Huckleberry Summer

Huckleberry Summer

by Jennifer Beckstrand

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Huckleberry Summer 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lolly-pops More than 1 year ago
HUCKLEBERRY SUMMER is the third book in this series but it easily stands alone. I've read these books (series) out of order, but fell in love with Anna and Felty so I went back and looked for this authors previous books. I loved Aden, and Tyler both, and knew that even if one good man won, another would lose. That bothered me. But I rooted for both of them even though I knew Aden was the hero and Tyler would be the hero in the next book (which I already read.) Lily was wimpy. She loved her dad and I won't fault that, but she bothered me and is what kept this book from being five stars. I understand why she did what she did but I didn't like it. Not the way she strung both men along, not the way she lied to her dad, and the way she acted like a coward when confronted with anything uncomfortable. Otherwise, I loved this book, including the dog. And Jamal. Great read. Love Ms. Beckstrand's humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so long and stretched out, I gave up after 116 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wondlrful. good it was very. bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Amish fiction. Jennifer Beckstrand is a new author to me and I really enjoyed this book. Looking forward to other books by this author. If you enjoy Amish fiction with a twist of humor you will love this book.
Janine_S More than 1 year ago
“Huckleberry Summer” by Jennifer Beckstrand is the second book in her 'The Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill' and whoa I can't recall the last time I finished a book with red, swollen eyes, splotchy cheeks, along with a nose running for the hills (ok so I am not a pretty crier), but this book I did just that. I must have cried the last 100 or so pages, not so much because there was some earth shattering event that happened but more of the different emotions that was happening. This book was so worth the read without a doubt. Lily is a woman who is maybe a little to much of a rule follower but then again there is a reason that she is like that. I was actually frustrated with Lily for a while with her unwilling to do anything that would make her father cross with her for she seemed way to timid to do anything, but when her story comes out that explains what shaped her into that person, I actually felt for the young lady. It made sense but I still didn't like how it happened. Lily is so tender hearted that she doesn't hold back when she gives her friendship and loyalty. She almost tries to turn herself inside out to not hurt those around her, most especially her family. Aden is a man who might have good intentions but well doesn't always think about how he is going about things. Here is a man who seems a little odd for an Amish man but his heart is there for the whole world to see at the same time. He is trying to turns things around and has learned some pretty important lessons, though they were most certainly not easy lessons that is for sure. Aden is a man who is trying so hard to do right when there are those who are working against him, and it is how he handles everything that shows his deepest character for he is a man of his honor. Things are so confusing, not for the reader for they follow along pretty well in my opinion, but everyone in the story is going through some pretty confusing times. Oh Annie and Felty Helmuth, ok more Annie than Felty, is up to her schemes again and she is not one for giving up in the slightest. Introductions are done, competition is on and then something happens to make it all up in the air and then the ending in a way that I sure didn't expect in the slightest bit. At times it seems as if there is no way to go down a certain path to that happy ending only for something out of the blue to happen to change the course, though the changes are not done in a way that makes no sense but more like a wonderful surprise to make one smile. I truly loved the ending for I really didn't see how that could happen but it did with such grace and wonder. I really enjoyed the last few scenes as well for they just put a smile on my face after all that time crying my eyes out. I hope all who read this book enjoys it as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pattiannjoy More than 1 year ago
This book was very gentle and funny. I love Anna and Felty. I did not like it as much as Huckleberry Hill, but it is still good enough to be claimed for my personal library. The scene where felty is riding with Adam and has a serious talk with him is one I go back to in my own spiritual search a lot. Very good and gentle book.
wfnren More than 1 year ago
I am LOVING this series!   --    I gotta say, I love Anna, she is a delight! Jennifer did another fantastic job of pulling me in and giving me some more giggles. I didn't want to put this book down and I'm so anxious for "Huckleberry Christmas" and "Huckleberry Spring" to come out. These are some of the best Amish books I've read and would really encourage others to read this series. Thank you Jennifer for giving me some smiles and giggles
JCMorrows More than 1 year ago
Oh my word, I’m not going to be able to do proper justice with this review. It is most certainly going to pale in comparison with Jennifer Beckstrand’s amazing talent. WOW! If you loved Huckleberry Hill, do not miss Huckleberry Summer! Because the second book in this delightful new series is JUST AS ENJOYABLE as the first! I REALLY hope Kensington realizes what a GEM they have found in Jennifer Beckstrand! Every book she writes is fresh and original. Each story is wonderfully different and each character is original and individual – which is exactly how it should be! Even in a community where everyone believes, behaves and dresses similar, they are all individuals and Jennifer obviously gets that! It’s familiar, as it should be with a series, but nothing is the “same old thing” or a repeat of something you’ve read before. And our beloved matchmakers – well, Jennifer just keeps revealing new depths to them with each book that will keep readers guessing for a long time. It’s a good thing Amish families are so big – Anna and Felty have plenty of grandchildren left for Jennifer to write about! Or that’s my hope anyway. I know I personally would love to read about each and every grandchild’s perfect match! Jennifer Beckstrand has lovingly crafted another beautiful story of life, love and laughter. What a gem! With each book, we get to meet new wonderful characters, while characters we already know and love make appearances and remind us of why we fell in love with them to begin with. And along with that comes a terrific story that is beautifully in tune with the theme of the series, without