Highland Guard

Highland Guard

by Hannah Howell

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Highland Guard 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Reading Hannah's books gave me my love for Scottish stories. This was a busy, worrying read. I thought one way. The story went the other. That just made me like this book better. Hannah always presents us with strong people-good and evil. She sure gave us enough spoilers in this story line. Annys is alone as her husband David, the Laird, has died. Her Clan try to help her. Then her cousin, Sir Adam, threatens to take over her Castle and people. She calls on a friend of her husband for help. She feels better about not losing her home and son. Spoiler!  Harcourt Murray comes to aid with some of his friends. She is afraid as there is a surprise that is concerning the family. There are spies, bolt holes, her son Benet with his lamb riding cat and another major spoiler. You must get this book to decipher the spoilers at the end. Please choose this book!  I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.
KathyL2059 More than 1 year ago
First, a caveat to my review: Hannah Howell wrote the first romance I ever read (Highland Conqueror, the story of Sigimor and Jolene), and I just loved it, and have since read everything that Howell has published that I can get my hands on. I love how familiar characters pop up, or, lately, the children of familiar characters pop up in the later books. In Highland Guard, Harcourt (Brett’s brother from Highland Master) is called to help Annys, the widow of a man who once saved his life, from a relative who wants to take the land and castle away from her and her son. The full story is ably recapped in other reviews, so I will not repeat that here. This chapter of the Murray clan is wonderful. As always, the secondary characters are funny and loyal, and you can’t imagine the hero and heroine getting along without them. Benet is a typical little boy, not made out to be perfect or particularly bratty – just a regular little boy. The attraction between Harcourt and Annys is believable and, yes, we know they will be together in the end, but it is always fun to see how many trip wires Howell throws at them before they get to their happily ever after.
SarahBeth1209 More than 1 year ago
This is my first time reading a book by Hannah Howell, and I really fell in love! I mean, nothing like being introduced to a new series when it is on #20.... talk about late to the party. Anyway, this book had everything I love in a romance. It had an exciting plot, very loveable secondary characters, mystery, and wonderful chemistry between the two main characters. I lost myself in the story and just enjoyed the ride. Sir Harcourt Murray is the longtime friend of Sir David MacQueen, the Laird of Glencullaich. David was injured as a young man (he was a little too smitten with the ladies, and found a husband who didn't like to share) and as a result was not able to father a child, or even consummate his marriage with his wife, Lady Annys MacQueen. To ensure his legacy he asks his friend Sir Harcourt to sleep with his wife until she becomes pregnant and then David will claim the child as his, thus ensuring the fate of Glencullaich will stay out of the greedy hands of David's distant relatives. Sir Harcourt and Lady Annys relent, and in the process of making a baby, also fall in love (though neither will admit it). After the deed is done Sir Harcourt leaves since he cannot bear to watch someone else raise his child, a son (Benet) is born to Lady Annys, and David claims the child as his own. All is well for five years until Sir David dies, leaving Lady Annys and young Benet having to defend the keep from some of David's evil distant relatives. As a last resort Annys sends a SOS letter to Sir Harcourt asking for help. He arrives in Glencullaich, and finds that his love for Annys had not wavered in five years. Thus, their true story begins. If you are a fan of Historical romance I think you will like this book! The language is written how it would have sounded in those days, but that doesn't distract once you get into the story. Also, I DETEST love triangles and cheating, and this didn't trigger any of those buttons at all. I'm glad I read this, and will be checking out more of Hannah Howell's books when I'm in the mood for some great Highland love in the future. -This book was given to me, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.-
JensReadingObsession More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable historical fiction with an interesting plot, but it was a bit slow.  I would have liked to have known more about their relationship between Harcourt and Annys five years prior before continuing in the present. The brief glimpses were not enough for me to understand the bond formed between them. Harcourt is a true hero, saving the day and getting the girl at the end.  Benet was adorable and I wish there were more scenes between him and Harcourt. Benet's pets were adorable and added a bit of humor to the story.  This is the first book I've read by Ms. Howell, and I look forward to reading the previous books in the series - I have a feeling there are plenty of swoon-worthy heroes to pick from. ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good, highly recommend!!!!! B&N please limit the lines so reviewers do not spoil the book for others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written & i will be reading more from H H
ajenkins979 More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Ms Howell did not disappoint with this book
SusanFrank More than 1 year ago
Good entry into the Murray clan books. Harcourt and Annys had gotten to know each other five years earlier. Harcourt had been injured and left for dead then found by Sir David MacQueen who saved his life. In return, David asked Harcourt to father a child with his wife, as he needed an heir to his lands. It wasn't a difficult task, but Harcourt regretted the need to walk away when it was over. Five years later, Annys is in trouble. David has died and his cousin is determined to take the land. The only thing she can do is write to Harcourt and ask for his help. She worries that his arrival could expose the truth and put everything in danger. I liked Annys. She had loved her husband enough to do as he asked, though there were plenty of guilty feelings that went with it. She does her best to protect her son and the land, but is also smart enough to know when she needs help. Harcourt's arrival throws her emotions into turmoil, as she has never forgotten the way he made her feel. Harcourt is an honorable man and did what he had to years ago. However, he has regretted walking away and has never forgotten Annys or her child. When he receives her plea for help, he can't say no. Seeing her again has reawakened his desire for her, and now that she's free, he wants her for his own. I loved seeing the relationship grow between Harcourt and Annys. The feelings were already there, they just had to accept them. Annys's fear of the truth being revealed has her trying to keep Harcourt at a distance to protect them both. But they have to work together on the protection of the keep, and it isn't long before desire overtakes them. Annys's feelings for Harcourt grow, but she knows he will have to leave again and dreads the heartbreak that will follow. Harcourt wants Annys as a permanent part of his life, but he is committed to his other lands, and knows that Annys and her son Benet