Hip Hop Speaks to Children: A Celebration of Poetry with a Beat

Hip Hop Speaks to Children: A Celebration of Poetry with a Beat

Hardcover(Book and CD)

$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 10

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hip Hop Speaks to Children 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hip hop is more than gangsta rap. Hip hop is rhythm. Hip hop has soul. Hip hop will be here forever. Giovanni captures the essence of hip hop in this collection of ¿poetry with a beat¿. The poems are skillfully illustrated. There are over 30 performances recited by the poet on the accompanying CD. The poets include: A Tribe Called Quest, Kanye West, Sugarhill Gang, James Berry, Queen Latifah, Nikki Grimes, Jill Scott, Mos Def, Common, Gwendolyn Brooks, and many more. Young and old alike will identify with the poems that flow like lyrics on top of beats that will make you groove. A few favorite poems are: Dat Dere, The Rosa Parks, and Hip Hop Rules the World. There are also a few excerpts from some of our favorite rappers. This is definitely a book for everyone. There are more than 50 poems written by 42 different poets along with 30 performances on the CD. Share your past with your kids, by giving your children the opportunity to hear real lyrics and experience poetry at its finest. This promises to be the BEST Children¿s books of the YEAR! Deltareviewer
Evas_Treasures More than 1 year ago
This book is definitely an inspirational book that can be passed down from generation to generation, teaching children and adults on how ¿Hip Hop¿ is a celebration of poetry! I truly enjoyed the colorful diverse illustrations in this book and listening to the audio CD that incorporates Hip Hop, Jazz and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr¿s ¿ I had a dream¿ speech. This is an excellent resource for any child to look back into history and learn how ¿Hip Hop¿ has changed our music generation.
EbonyHaywood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a spectacular collection of poetry from Langston Hughes to Common. The illustrations are beautiful. And I love the audio cd that includes original recordings of Maya Angelou, Langston Hughes, Nikki Giovanni and many more. This book is fun and inspiring.
picardopicks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hip Hop Speaks to Children is a book with CD that celebrates poetry with a beat or hip hop connection. Each page has a different poem/or rap with a beautiful illustration (of one of six artists featured) that captures the essence of the poem. Some of the poems/songs are by well known hip hop artists such as Kanye West, Lauryn Hill and Queen Latifah. Other poems have great historical significance to African American culture like Martin Luther King's "I Have a Dream" speech. The accompanying CD has 30 of the poems performed in spoken word, jazz/blues or hip hop style. Some of the tracks have an introduction by the poet explaining the inspiration for the poem. The topics of the poems range from aloneness, singing for Grandmomma, a funky snowman, equality, following your dreams, standing up for your rights and respect towards others. This book/CD is an exciting way to introduce poetry to children. For children already familiar with hip hop, this book expands on how hip hop is a form of poetry and introduces other forms of poetry as well. Children will enjoy listening to the CD while following along with the words in the book. The different styles of illustrations for each poem are vibrant and allow each poem to stand on their own. This book would be best suited to children over 6 and would be a great teaching tool.
sagustocox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received Hip Hop Speaks to Children edited by Nikki Giovanni from Danielle at Sourcebooks, and Giovanni continues to make television and radio experiences about the book.Poetry often has an internal rhythm like everyday speech does, and Hip Hop has taken that rhythm and modified it to create a modern day form of poetry, which engages younger generations and children by making poetry fun.This book came with an audio CD, which you can use to read along with the book or skip around in the book to a variety of poems, and the CD also includes separate introductions to various pieces.The book touts the talents of Nikki Giovanni, Gwendolyn Brooks, Eloise Greenfield, Maya Angelou, Queen Latifah, Young MC, and many others. The audio CD has poems read aloud, poems set to music, and some poems are sung. When I first started reading this book and listened to the CD at the same time, I was a bit confused because the poems on the CD were not in sequential order with the book. Then I realized that the poems on the CD have headphone designations and track numbers--check out the sample page to the right.The beats would make any kid want to get up and dance, and I think the idea of incorporating music with the poetry will keep kids interested. It also makes it easier for children to follow along on their own, which makes this book something parents can sit with their children and work alongside them or set those kids off on their own with the book and CD in hand.The illustrations are modern, abstract, crisp, and impressionistic and closely relate to the subject matter of each poem. Check out the page for Rapper's Delight, which is a poem/song from the Sugarhill Gang.The introduction to the poem is read by Nikki Giovanni and helps explain where the inspiration for the poem/song came from. I found that to be the most captivating introduction.Queen Latifah makes an appearance in the book and on the audio CD as well. One of my favorites from the CD is Dat Dere by Oscar Brown, Jr., which was inspired by is "inquisitive child" asking questions about everything.We Real Cool by Gwendolyn Brooks is read by the poet, which is followed by a live performance with Nikki Giovanni, Oni Lasana, and Val Gray Ward "hamboning" the poem. I remember the inherent sadness in this poem from middle school, and it still stirs up emotions, particularly hearing it when read aloud.About Nikki Giovanni: (Picture at Left)Nikki Giovanni is a world-renowned poet, writer, commentator, activist, and educator. Over the past thirty years, her outspokenness, in her writing and in lectures, has brought the eyes of the world upon her. One of the most widely-read American poets, she prides herself on being "a Black American, a daughter, a mother, a professor of English." Giovanni remains as determined and committed as ever to the fight for civil rights and equality. Always insisting on presenting the truth as she sees it, she has maintained a prominent place as a strong voice of the Black community. Her focus is on the individual, specifically, on the power one has to make a difference in oneself, and thus, in the lives of others.