feeling like a rerun. And yet somehow Jennifer still finds fun ways to make us laugh and enjoy the crazy adventure our two feisty grandparents have in store for the two young people they’ve set their sights on. And I think that’s my favorite thing about her writing – just how REAL the stories and the characters are. A lot of people seem to think that a story has to be filled with tragedy and sadness to ring true but Jennifer clearly doesn’t believe that and I am forever grateful for it. Don’t misunderstand what I’m saying… Jennifer’s books are filled with strong and intense emotions! And as the reader, it’s impossible not to experience them right along with the characters. We see everything from heartbreak to laugh-out-loud silly-ness. And in this book, Lily is described as cautious. What she is, is scared and timid. And Jennifer describes the emotions so well, you can almost feel Lily’s worries freezing you in place right along with her. And along with that emotion comes the added bonus of how well Jennifer weaves ordinary events into the storyline. Most authors only add in things they feel add to the story so we don’t often read about the normal everyday things people do. But Jennifer understands that it’s seeing into a character’s routine that truly gives us insight into who that person is. Jennifer Beckstrand is the kind of writer who ruthlessly drags you into the story, where you follow along with the characters emotions – no matter what they might be. But you won’t mind because the path they travel is so full of enjoyable adventures and misadventures. You won’t want to miss a single one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You won't be disappointed with the 2nd book in this.matchmaking series. Not.only do.we.get to enjoy Anna & Feltie again we also get to.meet their grandson Aden. His love of the environment & love of animals sets this book apart from other amish stories. I can't wait until October to see what Anna has in store for Tyler.
Barb00 More than 1 year ago
This is my first book to read by this author and it's a fantastic book. I loved Huckleberry Summer. When you have these particular group of characters: an Amish young man with a few problems of trouble living with his Amish grandparents and his grandmother is a matchmaker, a beautiful young Amish girl who doesn't want to disappoint her Dad and a huge, loveable dog, what do you have? An Excellent Amish Novel! The storyline is well-written, has some twists and turns, a few surprises, and it's an enjoyable book I definitely recommend to read. I'm excited and looking forward to the next book about Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand. I received a complimentary copy from the publisher through Net Galley in exchange for my honest review. This review is one hundred percent my opinion. Thank you Kensington Books and Net Galley for the opportunity to read Huckleberry Summer by Jennifer Beckstrand.
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
Anna and Felty are at it again, in their delightful way of playing matchmaker for their Grandchildren. Anna especially seems gifted in doing so with one success story already under her crisp white apron! I love this Amish community and am thrilled to be back in their homes, and around their farms. This time Arden from Sugarcreek, the Grandson, is now staying with and helping his Grandparents. When you hear that Arden has been arrested at least three times, and probably should have been more, you will wonder what kind of an Amish boy he is? Now gossip can be deceiving, and Arden has the local Amish Grapevine working overtime. What it all comes down to is his love of all living things, including trees, which accounts for one of his arrests. Enter Lily Eichner who has been hired by Anna, she is at it again, to help her, and puts her right in front of Arden every day. There is a big problem to their relationship, that grapevine has reached Lily’s Dad, and he wants no part of Arden, and actually has already picked out a husband for her, the Bishop’s son, Tyler Yoder. Now you want to dislike Tyler, but he is so loveable, I couldn’t, the guy is so nice to everyone. There is another loveable character in this story, Pilot, a humongous dog, and a big kisser with his wet tongue. He also likes to charge head on into people. Love how Lily gets his name mixed up, and how this dog saves the day, even if she has to use more hand sanitizer. Your in for a delightful, and wonderful time reading this story, and have to wonder how it is all going to turn out. Lily never disobeys her father. Will she get the courage to follow her heart? I for one can’t wait for the next book!! I received this book from the Publisher Kensington and Net Galley, and was not required to give a positive review.
ibjoy1953 More than 1 year ago
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK Huckleberry Hill is sizzling again as the matchmakers choose another grandchild to help find a mate. This time Anna and Felty Helmuth takes in their grandson Aden. Maybe time spent with his grandparents will keep Aden out of trouble. And Anna has just the right young lady in mind for Aden, and it is Lily Eicher. Of course Lily and Aden know nothing about Anna and her mission, making this story much more interesting. Lily is so shy, the last thing she needs is someone like Aden the lead her astray, but don’t tell Anna that, because she already has her mind made up! I love how Anna and Felty bring out the best in people. Aden wasn’t really a bad guy, but he always got in trouble trying to help someone out. He couldn’t help himself because he wanted to do what was right, but what he was doing was not the Amish way. It took the calm, understanding and wisdom from Felty and Anna to help him understand what was right. Sometimes thought Anna was very sneaky, and I just loved it! Throughout both of the books in this series, I have learned so much from the wisdom of these two adorable and precious people! Again in this book, Anna and Felty reminded me so much of my grandparents and their wisdom when talking to me. I cherish those times so much! Again Jennifer Beckstrand gives her readers and outstanding story to read! This is such a delightful, enjoyable and fun read, one that you will think about a long time after you finish reading the book! Anna and Felty have a special place in my heart and I can’t wait to read what they have in store for us in the third book of this series! And oh, about the couple, you will surely enjoy the little details by Anna to place these two young people together, making sure they spent time together. The romance is oh so sweet! I know you will love it as much as I do! I received this book from the author, Jennifer Beckstrand to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not read the book yet, I am waiting for the 3rd book to complete the series. The book was in excellent condition. Thank you