have to stay on theirs. His mind is constantly working to find a solution. That solution comes in an unexpected way and I loved seeing how it ended. It was sweet to see them finally share their feelings with each other. The problem with Sir David's cousin attempting to take the land keeps the action going. Sir Adam is convinced that the land should be his and will do anything to get it. I enjoyed seeing the way that Harcourt and company foiled the early attempts. Things get really intense with the final confrontation. There is an interesting twist to the end of the battle, one that I suspected would happen but was wondering when and how. That twist has a huge impact on Annys and Harcourt's futures. I really enjoyed the secondary characters. Harcourt's companions were all wonderful. Each one was unique and had his own special role. I'd like to see more of them, especially Callum, who I remember from an earlier book. I also loved Annys's friend/housekeeper Joan. She had a great way of helping Annys see what was most important. The sweetest of all was Annys's son Benet. I loved seeing things from his point of view and the things he got up to. His bits with the lamb Roberta, who is "not for the pot" were really fun to see.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Hannah's books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Hannah Howell's books and the story of Harcourt & Annys is no different. Her characters have such a wide range of personalities that each story stays fresh. I'd love for her to expand more on the MacFingals & Murrays. Her villains are always despicable & her heros equally likeable. If you enjoy this era, you cannot go wrong with Hannah Howell! Keep 'em coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where the cat that Annys rescued came into her bedchamber when it was supposed to be in the stables.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Icecrystal45 More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PureJonel More than 1 year ago
What a brilliantly lifelike story!  Howell deftly recreates medieval Scotland for her readers, allowing them to walk back in time while enjoying a fast paced, intricate tale full of intrigue, betrayal, and romance.  Her picturesque descriptions paint this world before your eyes.  The consistent dialogue completes the transition, really making you feel like you’ve traveled back in time.  I really enjoy how Howell presents life amidst chaos and betrayal.  Romance and chemistry don’t take a back seat simply because something has gone wrong.  At the same time, it doesn’t outrank that either.  Balance is key.   Howell presents her readers with characters who are physically, intellectually, and emotionally developed.  Not only are these characters easy to get to know but they are also easy to understand and relate to, regardless of the difference in time and circumstance.  Both of the main characters were the type of individuals that one could easily fall for.  At the same time the trials that they’d been through and the barriers to their relationship made my heart go out to them. The large cast, reaching out to clansmen, villagers, and even livestock and pets made me feel like part of this story, rather than simply part of the audience. This was a brilliant return to the Murrays.  Howell’s unique & wildly imaginative tale kept my attention, while the realism of the story made it infinitely more enjoyable.  I would highly recommend it to all lovers of historical romance, whether they’ve read the rest of the series of not. Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
A nice historical romance that I ultimately enjoyed, Highland Guard was a lovely read. It wasn't perfect but I still liked it overall. Annys was a heroine determined to protect her home. She knew that she wouldn't be able to do it on her own, so she called for Harcourt to aid her. I liked how protective she was over her son and her home. My only issue with her was that I didn't understand why she was so reluctant to be with Harcourt again even though it was obvious that they still loved each other and the obstacle that had been in their way before wasn't there anymore. Her reasons seemed vague at best. But, I still liked her. Harcourt was a sweetie. He was determined to help Annys and would do anything for her. And I loved how he obviously cared for his son even from the distance that had been between them for the entirety of the little boy's life. He was great and I liked him. The romance was good. It was clear that Annys and Harcourt still loved each other. And they definitely had chemistry together. Annys's reluctance did slow it down and keep me from really getting into the romance, but I still thought they were good together. There were a few issues that brought the book down for me. First, I really wish we had seen more of Benet (Annys and Harcourt's son). I really wanted to see the building of a relationship between Harcourt and his son. Second, the story was predictable. I guessed exactly what was going to happen early on, so that kind of took away from any shock value. Third, and most importantly, the plot was slow. To the point where it dragged in some places. That kept me from getting completely drawn in to the story and the characters. Despite these issues, however, I still enjoyed the story overall. It was a nice read and addition to the series. It just wasn't the best of them.  *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 20 in the Murray Family series. Lady Annys MacQueen's home was under attack. She knew of only one person that she could call upon to help her, Sir Harcourt Murray. 5 years ago, Harcourt had agreed to father a child for Annys' husband to repay the debt of saving his life. Having gotten close to Harcourt during this time, Annys was heartbroken when he leaves without saying goodbye. Annys has never been far from his mind, so when she calls for his help Harcourt rushes to her aid. It's hard to ignore the passion to simmers just under the surface whenever they are near one another. They soon give into it just as their enemy strikes. Both have obligations to their home and people. Can they find a way to make their love everlasting? I love Howell's Murray series and this one is no exception. With this being the 20th book in the series, you would think that Howell would run out of good stories to tell but she clearly hasn't. I loved Harcourt and Annys. I hated that they had to hide their feelings for each other for the sake of her clan and her child. When they finally gave into their passions, I yelled a little cheer. Their son, Benet, was adorable and added much to the story. As did their pets, Roban and Roberta. I can't wait to see what Howell has in store for the Murrays next, but I know it will be awesome! Thanks go to Kensington Books via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
I know if I am in a reading slump I can rely on Hannah Howell to bring me back. I am a huge fan of the Murray Family Series and this one did not disappoint. After the death of her husband, David, once of his cousin’s starts causing trouble for Annys. To save herself and her son’s inheritance, she has no choice but to contact Sir Harcourt Murray. The last time he was there he left David and Annys with a precious gift and the knowledge that he loved a woman that he couldn’t have. Will he be able to leave her behind again knowing she is free? Loved this read, plenty of drama and suspense and the chemistry between Annys and Harcourt is wonderful. Loved it!