renee.sutter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was the most amazing poetry collection and I will most certainly buy it for my classroom when I have one. This collection includes my styles of poetry including some song excerpts from such famous people as Tupac Shakur, Queen Latifa, and Kanye West. It also includes poetry from the greats like Langston Hughes. The audience could really be anyone from young elementary to adult the poetry and illustrations are so varied in difficulty level.
rpultusk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This amazing compilation of "poetry with a beat" includes renowned poets such as Langston Hughes, Maya Angelou, Nikki Grimes, and many others. The book also includes a wide variety of other (some relatively non-traditional) spoken word artists, ranging from the Sugar Hill Gang to Paul Lawrence Dunbar to Martin Luther King Jr.The collection also includes illustrations by a number of noted artists, from Alicia Vergel de Dios to Damien Ward. The book comes with an audio CD with recordings of several of the poets reading their work. Readers can follow along in the book, as the track numbers are listed on the pages. However, there are several poems in which the audio recording does not match the words printed on the page. This seems intentional, as the changes are all significant additions or omissions. This book would be an excellent resource for teachers and students across the curriculum.Highly recommended for elementary, middle, and high school libraries.
whitneyharrison on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book has many many poems that go with a CD. The CD plays the poems in a hip hop fashion. This way of poem telling could really encourage the love of poetry in students.
ajpohren on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hip Hop Speaks to Children is a delightful and enlightening collection of poetry from various Poets, several performed by the authors themselves, on the included audio CD. With beautiful pictures depicting the poems and the contagious beat that the words pound out, this is a collection sure to capture the interest of all ages. Geared toward the 9 - 12 age group, this easily goes beyond that. As an adult, I greatly enjoyed each poem and as I read them out loud to my 6 year old daughter, she bopped around to the rhythm of my voice just reading the words. She was delighted with the rhyming, which easily draws the reader into the words.While some of the poems within Hip Hop Speaks to Children are fun and playful, others speak of deep emotion. One that I found especially fun is as follows:~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Funky Snowmanby: Calef BrownFunky Snowman loves to dance.You'd think he wouldn'thave much chancewithout two legsor even pantsDoes that stopFunky Snowman?No!!Turn up the musicwith the disco beat,when you're in the groove,you don't need feet.Crowds come outand fill the street.Kick it.Funky Snowman!!Another favorite that is more on the serious side and geared toward helping a child's self esteem, I feel, is as follows:The Rose that Grew from the Concreteby: Tupac ShakurDid u hear about the rose that grew from a crackin the concreteProving nature's laws wrong it learned 2 walk without having feetFunny it seems but by keeping its dreamsit learned 2 breathe fresh airLong live the rose that grew from concretewhen no one else even cared!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Loneliness, anger and sadness are feelings that every child knows. More often than not, however, a child is not given or taught an appropriate way to express these strong emotions. The written word is a powerful tool ,that perhaps if given to children, would allow them to positively cleanse themselves and possibly even spark that creative fire that smolders within each soul. Hop Hop Speaks to Children is a positive collection of such emotional expressions. It does not matter what color your skin is, what nationality, race, economic position, size or shape a person is, the written word transcends each and every boundary. With Hip Hop Speaks to Children, you can introduce and excite children to celebrate within the written expression and beat and rhythm of words. I greatly enjoyed this collection and highly recommend it to everyone.
CraigHill on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Here is an anthology of the African American voices that editor Nikki Giovanni has chosen to title Hip Hop Speaks to Children: a Celebration of Poetry with a Beat. Doubtless, all the verses in this volume have rhythm, but I think it is somewhat misleading to call it all hip hop. There are so many voices speaking; in jazz, blues, gospel, and other uncategorized rhythms. You can hear the blues voice in Josephine Cameron¿s plaintive recording of the Sterling Brown¿s ¿Long Track Blues.¿ Oni Lasana gives a hip hop interpretation to the voice of Paul Dunbar in ¿We Wear the Mask.¿ The classic voice of Eloise Greenfield is recorded reciting ¿Things¿ and ¿Oh, Words¿ and more. Children can hear the voice of Langston Hughes reciting his own rhythms. To hear those voices given a sound dimension on the accompanying CD is to hear their uniqueness with clarity. In her introduction Ms. Giovanni compares hip hop to opera as a media for sharing the stories of the people. And yet I wonder if opera has the diversity contained in the voices in this volume. It is a celebration of human expression and the many facets of life, with its African-American dimensions having special dynamic emphases. Accompanying illustrations are done by several illustrators. They are exuberant, colorful, and in style they reflect the diversity of voices referred to earlier. Children will enjoy hearing all of the rhythms this set has to offer, and perhaps will be inspired to do a little poetry slammin¿ themselves. A must have for elementary school library poetry collections for grades 3 and up.
CamilaDeVeau on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: Hip Hop Speaks to Children is a book on poetry and hip hop compiled by Nikki Giovanni with multiple authors including Langston Hughes, Gary Soto, Jill Scott, Maya Angelou, Kanye West and many more. Each page in the book is a new poem that can also be sung as a song. The book includes a CD that puts the poems into rap form. Along with each poem, there is an illustration that captures the spirit of the poem.Teaching Implications: This book is a great way to get students interested in poetry and reading. Its colorful pictures are inviting and the different authors are exciting and popular. Often when teachers are able to turn learning into music, students are become engaged. This book not only turns learning into music, but it opens up a whole new world for students and teachers to look at poetry in an exciting and engaging way.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
At the opening of the book Nikki Giovanni's introduction offers the history of the "dawn"/development of poetry put to rhythm. This introduction is worthwhile reading and rather enlightening and informative, and a great vocabulary builder. "Hip Hop Speaks to Children" is a wonderful collection of various artists' celebrated works in poetry and song. In this youth inspired book are wonderful illustrations for each poem/ art in written form to capture the young and young at heart. **This would be a great addition to a music classroom's library and to be used in teaching music at school or at home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jane_AustenAP More than 1 year ago
I gifted this book to a teacher that I work with. She has several students that were having a lot of trouble with reading and writing in general, and poetry was a subject they had no interest in. The first day this book was presented to the class, these students were hooked. She introduced it as a book about rap. When it was explained further that rap and poetry have many over laps these students were now interested in the how's and why's of that thought. Of the three students needing help one was so interested that their reading level went up and they took an interest in writing. I highly recommend this book for teachers, educators, parents, and anyone else that works with kids. It is ingaging and creative with out talking down to children.
dr_momTH More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my then three year-old son. This book comes with a CD. He absolutely loves the CD. The best part about that is that he is now reciting poetry! I thought that this book/CD combo would introduce him to hip-hop music. It does this - sort of. It introduces kids to the rhythym of hip-hop and early influences in hip-hop. It is more of an introduction to poetry and African-American history. Some of the songs are just snippets and not the whole song, which I don't love, but my son doesn't seem to mind. He likes the rhyming and rhythym of it all. I do love that Dr. King's On The Mountain/I Have A Dream speech is recorded on the CD. I like giving my son an informal intro to that history. I have also bought this book/CD combo as a gift and it was well received. Overall, it is a positive addition to our library and learning.
bibliophilist More than 1 year ago
This a book of poetry pure and simple. Some of it is indeed in the style of spoken word/urban poetry but for the most part it is simply illustrated poetry. There are very few tracks on the included CD that actually sound even remotely hip hop. Despite some hip hop greats being listed and indeed heard, this book leaves you very disappointed in the hip hop aspect. I am actually a bit upset that I bought it. As a spoken word artist myself, I am a lover of poetry, but this book leaves a lot to be desired. It is mostly a book of urban nursery rhymes. don't waste your money. Check it out from the library instead if you can.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago