How to Talk to a Liberal (if You Must): The World According to Ann Coulter

How to Talk to a Liberal (if You Must): The World According to Ann Coulter

by Ann Coulter

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

How to Talk to a Liberal (if You Must): The World According to Ann Coulter 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am writing this brief review as a life-long, reformed Democratic/Liberal turned middle aged (39 year old) midwestern female who now considers herself a firm Conservative with some Libertarian ideas about governnment and no affiliation with either Democrats or Republicans! I don't vote by party anymore - I vote candidate by candidate and issue by issue. As sane people should do! People like Ann, Rush, Bill, Tucker and Glenn helped open my eyes to things and seeing other sides to issues that for years was glossed over or not reported at all. I started reading Ann's columns this year and her books too. After a life time of being brain washed by the big 3 tv stations, major newspapers and magazines and columnists in this country...I finally did my own research and soul searching and realized my beliefs were not what the media told me they should be! So...I now get to see the world from the other side and find comfort in being slightly in the middle if not to the right. When I look at all the arguments I used to have for abortion, evolution, faith, marriage, infidelity, guns, immigration, terrorism, etc....I am shocked that I bought the liberal arguments when the facts, data and science aren't even CLOSE to supporting them. Ann is a straight shooter on details and only those who refuse to hear any line but, the one they tow, will be upset. If you can't laugh at some of the one liner's Ann comes up with - you need to get a life!!! She pulls no punches in her daily writings/articles and makes no excuses for it. Just because you don't support her position or others like her (well in the majority these days)...people don't have to get ugly and nasty about her personally. Doing that just supports that you can't fight with facts, data and science...if you did, you would loose the argument. People who gave this book 1-2 stars are simply writing negative comments to pull her status down and need to seek private therapy for their personal issues. Those who truely bought and read the book to learn, grow and see all sides gave objective feedback even if it was different than their own. If you aren't determined to bring her down, this book deserved 3-4 stars easily. Over-all, Ann's book is an easy read. You might not learn anything new but, she does tie together alot of loose ends on big issues of our day. My favorite chapters were This is War, A Muslim By Any Other Name Blows Up Just The Same, When Bad Ideas (Liberalism) Happen to Good People (You). I now root on people like Ann and her book - we need someone pushing the limits in this time of divisions over regligion, politics, war, economics and the sanctity of life. If they can't speak out, who can? We will thank books like this one day for opening up dialogue to EVERYONE not just the left. This book may not give all the answers but, it does get everyone talking and that's part of the plan. Consider also reading her book Godless - it was actually a better read than this one was. It is more like a novel and goes into more specific detail on areas and does not jump around quite so much. So...four stars for How To Talk To A Liberal. Add it to your DIVERSIFIED library if you have one. We do.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hm...everyone is saying they don't like the book because it is based on lies. Well, how can it be based on lies if she points to certain publications and television comments made by these people? Ironically, the liberals on here are acting just as she says they do. And it's a bunch of lies? The liberals on here are acting just as she says they do in the book.
Miggz77 More than 1 year ago
First off, I am a conservative accountant who idols Hayek's work. I grew up around a republican family and high school, but went to a liberal-focused university. I am very right in my economics and right on about half of the big social issues. Ann Coulter's book is riddled with personal attacks, strawman arguments, and warped data. It is clear she is writing this book to please her audience and not try and convert moderate republicans to her side. This book is just another one of her methods of drawing fame and attention to herself in order to make even more money. She is similar to Kevin Trudeau in this manner; claim the absurd, state it in a psuedo-logical fashion, and bounce around the networks for money.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't actually agree with everything in this book, but I do admire Ann for saying exactly how she feels and not holding back for anyone or anything. I am actually a liberal, but very much enjoyed this book. It is very funny that us liberals do become very outraged at anyone or anything that points a judging finger in our direction. Most of us lack the social graces and poise to have self control when it comes to our out bursts of anger towards the conservatives. If you can finish this book without lashing out or 'writing everything YOU think is wrong with this book in the margins', you're a pretty strong person and should be proud of yourself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All the reviews in here that rate this book as a '1' must be from the socialist left. This book is the best book on liberalese speak I have found. Ann does a remarkable job of exposing the lies and misrepresentations of the left. Way to go Ann!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a reader of many 'political' books...all viewpoints. I'm always interested in what both sides of a story are. However, I found this book so full of spin that it literally set my head spinning! It's still interesting to see how Ann arrives at her perspective.
Guest More than 1 year ago
weak arguments, obvious racism and elitism, and it makes republicans look bad
Guest More than 1 year ago
