Hidden Peril (Code of Honor Series #2)

Hidden Peril (Code of Honor Series #2)

by Irene Hannon

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hidden Peril (Code of Honor Book #2) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another page turner hard to break away. So thankful for clean, God honoring, fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed Hidden Peril, the latest book from Irene Hannon. It is thrilling suspense with intricate details and amazing characters - I highly recommend this second book in the Code Of Honor series. Irene puts so much detail into her writing, it's like watching a movie in your mind as you read. Interesting suspense, good clean romance, a little infusion of faith...give yourself a literary treat and read this!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Terrorist Suspense with Twist of Romance The suspense started on the first page and continued throughout. The terrorist plot was very relevant to our lives today, was well researched, and totally believable. The characters were strong, well developed, and likable. Although the book is primarily a mystery, it included romance, tragedy, and family conflicts most everyone can identify with. I especially liked the portrayal of a female who is independent, strong, and secure in her faith. Hidden Peril proves that language and romance can be clean and still be exciting. I had not read the first book in this series, but this story worked well as a standalone book. I would enjoy reading more books by Irene Hannon.
SouthernGalLovestoRead More than 1 year ago
Irene Hannon is one of my favorite writers of romantic suspense, and Hidden Peril is just one of the many reasons why! The story-line is intriguing, the suspense is nail-biting, and the romance is just right! The characters are complex and very well developed. All in all, it's just a great story! I highly recommend Hidden Peril to fans of great romantic suspense. Thanks to JustRead Publicity for providing a copy of the book. I am happy to share my own thoughts in this review.
bsnksmom More than 1 year ago
As kids, Kristin Dane and her two best friends made a pact that one day, each would make the world a better place. Twenty years later, each is fulfilling that pledge in their own unique way. One is a cop, one directs a kids camp for underprivileged children, and Kristin owns and operates WorldCraft, a fair trade store featuring products from all over the world. The last thing she expects to find in her peaceful little shop is the body of her clerk, brutally murdered. When a second body turns up, killed the same way, suspicion starts to mount that the shop is connected somehow. As Kristin cooperates with law enforcement to catch a killer, she finds herself in the middle of a potential terrorism plot. Can they stay out of the crosshairs of the mastermind behind the plot they've uncovered? When Detective Luke Carter is introduced to Kristin Dane at his co-workers wedding, he feels the first stirrings of interest that he's felt since his wife died three years ago. Meeting her again at a murder scene is not in his plans, but as they work together to uncover the reason her shop seems to be at the center of two murders, his interest grows to attraction. Can he protect the woman he's beginning to care about from an enemy they can't see, or even find? This book was un-put-downable from the first page. It gets rolling pretty quickly, and the villain is NOT who anyone suspects. While the suspense is intense, the romance between the two main characters is a sweet counterpoint to that. Luke and Kristin are obviously interested in one another from their first encounter, but Luke's "hands-off when they're involved in an investigation" policy keeps them dancing around that attraction for most of the book. I liked that they still found ways to be together, even if it was just for a short chat. Romance readers will love the love story in Hidden Peril. Suspense readers will love the heart-pounding thrills in the book. When Irene Hannon comes out with a new book, it always tops my list of "What to Read Next." Hidden Peril did NOT disappoint! I highly recommend!
susanwalkergirl More than 1 year ago
Intrigue, Suspense and Romance When given the opportunity to read Irene Hannon’s newest book, Hidden Peril, I jumped at the chance. She’s quickly become one of my favorite writers. This is the second book in the Code of Honor series and characters Kristin, Colin and Rick continue on this in this book with Kristin as the main focus. Hidden Peril is a gripping and suspenseful mystery, but it’s a little different because terrorism is part of the plot. When you see stories on the news about ISIS and terrorism you don’t think it’s going to impact your everyday life. But what if it did? Kristin Dane is not your ordinary woman. After graduating college, she served in the Peace Corp in Ethiopia for two years. When she returned home, she still had a vision to try and make a difference for good in the lives of people who live in war-torn countries. When Luke Carter meets Kristin at the wedding of a mutual friend, he probably didn’t anticipate encountering her again, especially in his role as police detective. Luke’s path intersects with this intriguing and beautiful woman when one of Kristin’s employees is found dead. Is the death of a monk 10,000 miles away in Syria possibly connected? One of my favorite things about Irene’s writing are the characters. They are good, decent, nice people that you’d like to know. They grow, change and heal the brokenness in their lives. In this book, you see wonderful examples of committed friendship between Kristin, Colin and Rick. Hidden Peril was very suspenseful and kept me guessing to the end. Though I suspected who the bad guy was, I didn’t know how that would be revealed and what would happen to the people at the end of the story. I greatly appreciate that Irene Hannon is able to write good books, with interesting likable characters and intriguing situations without resorting to filthy language, or immoral sexual situations. I appreciate how she weaves the Christian faith into the character’s lives. If you like intrigue, mystery and romance, be sure to read Hidden Peril by Irene Hannon. It’s another great read by a wonderful author. I would like to thank NetGalley and Revell Publishers for the opportunity to read Hidden Peril in exchange for an honest review. I was under no obligation to give a favorable review.
