Hold On Tight

Hold On Tight

by Serena Bell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hold On Tight 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous 8 months ago
.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Quite interesting .
flchen1 More than 1 year ago
Wow. Hold On Tight is amazing. I don't remember whether I've read Serena Bell's work before but I absolutely plan to read everything I can get my hands on now because this story blew me away. Jake Taylor is a wounded veteran. He's barely holding himself together after his return from the front lines where he lost a friend and someone under his command. He's not looking for anything, just putting one foot in front of the other, so to speak. Mira Shipley knows a lot about getting through long days and long nights. Since a whirlwind couple weeks and part of one life-changing night left her a young single mom, she's done everything she can to make the best life for her son Sam. A chance meeting at the physical therapist puts her and Jake face to face for the first time in eight years and gives her the chance to fill Jake in on a secret. Serena Bell's writing is powerful and moving. Mira and Jake are fully-fleshed three-dimensional characters, and their deeply felt emotions sweep us away as well. Their passions and fears are well articulated, opening our hearts and minds to the strengths we choose to bury or reveal. I also greatly appreciated Sam's characterization; he feels like a seven-year-old kid might, with all his quirks and fears and exclamations. To be honest, I had a little bit of trepidation because of the initial secret-baby set up, but this is a fabulous story. I loved Hold On Tight and can't wait for the rest of this series. Serena Bell has won me over completely with this one read.
mom2crgk More than 1 year ago
Jake and Mira had a very short, but passionate, relationship 8 years ago, and their paths are about to cross again. Jake is a war hero. Not only that, he's a wounded war hero, who is back home after a devastating experience overseas. Mira is a single mom, who just moved across the country, and away from her parents, to prove that she can take care of herself and her 7-year-old son. What will happen when Jake finds out he has a son? How will Mira deal with Jake's reemergence into her life? Will she tell her son, Sam, that Jake is his dad? I adored Sam. This kid had a heart of gold, and he was not afraid to ask the tough questions. Have you heard the saying, "...and the little child shall lead them"? Sam is that child. I started reading one of the chapters, and when it started out, it made me think it was going to be from Sam's POV. It didn't turn out to be, but I thought to myself, "How freaking great would that be, to get a chapter from a child's own perspective???" It's definitely something I have not seen before, and didn't know I'd love until that moment. I loved this book. LOVED. I'd read another military hero book recently, and it was pretty bad. It wasn't realistic, and it was very light on the facts. I don't know what experience Ms. Bell has with military life, but I found her descriptions to be very authentic. Jake had experienced some very harrowing things while he was deployed, and he had a very difficult time dealing with the challenges of life back home. It all felt very real and honest. I've also come to realize over the past few years that sexy times must be REALLY difficult to write, because some authors just aren't very good at it. Serena Bell, let it be known, is NOT one of those authors. Her sexy times are off-the-charts hot. It's possible that I enjoy them so much because I'm really rooting for her characters and I want them to have good sexy times, but I don't think so. She's just really good at writing super sexy scenes, which at no point make the reader pause and say "wait...what?" I'm very excited about book 2, Can't Hold Back, because it's not just another book in the series, it's a continuation of sorts. We meet the main characters, Nate and Alia, at the end of Hold on Tight, and it appears we will also be able to follow Mira and Jake (and Sam!) on their continuing journey. If you like military heroes, or second chance romance, or secret baby stories, or indie authors, or all of the above, PLEASE go buy this book. I will definitely be bringing you reviews of the other books in this series, as they are released. I hope you love Jake and Mira's story as much as I did
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
Eight years ago they shared a blissful week together, but then it came to an abrupt end when Jake's deployment came calling. He didn't want to let go of what he shared with Mira, but where he was headed called for complete concentration, and that meant there wasn't any room for distractions. So, he just walked away, but that didn't stop him from letting her wander into his mind every now and again. Then the unexpected happens, and he finds himself injured and being sent back states side. And the moment he wanders back into town he comes face to face with the woman who has had a starring role in all of his fantasies for the last eight years, and she comes bearing a surprise. One that rattles him to his core... Hold on Tight is a heart-wrenching story of healing, forgiveness, and second chances. You better have your Kleenex nearby because this one is an emotional one, it had the tears welling and my emotions all over the place. But you may also want to have a fan nearby to because it packs a powerful punch in the heat department too, wowza these two had some serious fireworks! I really enjoyed having the chance to go back and meet the couple that started it all, their story was good on my heart and full of moments to swoon over! I loved their story just as much as the other two stories in the series, it had the same heart-string tugging story line I was accustom too, and came with unforgettable characters that you can't help but fall for! Highly recommend! I requested an advanced copy of this title from the publisher, and I am leaving my honest opinion.
Timitra More than 1 year ago
Hold On Tight is a sweet, sexy second chance story that I quite enjoyed. I loved the emotion depth of the characters and story. I recommend to those who love military stories. Copy provided by author
Momma_Becky More than 1 year ago
Emotional, heartfelt, and real. A wounded military vet, a young mother, and a too smart for his own good seven-year-old - these characters and their story grabbed hold of me and didn't let go. The whole story is beautifully done, but the stand out element for me lay in the characters. They aren't perfect by any means, and their romance certainly isn't all sunshine and roses, but they also aren't over the top. What they are is authentic. These are people who could be your neighbors, your friends, people you could run into at the grocery store. The doubts, the fears, the anger, the hope, it's all there as Jake and Mira do the best they can with their circumstances. They don't always make the right decisions, and they don't always do what we think they should, but their actions and reactions feel genuine. This couple does have great chemistry, and they are drawn together with an almost magnetic force, which makes it impossible not to root for them, especially with young Sam in the mix. I absolutely loved Sam with his inquisitive nature and honesty that is so prevalent in children. The only drawback for me was that wrap-up felt a little unnecessarily drawn out, but it's also understandable because I didn't want to let go of these characters at the end either. Hold on Tight is suitably named because it certainly held on tight to me from the very beginning. It's an engaging story with a sometimes grumpy vet with a heart as big as Texas, a single mom doing the best she can, and a sweet little boy I constantly wanted to hug.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Who knew a visit to the physical therapist could change the life of rehabbing Vet Jake Taylor. Struggling not only with the loss of his leg but also his identity as a Ranger he is shocked to see the girl he walked away from eight years ago but has never forgotten. This is an amazing story told with the flair I have come to expect from a Serena Bell book. Well written storytelling, endearing characters, dealing with realistic issues makes this one of the best books I've read so far this year. Absolutely a recommended read.