Hope Burns (Hope Series #3)

Hope Burns (Hope Series #3)

by Jaci Burton

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hope Burns 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
ehaney578 More than 1 year ago
I’ve completely fallen in love with the people of Hope, Oklahoma. Small towns are my favorite book setting and watching each story unfold is both exciting and heart-warming. Molly and Carter were high school sweethearts and so in love. They were planning for the future when their relationship was dealt a crushing blow leaving heartache in its wake. Being young, the couple didn’t handle it well and a lot of hurtful things were said, causing Molly to pack up and leave Carter and the town of Hope for good…or so she thought. Molly has made it back to Hope for her sister’s wedding after being gone several years. No one knows why she left so suddenly after high school except for one person: Carter. Luckily, Molly is only here for the wedding and then she’s leaving with plans of never coming back. However, Fate had other plans. As Molly readies to leave, her mother has a terrible fall and is hurt badly. With her dad’s heavy work schedule and her sister on her honeymoon, Molly decides to stay and help her mom recover. But soon, Molly starts regretting her decision as she ends up spending lots of time with Carter. Can love grow a second time around or will the possibility of it send Molly running for the hills desperate to protect her heart? I’m always a sucker for second chance love and I hate to say it, but it almost didn’t happen. The hurt Molly carries is still so potent, even several years later. Carter was a total flake back in the day but he’s a changed man now and desperately wants Molly to see that. I can totally relate to Molly because I’ve carried hurt like that around. And while staying away from places or people might make us think we are protecting ourselves, we’re really doing harm and we could be missing out on something great because we’re so scared to feel anything but the pain. Molly and Carter are exceptional together and I also loved seeing all the secondary characters.  Although, I wished we could’ve seen more of Logan and Luke’s brother, Reid. He was mentioned at the wedding and then flew back to Boston and we never really hear much from him. Will he get his own book soon? I’m curious to learn about the man who shirks the small town life…and has two sexy as hell older brothers J This was a beautiful story and I absolutely loved it! Jaci Burton is an extremely gifted storyteller and I’d recommend her books to everyone. I was gifted an eBook copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All conclusions reached are my own.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 1/2 REVIEW:  With Emma & Luke’s wedding on the horizon Molly has no choice but to return home for her sister’s wedding. You see Molly left Hope 12 years ago and never looked back. Never visited. Never seemed to care about what and who she left behind. But being back will change all that. The only question is will Molly let it change or will she run again?  It was so nice to get back to the lovely little town of Hope, Oklahoma. I am totally in love with Carter. He is just so sweet and thoughtful. Yet, he knows what he wants and is willing to take that leap of faith to get it. Even if that means using a sledgehammer to knock it into Molly’s head. Molly on the other hand is so catch up in the past that she can’t see what an amazing future she could have. I loved both of these characters so much. There is hurt that they both have to get over. But if they can do that they future could be so amazingly bright.  If you have not stepped foot into Hope yet you need to pack your bags and take a trip down here and see what can happen in Hope, Oklahoma.  Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of the book from NetGalley & PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 
dramacjc More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I read a book by Jaci Burton; I didn’t realize Hope Burns was part of a series until I started on the book. With this book, I feel like it can be read as a standalone. Of course, it may get confusing with the focus on the supporting characters and not knowing their history. But I believe that one good thing about this book, it catches your interest and makes you want to read the other volumes. Hope Burns is a second chance romance story focusing on the relationship between Molly Burnett and Carter Richards. I’m a huge fan of these romance stories so I was curious to read this book. I found Molly’s character to be a free spirit. She likes to jump from town to town until she finds the right place for her. After being away for many years, she returns to her hometown and is immediately greeted by her ex-boyfriend, Carter Richards. With Carter, he’s every woman’s fantasy. Rugged, kind-hearted, and dreamy. I immediately fell in love with him. As Carter and Molly’s relationship reignited, I found myself rooting for them. I understood Molly’s hesitation due to what happened in the past, yet I was hoping she’d overcome it to be with the man she loved. While I like how everything turned out at the end, I felt it ended abruptly. I would’ve liked more closure, maybe an epilogue showing the couple.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To below: You dirty son of a bit.ch! If this person wants to write a fanfic then let em! Jesus Chri.st you are a sick bast.ard! To author (sorry I don't kniw many symbols.): Very good! I don't like this Terrence person. Other that, KEEP GOIN CANT LIVE WITHOUT YO STORY!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave this book three stars because I enjoyed Carter's character and the playful banter between him and Molly, but that's about it. Since the beginning of this series I always wondered what was the horrible thing that happened between these two people that drove Molly away for so many years, I'm just glad it wasn't anything ridiculous like she caught him cheating, because they were teens when the incident happened so if it was something as stupid as that, this would have been a DNF book. Thankfully it was actually something a little more serious and I can understand Molly's fear, confusion and anger. I just felt that she kept living in the past, yes what happened was tragic, it would be for any woman and Carter's reaction or lack of reaction was inappropriate but he was a teenager and he was a boy, he didn't know how to react. Its like she didn't want to admit that teen Carter grew into man Carter. She annoyed me with the things that annoyed her, she was the one acting immature and always running, but finding excuses to stay...such a strange female. The first half of the book focused totally on Emma, Luke and their wedding..so much I thought for a moment I was reading another book about them. Ms. Burton focused entirely to much on these two characters when this was a part of the story she could have totally glossed over, especially since I feel Luke and Emma are boring as hell. Overall, this was an okay story for readers who are just wanting to read a regular romantic contemporary love story with two people who obviously love each other but walk around egg shells so as to not disturb the balance. Nothing happens at all! No action, no fighting, no arguing, no scorching hot sizzling sex, there is sex...its just boring sex, no rip your clothes off and do it against the wall type of thing....nothing..Just a straight telling of a rekindled love affair that goes both right then wrong then right then wrong but then right again.... SR
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a little boring. Although I didn't really care much for the first two books I really wanted to read Molly and Carters story. I was a little dissapointed. There is no climax, just dialogue. I don't think I'll be reading anymore books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got so into this book because you knew Molly was bound to leave eventually but you didn't know when and if she was coming back. got caught up in the book and was so sad when it was over. Jaci is my favorite author and this is why.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## I enjoyed this book a lot. I admit I hesitated because I did NOT like "Hope Flames". But I'm glad I took the chance. Carter and Molly had great chemistry and I loved that Jaci let them have plenty of fun times together. I do wish the ending would've played out a bit more, ergo only 4 stars. However that won't keep me from reading again. Looking forward to Chelsea's story.
TamalaJo More than 1 year ago
Gosh I so wanted to like this , but it feels like Jaci is just phoning it in.  It's plain, it has no sizzle. Where is the angst - the passion?  It's just bleh. - Maybe it will get better - I'm only on page 67 and I have no problem putting it down to do house work.  I hate house work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read all books in series loved them all cant wait for next.I enjoy her writing and charecters.
krissysbookshelf More than 1 year ago
I liked getting to see the come home again to find your way back to what you left behind of your heart. I enjoyed Carter very much through the story but Molly on the other hand really annoyed me. I didn't understand what gave her such low self esteem and made her so damn childish. All the time was self doubt and confidence bashing that after awhile it became so repetitive that I often found myself becoming frustrated with her enough to shake the book. Carter was wonderful and had so much heart that despite Molly not feeling worthy of love he still pursued her even after she constantly rebuffed his affections no matter how often you just wanted to tell her to wake the hell up and see what she has in front of her. Its great writing on Jaci's behalf, its quite impressive that as a writer she is able to create such multidimensional characters. Hope Burns is a good story and is enjoyable to read when you're looking for a book with a lot of heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anything Ms. Burton writes is an automatic five stars from me... I am an avid reader and she is one of my favorite authors... She tells a beautiful story with characters that I can always relate to... Story lines are original... This was Molly and Carters story and it was told with warmth and understanding... Young love interrupted by a high school pregnancy that when Molly miscarried the baby sent her on a twelve year "run".. Living and working in city after city she never came home again... Carter went to college and runs a very successful business, he's had a number of relationships, bought and renovated his house and never forgot Molly... Now she must come home for his sister Emma's wedding and almost immediately runs into Carter... What happens next is the basis of the story and will bring smiles and tears... I really enjoy the way Ms. Burton handles steamy sex scenes and her books are always "can't put down"...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some stories have good endings, like winter and hope. Others leave you hanging, like the survivors seiries. But this one will be different. It won't be just good. It will be awesome. <p> &infin; it was a dark and stormy night. A small girl was walking home from school. She was the age of 6 or 7, and had long brown hair that reached the bottom of her neck. She was walking alone, down the sidewalk. She arrives at her house after looking around. Her house was identical to all the other neighborhood houses. She got to the front porch when she saw a deadly coarl snake curled up on the 'welcome' mat, ready to strike. The girl froze, not daring to move. She had necer seen a snake i real life before. She wanted just to feel its scaly skin. So she stretched her hand out aanndd... BOOM went the dynamite! Out lashed the snake, and all of a sudden the girl had a bite that would change her life. She lied on a crumpled hap on the ground, her parents not home from work yet. A neighbor finally saw her and called an ambulance. ((No dynamite really exploded. That is just a saying. ~midnight&star;sta
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sugarpine721 More than 1 year ago
Love a second chance HEA!