Notice how liberals come to review conservative books and rate them ones, when conservatives do not even bother rating liberal garbage. Coulter's book is funny, witty, and sometimes flat-out outrageous. I actually do not agree with her on many issues, specially religious ones, but Ann sets political correctness aside and shows how Christianity is set at a double standard, how a little common sense would hel make better homeland security policies, and how the left overlooks real threats to our way of life, from mid-twentieth century communism to today's Islamofascism.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ann Coulter writes everything that I have always thought, but haven't been able to put into words. She is a mind reader if there ever was one. Anyone who is even remotely into politics should read this - conservatives to get a good laugh, and liberals to become enlightened.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Liberal, Conservative, or Moderate...whatever you consider yourself to be, you must read this book! If you want to call yourself well-read and well-rounded regarding American politics, then heed this extremely conservative viewpoint. The mature are able to analyze all angles, even the ones that do not make them comfortable! I dare all 'Intellectuals' to analyze this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One thing about Ann Coulter: she is writes press for the Republican party. If you share her views, of course you will take this book as 'fact.' Unfortunately, she is a little delusional. I saw her on TV a little while ago saying that George Bush never said that Iraq had nuclear weapons as a reason to support going to Iraq. I did not support the war on Iraq, but even if you do, you have to admit that the WAS the reason for going. This makes it kind of difficult for me to take Coulter's words to heart. And to say Liberals hate America is pretty off too. Liberals and Republicans just have different opinions, it doesn't mean that any one party likes America any less. I find it difficult to write a book with facts, considering her 'points' are merely opinion. Looks like she found it difficult too. But still, this book does what it's meant to: please Republicans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ann Coulter tells the true nature of the Democratic party better than any previous author. She understands and explains all of their flaws, lies, and incredibly low values/lifestyles with research and evidence to back up all her claims. A witty and incredibly entertaining/informative book. Michael Moore has met his match. I'll never look at American politics the same way again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
She is truly delusional- more focused on faith then fact. What a waste of trees- just like a conservative republican!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book offers a lot of opinions and the 'facts' are vague. I wasn't able to take Ms. Coulter seriously.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was extremely disappointing in my opinion. I've been a member of the Republican Party for 37 years and this is not the message that conservatives--especially those who remember the Reagan years--want to convey. Coulter failed to draw the line between opinion and fact on too many occasions; often leaving certain facts, which should easily strengthen her argument, coming off as partisan belly-aching. This was definately NOT the book I was looking forward to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a master shepard at work. Being able to out-babble an opponent shows nothing but weakness and lack of substance. But,she has held her conservative stance- her books are another shameful waste of paper and time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, Ann strikes a nerve by using facts and the law to make her points. Liberals hate this (hence the poorly written one star reviews by liberals who can't bother to rwead, oh, um I mean read). Ann is feisty and to the point. Liberals hate that because by and large she is right about liberal hypocrisy, nihilism and the overall p.c. moral relativism that we now see in our society as moral decay. Thank goodness she speaks to the silent majority.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is fluff. Billing the author as an 'intellectual' is like calling George Bush a scholar. Not worth the effort.
Guest More than 1 year ago
apparently, some people who are reading this book don't realize it is a collection of ann coulter's articles. another thing people don't seem to realize is that she backs up her opinions with facts. that's kinda hard to argue against. but liberals do anyway, as ann points out. this book is great if you want the truth about liberals in america. i would also like to point out the chapters that she has on the 2000 election. people who think that this book is a bunch of lies should definitely read that section to find out the truth. only liberals argue with the law and facts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ideologies are very personal and therefore logically weak to impose on someone else. Her arguments are weak and she is obviously not governed by the dictates of reason. There are many great books available from barnes and noble but this is not one of them
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've always like Ann Coulter. Her reasoning is usually flawless, and her conclusions are usually spot on. However this book, How to Talk to a Liberal, strikes me as a rushed, un-thought-out mess. Her attempts to draw ridicule towards the liberal way of thinking are certainly funny at first, but any sort of in-depth look at them tears them apart immediately. I'm worried the thoughtful yet mocking Coulter I respect and enjoy has sold out, and now writes pandering prose directed at the far right, who have no concept of who the liberals she so hates are. If you liked Slander or Treason, don't even bother picking up this book, its a dissapointment all the way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You've got to be kidding me. Coulter rarely bothers to make a salient point. The whole book is full of inaccuracies, gross exaggerations and mudslinging. Its harsh, juvenile, and worst of all boring.
chichikov on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Funny and insightful. Liberals wouldn't get so mad at her if she wasn't hitting close to home.
rebelwriter85 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Generally terrible, incoherent, anti-intellectual writing. However, good for a laugh and sometimes to see where the Democrats need to improve their image.
rampaginglibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As a liberal, myself, i find Ann Coulter a very, um, "interesting" personality. Some articles i just had to grit my teeth and get through; on the other hand, sometimes she had a few salient points other times, i find mself laughing aloud quite often--and not always at her.