lsnlj More than 1 year ago
This is book two in the Code of Honor series. I feel it is a stand alone book, even though you miss a little history of the sub characters. I have not read book one and I followed this one with no problem. I do want to go back and read book one now though. I love the relationship Kristin has with her two best friends. When a handsome new detective, Luke Carter, is introduced to Kristin she never expected him to become a fixture in her life. I loved the sparks between Kristin and Luke. This novel is full of suspense, mystery, friendship, moving on, romance and so much more. I look forward to book three in this series.
BookReviewerNicole More than 1 year ago
*My Thoughts* Finally! A suspense story that evenly balances the romance and suspense. I am all for the mystery/intrigue of a suspense story...but pleassseee give me a sweet love story to follow alongside it! This story did not disappoint. Irene is one of my go-to suspense writers for this reason. I am a big historical fiction fan and don't get suspense books often, but Irene always makes her way to my mailbox! The plotline was realistic but kept me spinning well into the night as I fought sleep to finish it. Well worth the read, this book is easily picked up in the middle of a series. I did not read book one but did not have a problem following the story at all. _______________________________________________________ *My Rating* I give Hidden Peril by Irene Hannon... 5 stars!
jebsweetpea More than 1 year ago
Nutshell: Kristen Dane is the proud owner of a small fair trade store. Her partnership with organizations around the world brings light to how to support others in different countries. Little does she know though that she is being used by a group that is out to infiltrate the United States with evil through the use of one of her products...candles. After two deaths are tied to the purchase of the candles, the police and detective Luke Carter are brought in to get to the bottom of this mystery. Through detective and undercover work, Kristen and Dane are on the race against time before there is a next victim in this sinister plot. What I thought: What a fast paced, adventurous story that takes you from one side of the world to the other. Hannon does a great job weaving a complex story into pages that you can't turn fast enough. This is the second book in the Code of Honor series and can be read as a stand alone book as well. I enjoyed the twists and turns the reader went on all the way through the book, right up to the end. Would you enjoy it? If you like mystery-suspense books, you will enjoy this nugget. There is a bit of violence and splashes of romance throughout, but the main suspense is what will keep you going to the end. Revell Reads sent this complimentary copy to review for them. Opinions expressed are my own.
NatalieRae More than 1 year ago
In book 2 of the Code of Honor series, Irene Hannon drops readers right into the action from the very first page. I really enjoyed plot line of this story. It was unique, thrilling, and well-developed making this story a quick page-turner. I enjoyed the characters, especially the shared camaraderie. If I had one complaint, it's with the warp-speed in which heroine, Kristen Dane, and hero, Luke Carter, discover they "love" each other. In this particular story, it felt like a lot happened off-page so when their feelings emerge it doesn't feel as authentic to me. Overall, Ms.Hannon always delivers what her readers love about her stories: twisty plots, great characters, and the kind of writing that'll keep me anxious for her next book. **I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.
ShareeS More than 1 year ago
Hidden Peril is book two in the Code of Honor series and a great addition to the group. This book took an interesting and unexpected turn and is filled with covert plans. I enjoyed Hidden Peril and especially loved Kristin Dane and Luke Carter. The two were so different and yet fit together perfectly. Their romantic tension builds intensely and is woven throughout with the backing of suspense. I found myself rooting for several people in the story and though I figured out quickly who the bad guy was, I didn’t expect the ending to turn out the way it did. No spoilers here though. Hidden Peril is definitely a worthwhile read.
KatrinaEpperson More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Code of Honor series from Irene Hannon, but I felt this was a book that is easily without reading the first one. I would like to note that I advise anyone to read the first book to get the full impact of the series. I really enjoyed this book and read it in one setting. The plot quickly pulled me in and held me until the last page. I felt this was a fast paced suspense laced with a mystery and romance. The characters are both strong and well developed. For me the author brought the characters to life and made me feel like I could be friends with them. I like how neither were afraid to show their faith. Kristin was a person who wanted to help others have a better life. She was always reaching out a hand to help anyone. I like how the author conveyed genuine friendship between the two characters. For me this was a wonderful story and contained all the things I love in a story (suspense, mystery, faith, romance and love). This is a book I would recommend to anyone who wants loves a good book. **I received this book from the publishers as part of their book bloggers program. I was not expected to write a positive review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Jaquelyn More than 1 year ago
I immensely enjoyed this book. There was absolutely nothing I didn’t like about it. Hidden Peril is the second book in the Code of Honor series. I have not read the first book, and don’t feel that I had to in order to enjoy this one. This is a great stand alone novel. That being said, I can’t wait to read the first book as well. The characters were so much fun to get to know, and I don’t want to miss a thing. I am anxiously awaiting the next installment, and can’t wait to see what Hannon does next. The Code of Honor series follows a group of childhood friends as they try to make the world a better place. This story follows Kristin Dane as crazy things start happening to people connected to her shop. What is going on at WorldCraft? And why does Kristin seem to be in the middle of it? Those are the questions her best friends and Detective Luke Cater would like to know. The answer might not be as simple as they would all hope. Untangling a criminals web of deceit rarely is. Can the boys work together and stop the danger from escalating? Or will Kristin become the next victim? Join me in a edge of your seat adventure where I couldn’t possibly guess what was coming next. I loved playing detective right alongside Luke, and trying to figure out who the villain was. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Romantic Suspense. I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishers and was in no way forced to post a review. All opinions expressed are my own.
Julie12 More than 1 year ago
This is a really great book from one of my favorite authors, Irene Hannon. She always writes a wonderful story that draws you in and keeps you guessing. Kristen is the owner of a shop that features products from around the world. The products help the people of different countries and give them a chance at a better life. One of the items she carries are candles from a Monastery from Syria. Suddenly, her shop and these candles become the center of a dangerous situation. Luke Carter is the detective that is helping Kristen after the horrible events occur. Under no fault of her own, Kristen is in great danger and never sure what is going to happen next. In the midst of all these things, her parents are in an accident and she needs to deal with the strained relationship she has always had with them. It's all very stressful but we see Kristen relying on her faith in God to handle it all. This book has everything that I love in it. A huge mystery with a really surprising ending, a thriller, and a sweet romance all rolled into one. I did figure out who was behind all the really bad stuff fairly early on, but the book is written so well, it didn't take away my enjoyment of reading to the end. There was so much going on, it kept me turning the page into the night (literally!). If you love a good mystery/thriller, you're going to love this book. It's full of twists and surprising twists! I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars. *This book was provided to me by Revell. I received a copy of this book to review but I was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading this book.
SemmieWise More than 1 year ago
** “ … Trying to understand the mind of God was an exercise in futility. You had to trust in his goodness and accept that he saw the bigger picture, even if your own lens was murky.” ** Irene Hannon continues the stories of the Treehouse Gang with Kristin’s story in “Hidden Peril,” a story of second chances and hoped for happy endings. Kristin Dane believes in helping people. A former Peace Corps member, she now runs a fair trade goods store, helping provide jobs to people all over the world by buying and selling their products. Life is good until she stumbles upon a murder, one that just might be connected to her shop. After Detective Luke Carter briefly meets Kristin at a wedding, he is drawn into the homicide case. As he begins to believe there is more than meets the eye with the murder, he also believes there is more to meet the eye with Kristin. After Luke pulls in the FBI to work on a case that has international ties and terroristic implications, he and Kristin begin to accept their feelings toward one another — feelings they must put off until the end of the case. Hannon once again does a great job of writing an intense suspense thriller — filled with murder, espionage, kidnapping, secret identities and potential mass deaths — with just enough romance to make you blush. She always writes incredibly real, raw and retable characters. Both Luke and Kristin have very real hurts from their past, ones they are still attempting to get over. “Hidden Peril” is much more than a suspense thriller, though. It reminds us that God always sees the bigger picture and therefore has a bigger plan for us. He just wants us to trust him. As one character points out: “God doesn’t expect eloquence, just earnestness.” This story is also more than just a romantic love story … it reminds us that every love is different and unique, and that we all have an infinite capacity to love and to find room to love someone new. And ultimately, it reminds us of God’s great love for us. Fans of Hannon will be excited as we get to revisit some old friends, like FBI Agents Nick Bradley and Mark Sanders. And since this novel deals with antiquities, fans of Dan Brown or Clive Cussler’s Fargo series might enjoy this story. I’m looking forward to the series’ next offering, due out in October 2019, where it picks up the story of Rick Jordan, the third Treehouse Gang member. Five stars out of five. Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, provided this complimentary copy for my honest, unbiased review.
JLYoung More than 1 year ago
I was hooked from the first page and the grip didn’t let go! Man, sad to see this book end. The plot and different elements of the story are so well developed, unique and well written. I love the romantic tension between the characters. It lightens the rather heavy story a bit. The suspense with the different elements of the story (both the regular storyline and the romantic thread) are well thought out. I did predict one element but it wasn’t a problem and I didn’t feel like it detracted from the story. Overall this story is amazing. I love Irene Hannon’s books and she has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Can’t wait to read other books by Ms Hannon. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. This has in no way influenced my review. All thoughts are my own.
AngelN1 More than 1 year ago
Hidden Peril by Irene Hannon has suspense and international intrigue. I really enjoyed the opening, which did a good job of hooking the reader. The main characters, Detective Luke Carter and former Peace Corp volunteer and current shop owner Kristin Dane, are both likable with realistic flaws. Both have backstory issues adding to the complexity of the story, and their characters both show growth and depth. The details on the police work and terror cells rang pretty true. The story overall leans more on the romantic side, with the romance keeping a prominent role throughout the book, but there is also suspense and a good, solid plot. The Christian aspects of the book are woven into the story without being preachy, which I prefer. This book is the second in a series, and I didn't read the first, but it is a stand-alone novel. It did seem to go on a bit in places, but maybe that's just me. I enjoyed this book, and I do recommend it. I received this book from the publisher, Revel, for the purpose of writing a review, but all opinions are my own.
Fallbrookfamily More than 1 year ago
Another good read by Irene Hannon, Hidden Peril kept me hooked til the end. It was a little predictable—I suspected the evil person early on—but it was still a great story line with a hint of romance that I like. Recommended.
magnificentk More than 1 year ago
Dangerous Illusions is one of my favorite novels from Irene Hannon, but the sequel. Hidden Perils. just took over my #1 spot! This book could be read as a stand-alone, but I enjoy following the same characters from the author’s other stories. Hidden Perils focuses on Kristen Danes, owner of a small import shop who stumbles head first into the middle of a murder with ties to a terrorism. The suspense in this book leads the reader on a chase for justice as Luke Danes tries to keep Kristen safe. But trouble finds Kristen with every turn of the page. The over-the-top intense ending makes this my #1 must-read for suspense fans. I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.
PrincessGlor More than 1 year ago
This was a FANTASTIC read. I loved the characters of Kristin and Luke and the mystery they are trying to solve was intriguing and definitely had some unusual elements which was cool. It flowed well and the romance angle with Luke and Kristin was sweet to watch. Looking forward to the last member of The Treehouse Gang's story next fall!! I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to post a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
debhgrty More than 1 year ago
Deb’s Dozen: Candles, Murder, Cops, Menace. Good Deeds, Terrorists, Danger, Romance, and Hidden Peril. Irene Hannon has been one of my favorite authors for years, even more so after I had the opportunity to meet her in person and discovered we had much in common in our past. I’m sure I’ve read almost every book she’s written and was delighted to be given Hidden Peril, the latest book in her Code of Honor Series. When a book starts off with a murder and then a wedding, you know there’s danger and romance ahead. Opening up with the murder of a monk in his workshop in Syria, Hannon gets the action started quickly. We’re then at the scene of a wedding. Colin Flynn, whom we met in Dangerous Illusions, is marrying his Trish. Luke Carter, newly on the St. Louis police force, has reluctantly gone to the wedding after Colin went out of his way to invite him. He ends up at a table with an older gentleman and the groomswoman, Kristin Dane. Luke feels a hint of interest, which surprises him as he’s still mourning his dead wife. Intriguing. Luke is even more surprised when, called to a murder scene at a gift shop, the proprietress turns out to be Kristin. And we’re off and running on another Hannon story with twists and turns and coincidences–or are they? Hannon creates such believable, likable characters and peoples her stories with moms and dads and sisters and friends to surround them–giving us the backstory without detracting from the plot. I immediately liked Luke and was totally sympathetic with his feelings about the loss of his wife. Kristin is the kind of person I’d like having as a friend–someone who cares about people and causes and tries to make the world a better place. Kristin comes back to her shop to find her associate dead–throat slit and lying behind the counter. The shop, WorldCraft, does not appear to have been robbed and there is no apparent motive for the murder. When Luke arrives to interview her, she is at the business next door with the owner, Ryan Doud. I didn’t like Ryan–too proprietary towards Kristen, and she doesn’t seem interested. However, he’s a perfect gentleman and drives the shaken Kristen home after Luke has interviewed her. Luke is called to the scene of another murder–a woman at home–throat also slit. Again, nothing seems missing. Kristin hears about the murder on the news and recognizes the name–the woman purchased candles from her shop the day before. Coincidence? I think not. I’m not going to tell you more–you have to buy the book to find out but there are museums and terrorists and more murders as things get dicier by the minute, and somehow, Kristin and Luke are both in the thick of things. Another five star read from Hannon! Irene Hannon writes award-winning series: Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, Private Justice, and Men of Valor. She also has a wonderful cozy romance series about Hope Harbor. Irene is one of those authors whose books I will always read. They never fail to entertain, enlighten, and enthrall me. Revell Books gave me a copy of Hidden Peril, but I was in no way obligated to write a review.
FayJac More than 1 year ago
This is a great suspense book about a citizen who gets entangled in a terrorist plot. Kristen is an owner of WorldCrafts and a terrorist organization is using her store to smuggle in contraband. Kristen has to play roles and assist in taking down the organization which puts her life in danger. It is a good book and kept my interest despite the romance that takes place as well. I did not notice any Christian themes running through this book—just suspense and a page-turning thriller. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting a good suspense book. (Please Note: While this book was provided to me for review by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, the opinions expressed are my own.)
GrandaddyA More than 1 year ago
Great story. If time had permitted, I would have read the entire story in a couple of days because the suspense was so fast-paced. After I had made up my mind that I knew who was behind the crimes, I became so engrossed that I did not want to put the book down. Every move that seemed to play into his evil plot made me cringe. The romance, the faith elements, and the conciliatory actions of the lead characters toward others drew me toward them. The Treehouse Gang added to the human interest side of the story. An inspiring takeaway from the book is that we all need close friends on whom we can call. Some people have brothers and sisters by birth who fill that role; but when those do not exist, finding others who are there for you is crucial. I finished this book anticipating the next one.
train_lady More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in Irene Hannon's code of honor series. Miss Hannon is the author who got me started in this genre many many years ago. She is one of the best authors in this genre, and this is one of her best books. As with most of her books this takes place in the St Louis Missouri area. She also brings in some characters from books in prior series. This is a nice touch. The length of this book allows a good deal of character development. The two main characters develop an easy relationship that clearly is going to become a deeper one as time goes on. The plot is very interesting. I did pick up on the identity of the main bad guy early on, but had to wait to confirm that I was right until almost the end of the book. That's fine. I like it when I'm right, and I like it when the author provides the right number of clues to help you figure it out. Hopefully there will be more books in the series. I'm looking forward to the next one.
lolly-pops More than 1 year ago
HIDDEN PERIL is the second book in this series but it easily stands alone. Fans will want to read the first book, Dangerous Illusions, to catch up on one of the other detectives. Luke and Kristin won my heart from the beginning and I love the restitution that was made with extended members of their families as they came to grips with different aspects of love and commitment and the meaning of family. The suspense started in the beginning at the monastery, and kept up through out the book. I would like to say that the "bad guy" was immediately known to me, but I would be lying if I did. Instead I was about 300 pages in when the lightbulb went off and I *knew* who it was. Things are not as they seem. The faith message is weak and mainly consists of prayers over meals and an occasional other one. But the action and the suspense is great. The romance is great. I enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the next book in this series (coming next fall). I was given a copy free. All opinions are my own.