:Netgalley EARC Book Buy Links Amazon B&N BOOK SYNOPSIS In a world on the brink… Six men. One sunken Spanish galleon. Millions in gold and silver coins lying on the ocean floor. And a past that refuses to let the guys of Deep Six Salvage forget the Navy SEAL motto: the only easy day was yesterday... There's more than one kind of treasure… The nation's security has always been CIA agent Olivia Mortier's top priority. But a mission-gone-wrong has begun to make her wonder if there's more to life than risking hers. And more than one secret at the bottom of the sea… Only two things could make Leo Anderson abandon his hunt for the legendary lost ship, La Santa Christina, and return to the world of weapons and warfare he swore to leave behind: a capsule of enriched uranium, lost on the ocean floor, and a plea for assistance from the one woman he can't seem to forget... My Thoughts The dynamics in this were interesting, part action adventure, part romantic suspense, part mystery and an eclectic cast of all around bold as brass characters who you will want to read more about in books to come. Flashing back in time for the beginning prologue setting up the future story was kind of disconcerting at first and than made sense the further into the book I read. Enjoyed the characters, the action scenes, the romance angle and the buildup to an ending that led to hope for a spectacular new beginning for not only Leo and Olivia but his 5 friends and business partners as well. Not the best first book in a new series but by no means the worst either. [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.