MouseyBL More than 1 year ago
Welcome to Hope, a small town with a big heart and dreams. Molly's sister Emma is finally getting married and that means that Molly finally has to come home after leaving many years ago due to a bad heart-break. The one thing Molly had hoped to avoid was the man who shattered her heart, Carter Richards, who is now all grown up and no longer the boy she remembers. Carter is now a successful business man who works as a mechanic in his own garage and owns a small chain of them. He is very involved in Hope's community and has a great relationship with Molly's family despite what happened years ago. I have to say I was very curious about this black cloud that hung over their heads and even though the situation was heartbreaking I wasn't sure it really called for her to run for as long as she did. They were both young and things got uncontrollable and Carter's actions may have been a little harsh, but in the end you cannot help but feel for the bot. So when Molly's mother falls and suffers a few breaks. Molly has no choice but to stay behind and help take care of her. Avoiding Carter this time might not come as easy as she had imagined. I found myself rooting for them I really did. I thought they seemed like a sweet couple once together, but Molly doesn't want to suffer another heart-break with a man who has the capability to cause a lot of damage to her heart. I like Burton's writing. The story seemed simple enough, with well rounded characters. Lot's of heart-warming relationships, friendships and setting. The story felt like I was after the character's everyday life, but it was done tastefully and still entertaining enough. The chemistry between Molly and Carter was clear, and I like how it grew as the story went on. If you are looking for a simple romance, with a bit of heart-breaking background, healing and strong sexually chemistry, this book is probably right for you. I got a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Jaci Burton has the ability to make me fall in love with groups of characters. That feeling that they belong together and they are one happy family or group of friends always stays with me and gives me the warm fuzzy feelings. The Hope series is just like that! I&rsquo;ve fallen hard for the people of Hope. When I first caught a glimpse of Molly&rsquo;s character, Emma sister from HOPE FLAMES, I was immediately intrigued. What happened between her and her high school sweetheart that sent her running? Let me admit something right now&hellip;I devoured HOPE BURNS in one sitting. Maybe it was the fact that Carter is an amazing hero, and that he knew exactly how to tame this wild cat, or maybe it&rsquo;s just that this was such a sweet second chance at love romance. But everything about this book left me feeling happy and tingling. As much as I loved the hero, I really liked the heroine too. Carter is truly a caring man. A man in love and dying for a second chance to make things right. A man who realizes his mistakes of the past and wants to move forward. But Molly is everything I like to see in a heroine. She&rsquo;s tough on the outside but soft and broken on the inside. There&rsquo;s years of hardening that outside shell that have gotten her to where she is today. And I suffered with her when her past was revealed. When her heart was broken. She&rsquo;s done the best she can since then, and that has been running. Never staying in one place for long. It was endearing to see them fall for each other all over again. Or simply let the feelings that never went away resurface. Confront their past. And their present. Something that Molly is not happy about and may not deal with in the best ways sometimes. But that&rsquo;s what made this story even better. It was real. Molly isn&rsquo;t perfect. But she&rsquo;s real. HOPE BURNS is the perfect small town romance! It&rsquo;s the perfect second chance at love story! And it&rsquo;s another example of how great of a storyteller Jaci Burton is. I am looking forward to reading more stories from Hope for years to come! Sexy and sweet! And probably my favorite book in this series! *ARC provided by publisher
Heth1 More than 1 year ago
the sample really makes me want to read this book but I might buy a hard copy instead of a nook copy because you can get it for cheaper at 'W-mart&quot; and on competing websites to b&amp;n
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago