How to Make Friends with the Dark

How to Make Friends with the Dark

by Kathleen Glasgow

Hardcover

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

How to Make Friends with the Dark 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Gretchen Schulz 19 days ago
5 out of 5 Stars My Review: Tiger is so excited that Kai asked her to go to the Memorial Days dance with him, their major crush on each other has gotten more intense as they became lab partners in biology. There’s just one problem: her overprotective mother, June, may not let her go. Tiger takes a stand for herself and adamantly insists she will be going, starting a fight she and her mom will never recover from. That afternoon, June dies suddenly of a brain aneurysm. BAM. Just like that, Tiger’s world is foggy and distorted, and all she is left with is a Grand Canyon sized empty hole in her chest. She has never known her father’s name, Child Protective Services will not let her stay with her best friend, Cake’s, family, and she can’t believe the last words she will ever say to her mother were as horrible as they were. Everyone deals with grief in their own way, and Tiger, who has never sipped alcohol, smoked marijuana, or even gone farther than kissing with a boy, is about to embark on the saddest year of her life, while her classmates are living the best years of theirs. Her normal has been stolen, snatched, and it’s never coming back. Glasgow’s second novel is a triumph; no doubt equal parts brilliant & beautiful writing, coupled with her own experiences of foster care and grief. A must read for YA lovers (anyone, actually), particularly those who loved Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park as much as I did. Have tissues-will cry. (The deep sobbing kind.) Quotes I loved~ “It’s nice to lean back, and to breathe, and look up at the stars, which I feel like we always forget to do, you know?” ~Tiger “Thanks for the tip, but I’m not really Thelma, or Louise. I’m kind of a dork, prone to elaborate fantasizing, and I don’t know the first thing about running away.” ~Tiger “And sometimes the lights just go out. We don’t know why, because as much as we study and study and study, the universe is always smarter than we are. There will always be unknowable things and we have to make peace with that.” ~Dr. Matthews “Mae-Lynn and I sit in the car, not saying anything, watching everyone else have the best years of their lives. Someday, when people ask us about high school, and dances, and kisses, and all that stuff, I know that what we’ll remember most of all is how normal was stolen from us.” “…sometimes you have to open your heart to the miraculous.” ~Teddy “I think about what those…guys said. You must go on. I can’t go on. You must go on. Because what other choice is there, really? You have to make friends with the dark.” ~Tiger “How to Make Friends with the Dark is, above all, a book about grief. This is a book about learning how to go on, about finding your way in the dark.” ~Kathleen Glasgow ~*All the Love of Books From Me to You
Caroldaz 23 days ago
I can’t stop thinking about this book. It is stunning, exquisite and so very beautiful. I laughed and cried and sometimes got very angry. Grace, who prefers to be known as Tiger, has lost her mother and she is only sixteen. Her mother dies suddenly from a brain aneurysm. As far as she knows, Tiger has no other family. So of course she ends up in a foster home. This is a book about grief, loss and coping. It is also very realistic about the foster care system.I loved Tiger. It truly is a book about how to make friends with the dark. It is also about ways to begin to let the light back in. A truly beautiful book. This book has been added to my list of ‘best ever books’. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Anonymous 29 days ago
Kathleen Glascow's book is one of the best YA books I've read this year (and I've already read plenty.) I am astonished at the way she used language and plotting, masterfully low-key and high-emotional. This book is in the genre of emotional YA books, but it isn't frivolous with emotionalism or trite in the way readers are pulled into the story. I highly recommend this one for all readers for its literary qualities. Terribly well-done and wonderfully hard to read at parts. Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
ahungerford 3 months ago
Grief is extremely personal. No two people experience and process their grief in the same way. Kathleen Glasgow's novel How to Make Friends with the Dark beautifully explores the complexity, the isolation, the raw pain you feel when someone you love dies. What's it about? Tiger's mother may be overprotective, but it has always been Tiger and her mother against the world. On a day like any other, after harsh words you can't take back are exchanged, Tiger's mother unexpectedly dies. And now Tiger is alone. The raw, gaping hole in her heart is all that remains and Tiger has to learn how to make friends with the dark. My Thoughts I read Katheleen Glasgow's debut Girl in Pieces 2 years ago and I was blown away. That book was a ROLLER COASTER. My expectations for How to Make Friends with the Dark were high. And was I let down? No, no I was not. How to Make Friends with the Dark takes you on a wild ride from a normal school day with the hopes of kissing your crush to literally the worst moment for anyone to go through: identifying your mother's body in a morgue. From there you're whisked away and shoved into the foster system, placed in the charge of a harsh caregiver who locks and inventories their food to a lovable hippy who is really doing the best they can with a girl ripped apart from the inside out, and finally placed under the care of a long lost sister barely older than Tiger. You spend a lot of time stuck in Tiger's mind and her thoughts, for the first part of the book, can be quite cyclical and repetitive and a bit like "get on with it." I also can suffer from repetitive thoughts, but that doesn't mean I didn't find it frustrating at times and all I could think was "let's get a move on." (Don't tell someone grieving to just get over it… You might get slapped in the mouth.) But "move on" it does. What I Liked • Strong Female Friendships. Cake and Tiger (literally some of craziest names I've ever encountered in contemporary fiction) have such a solid friendship. It's beautiful. When it would have been easy for Tiger to push Cake away or for Cake to disappear when things get hard and Tiger's emotions are messy, their friendship weathers the storm. Cake is always there for Tiger, almost to the detriment of herself. • Realistic Portrayals of Teenagers. In the beginning, I related to Tiger so much. She is one of the most realistic portrayals of a teen girl I have ever read. I was getting flashbacks to how I felt in high school, looking around me at all the girls that seemed so mature while I felt like a lump of misshapen dough. • Realistic Portrayal of Grief. Tiger's grief is almost palpable at times and at other times its can be frustrating. You just want to shake her and yell "Snap out of it!" She acts out. She wears the same dress she fought with her mom about for WEEKS on end. She gets angry. She fights. Her thoughts get very dark. • No Romance. Yes, you read that right! No romance. In a genre that easily falls into the trap of "love fixes all", this book is not one of them. • Shayna. Literally my favorite character. She's smart, strong, funny, and compassionate. She has little self awareness at times and can be quite rude. But she's real. She pushes Tiger when no one else around her is willing to push her. She is not necessarily someone I would like in real life, she is a bit off putting at times, but in this story, I loved her. • The notion that you are not alone no matter how isolated in your grief you feel. For
thegeekishbrunette 3 months ago
Rating: 3.5 stars Contains (Warning): Suicide, Domestic Abuse, Parental Death, Language eARC provided by publisher (Delacorte Press) through NetGalley Tiger Tolliver is like any other teen. She is worrying about boys and dances but when she gets a phone call about her mother, everything changes. She must now learn how to live without her mother and figure out how to deal with the darkness that is creeping in. I wasn't sure what to expect when diving into this book. I was drawn in by the cover and the synopsis made it sound quite intriguing. In some ways this book lived up to my expectations and in other ways it lacked a bit for me. Tiger Tolliver is a typical teen until the death of her mother starts a domino effect of events. She doesn't know how to even begin to cope with her mother's death and having to deal with arranging the funeral, foster homes, and living relatives brings more stress and adds to the blackhole of emotions she already has. This book is filled with tough subjects like the ones mentioned above and I am not sure how anyone manages to pull themself out of those circumstances. Tiger brings new light to issues that some children and teens face. It is quite heartbreaking. The writing style was hard to get into and some of the little extra things, like the hashtags, just didn't seem necessary to me. There was some language which also is a turn off for me but I can understand why it was used since the book is about a teen. The plot was filled with many dramatic details and at times it felt overwhelming. Some of the minor characters were present and then gone. I was hoping Thaddeus would be mentioned in the epilogue part but sadly he wasn't. I did like how they added an epilogue but it just wasn't as conclusive as I wanted it to be. Overall, it was still a read that I will remember even if I may have not been a fan of everything. Tiger is a heartbreaking character and sheds light on many hard topics that other teens may face in their life.
marongm8 4 months ago
This book was really intense to read. Nobody likes the feeling when your loved ones die all of a sudden and they end up being all you have in order to survive on your own. This was the case when Tiger looses her mom and her mom was all she had. Despite the loss Tiger had instantaneously when loosing her mom, I just love how Tiger immediately showed her bravery and strength because that was all she had while making it on her own. I also am a big fan of books with figurative language such as the word dark having multiple meanings and here it was apparent that Tiger took both meanings in literally. As I mentioned before this was a pretty intense book to read but at the end when the theme is discovered, the reader will hopefully feel empowered, I certainly did. We will consider this book for our YFiction section in our library and that is why we give this book 4 stars.
USOM 4 months ago
(I received this book from Netgalley. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.) How to Make Friends with the Dark is a book that will wring your heart out. It's always been Tiger and her mother. Even if she's a little overprotective and the struggle of her family and poverty, it's hers. Until the day her mother dies and Tiger's life is changed forever - throwing her into the foster care system until they can find a more permanent solution. Above all what kept me reading How to Make Friends with the Dark is Tiger and her grief. At times I needed to step away from this book because of how emotional it was making me. We feel the depths of Tiger's grief, the way she feels separated from the world around her - a girl in a jar. And throughout the book, we witness Tiger processing the complicated relationship she had with her mother, their last fight, and how to move on without her.